Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-X3500H

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVR-X3500H

Denon AVR-X3500H

Denon AVR-X3500H

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVR-X3500H

58 reviews
View this product

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace an older Pioneer Sc-81. Why have I waited so long! Very happy with product. The room correction is the best I have used so far and the features have been so easy to use! Highly recommend as a excellent mid tier receiver that has higher end features!

Pros: Ease of use, easy hook up, room correction is perfect, sound quality with TV and music is outstanding!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver for the price!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Hartsville, SC on 12/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been out of the home audio black hole for a while now but after doing a lot of research the Denon X3500H was the unit I picked. For one I looked at the newer model but didn't need 9 channel processor. I paired this receiver with a pair of Klipsch r820f towers and so far I am happy. Great purchase and fast shipping. Thanks Crutchfield team

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Zone 2 setup a little complicated, but the sound is great!

Crutchfield customer from Hillsboro, OR on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We've had the Denon receiver for 2 weeks. So far we are very please. We wanted both surround sound and 2 zones, so we can play music on the back deck, while streaming videos in the family room. Our only complaint was that the online automated speaker configuration did not work for setting up 2 zones. We had to manually configure the system. It was not very intuitive. The online manual showed how to connect the speakers, but did not show how to setup the speaker configuration in the receivers software. We had to go into multiple areas to properly configure the system for 5.1 surround and Zone 2. Once we figured the system out, it worked great. The sound is actually better than our more expensive Onkyo receiver that failed after 3 years.

Pros: Great sound using 5.1 surround sound. Zone 2 for different source in another room. Zone 2 easy to use on the remote. Comes with labels for you cables and speaker wires.

Cons: Zone 2 setup not explained well in the instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Wheatfield, IN on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Shingletown, CA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple setup. Nicely ordered sound check and line management. Great sound, and intuitive layout to the remote as well as the app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR x-3500

Crutchfield customer from Terre Haute, IN on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome power and features! Great sale price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 11/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Tarrytown, NY on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First AVR upgraded from stereo receiver Still exploring, what's not to like

Pros: Separation

Cons: Huge setup. Lots to learn

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AVR-X3500H is a perfect solution to drive my up grade of the family room media system. It is powerful, yet does not overwhelm the room or the people in it. I'm very happy with the Denon quality and design.

Pros: Powerful and simple to use.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value

Cale from GREENWOOD, IN on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the performance. Denon set up assistant walks you through the process. Great value for the money.

Pros: Set up is very easy. A lot of bang for your dollar.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent AVR Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Mount Bethel, PA on 11/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver sounds great with both movies and music. The built-in HEOS streaming works well with Spotify, Tidal and Amazon. Both Tidal and Amazon are able to stream at 24bit/192kHz rates. The HDMI arc features are nice, but can be annoying for others (spouses) that don't want the receiver sound every time they turn on the television. The good news is that the ARC features can be turned off and, if you're using a logitech Hub remote, you can automate all the selecting/switching of inputs and power. The included Audyssey Calibration / audio is automated and the resulting movie sound is great. With the various settings, it's easy to hear movie dialogue without blasting family members off the sofa.

Pros: HEOS Hi Res Streaming, Great Denon sound, Automatic Calibration

Cons: Chromecast not integrated.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 11/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent receiver and, I believe, difficult to beat in terms of value. You get virtually all of the high end features and capabilities at a mid-range price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Livingston, NJ on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Significant upgrade in processing and sonic separation from my 10 year old Yamaha home theater receiver with great WiFi and Bluetooth connectivity. EARC feature makes set up a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Midland, TX on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good so far. The avr somtimes will change inputs on its own. Will wait longer to see if this continues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 11/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver at a reasonable price.

Pros: I liked the Speaker Calibration and multitude of configurable inputs and input types

Cons: 1 "HDMI" Pass through is buggy. If you select an input other than CBL/SAT the unit "forgets" the HDMI pass through the next time you want to watch TV with the receiver off. Powering cycling the receiver restores the pass through. 2The Bluetooth connection is not reliable. The unit will not always automatically connect to a previosuly paired Bluetooth device. Requires pressing the Bluetooth button on the remote to connect. 3 The Denon app leave much to be desired

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Glenn Dale, MD on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy setup

Pros:

Cons: Connections for second zone not quite easy to figure out how to send sound to second zone

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

New is better than old

Crutchfield customer from Towanda, PA on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second Denon AVR-X3500H that I have purchased from Crutchfield. I bought the first one because it was more convenient to connect and operate new outdoor speakers, than to hook them to my main system. I hooked up some old indoor speakers while I was at it; I was amazed at the quality of sound coming out of these speakers. That's when I realized my main system is old and there has been significant improvement in AV receivers. With the Denon receiver in All Speaker Stereo mode, I can fill a very large room with amazing, clear sound at a comfortable listening level. And movies sound perfect. Just because your current receiver works and can play loud, doesn't mean it isn't time to buy something new.

Pros: Perfect sound at a reasonable price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The AVR-X3500H is outstanding!

Crutchfield customer from Huntersville, NC on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a replacement for 14-year-old high end Yamaha capable of driving my Polk Lsi25's which are 4ohm, with Bi-amp and power needy. Staff at Crutchfield's recommended the Denon ARV-X3500. Best part it was on sale for reduced priced. I was concerned it may have been an old version, but that is not the case. It has all the most current technology and the Audyssey app made calibration easy. To my surprise the sound stage is much clearer and crisper than from the Yamaha. Totally satisfied!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Laramie, WY on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great powerful amp, crystal clear sound. Easy set up guide that promps correct set up. Options for about every kind of inputs including turntable. This is the 3rd Denon amp I've purchased and have never had any problems.

Pros: Lots of input jacks, easy connections.

Cons: Very sophisticated

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A 4K receiver that delivers, and that's affordable!

Orlando from Lawrenceville on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver to upgrade to 4K resolution. I wanted something that wasn't going to break the bank and after reading many reviews, I decided on this one. The receiver is very easy to set up with the Audyssey set up assistant. The color GUI interface makes it a snap even for a first-timer. I wasn't concerned with the wattage output since I am using an external 5ch amp and only using the receiver's built-in amp to power the surround back channels. That said, the receiver does sound good and the picture quality is great. Since I've only had it a short time I haven't messed around too much with the surround settings (soundfields) but will do so when time permits. So far, very pleased with it and hope to enjoy it for years to come.

Pros: Easy set-up with Audyssey software. Wi-fi connectivity, preamp outputs, color GUI interface.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Bartlett, IL on 11/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional service, shipping and the produce did not disappoint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, KS on 11/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the unit came in good shape, shipping was fast. setup was easy and accurate. the unit replace a Yamaha that was 2 years old. the picture on a 1080p Viso as much clearer and the sound was outstanding. Still working on learning all the features of which there are many. i would recommend this unit to anyone who is serious about picture and sound.

Pros: the biggest pro is Crutchfield.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Happy Crutchfield Customer

Crutchfield customer from Smithfield, NC on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired this AVR with Klipsch Reference Theatre Pack and Klipsch RP-4000F towers for 7.1 surround in 18 x 15 family room. Audyssey speaker set up was easy. It even told me one speaker was wired out of phase. I made corrections, burned in the speakers for two days and put on the latest Godzilla movie in 4K Blu-ray Dolby. Wow!!! I'm in the captains chair in my own movie theater. Totally emersive. Then I put on Bohemian Rhapsody in stereo and all speaker stereo mode and heard it like I've never heard it before. Very happy Cust! Thank you Luna( My Crutchfield Rep ).

Pros: Intuitive set up Easy to use remote

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Steve

Crutchfield customer from Tarpon Springs, FL on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great av receiver.

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons: No manual

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Green Bay, WI on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound! Easy to setup

Pros: Easy to setup, well laid out jacks on the back

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 11 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Great Sound & Value

RT79 from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Denon AVR-3500H replaced an Onkyo TX-NR727. The primary differences are moving to up Audyssey MultEQ® XT32 and Dolby Atmos. Atmos is currently of limited application given the very small number of media so encoded (though this may change in the future). I was uncertain that Audyssey MultEQ® XT32 would produce an audible difference with my 7.1.1 system in comparison to the Onkyo's Audyssey MultEQ®. The short answer is that, following calibration, the Denon produces an audibly better acoustic result. I have been very impressed, whether listening to concert videos or movies. The improvement in both the clarity and placement of sound, be it instruments or vocals is outstanding. I believe this is due to improved signal processing, together with the very sophisticated ability of Audyssey MultEQ® XT32 to more precisely account for room acoustics and correct frequencies, particularly at the low end in comparison to Audyssey MultEQ®. I was initially skeptical about this investment, but not any more. On the down side the Denon AVR-3500H has very few controls on the front of the receiver. I use a RF remote to control my system and therefore the Denon remote is of little use beyond calibration. Th Denon remote is also unlighted. Generally, I must use my phone to experiment with various sound fields. Overall, particularly at the discounted price, this AVR proves to be an excellent value. If you're considering spending $700 for an AVR this is t

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Orange Park, FL on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup. Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Goodview, Va on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its the cats meow. I've had this for a couple of weeks and it is pushing 7.2.1 for the moment. XBR 77A9G and 9040 series Def Tech speakers and with the additional A90 back height it is awesome. HEOS is an option but comes at a price. Rudy, Trish, Otis etc have been great about taking calls/messages about its operation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, GA on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice receiver. I upgraded from an older Yamaha and really glad I did. The newer model (X3600) has 9 channels but I didn't need that much expansion or versatility. The power with this AVR is quite adequate and performs nicely with my 5.2 setup. The setup is almost automatic and there's nothing quite like that Denon sound! Crutchfield, as usual, was extrememly helpful in their suggestions and recommendations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sound option

Crutchfield customer from Port Townsend, WA on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deal! I use this receiver as my sound processor and to power two surround speakers. I need the pre outs to run cable to my Parasound amp and power my front speakers through the amp. That way I get the full power of the amp(which is 125 watts driven to five channels) running to 3 channels for a little extra headroom. The Denon is 105 watts per channel but like most receivers thosewatts only apply to powering 2 channels. It is kind of a generalized marketing thing that goes on throughout the industry to make people think they have whatever watts are listed going to each of their channels when they are only figures that reflect 2 channels powered. Parasound amps(and perhaps others use the opposite approach and actually send more than 125 watts to each and every channel. Still the Denon at this level gives you pre outs and it's processing capacity seems to work just like the 4500 and 6500. The main difference is watts per channel increases with the higher models but those watts are still driving only two channels. For me the 3500 has what I need. The newer 3600 costs 3-400 dollars more and adds HDMI 2.1 capability instead of 2.0. It doesn't mean anything now because 2.1 is a future proofing addition for the day when there is a new 2.1 standard in effect. By then I will probably need to update my receiver anyway. The other main difference is number of channels available for back and ceilin

Pros: pre outs available smooth processing smart remote all the connections needed for 4K big savings

Cons: Not enough channels for back and ceiling speakers not fully future proofed with hdmi 2.1(no use for it now)

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Grass Valley, CA on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and ability to customize settings to your taste. However, a bit too complicated and confusing for the non- audiophile.

Pros: Flexibility and Sound

Cons: Complicated for the casual user.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Anthem, AZ on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to hook up. Has worked great for several weeks now. Direction were easy to follow. I did need tech help, to get it to play sound, but that was due to new TV and Sony changes. Love the new receiver.

Pros:

Cons: I have outside speakers and the wires have no place in the receiver. There's a zone 2, so I'm not sure why there's not a location. This was the only thing I couldn't figure out.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Wickliffe, KY on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver, great features, love that I can control it with my phone, set up was a breeze and I'm not that tech savvy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fine Receiver, but left me a little underwhelmed

aaron from Porter, IN on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm 2-3 weeks into ownership of this thing, this is not a full review, merely impressions thus far. This is replacing a Denon AVR-2312 that was bought in 2012. It is more attractive than the old 2312. Does not seem to offer more power for music, I still want to add a separate power amplifier, but now I do have pre-outs (this and 4k compatibility were the key reasons for my upgrade). Pros: Pre-outs, ARC functionality, Bluetooth. Cons: Super cheesy remote, the old Denon remote was much nicer. No backlight on the remote, no glow in the dark buttons. It is the flimsiest remote that I've ever owned. No printed manual. For something that costs this much, that is annoying. I don't want to browse a PDF, and I don't want to print 80 pages on 8x11 paper. Unit has frozen once already after I was in the setup screen. I had to unplug the receiver to get it to work again. This will not send a signal to subwoofer pre-outs if you set your front speakers to "large". The work around I found was to set them to small and manually lower the crossover to the fronts. Maybe I'm missing something here, but I basically refuse to read the PDF manual... The GUI is not impressive. I tried to run my old Denon as just a power amplifier, and the setup was a little confusing (once again, maybe the manual states how to do this better), but for anyone looking to do the same thing, the Denon remote will control both units and virtually make things unusable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 19 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, MD on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far...excellent product. Setup was easy using included instructions. Download of complete manual answered many questions for configuring the unit exactly as needed for multi-room usage. The HEOS app for portable devices makes playing an extensive music database easy to do. Very satisfied with product as well as Crutchfield's customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Mid Level Nirvana

Crutchfield customer from Elkhart Lake, WI on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver in the mid-level category is amazing! The power output through discrete circuitry is clean and more than adequate for small to medium sized viewing areas. The look is classic yet stylish. The ability to reasonably quickly set up your system is very intuitive with the onscreen guidance. And the flexibility to grow your home theater experience and home ambience with heos via speaker additions is fabulous. For a budding audiophile the Denon AVR-X3500H has met and exceeded my expectations!

Pros: Clean, crisp power and sound. Adequate speaker and wireless connection options. More features than I will use.

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Oakham, MA on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and lots of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR

Crutchfield customer from Murray, UT on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AVR-X3500H was a perfect replacement for my old Adcom GTP 750. The pre-outputs were a must for my 2 Adcom power amps. Finally the technical support offered by Gage was superb! Other on-line stores take note !

Pros: Clean pass through power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worthwhile Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced a 15-year-old Denon that has no HDMI, no Wi-Fi and no input level adjustment. I have outboard power amps connected to the front and surround speakers, bridged power amps to run separate center speakers (above and below the TV) and use the Denon internal power amp only for the assignable Surround Back to run the new SVS Prime Elevation speakers for the height channel. The GOOD: The easy Audyssey calibration on the new Denon far surpasses that of the old, it has renewed my whole system, especially with Dolby Atmos and the DTS version of Atmos. The calibration process even identified one speaker that I had connected out of phase and advised me that the volume of both my subwoofers was too high, and it calibrated them separately with discrete outputs. The result is phenomenal sound that blows my previous system out of the water, with powerful LFE that doesn't distort. I also narrowed the scanned radio stations down to my favorites, matched the TV input level to the radio volume, and added internet radio stations to HEOS favorites. The BAD: The X3500H has no coaxial or optical output, and no Tape Out, which means I have to resort to Y-connectors on the Front PRE OUT to record only analog input on my Sony minidisc recorder; it also has no multi-channel analog input, which renders my old Denon SACD player useless; and the digital inputs don't receive my old receiver's output; I also miss the input audio format indicator. But overall it's a good upgrade.

Pros: Great sound, convenient Wi-Fi and radio station management, and input level adjustment, good price. Very helpful Crutchfield tech advisor.

Cons: No coaxial or optical output, and shows only the audio format output, not the input, so you don't know which format you're receiving and changing from.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Best value anywhere! So glad I bought this!

Thad from Charlotte, NC on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I struggled a bit trying to decide between this or the Marantz SR5013, as they are both similarly priced. I listen to a lot of music, so great sound quality in 2.0 was really important to me. I also wanted something with good room correction, because this was going into my oddly shaped living room with hardwood floors. I knew getting great sound was going to be tough. So, when debating between Marantz's reputation for great 2.0 sound (but the lesser Audyssey MultEQ room correction) and Denon's receiver with the much better Audyssey MultEQ XT32, I decided to go with the Marantz. I had it for about 2 weeks and just never bonded well with it. The room correction was just OK, but I found myself tinkering with it too much, trying to dial in the best sound, but I just couldn't get there. Plus, the very small port display on it is utterly useless. Enter Denon! So, I took the Marantz back and ordered this one!! I'm so glad I did! Performance wise, they are really the same, but the XT32 room correction is world's apart. Once I set it up, I immediately fell in love with the sound. Surround sound was excellent and well calibrated. Speakers just disappearred in the room. Music in 2.0 was also a revelation! This handled my thirsty Elacs with ease and precision. It had my speakers producing authoritative bass and soft detailed highs that I didn't think was possible with those speakers - lush, full, detailed, and balanced. Pro tip: Buy the MultiEQ mobile app to dial in.

Pros: - MultiEQ XT32. Best feature! Shockingly good for movies AND music. - Lot of inputs/outputs. - Nice big display. - Lightning FAST Crutchfield delivery! Best place to buy stuff, PERIOD! - Digital / wireless connectivity (HEOS, Airplay2, Tidal/Spotify, all other services) is very good. Doesn't get any better without buying separates. - Plenty of clean power and authority. - Likely the best AVR you can buy under a grand. Great value/performance.

Cons: - It rarely happens (a lot more rare than on the Marantz), but sometimes HEOS just disconnects and music stops. - Sometimes I wished it had tone knobs, like receivers of old. But then the calibrations and tweaking that can be done through the MultiEQ app just gives you so much better control. - The Audyssey MultiEQ app should be free ($20 in app store) and adjusting the target curve should be easier than it is. This is a minor complaint though, as it is still easy and worth every penny.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Elmhurst, NY on 8/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Estoy contenta con la compra que hice !! Y además me ayudaron vía telefónica para la instalación, está es la tercera vez q compro en crutchfield!!!! Y estoy a gusto con lo que he comprado.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, OH on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks to Sonny at Crutchfield for advising me in my selection of a Denon avr x3500h. He went over other avr's too but this one met my needs just a bit better. I have been enjoying the Denon and all of its features for about two weeks now. I'm running it through Definitive Technology Pro Cinema 800 speakers that I bought from Crutchfield a few years back. Sound is super! A lifetime Crutchfield customer because they take care of you from the first phone call you make. Very easy to work with and they stand 100% behind their products. Rick M.

Pros: Everything

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Cicero, NY on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy 2 zone usability. Denon HEOS app works surprisingly well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Ralph from Ramrod Key, FL on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Clean clear sound. Albe to manage two separate subwoofer's . More features then one could ever use.

Pros: powerful clean sound

Cons: none at this time

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crystal clear audio

Crutchfield customer from Roxboro, NC on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound quality. Much nicer than my older 17 yr 5.1 receiver that finally gave out. I do have one issue and that is Tou can't switch the different surround configurations manually. But I do like that you can go to all channel stereo for music audio. The sound quality is crystal clear with hardly any distortion. It gets loud and can fill my large room easily. I'm thinking of getting some of the HEOS speakers to use for additional room audio. I like the HEOS and Denon control applications too. Plus, it switches the inputs on my TV automatically by routing through the hdmi inputs on the receiver. This receiver makes my life much easier now.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Not much

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Bethel, CT on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this sub equally for music and gaming. If you're buying this sub you have probably done your research and know what you're getting. Does what it says and sounds great. The biggest two factors for me were the large number of HDMI inputs and Audyssey XT32.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 22 found this helpful

Happy With My Purchase

Daniel from San Antonio, TX on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it several days ago. Installation was easy and the on-screen configuration "wizard" was on queue. Sound quality and the many wireless options are awesome. The only thing I found quirky was the "Zone2" access...you have to turn on that zone as if you were turning on a separate receiver. Once I discovered how to operate it, it made a little sense, bit nothing to ding the rating for (Crutchfield's AWESOME tech support assisted me in this) . If I could i would lower the score 1/2 a star since the unit does not come with a full paper manual, it is online and can be downloaded. So far I am very happy with the receiver!

Pros: Wireless integration with many online music streaming services. Bluetooth capability and cellular phone controls. Automated wireless firmware updates. Auto configure of satellite speakers with included microphone.

Cons: Zone 2 turn-on a bit quirky. No physical full manual.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Easy set up

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit was very easy to set up and understand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 2/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and features. Heos apps are lacking in features found in native Windows and Android app of Tidal and Deezer. When Denon updates this would be a 5-star. Yes Tidal quality puts Pandora to bed. Worth the monthly fee

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Pedro F from Mayaguez, PR on 2/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Well described by Cruchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Kenner, LA on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set; sounds great!

Pros: Up to date features

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Christopher J from New York, NY on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade and update from an old nakamichi receiver and did not disappoint. Purchased for audio at first, but will eventually use for video. Audio quality is excellent, particularly with options for direct and pure direct, as well as the (included) sound calibration microphone to equalize to specific room. Controls are straightforward , as was setup. Compatible with Tidal, Spotify, airplay etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Guest from Keller, TX on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just a great receiver. Had a HK but the monster blow it away.

Pros: Super easy set up. Great power.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Pete from Frederick, MD on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My AVR-X3500H is a well designed receiver. It has plenty of inputs and when I turn my TV off it goes off too - very smart. I like the WiFi connectivity and the user friendly speaker calibration system. My surround system now sounds very balanced after the calibration. Plenty of power for my theater!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Charles L from Murfreesboro, TN on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My AVR-X3500H wae easy to setup and sounds much better than my old Onkyo TX-NR828. Am using my Harmony Touch remote to control system including HEOS for SisiusXm.

Pros: Easy to setup, sound is outstanding.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X3500H

Michael from Ridgway, CO on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was very impressed with the set up process. The set up program was quite clear and made the process run very smoothly. Once set up was complete is very simple to use. The sound is awesome and using the microphone to balance the volume of each speaker worked great.

Pros: Very well thought out and designed. Great sound.

Cons: The phono input is for MM only. My phono cartridge is MC. Wish it had a choice for both.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

EASY

Crutchfield customer from Elko, NV on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EASY TO RUN// BOTH THE FRONT PANEL,REMOTE AND REAR CONNECTIONS

Pros: SOME SECTIONS ON REAR PANEL ARE UNDERSTANDABLE

Cons: ZONE1 DOES NOT HELP WHEN HOOKING UP THE TV . LOVE THE UNIT BUT TERMINOLOGY IS KEY.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

TOP