Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRX4700BKE3

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRX4700BKE3

32 reviews
View this product

No 4k 120hz yet

Alex from Queens, NY on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Denon AVR-X4700H is a great receiver. it has 9.2 channels with the ablity to add 2 more channels with a power amp. I'm using the Niles SI-2150 which gives you 150W at 8ohs and 270W at 4ohms per channel to go with my Klipsch - Reference Series Dual 6-1/2" Passive Floor Speaker. which is 100W RMs and 400 peak. the only draw back with this receiver is the pre-out set up only allows you to chose from either your Dolby Atmos surround or your fronts. I went with the fronts because it was a shorter run wire wise. I wouldn't have enough slack to wire up the power amp for Dolby Atmos surround. The set up is easy, the auddusy for the speakers is amazing and if you pay an extra $20 for the multeq app it allows you really calibrate in more detail your speakers and subs via your phone. you then save it via the app and can send it to your receiver. One small issue is all the hdmi are supposed to be 4k 120hz. my xbox series x allows 4k 120hz and so does my 55 " lg 4k GX series. but the receiver won't do it. Not sure what's going on there. but all and all agreat add.

Pros:

Cons: No 4k 120hz yet pre-out set up only allows you to chose from either your Dolby Atmos surround or your fronts.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Redwood Falls, MN on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best AVR Receiver I've ever owned & heard...Love it...Absolutely no return on this bad-boy...

Pros: Quality, Sound, Appearance - Just to many "pro's" to list. With this being one of the 1st items on the list. I haven't made a statement regarding Crutchfield I've ordered - So I'll make my Statement regarding All of the Orders I've made with "Crutchfield". 1st of all, top notch Professional Conversation right out of the gate is all I've received no matter with whom I've spoken with - 2nd of all - Questions, orders, delivery timing, hours of operation,expertise, etc...Great Job Crutchfield!!!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Mount Solon, VA on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased so far. Sounds great and easy setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice unit. It replaces a 4 year old Yamaha which I thought was great until I got this one. Thx Crutchfield!

Pros: State of the art

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better Than Marantz

Joseph from LEE, NH on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Originally bought the Marantz 6015, but was not a fan, the sound was too dull and the user interface was awful. Swapped for the Denon x4700h and what a world of difference. The Denon has way more punch, extra power, and a much better UI. I am a life long Yamaha user, but may be a Denon convert now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Cave Creek, AZ on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from my trusty but retired Onkyo TX-SR707 AVR workhorse. I was initially annoyed there was no hardcopy manual (old school). But wow, the on-screen setup guide is the bomb (meaning great)! I still referred to the pdf download just to see how many features it has I'll likely never use - LOL. I also would have liked a large glossy foldout of the rear panel like the one my Onkyo came with to pin up inside the rear e-Center access. Anyway, the Denon was key electronic part of my 'turn-of-the-century' e-Center overhaul which is finally complete (it was built for 36" CRT). Had to blowout the upper part to make room for 82" Samsung (pics attached).

Pros: On-screen setup guide made setup a breeze. Audyssey set up was a breeze too.

Cons: No hardcopy of User manual No color glossy of rear panel

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Hermiston, OR on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 20 year old similar Denon unit. As expected, setup and settings in general are a little convoluted and complicated. Takes a few days of tinkering to get everything set, but it was worth it. About the same sized unit (old one was 120 watts, 5.1, this one is 125 watts), but it definitely breathed new life into my 20 year old Infinity speakers. Everything sounds better.

Pros: Does everything it needs to and does it better than most.

Cons: Expensive. Complicated, but it's hard to do everything it does without being complicated.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy I upgraded

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AVR-X4700 series is significantly improved from my old AVR-X4100. Sound quality is better, power is up, but the upgraded feature set convinced me to make the investment. As an added bonus, there was no learning curve for the other household members who use the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Atmos Install, Easy Setup

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to setup.. the walkthrough was clear and concise. Things have come a long way since I set up my last surround receiver and subwoofer! It was the easiest part of my install frankly. It comes with a speaker and tripod (cardboard) for running the 8 sound tests to automatically determine speaker settings for all 9 speakers. It sounds fabulous, much better than my previous system where I tried to configure by ear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

John from Colorado Spgs, CO on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 2001 era AVR-3802 with the X4700H, the convenience of a modern interface and connections combined with great sound is well worth the investment. The onscreen setup, configuration and settings features are convenient and easy to use. Sound and picture quality are fantastic and don't disappoint. The myriad of output options for an audio source can be overwhelming, but are a extremely easy to change on the fly. I appreciate the ability to turn off the display on the AVR itself, as it is ugly as sin and being able to turn it off cuts down extraneous light sources in a media room.

Pros: Easy setup Sound Quality Picture Quality

Cons: Display on AVR

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good receiver with a ton of functionality. I'd give it a higher rating, but it just doesn't do them all well. I'd be happier if it weren't so jam packed with features and did them all well. The amps also seem a little light on power. I have Marting Logan Motion 60's and in order for them I sound the way they should I've got to turn this receiver past half way to really hear them. I upgraded from an Onkyo TX-NR906 and I didn't turn that receiver past half way once since I bought it in 2009.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super cool amp. Upgraded from a 20 year old Denten 3802. I love the Bluetooth audio and the rest of the features. The onscreen auto set up is a great feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

An expesive winner

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MN on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great AV Receiver. Complicated and the manual is ok . I understand they don't want to print out 300+ page manual to include. Requires decent cables as others have mentioned. Good picture, sound great, remote ok, online remote better. Dislike the fact that you can not shut off auto on for selected items. BLueray comes on first regardless of you want it to or not. As your media player is warming up it will continue to switch back to Blueray while media player warns up

Pros: Great sound, great picture tons of features like the Bluetooth Headphone option.

Cons: They did not use solid state relays for turning on the main and zone amps . With solid state you do not hear the click when the receiver turns on the Main Amp and Zone Amps

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

what an upgrade!!!

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the perfect low-end of the "all the bells and whistles" audiophile home theater receiver. Especially great for a do-it-yourself home theater. I started with a 5.1 system, moved to 7.2 then wanted to add Dolby Atmos to get 9.2 and ultimately 11.2. I've owned a series of highly-rated $350-$700 receivers which I thought were ok until I installed the Denon. Relative to those receivers and the surround sound I was hearing, this is ASTOUNDINGLY better. Features I was looking for: Audyssey MultEQ XT32 to tune the speakers, all the dolby and DTS formats as well as HDR formats, upscaling to 8k (I know there is no content, but I have a Samsung Q900 tv), and HDMI 2.1. I originally purchased the AVR6700 but it was out of stock and after a month, I compared the in-stock 4700 with the 6700 and other than power, seemed to be very comparable for my needs. I purchased this instead.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, NH on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome AV receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Sandy Hook, CT on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great build quality with sufficient power to drive my 5.1.4 system. Pleasantly surprised at the ease of set up and calibration for the speakers. Sound is rich and clear even at loud volumes. A great choice for medium to large rooms!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great home theater receiver.

Crutchfield customer from Abingdon, MD on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this has been an excellent receiver. It was very easy to configure and the sound has been excellent with my 5.2.2 set-up. I have not yet tested it it for 4K video yet but regular blu-ray looks great. I would recommend this product and have already done so to a friend building his theater room. I have not even started to harness all of the features this unit has but have used the HEOS and remote apps on my phone which is nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Oshkosh, WI on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and good looks

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than enough power and features. Just getting started with room to grow on this abt.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nightmare on elm street

Crutchfield customer from New Haven, MI on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to admit this is a lot more advanced compared to my older Denon so there's a stronger learning curve but I noticed the sound quality improvement right away !! The picture on the tv does go like a yellowish color and I have to switch to game back to cable and it clears that up . Don't know what that's about yet, could be a setting . I also can't get everything to turn on at once with this AVR which does bother me considering how much you spend for it , my last denon was a cheap one and everything turned on and off together on hooked up . Definitely disappointed that I have to have 5 remotes because of that or buy a $200 universal , shouldn't have too ! Other than that I'm happy and like I said still learning ! It has options for days and makes it easy to navigate through them .

Pros: Sound quality and options

Cons: My con might not be for everyone but would be that issue with having to turn everything on and off individually because the AVR isn't doing it or something isn't allowing it to ??

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 10 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, OH on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy functions and hook up. The set up was so easy. The only issue is the microphone set up on speaker distances. It seamed way off and had to adjust speaker levels by quite a bit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon avr X 4700h

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, lots of inputs, both HDMI and RCA for older equipment. Just runs hot, I got a cooling fan and resolved the problem. Only, I didn't understand why when I switched sources from Nvidia to tv, it would turn the receiver off.. I have the cable box connected to tv and ARC to receiver. Perhaps I have to connect cable box to receiver which means the receiver have to be on. Sometimes, I just watch TV and the audio from TV itself. Not necessary to have amplify the sound for news broadcast. Other than that, its a great product.

Pros: Great receiver. Lots of inputs Future upgrade to 8K Input for phono

Cons: Runs hot.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great....but

Crutchfield customer from Wooldridge, MO on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pro: Great sound, fantastic picture with 4K processing. Con: very difficult set up. Minimally comprehensible owners manual, available only as download and hundreds of pages. Am I pleased? Absolutely. Recommended? Certainly, just be prepared for a tree to four day "get acquainted" period with some painful and frustrating episodes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Caseyville, IL on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as a replacement for my I laser Onkyo that died on me. I loved the sound the Onkyo produced through my KLIPSCH RF3 and Velodyne sub, but couldn't find any new Onkyo's available anywhere. So, after a bunch of research and discussions (Crutchfield team was very helpful) I settled on this Denon. This is my first Denon and I have not been disappointed! For me, I think the Denon sounds better then the Onkyo for movies, but the maybe the Onkyo was a bit better for music. Tough call as I'm still tweaking settings. All in all, I'm very please either my purchase!

Pros: Feature rich Simple set up Good build quality Excellent for movies

Cons: Only wish it had one knob on the front, as I prefer a cleaner look. I believe it's more of an audyssey setup issue, but voice track a bit low for music. I'm still tweaking so can't really say it's a con.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon receiver works great

Crutchfield customer from Cologne, MN on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced 19 year old Onkyo (110w - 7.2ch), with this Denon, mainly for the HDMI and remote control via app on phone/tablet. Works great. Love that it can play my digital music from a USB memory stick. 4K contents look great. It does run hot, but I don't think it's any hotter than the old Onkyo.

Pros:

Cons: 1 bug found, the initial turn on volume does not work on all 3 zones. The GUI that displays on the TV is dated.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Greasy Receiver

Brandon from Canonsburg, PA on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my denon 2016 to this receiver it sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great step up

Jeff from Moberly, MO on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I stepped up from a Denon S910W to this X4700H. Same great sound (as expected) but now the added power gives more "headroom" with my now 9 speakers...I can push music/movies louder without any distortion. Pros: 1) this remote is programmable so I can control every device that is hooked up. 2) My wireless headphones with this new Bluetooth transmitter is a great feature so I can crank up the music/movie volume while my wife sleeps. 3) the door on the front panel closes...good for keeping the curious grandchildren's fingers off the buttons. 4) renaming my devices for the on-screen display (and front display of two lines) now has even more characters to work with. 5) with a push of a button, I can now see a on screen display of a movie disc's picture & sound coding (type of Dolby or DTS) with icons to show the number of speakers that are currently input & output. 6) loving the 3-D sound! Cons: I can no longer plug in my iPod and have the receiver (with the onscreen menu) control the iPod. The new Denon receivers must have lost the license contracts with Apple.

Pros: Numerous advanced features are worth the extra price

Cons: no longer apple friendly with iPods and iPhones

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clipping

Crutchfield customer from Maynardville, TN on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great but I can not give it 5 stars because with 9 speakers hooked up it clips at moderate volumes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Great sound and picture!!

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived in a timely fashion. My wife was skeptical about replacing our Pioneer Elite; she cannot get over the clarity and the sound!!

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

I like it so far

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 8/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it so far. It does run warm so make sure it is ventilated. The sound is fine and Crutchfield is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Redding

Loren from Redding on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to buy this AVR 3 months before I upgrade from a 1080p LED TV to a smart 4K TV with HDR and Dolby Atmos and eARC. This will give me time to get used to the many features of this excellent AVR. Even though I'm streaming with a ROKU Streaming Stick, my home theater sounds good to me now and I'm looking forward to how much better it will sound after I upgrade my tv.

Pros: Plenty of power for my 6 ohm speakers. I prefer it to my previous AVR that was an Onkyo TXNR5007 9.2 channel with 145 watts per channel.

Cons: I really have no cons so far. The user's manual was not included, but the on-line manual is very helpful once I got used to using the index and just printing out a few pages, when needed, instead of printing out the whole manual. It took me a few days, referring to the manual, to set up everything. But I am very pleased with the results so far and I'm surprised I haven't had to call Denon or Crutchfield for set-up help, yet. I still have a lot to learn about the many options of this AVR.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

AVR-X4700H Model the best

Crutchfield customer from San Bernardino, CA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned many Denons over the years by the X4700H is the best ever. Seemly operation between modes so I can switch from listening to streaming music throughout the house to watching TV. The Bluetooth is also much improved and sounds much better than the older models. I actually use it now to stream from my Media server. The new Auro-3D is also great...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP