Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-X4500H

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVR-X4500H

Denon AVR-X4500H

Denon AVR-X4500H

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVR-X4500H

60 reviews
View this product

Forget about headphones

Dave from CUPERTINO, CA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This price for an AVR that has no capability to connect to a bluetooth headphone! What idiot made that decision?

Pros:

Cons: Cannot link to bluetooth headphones

Crutchfield response on 11/24/2020
Dave, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Tecumseh, MI on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was as you described, easy to setup and great sounds

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Rulo, NE on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had my receiver set up for a week and have used it everyday. It replaces a Yamaha from the Aventage series but after 8 years of heavy use began to be glitchy. The Denon was very easy to set up and the surround sound is fantastic. Very intuitive! Although I loved the Yamaha, it was a bit more difficult. I would recommend this product to a friend or anyone looking for a new home AVR.

Pros: Easy set up Great sound

Cons: Remote is a bit difficult to get used to. I would think at this price point it would be backlit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Paramount, CA on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still learning the ns and out of the system, but so far so good I received it at the time crutchfield specified too!

Pros: on screen display

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have yet to install however from all the review and reviewing the connection option this seems to be a good fit for all my components

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Rocklin, CA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well and sounds good! Easy initial set up but I wish it came with an instruction manual for the more intricate set up options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Iowa City, IA on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system. Easy to set up. Interacts well with my LG tv. Great sound options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent upgrade from entry receiver

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver has more than enough inputs for our small home theater, delivers power to our LCR speakers and provides the added benefit of atmos sound above. Would highly recommend to anyone on the fence about purchasing.

Pros: Look, power, inputs

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Whitmore Lake, MI on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great customer service as always from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Oakdale, MN on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never had a nice AVR like this before. This thing is a breast! Every feature I could hope for. Now I just need to get the surround speakers.

Pros: Menu system is nice

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Needham, IN on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This AVR was so simple to install and configure. Setting up a calibrating the 7 speaker surround system on my previous AVR was a nightmare and took hours. With this new one it was so much easier and faster. The surround sound quality is fantastic in a large area of the room now. I also really like how the AVR picks up the arcHDMI from the television and automatically turn off and on to manager the TV sound output over the surround system. The up video scaling is also very impressive when playing dvds through and older player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Willits, CA on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sound! Great investment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver

Crutchfield customer from Alamogordo, NM on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my Yamaha 1080 with this. Very happy so far! Powers 9 Klipsch speakers very well

Pros: 9 channel power. Easy calibration. Was on sale!

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

JEROME from JACKSONVILLE, NC on 10/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver to replace a Pioneer vsx 501 that I've had since 1993. The options are endless and the sound separation is great !! I also purchased 2 12 inch powered subs to go with the unit, I've played music and movies and this far exceeds my expectations. This thing is top-notch the only downside is the steep learning curve.

Pros: Lots of power and HDMI inputs/ outputs

Cons: Steep learning curve

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Long time Yamaha fan switched to Denon.

Dean from W MELBOURNE on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having a hard time getting a Yamaha, I decided to replace my aging and failing RX-2010 with this model. Both models are very similar in look, design, and layout. I only need 5.1 channels in my main room, but I also have 2 separate zones (3 zones total) that I need to push stereo out with different source than main. This model meets that need at a good price point. First one I received was defective and thanks to the great support from Crutchfield, I received a replacement in hand less than 24 hours after ending the support call. I can't say enough about the quality of support provided by Crutchfield as many other support organizations are not even close in the level of quality. My only thing (and not really a fault of Denon) was learning how everything works as I have been used to Yamaha for the past 15 years.

Pros: Met all my needs Fast delivery Excellent support

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Gresham, OR on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great reciver with lots of features. Has plenty of power for my Klipsch 5.2 setup. I have my front Klipsch speakers Bi Amped (7 channels) and will be adding Atmos speakers shortly to utilize the other 2 channels

Pros: Many configuration options. Easy menu system. 9 channels for sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Manlius, NY on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very customer-friendly organization that makes it easy from purchasing to shipping their products. This Denon is what I was looking for. Powerful processing receiver for its current price. Easy step-by-step set up process aided by its technologically advanced microphone. Excellent power and warm sound output for my two floor-standing speakers and a center.

Pros: Quite aesthetically classy with multiple sound and speaker options. Multiple zones that allows you to listen to your music from several rooms

Cons: None. Happy with just about any aspect of the unit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought it brand new but the problem is truely there like every other says. My rear speakers don't function all the time when I start all zone stereo when I connect it to my Mac. Everything else is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/26/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Pekin, IL on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I really like this receiver. It sounds great in stereo and surround. I bi-amped it before powering it up the first time so I can't compare it not being bi-amped. I highly recommend the Denon AVR-X4500H. And my Bowers & Wilkens speakers really like the extra power compared to my previous receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money it is a great receiver. The sound is good and the initial set up was easy. Fine tuning the receiver is a little more difficult because to the lack of information. Unless you are an expert at setting up stereo AV receivers plans on spending weeks learning how to set this up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

THE BEST DENON YET

Crutchfield customer from Bolingbrook, IL on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is one of the best the sound is incredible we upgraded everything to 4K and WOW!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to set up. Nice sound. Versatile.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Whiteland, IN on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and sounds amazing

Pros: Sounds amazing Easy set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Severn, MD on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I feel like I got a steal, because of the awesome prices crutchfield offers. This AVR makes my room feel like I'm in a huge theater. I'm only running 7.1 but the Denon 4500 gives so much room to grow, especially since it can process 11 channels. One thing I wasn't expecting is that the upscaling works so well, it almost made think I got a new projector I was wanting to upgrade to 4K but I can wait a little longer with this AVR. The service from crutchfield is awesome they tell you one day shipping that is exactly what you get, their selection is unmatched especially during this time when almost everyone is out of stock. I would most definitely be shopping with crutchfield again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wait for HDMI 2.1 with more 4k media updates. Denon HD link goes nowhere.

Pros: Easy basic setup, except SACD.

Cons: not HDMI 2.1 SACD setup confusing, Denon link can't be used. Only online Manual confusing, good multiple speaker connections, 2 subwoofer LFE only, other connections confusing.

Crutchfield response on 10/12/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful piece of equipment, would buy again or recommend to any one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Horrible

ROss from Lexington va on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I built a brand new house and had all the wire run professionally. I originally got the 4400 but after it failed to send video properly Crutchfield switched it out for a 4500. Crutchfield is an amazing company and has always stood behind Their product. The 4500 has now died for no apparent reason for now the third time I am over Denon..... I have checked all the speakers they are all fine ,wires check ,independent 20 amp dedicated plug check ,surge protectors check. And by the way the last time it died my wife was watching I love Lucy!!!!!! This is ridiculous. So if you want to wait for 6 to 8 weeks to have it repaired just to have it happen again six months later by one of these.

Pros: Sounds great when it works

Cons: Has a hard time sending video to zone two. It will also break down at least once a year

Crutchfield response on

7 of 13 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Marshfield, WI on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver at a reasonable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Storm Lake, IA on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. Sound quality is excellent, and it was really easy to get set up.

Pros: Easy to set up, sound quality, great value

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great experience

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my purchase. I had Denons for around 30 years, and the new unit sure lives up to he high standards of its predecessors. Installation was fairly simple. This was the first time I bought from Crutchfield and it's been a great experience (fast shipping). I cannot comment on the customer service, because I didn't run into any problems with th Denin.

Pros: Fast shipping

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Back in the Denon fold

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using Denon AVR's for about 20 years now. This is my 3rd and the other two are still powering other systems in my home. I recently bought a new 4k smart TV and needed ARC for HDMI and upgraded to another, cheaper AVR. I was disappointed in the UI and amplifier of that brand so I returned it and went back to Denon. I am so glad I did. Denon has been rock solid for me. Their power supplies are beefy and able to deliver constant power levels with low distortion. Unfortunately, I could not wait for the 2020 models as I would have been out of Crutchfield's stellar return policy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Seems like a good receiver. I am used to Onkyo receivers so this took a little getting used to, but was easy to install & set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

No Regrets. Best Receiver, Hands Down.

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver on 05/11/20 and I can confidently say now that it is the best receiver I've ever owned. For all of the haters, stating that it will shutdown after 5 minutes of use, I've never had that issue. Not once over the past month of use. I immediately applied the firmware update once I received it and I suggest others do the same. I've also read from the impacted users that they had a mix of speakers not rated at the default-set: 8 Ohms. Luckily during the receiver setup process, Denon gives us the option to change the Ohm rating for each channel, so the auto shutdown should never be a problem. Along with this receiver I purchased a pair of B&W 706 S2s (Front), a pair of B&W 607 (Rear), and B&W HTM71 S2 (Center). I already had sub so I was good there.... Let me tell you, when I AirPlayed my sample of Little Drummer Boy by Pentatonix, I had chills. It sounded like the voice of God was in my room living room-- and it's mostly thanks to this receiver. The Dolby experience shines better than I've ever heard, and I can't wait to upgrade my setup in the future with Atmos speakers. Don't give this receiver a second thought if you're debating it over Marantz!

Pros: - Dolby ProLogic Ilz and DTS Neural sound absolutely incredible (I don't have Atmos speakers yet, so I can't enjoy the other presets) - AirPlay 2 works beautifully. If you have a nearby HomePod, get ready to enjoy telling Siri to play a specific song on the receiver-- even when if it's off! - The onscreen setup worked worked flawlessly, whether your setup is 5.1, 5.2, 7.1, 7.2, 9.1, or 9.2

Cons: - If you want your HomePod to sync with your Denon receiver, you need to download the HEOS app. It's pure garbage. I had to use it for the setup (and followed a YouTube video that helped), but the app itself is clunky and slow to respond.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, MO on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver to power my 3 zones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Santee, CA on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this receiver sounds real good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a 20+ year old Denon with the AVR-X4500H and am very pleased. I went from a unit with 2 "VCR" inputs a total home entertainment router. My sales rep, Doc, was the best. Being a more capable unit than my old one, I needed setup assistance. I went back to Crutchfield for all my questions and not once felt rushed to close the call, and this was over several different calls and techs. BRAVO!

Pros: Sales Rep, Support, Price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still to new to give a complete review.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 14 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been great so far, I would buy it again

Pros: More options and ability than I know how to use

Cons: This will take some time to figure it all out and maybe years utilize

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Jason from KNOXVILLE, TN on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I stepped up to this receiver from an Onkyo TX-NR686 and have to say I am very happy. I've noticed a better picture on my LG OLED 65C9 with this receiver as the middle man between my content and the screen. Also this receiver has much better sound quality and dynamics. I'm a very happy camper especially since I was able to snag it on sale. Feels like a steal. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Waterford, CT on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Feature rich unit. Quick and easy setup. Sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Denon doesn't disappoint.

Crutchfield customer from Neosho, MO on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fit for my system. Lots of features and great audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 4/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Denon receiver is the best! Set up was easy, just follow the onscreen instructions. I like the remote. It is clearly marked and more intuitive than some others l have used. There is plenty of power to run 9 speaker setup. Now I just need a speaker upgrade!

Pros: Easy set up and use.

Cons: Wish it had an equalizer.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid choice to replace my Arcam AVR-400. Only complaint is the infrared is pretty bad so recommend a repeater if you don't have a direct line of sight from your remote. I don't know why more manufacturers don't add Bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Collinsville, OK on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this receiver. Easy setup and sounds great.

Pros: Fast delivery and easy setup, great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Multi Zone - Great!

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 3/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had denon units for a very long time and continue to love them. This one allows you to play 5.1 surround in the living as well as two other self amplified zoes. The heos app is great as it allows you to control not only the zones from the app but the music as well. I'm really enjoying the usit so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

OMG

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All i can really say is OH MY GOD! So Unbelievable in every way. Just what i've been looking for , for a very long time.

Pros: Too many Pros

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great! I have enjoyed the HEOS capability. I have had some issues with the video on the Sat/Cable input dropping out occasionally. Moved cable to the DVD input and didn't have any problems. Moved it back yesterday and it did fine until this morning.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Where's the Boom??

Crutchfield customer from Margate, FL on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After my AVR990 7.1 (the sister model of the 3300ci) never turned on last year, I figured it was time to upgrade to an Avr that is 4k comparable. First went with the X4400H and for a whole year I have been dealing with the LINITED Sub woofer output. Called Denon, took it in to be looked at, tech said it was opparating normal DISPITE Denon telling me it's DEFECTIVE. Now I'm on the X4500h, and guess what? SAME ISSUE. It seems on these new models, DENON PUTS SOME KIND OF LIMIT ON THE SUB OUTPUT. I have both units sitting here waiting for an answer as to why and what to do. I'm VERY disappointed. As for the X4500, unlike the 4400, they removed the Center channel dialog anhanser, it basically raises the overall volume, Not DIALOG. I'm using all 9.1 with a new 15" Sub. That SHOULD SHAKE THE BLOCK. in short, I dont know what Denon is doing, each new model they add a feature that is not needed IMAX?, while taking away what is needed or useful. I'm fed up as my hands are still tied. Crutchfield did thier best, tested one of thier own units, same issue!. Wake up Denon, my AVR'S are taking a nap while I'm running around.. Not Happy!.... miss my 7.2 AVR 990 :(

Pros: Good overall power with upgraded power supply. Not hard to set up. Nice 4k video upscaling

Cons: Limited Sub Woffer output at high levels for music, No HD stereo, No Dialog adjustment, Less front inputs, cheap looking standby light, less gold badge markings on face. They are simply cutting corners.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 32 found this helpful

Amazing denon product!

Crutchfield customer from Lamoine, ME on 1/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent denon build quality, and fantastic sound make this receiver a welcome upgrade from my Onkyo tzrx820.

Pros: Great sound, easy setup, great build quality

Cons: The GUI and app are both a little dated

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Quality today in receivers is a major disaappointment

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, NM on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Today's receivers just don't have the punch and depth that they did 15-20 years ago. Neither do they have the control of the sound like we did with older receivers. I even stepped up to the 4000 series instead of the 3000 series receivers and went with the latest model to match the abilities of the TV and still feel my old Denon 3000 from the early 2000's, if still working, would have out done this one for sound quality. All you need do is to pick up a receiver from today and one from 20 years ago and the weight of the units tells the whole story.

Pros: Easy to set up and use, since the unit controls just about everything , is easy. At least Denon is not distributed by the criminals that distribute Onkyo's and steal and rip off customers by refusing to honor warranties, even on known problems like interfacing for HDMI that doesn't work. In their price range, as far as I could detect, Denon and Marantz , for the money is the best choices out there today in receivers.

Cons: Way too expensive for what you get. The unit controls almost everything and takes control away from us to get just about anything. The bass is way too low on this unit, had to jack it's output almost all the way up to get the sub woofer to wake up.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 25 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am enjoying the system very much. Although only half of the system is set up. Waiting on geek squad to come and help set up the rest, like running the wires in the walls and other electronic components and running a ethernet line. I'm loving the surround sound even without the back speakers being connected yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Great option if you're not getting into pre/pro systems

STEPHEN from Atascadero, CA on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for an AV Receiver, but what it has for features will never compare to a processor and amp setup can offer. Still reasonable power and multi-zone capability for most home theater and home audio systems. Nonetheless, quite pleased so far. Rest of setup includes Klipsch RP-600M FR, FL, SR, SL, 600C center, and R112SW sub.

Pros: Easy setup, lots of features, decent power.

Cons: Could benefit from some amps firing LCR channels. Lack of information to troubleshoot Atmos issues--Atmos and DTS:X enabled films are not registering over HDMI ARC connection, or not properly interpreted by receiver. Still learning my system though, so your mileage may vary.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Boerne, TX on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this product just for the 4K. I never dreamed the sound would be this good!! Denon is awesome!!!

Pros: Easy setup Great sound Can handle whatever you need to hook up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Great receiver

Randy from Fallbrook, CA on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice receiver. I bought the 4500 to go in my new home theater. While the theater isn't quite finished yet, I have been able to set-up and test the receiver with 2 channel stereo. Super simple to set-up and connect to the home WiFi network. The AirPlay 2 set-up is also a bit easier on this receiver then the 1500 (I have two of those for whole house audio). HEOS works great for audio to multiple receivers. The receiver does run a bit warm so I'm also going to invest in an AC Infinity component fan. Love the sound of the receiver connected to my Martin Logan 60XT's. Once the room is finished, the receiver is going to be used solely as a preamp with the 11 speaker set-up powered by external amps. This is my third Denon AVR and I really like not only the sound but the rear layout of the unit. It's thought out well and has plenty of room to make connections. Very pleased with the unit thus far and Crutchfield's customer service is top notch.

Pros: great sound, simple set-up, menu user friendly

Cons: runs a bit warm

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Ladson, SC on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver! Works well with my Klipsch reference Premiers. I wish it had an override so as not to automatically turn on. Sometime I find it on in the morning after turning it off.

Pros: Good interface, good sound, good features

Cons: Would like a auto power on override

Crutchfield response on

9 of 13 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Crutchfield customer from Covington, KY on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very rich tone, on-screen setup and configuration. This is my first Denon receiver and I'm impressed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Did not impress as much as onkyo tx rz820

kvr from Tampa, FL on 1/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

for my living room home cinema, recently i bought onkyo tx rz820 and paired with Pioneer Elite SP-EBS73-LR Dolby Atmos Bookshelf Speakers with center channel (all are 4 ohms) along with dynamo 1100x sub.the set up 3.1.2.. I am totally immersed by the onkyo sound and dynamic range . music play back also wonderful. ( fyi: For music have kefls50 wireless.+node2i with tidal ). So i tempted go full 5.2.4 setup with onkyo tx RZ830 but unfortunately it was not in stock so i tried denon avr -x4500h due to very good reviews. so i fired with same 3.1.2 setup and watched all reference movie clips. i was kept looking for immerse dynamic sound as onkyo and increased volume 75%. no luck. something missing . its just plain. no excitement in Player one movie racing clip. after a while i started getting listing fatigue. so i verified EQ graph by Audyssey calibration. i surprised to see highs are too much and reduced mids and upper bass. settings are joke like i use to play 15 years back with 12 band graphic equalizer with my stereo.i see this one have latest tech imax enhanced dts but at this movement i cannot compromised with onkyo dynamics and sound quality . Onkyo sound is like bold full bodied and music also i get very good soundstage with very good vocals.on the other hand in denon sound all are missing with thin sound. hope i will not get hdmi issues with onkyo.

Pros: latest tech

Cons: no dynamic sound and no excitement while watching movies . Over manipulated Audyssey processing

Crutchfield response on

24 of 54 found this helpful

Amazing upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Macedon, NY on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Denon Heos app and smart feature support isn't perfect, but sound quality and features are amazing. I paired this receiver with klipsch reference permiere speakers and couldn't be happier.

Pros: Great audio and video processing Lots of connection options

Cons: Heos support isn't great

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing Sound Quality and

Adrian from Fresno, CA on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Denon AVR-X4500 because I had two 7.1 systems with Klipsch reference speakers. I decided to upgrade my Onkyo 787 receiver and am glad I did. The music and movies come to life with the processing power and sound of the Denon. The only problem I experienced was audio dropouts. I soon realized it was my older Monster HDMI cables weren't compatible with Dolby Vision or HDR. I tried calling Monster to get their lifetime replacement, but their customer service is terrible because they wanted me to find the receipt for 15 year old cables. Never purchase Monster again! Also, I received amazing service from a Crutchfield advisor via the live chat. She helped me price match B&H photo. Thank you. Overall, the Denon is an amazing purchase and I absolutely recommend it.

Pros: Plethora of sound processing Excellent Audyssey configuration Ease of set up

Cons: 9.2 channel processing requires external amplifier Remote control is not back-lit

Crutchfield response on

9 of 19 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4500H

Bryan from Vancouver, WA on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got it and this thing blows my mind how it sounds

Pros: Great high end receiver you would expect from Denon or marantz

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

TOP