Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-X4700H

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRX4700HBKE3

Denon AVR-X4700H

Denon AVR-X4700H

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRX4700HBKE3

92 reviews
View this product

Denon AVR-X4700H

Carl from Whittier, CA on 1/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Almost a complete duplicate of my old Marantz at a fraction of the price. One issue: switching on/off the zone 2 video doesn't work as nice as the Marantz

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just a great AVR

Rick from Cascade, CO on 1/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a Denon avr-x2500h. My main concern was whether, other than the increase in power, I could hear the difference between the two AVR's. Before I even ran the room correction, I could immediately tell the difference between the two. The sound was awesome. More separation, easier to understand dialog, just more sound coming from each speaker. With the price discount due to a new version coming out, I think this is a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value!

Matthew from Morganton, NC on 1/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unit is easy to set up and sounds excellent. I like that it is very easy to setup 2 channel listening mode and the amps still sound great for music. Dolby Atmos tracks sound amazing and the video handling has been flawless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Charles from Monroe, LA on 1/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The AVR-X4700H is a good amp. The basic setup was easy and the amp performed as expected. It was nice to have Crutchfield available to provide assistance but in this cane no assistance was needed.

Pros: Easy initial set up.

Cons: Not enough documentation provided in the box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver, better company!

Joe from LAKE ELMO, MN on 1/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible value for this receiver.... However, the thing that is the most impressive is Crutchfield. I ordered this receiver and I received it in two days. This is an incredible company, and their service is first class. I order other stuff from another retailer, and their shipping is getting worse every day and companies like Crutchfield seem to get better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great upgrade to push me to 7.2.4!

Jaime from Hacienda Hts, CA on 1/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver. Upgraded from a 7.1 channel Denon 2113 and went with this as the AVR in a 7.2.4 system. Using the preouts to feed an amp powering the front and center channels so I can use the receivers amps to power the atmos and all the surrounds. Easy set up. Super clean looking front display, just see the knobs unless you open up the front flap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

J. from Southern California on 1/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We've only had this unit set up for a few days, but we've been extremely impressed so far. Setup was easy, the unit looks great, but most importantly, the sound is fantastic. This replaced an older Marantz AV7005 pre-processor, which we had been pleased with until the HDMI video stopped working. This is a clear upgrade in sound quality. Very pleased.

Pros: Sound quality Look/design Ease of setup Value for price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700 review

Ralph from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very, very good receiver. I have KEF speakers and they were good before but the receiver improved their performance remarkably. Excellent musical response! Set up with audyssey and microphone was easy. A little manual adjustment afterward to increase bass and music sounds wonderful! It's actually possible to play music off of Amazon that is so realistic that it seems that the artist/band is in the room with you. I think that has always been the goal but it is now actually possible in a normal living room.

Pros: Speakers become more responsive Very hi fidelity Excellent 4K feed for TV

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon Gem!

Donald from Erie, PA on 1/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just replaced an older Onkyo receiver that I had also purchased through Crutchfield. The Denon was so easy to set up, the onscreen instructions were fantastic! The calibration also was onscreen instructions and worked perfectly. I'm blown away by the sound of this receiver and the picture quality that it gives our 4K Television. I am still learning all that this receiver can do, so happy it has Bluetooth as the Onkyo didn't.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Calibration Needs Patience

Dstop from Jersey Shore on 1/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setting up the receiver was easy. Calibration of the speakers was a pain! All speakers in my 5.1 config worked on the initial teat but when it came to testing each speaker, first it said my left surround didn't work. Checked all the wires and redid the test. Still didn't work. Retried for a third time and magically it worked! It did the same to my sub woofer. Of course it worked after the third retry. Combine that with my year old Samsung TV which was also a pain and it was just aggravating! Finally got everything working and so far so good. still haven't done music or Blu-Ray at this early stage. Patience is a virtue!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Another great AV Receiver!

Bobby from League City, TX on 1/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Demon makes a great product! This is my third Denon AV receiver. I was talked into an Onkyo and could only put up with its glitchy operation for about 6 months. This Denon operates flawlessly. If I have one complaint, it would be the Audessey set up. I feel more user input could help make a great process that much better. If you are on the fence, don't hesitate to go with a Denon.

Pros: Build Quality Sound Power Aluminum Front Panel Ease of Setup

Cons: Audessey could be more interactive

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Abby from Anaheim, CA on 1/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install and calibrate. Powerful and versatile. Love the HEOS app.

Pros: Powerful and feature rich

Cons: Heavier than my older model

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Charles from Navarre, FL on 12/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

a bit pricey

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Ralph from Merritt Is, FL on 12/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is fantastic... setup was fairly easy... but I had to figure it out myself. Denon could add some start-up instructions to their online manual

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Problems with setup.

Allan from Cuero, TX on 12/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After installing it and working through set up I was unable to use the microphone to set up speaker placement and acknowledge. System kept saying no speaker found. Crutchfield assistant is having to replace unit since we had no success.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

An Absolutely Outstanding AVR

Thomas from Dallas, TX on 12/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this AVR to replace my old Denon CS 3312 CI, 7.2 rig. Originally the purchase was, as much as for any other reason, one of convenience--the ability to consolidate and route all the various video components (TV, Roku unit, 4K player) through one control center, thus eliminating the need to use multiple HDMI ports on the TV. Well, it certainly accomplished that. But, in the process of setting up the unit, and subsequently using it, the purchase has proved to be a spectacular upgrade from my previous set up, both in terms the video and audio. First, the setup using the AVR's speaker setup/placement and Audyssey routines was a breeze. I even used the cardboard microphone stand provided by Denon for the Audyssey setup. The process was smooth and easy, and the resulting sound quality for both home theater and general music listening fantastic. My loudspeaker array has never sounded better. Second, once I configured my 4K TV for enhanced 60Hz HDR, the system's video quality reached an entirely new height of video performance. The video quality of every component improved, most noticeably that of the Roku unit. Now, the TV's resolution is always 4K, and the added convenience of not having to constantly change the TV's video input source is a real plus. The remote control is also nice, much more conveniently laid out in terms of audio, device and TV control than previous versions. This unit is, in short, an absolutely outstandin

Pros: Ease of setup. Convenience of centralized control. Exceptional Audio and Video quality. Well laid out remote control.

Cons: Only that it wasn't available free of charge. ;)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Michael from Dayton, TX on 12/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful avr, upgraded from an older Onkyo to get a cleaner more powerful sound with more channels. The app is a bit wonky at first but not bad. I do wish it had support for Google/YouTube music as that is my only music streaming service (it seems to have all the rest covered fine!). I'm still tryjng to get the zones all worked out with the outputs but I think it will be great once fully set up. Denon did a great job with this one!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

John from El Paso, TX on 12/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Failed out of the box. Would not power up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/20/2022
John contacted our Tech Support specialist, Franky, and he sent out a replacement right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Kobe from Collinsville, IL on 12/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolute beast of a receiver. Has all the bells and whistles I could ever need plus some yet it is still pretty easy to set up. I recommend this to anyone that wants a home theater setup with 9+ channels of extremely clean and clear audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Receiver!

Anatoly from Teaticket, MA on 12/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice receiver. It is light years ahead of my previous toy AVR-3805, which still works perfectly in my gym. AVR-X4700H is a very versatile receiver in terms of audio and video processing, the remote is simple and user friendly. In two words: Great Receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!

Dale from Gresham, OR on 12/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this receiver so far, moved on from an older Pioneer Elite SC 57. The set-up was very simple. My set-up was a 5.2 so pretty straight forward. It was step by step and was also very intuitive. Ran the Audyssey se t up in all 8 locations like the set-up menu wanted to do, so running that set-up now, we will see after a while of running it if I need to massage it a bit. Watched Top Gun 2 and was very satisfied with the results. Haven't had the chance to use the Heos yet but looking forward to that. We have direct TV and that remote will turn everything on TV, satellite box and the receiver, controls the receiver volume, pretty handy. Shipping was fast, the receiver was shipped 2nd day, pricing was very fair found it on sale for $1499.00 seems to be a pretty good bargain so far. The difference in technology between my old Pioneer and this new Denon is night and day. Love it.

Pros: Ease of set-up. Sound Quality

Cons: Like most people say the remote isn't back lit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Larry from CA on 12/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We were running on an old Bose speaker system with a Pioneer receiver that finally went out after 16 years. So we needed to upgrade our home surround sound. We were only going to upgrade the receiver. So we did look around and did some research. We initially went with Denon 3800. Since it was the latest one out and it sounded nice. But then we hooked it up and found out our speakers were not very compatible. :) We saw the 4700 was on sale for less than the 3800. WOW. So we decided if we were going to upgrade let's get the best bang for our buck. So ordered the 4700 from Crutchfield. Wow, what an amazing receiver. I don't know a lot about all this new technology (I am an old man LOL), but I am learning, and I am very pleased with this Denon AVR-XP4700H. I did hook up two zones and the receiver is doing exactly what it said it would do. It was not too confusing/hard to hook up after I already had the 3800 hooked up. The directions to set it up show up on the tv screen so you can read right off the screen and follow the directions. I still need to work on zone 3. Overall we really love this receiver after we did upgrade our speakers from Crutchfield as well (Loved their Black Friday Sales). That will be another review. :) This receiver handles all the equipment we purchased with lots of power. Denon, thank you for a great product. This receiver is well worth the money we spent. BTW: There was nothing wrong with the 3800. It is also a great receiver.

Pros: Easy setup. Sounds great. Lots of options for sound. A lot of connections to use up to add what you want. Universal remote. Looks great. Easy to operate. Great opportunities to use Atmos Speakers.

Cons: Do not have any at this time.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Mark from Clarksville, TN on 12/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Would buy it again. Great Product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Lousy Menu and Manuals

David from Durango, CO on 12/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It does sound good for sure, and the surround-sound options are pretty good. It could use options for rear surround speakers placed above listener level as opposed to only height speakers. My biggest problem is with the on-screen menu. Whoever wrote the product information and called the menu "intuitive" doesn't think like anybody I've ever met for sure. This is one backwards setup. And, it would certainly be nice if Denon wrote somewhere, here, on their website, in the quick-start guide, anywhere, that in order to see the on screen menu, YOU MUST HAVE THE RECEIVER ON A SOURCE OTHER THAN THE eARC SOURCE! I searched the internet for far too long to come up with this info on an A/V forum. Denon's website had completely unhelpful info dealing with restarting this and resetting that. Lousy! Finally, the sound modes - Music, Movie, etc. don't seem to automatically switch with sources. I'm hoping this is a matter of a setting that I still haven't found in the ridiculously obtuse manual. In today's age, the sound settings on a unit like this should absolutely be source-specific. I don't want DTS on music nor 7-channel stereo on movies. But it does sound great!

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Menus Manual Sticky settings needed

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Worth It!

Kris from Olive Branch, MS on 12/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow! I upgraded from a 10 year old Sony receiver and this unit is night and day! The versatility of this unit cannot be overstated. Users have the option to use the Setup Assistant for ease or manually adjust settings to your taste. The quality of sound is powerful yet smooth. As for Crutchfield service, staff members were helpful through the live chat feature and addressed all of my questions prior to purchase. Communication and support are mainstays of Crutchfield!

Pros: Ample Power Easy Setup Clean user interface Sleek exterior design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value and fantastic reciever

Leslie from Frankston, TX on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great reciever that has everything you would need for a true media room. The value is exceptional and how can you go wrong with such professional help from Crutchfield. They even called me to make sure I knew what was was ordering which made for a very positive experience

Pros: Has everything more power than I need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Jorge from Pasco, WA on 12/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Still learning all the tricks to this receiver but it looks promising. I did the set up for all my 9 speakers plus subwoofer and also the calibration. Can't wait to see an action packed movie using this new receiver

Pros: Set up was easy.

Cons: So far none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Separates to a Receiver - GREAT MOVE

Christian De from Bonita , CA on 12/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Supremely Flexible. Switching over from a NAD M15 HD running a (currently) 5.1 surround speaker system, I ultimately chose this Denon due to its features and flexibility. The NAD, while being a very nice (sounding) unit, is a bit long in the tooth, lacking HDMI 2.1 and Atmos capability. While the latter is available via an upgrade card, the former still has not been released yet. Without HDMI switching, I was using the functional, though clunky eARC return system to funnel the lossless codecs from my OLED back to the NAD. Obviously, Denon has the Atmos capability, but although it has HDMI 2.1, it only on one output. However, only my Xbox Series X needs 2.1 - so the Denon becomes a one-box solution. Moreover, I now have a clear path to add additional speakers - being a 9.2-configured amplifier section, it works perfectly, as my two front channels use external tube amps. The SW is just a joy to use. Yes, people complain about how the menus are difficult to navigate, but that's small price to pay for the options available in this receiver. I thought I'd be downgrading sound quality going to a receiver, and in a short listening session - can't really distinguish a significant difference comparing NAD's analog only input to the Denon's Pure Direct (sub not part of playback). I'd say the Denon is 95% to 99% the sound quality of the NAD - but that could just be psychoacoustics or my hearing going away due to age. :-) Great receiver - I should have

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AVR-X4700H upgrade

Lucy from Lyford, TX on 12/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgrade from Denon AVR-3808CI was worth waiting 15 years for the AVR-X4700H to emerge. The GUI is much easier to navigate, the Audyssey speaker setup is more refined and appears to have set the center channel speaker to the proper level. Had an HDMI conflict between AppleTV input and the AVR output to the OLED tv which resulted in the setup screen not showing on the tv (AppleTV input was set to pass-through auto control). Recommend waiting to plug in additional HDMI inputs until after setup is accomplished. I've placed the computer fans on top to assist in keeping things cool. Was wanting a switched AC outlet to plug the fans into as on the 3808 but this is minor. Tons of options for inputs, outputs and speaker configurations. Just wished there was a complete manual included rather than just a quick guide. Would have been nice to understand what the RCA combinations are from the start with a complete manual. All in all I'm very satisfied so far with this AVR and capabilities for future expansion. Presently it is powering a 5.1 Paradigm speaker system and plan to enhance this to 9.1 and multi-zone setup. Thanks Crutchfield for having this AVR in stock at a fantastic price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Dennis from Fern Bch, FL on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced my X4300H because lightning strikes and sensitive equipment don't do well together. Set up of new unit a breeze . I needed help with one setting.. got on the phone and had the issue solved in less than 5 minutes. This purchase is a scratch and dent, I have looked this unit over several times and cannot see what made this a scratch and dent candidate. I would not hesitate to get another S&D product from Crutchfield or an original package product for that matter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Dennis from Rehoboth Beach, DE on 9/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice power combo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

James from Kingsport, TN on 8/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced my AVR X3200H with this 11.2 to meet my needs for my expanded home theater. I've been very satisfied with the performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Adrian from Dallas, TX on 8/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent. Easy set-up and speaker balancing. Includes microphone, great idea.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good When It Works!

Robert from HONOLULU, HI on 7/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well, this story is not over yet but I feel I need to warn prospective purchasers now: I have purchased six AV receivers from Crutchfield over the years (three Denons) and this Denon X4700H is the only one I have ever had problems with. I bought the X4700H in September, 2020. It failed about a year later, and was picked up by Denon's local service technician in early November, 2021. (Credit to Denon for having a local service representative - I did not need to do the expensive "return unit to Denon" routine mentioned by others). The service tech was great and kept me posted, but Denon was slow getting parts to him. I got the unit back about thee months later, in February 2022. Unfortunately, the unit failed again (different problem) about six months after that. So, now in July 2022, once again the local tech has picked up the unit and is now again waiting for parts. I appreciate Denon's three year warranty. And I appreciate the fact they have a local service center in many large cities. I am not happy that this unit has failed twice, however. As I write this, there seem to be about 60 reviews, and about 6 of them report problems. When the unit works, it works well, but if there is a 10% failure rate, that is something you should keep in mind if you are considering purchasing one of these. My only other comment is that all Denons run hot. I have auxiliary fans for both my current Denons. If you have your unit out on an open shelf, that probably is not an issue for you.

Pros: Fine performance when it works

Cons: Has failed twice in two years

Crutchfield response on

30 of 31 found this helpful

First Dennon

James from Boulder City, NV on 7/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very impressed with the overall simplicity of this unit. The performance is fantastic! Didn't think there would be enough power but with 9.2 running it's a thing of beauty. Brought my 20 year old speakers back to life.

Pros: Sweet sound and video super simple setup.

Cons: None yet...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works and sounds great! Clear, detailed and powerful.

Paul from Manchester, NH on 6/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver. Despite the hyper-critical reviews on various sites, I have no complaints on sound quality or features. I'm using Klipsch RP280F speakers . Streaming Tidal via the HEOS app works and sounds excellent. I subscribe to the 16/44 service only. The USB FLAC integration works great and displays the sample rate and bit depth on the TV screen so you know that the DAC is decoding properly. I use a tiny 128G USB drive that allows the front door to close making this an invisible solution. You can completely control USB playback from the remote control. I no longer need my media computer. The room correction software works very well, but I select "Direct" or "Pure Direct" mode for critical two-channel listening. Sound quality is excellent! I've always been a Yamaha guy, but they lost me with their new receivers, that tiny display and huge volume knob doesn't provide the utility I need from a front panel. This Denon provides full control and status on the front panel which makes it easy to see from my listening position. The unit does run pretty hot, though. I engaged the "ECO" function and the unit runs noticeable cooler now. ECO can be configured to turn on and off based on volume and I haven't noticed any negative effects when it's enabled. You can probably tell that I'm a "2-channel first" person, but the surround sound capabilities of this receiver are beyond anything I've experiences before. Very impressive, sound comes from everywhere. Highly recommended.

Pros: Full compliment of useful features with articulate natural and detailed sound. Engaging surround sound in my 5.2.4 system. Excellent 2-channel sound quality.

Cons: Runs hot without ECO mode enabled. Rather expensive for my budget.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Alan from Comfrey, MN on 6/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to get setup and plenty of power for my use !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solid, Highly Recommended AVR

Edward from Rapid City, SD on 6/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

BLUF: Very capable, highly recommended. This unit replaces the X3700H model that I moved from the Home Theater room to an upstairs media/gaming setup. I considered replacing it in the HT with the Marantz/Denon/Anthem and a few other brands. Reviews/measurements at ASR (audiosciencereview.com - Denon measures better than Marantz) helped a great deal in narrowing down all the choices. While this unit has a 9.2 capable amp, it does process up to 11 channels, whichI use for my 7.2.4 Polk Legend setup. Using Crutchfield comparison tool, I looked at the 8500, 6700, 4700, and 3700 models. When using that tool and hiding the like specifications, there really wasn't any real differences beyond the number of channels the amp drives and the wpc w/2-channels driven. Since I use external Emotiva XPA Gen3 amps, most of that was irrelevant. So I ruled out the 8500 & 6700 immediately as the extra expense of those units really didn't provide any real differences. I went with the 4700H as an upgrade to the 3700H, having better DAC chips, more detailed front panel, etc. One thing I found during setup, that I really liked, the 4700 has a 2-channel setup config that wasn't an option with the 3700, perfect for my L800s. The unit is extremely well built, has a straight forward hookup, would be nice if the remote was backlit for using in a darkened room, but overall, the X4700H has all of the sound and video options most of us will ever need. Awesome AVR, very highly recommended.

Pros: 9-chnl amp / 13-channels of processing All of the sound and video options most of us will ever need. Separate 2-channel configuration capability Solid build, measures great.

Cons: Outside of wishing this had a backlit remote, I've found no cons with this AVR in my 7.2.4 Home Theater.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Dissapointing - my last Marantz receiver

Crutchfield customer from Southern Maryland on 5/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First to address the title of my review - my marantz 5015 blew the left front channel within a year. Got it fixed under warranty and gave it away. I swore off Marantz due to that issue, the Marantz customer service, and their return policy. I chose the Denon 4700 and quickly realized during setup it is a Marantz product too! Ugh... so I was not surprised that the sound would cut off randomly and also when changing sources. I a quickly returned it (Crutchfield customer service is awesome). Have had this replaced 4700 for maybe two weeks. It can freeze up when switching sound prefs, and one time it wouldn't turn off at all. Additionally, when switching to 'all channel' the delay is 7 seconds. That's 7 seconds without video or audio; a really long time for a "premium' product. The sound is what you would expect, as is the video. The setup is a breeze. And the user interface is easy to understand and pretty intuitive. Changing audio inputs, sounds options, and adjusting speaker levels is simple. But, I have no confidence in this receiver or any Marantz products. Will probably return this for a Yamaha or an NAD.

Pros: Easy set up The most intuitive interface Solid form factor - well built and sturdy

Cons: Buggy Unreliable Awkward delay when switching to 'all zones'

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Is this a lemon?

Lisabeth from pensacola on 5/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thought this receiver was great. Sound is pure and clean just what I was looking for. About ten months ago I had a complete audio dropout. It happened once and then 6 months later again and again. There is a loud pop b4 the audio drops out and goes into auto protect mode. Called Crutchfield and they said I had to ship to Denon in New York. The Crutchfield rep said it was just this receiver that I had to pay shipping on. (???) Wow $87 for shipping!! Never had to do that b4 and would never have bought the receiver if they told me that up front. Is this a lemon? Anyone else had this type of issue with the X4700H?

Pros: Great sound. Ez setup.

Cons: mentioned above

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Midlothian

Kevin from Midlothian on 5/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this product little over 6 months ago... product is already failed, and Denon's warranty/ service is a joke for a piece of equipment at this price. You have to send it back at your expense and it takes 8-10 weeks to fix.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

23 of 26 found this helpful

WoW

Doug from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

need to figure how to turn it offf. It does turn on by itself and is hard to turn off but to me that is nothing compared to everything else

Pros: Where do I start

Cons: coast

Crutchfield response on

5 of 17 found this helpful

Denon receiver..

Haritash from Vancouver on 3/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The worst

Pros: It's loud

Cons: To complicated... you need to be a heart surgeon to figure it out

Crutchfield response on

4 of 27 found this helpful

Great sound.

Mitchell from Madison, MS on 3/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded from Marantz 5010. I set it up as 5.2.4. It's incredible!!! Dolby Atmos is so much better on this compared to the old Marantz. Sitting here now, watching 'Pieces of Her' on Netflix and amazed at the sound.

Pros:

Cons: None after a month.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Kirk from North Olmsted, OH on 2/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent AVR, very happy with it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

An outstanding AVR

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A breeze to setup - much easier than expected. The Audyssey room correction is quite good "out of the box" but using the audyssey app (an extra $20 on the Apple store :-( ) takes it up a level in terms of customization and it gives my main speakers (which are very good but quite old) a new lease of life. Rumors that it runs hot don't seem to be born out (or perhaps I don't have it loud enough!) . Initially, I thought that the app to control this wasn't too good, but as I have learnt it's idiosyncracies, it is also quite good. I cannot persuade the web-browser based control to work (at all) as well as it did in my old receiver, but I haven't tried that hard as there is a nice little app online for desktop use that is just what I needed.

Pros: Easy setup, sounds great, looks good. Cons are pretty trivial for my setup. As always, the shipping and communication from Crutchfield is great

Cons: Web browser-based control on a PC desktop is a non-starter (in my hands) Could do with another USB port on the back and the front USB to not be concealed behind the door on the front

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Guest from Queen Creek, AZ on 8/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really happy with this product. Exactly what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Bryan, TX on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just built a new house and designed house with full intent to use all functions of this receiver.But unit puts out good clear sound the only issue i have is the second HDMI out put seams to be flaky when plugged in it will cause main HDMI out put to blink and turn off completely then back on then back off. Not usable! when using second HDMI output

Pros: sounds really Good!

Cons: HDMI output flaky

Crutchfield response on

21 of 24 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Guest from Palm Harbor, FL on 7/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Failed after ten months. On its way to NJ. If returned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 26 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Hls, AZ on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really cool apps on my phone and great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Powerful but flawed

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have always had Denon as a receiver so when it was time to upgrade to 4K and 8k, it was a no brainer to stick with the brand im used to. I spoke extensively with Crutchfield agents, as they are very knowledgeable and I wasted no time buying it. The sound is superb and the set up was flawless. Where I am disappointed is the fact that no where on Crutchfield's website does it address the HDMI 2.1 issue where the receiver (most 2020 receivers apparently) cannot do 8k as advertised due to a bad HDMI chip. I was very disappointed that this was not disclosed to me as a buyer and that they continue to sell them with these issues. I called customer service and they apologized and offered a credit, which is a nice gesture but I still do not see much in support for the issue on their website. I want to return the unit but there is no telling when new receivers will come in and if the issue will be addressed by Denon. There is a work around (an adapter) that I must use in order to use the Denon receiver as advertised but who wants to patch up such an expensive unit. I am waiting to hear from Denon before deciding to return the unit. Paying full price for a some what defective product does not sit well with me. I would have given this receiver 5 stars but false advertisement (8K capability) gets you 3. If you don't care about 8k or 4k 120 then this is the receiver for you!

Pros: Sound options, easy set up, lots of connections

Cons: No 8k capability (as advertised) need to use an adapter to use with 8k devices

Crutchfield response on

42 of 47 found this helpful

AudioJAG

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great AVR. Does all the specs it advertises. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons: Include users manual for "old dogs" like me!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Hixson, TN on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Connections were easy with on screen guide. I am very pleased with the sound and operation of this receiver .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A preamp at a receiver price

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought a Denon 3500 last year when they were on sale, and its been great, but lately stopped passing 4k material that was copy protected, so I was going to go with a prepro, but they were pricey. Then I saw this one had preamp mode, so I bought it. Already had the amps. Anyway this is a well built unit, the door on front is metal, fit and finish is great. Push the info button twice, you get info on the input signal, resolution, color space, etc. Nice to have 8k passthrough, although its pretty much vapor ware right now. But best of all its a great way to have a preamp processor at a bargain price. With the amps turned off it runs cool as a cucumber. Same great sound as my last Denon, and plenty of flexibility for adding atmos later if I want. And the preamp mode is not a gimmick, really works like a prepro costing much more. Two separate sub outputs.Blutooth transmits as well as receives in case you have blutooth phones. Very nice . A separates experience on a receiver budget.

Pros: Versatile, really all you need

Cons: Like most receivers these days, a lot of gimmicks you don't need

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 13 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great home theater receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy setup. Apps work great. I have it configured for a 5.1 main setup and two additional stereo zones. I was able to tune each additional speaker zone which was lacking from the prior Pioneer AV receiver. Aside from fumbling about with the amp assignment for this config, it's been a great experience. Highly recommend and well worth the investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Best AVR

Crutchfield customer from San Pedro, CA on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgrade from AVR X2600H. I'm very happy with this new 4700 and highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Westlake, OH on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

3rd denon receiver owned in 24 years. Still own the other 2. Sounds great with defintive technology bp2006tl speakers.

Pros: simpler and more user friendly and self explanatory accessible logical remote functions. comes with mic for easier room sound calibration

Cons: would have also like a hard copy manual in the box.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Customer Service is a Nightmare

Guest from Broomfield, CO on 4/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tried two new units from Denon. Bluetooth did not work right on either 4700H. Over six hours on the phone with Denon. They will not Fix, Replace with one that works or refund me my money and it was within the 60 days advertised. I had to do a Charge Back with my bank. Beware of Denon

Pros: Great Sound. Lots of features

Cons: Bluetooth does not work

Crutchfield response on 4/26/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

27 of 35 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Taylor, ND on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

THIS receiver might seem expensive but the quality compared to the cheap ones is way better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

No 4k 120hz yet

Alex from Queens, NY on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Denon AVR-X4700H is a great receiver. it has 9.2 channels with the ablity to add 2 more channels with a power amp. I'm using the Niles SI-2150 which gives you 150W at 8ohs and 270W at 4ohms per channel to go with my Klipsch - Reference Series Dual 6-1/2" Passive Floor Speaker. which is 100W RMs and 400 peak. the only draw back with this receiver is the pre-out set up only allows you to chose from either your Dolby Atmos surround or your fronts. I went with the fronts because it was a shorter run wire wise. I wouldn't have enough slack to wire up the power amp for Dolby Atmos surround. The set up is easy, the auddusy for the speakers is amazing and if you pay an extra $20 for the multeq app it allows you really calibrate in more detail your speakers and subs via your phone. you then save it via the app and can send it to your receiver. One small issue is all the hdmi are supposed to be 4k 120hz. my xbox series x allows 4k 120hz and so does my 55 " lg 4k GX series. but the receiver won't do it. Not sure what's going on there. but all and all agreat add.

Pros:

Cons: No 4k 120hz yet pre-out set up only allows you to chose from either your Dolby Atmos surround or your fronts.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

16 of 17 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Redwood Falls, MN on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best AVR Receiver I've ever owned & heard...Love it...Absolutely no return on this bad-boy...

Pros: Quality, Sound, Appearance - Just to many "pro's" to list. With this being one of the 1st items on the list. I haven't made a statement regarding Crutchfield I've ordered - So I'll make my Statement regarding All of the Orders I've made with "Crutchfield". 1st of all, top notch Professional Conversation right out of the gate is all I've received no matter with whom I've spoken with - 2nd of all - Questions, orders, delivery timing, hours of operation,expertise, etc...Great Job Crutchfield!!!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Mount Solon, VA on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased so far. Sounds great and easy setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super nice unit. It replaces a 4 year old Yamaha which I thought was great until I got this one. Thx Crutchfield!

Pros: State of the art

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Better Than Marantz

Joseph from LEE, NH on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Originally bought the Marantz 6015, but was not a fan, the sound was too dull and the user interface was awful. Swapped for the Denon x4700h and what a world of difference. The Denon has way more punch, extra power, and a much better UI. I am a life long Yamaha user, but may be a Denon convert now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Cave Creek, AZ on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade from my trusty but retired Onkyo TX-SR707 AVR workhorse. I was initially annoyed there was no hardcopy manual (old school). But wow, the on-screen setup guide is the bomb (meaning great)! I still referred to the pdf download just to see how many features it has I'll likely never use - LOL. I also would have liked a large glossy foldout of the rear panel like the one my Onkyo came with to pin up inside the rear e-Center access. Anyway, the Denon was key electronic part of my 'turn-of-the-century' e-Center overhaul which is finally complete (it was built for 36" CRT). Had to blowout the upper part to make room for 82" Samsung (pics attached).

Pros: On-screen setup guide made setup a breeze. Audyssey set up was a breeze too.

Cons: No hardcopy of User manual No color glossy of rear panel

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Hermiston, OR on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a 20 year old similar Denon unit. As expected, setup and settings in general are a little convoluted and complicated. Takes a few days of tinkering to get everything set, but it was worth it. About the same sized unit (old one was 120 watts, 5.1, this one is 125 watts), but it definitely breathed new life into my 20 year old Infinity speakers. Everything sounds better.

Pros: Does everything it needs to and does it better than most.

Cons: Expensive. Complicated, but it's hard to do everything it does without being complicated.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Happy I upgraded

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The AVR-X4700 series is significantly improved from my old AVR-X4100. Sound quality is better, power is up, but the upgraded feature set convinced me to make the investment. As an added bonus, there was no learning curve for the other household members who use the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Atmos Install, Easy Setup

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super easy to setup.. the walkthrough was clear and concise. Things have come a long way since I set up my last surround receiver and subwoofer! It was the easiest part of my install frankly. It comes with a speaker and tripod (cardboard) for running the 8 sound tests to automatically determine speaker settings for all 9 speakers. It sounds fabulous, much better than my previous system where I tried to configure by ear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

John from Colorado Spgs, CO on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a 2001 era AVR-3802 with the X4700H, the convenience of a modern interface and connections combined with great sound is well worth the investment. The onscreen setup, configuration and settings features are convenient and easy to use. Sound and picture quality are fantastic and don't disappoint. The myriad of output options for an audio source can be overwhelming, but are a extremely easy to change on the fly. I appreciate the ability to turn off the display on the AVR itself, as it is ugly as sin and being able to turn it off cuts down extraneous light sources in a media room.

Pros: Easy setup Sound Quality Picture Quality

Cons: Display on AVR

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good receiver with a ton of functionality. I'd give it a higher rating, but it just doesn't do them all well. I'd be happier if it weren't so jam packed with features and did them all well. The amps also seem a little light on power. I have Marting Logan Motion 60's and in order for them I sound the way they should I've got to turn this receiver past half way to really hear them. I upgraded from an Onkyo TX-NR906 and I didn't turn that receiver past half way once since I bought it in 2009.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 20 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super cool amp. Upgraded from a 20 year old Denten 3802. I love the Bluetooth audio and the rest of the features. The onscreen auto set up is a great feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

An expesive winner

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MN on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great AV Receiver. Complicated and the manual is ok . I understand they don't want to print out 300+ page manual to include. Requires decent cables as others have mentioned. Good picture, sound great, remote ok, online remote better. Dislike the fact that you can not shut off auto on for selected items. BLueray comes on first regardless of you want it to or not. As your media player is warming up it will continue to switch back to Blueray while media player warns up

Pros: Great sound, great picture tons of features like the Bluetooth Headphone option.

Cons: They did not use solid state relays for turning on the main and zone amps . With solid state you do not hear the click when the receiver turns on the Main Amp and Zone Amps

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

what an upgrade!!!

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the perfect low-end of the "all the bells and whistles" audiophile home theater receiver. Especially great for a do-it-yourself home theater. I started with a 5.1 system, moved to 7.2 then wanted to add Dolby Atmos to get 9.2 and ultimately 11.2. I've owned a series of highly-rated $350-$700 receivers which I thought were ok until I installed the Denon. Relative to those receivers and the surround sound I was hearing, this is ASTOUNDINGLY better. Features I was looking for: Audyssey MultEQ XT32 to tune the speakers, all the dolby and DTS formats as well as HDR formats, upscaling to 8k (I know there is no content, but I have a Samsung Q900 tv), and HDMI 2.1. I originally purchased the AVR6700 but it was out of stock and after a month, I compared the in-stock 4700 with the 6700 and other than power, seemed to be very comparable for my needs. I purchased this instead.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, NH on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome AV receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Sandy Hook, CT on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great build quality with sufficient power to drive my 5.1.4 system. Pleasantly surprised at the ease of set up and calibration for the speakers. Sound is rich and clear even at loud volumes. A great choice for medium to large rooms!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great home theater receiver.

Crutchfield customer from Abingdon, MD on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far this has been an excellent receiver. It was very easy to configure and the sound has been excellent with my 5.2.2 set-up. I have not yet tested it it for 4K video yet but regular blu-ray looks great. I would recommend this product and have already done so to a friend building his theater room. I have not even started to harness all of the features this unit has but have used the HEOS and remote apps on my phone which is nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Oshkosh, WI on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup and good looks

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

More than enough power and features. Just getting started with room to grow on this abt.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nightmare on elm street

Crutchfield customer from New Haven, MI on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have to admit this is a lot more advanced compared to my older Denon so there's a stronger learning curve but I noticed the sound quality improvement right away !! The picture on the tv does go like a yellowish color and I have to switch to game back to cable and it clears that up . Don't know what that's about yet, could be a setting . I also can't get everything to turn on at once with this AVR which does bother me considering how much you spend for it , my last denon was a cheap one and everything turned on and off together on hooked up . Definitely disappointed that I have to have 5 remotes because of that or buy a $200 universal , shouldn't have too ! Other than that I'm happy and like I said still learning ! It has options for days and makes it easy to navigate through them .

Pros: Sound quality and options

Cons: My con might not be for everyone but would be that issue with having to turn everything on and off individually because the AVR isn't doing it or something isn't allowing it to ??

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 16 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, OH on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, easy functions and hook up. The set up was so easy. The only issue is the microphone set up on speaker distances. It seamed way off and had to adjust speaker levels by quite a bit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon avr X 4700h

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver, lots of inputs, both HDMI and RCA for older equipment. Just runs hot, I got a cooling fan and resolved the problem. Only, I didn't understand why when I switched sources from Nvidia to tv, it would turn the receiver off.. I have the cable box connected to tv and ARC to receiver. Perhaps I have to connect cable box to receiver which means the receiver have to be on. Sometimes, I just watch TV and the audio from TV itself. Not necessary to have amplify the sound for news broadcast. Other than that, its a great product.

Pros: Great receiver. Lots of inputs Future upgrade to 8K Input for phono

Cons: Runs hot.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great....but

Crutchfield customer from Wooldridge, MO on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pro: Great sound, fantastic picture with 4K processing. Con: very difficult set up. Minimally comprehensible owners manual, available only as download and hundreds of pages. Am I pleased? Absolutely. Recommended? Certainly, just be prepared for a tree to four day "get acquainted" period with some painful and frustrating episodes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

12 of 12 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X4700H

Crutchfield customer from Caseyville, IL on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this as a replacement for my I laser Onkyo that died on me. I loved the sound the Onkyo produced through my KLIPSCH RF3 and Velodyne sub, but couldn't find any new Onkyo's available anywhere. So, after a bunch of research and discussions (Crutchfield team was very helpful) I settled on this Denon. This is my first Denon and I have not been disappointed! For me, I think the Denon sounds better then the Onkyo for movies, but the maybe the Onkyo was a bit better for music. Tough call as I'm still tweaking settings. All in all, I'm very please either my purchase!

Pros: Feature rich Simple set up Good build quality Excellent for movies

Cons: Only wish it had one knob on the front, as I prefer a cleaner look. I believe it's more of an audyssey setup issue, but voice track a bit low for music. I'm still tweaking so can't really say it's a con.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon receiver works great

Crutchfield customer from Cologne, MN on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced 19 year old Onkyo (110w - 7.2ch), with this Denon, mainly for the HDMI and remote control via app on phone/tablet. Works great. Love that it can play my digital music from a USB memory stick. 4K contents look great. It does run hot, but I don't think it's any hotter than the old Onkyo.

Pros:

Cons: 1 bug found, the initial turn on volume does not work on all 3 zones. The GUI that displays on the TV is dated.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Greasy Receiver

Brandon from Canonsburg, PA on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced my denon 2016 to this receiver it sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great step up

Jeff from Moberly, MO on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I stepped up from a Denon S910W to this X4700H. Same great sound (as expected) but now the added power gives more "headroom" with my now 9 speakers...I can push music/movies louder without any distortion. Pros: 1) this remote is programmable so I can control every device that is hooked up. 2) My wireless headphones with this new Bluetooth transmitter is a great feature so I can crank up the music/movie volume while my wife sleeps. 3) the door on the front panel closes...good for keeping the curious grandchildren's fingers off the buttons. 4) renaming my devices for the on-screen display (and front display of two lines) now has even more characters to work with. 5) with a push of a button, I can now see a on screen display of a movie disc's picture & sound coding (type of Dolby or DTS) with icons to show the number of speakers that are currently input & output. 6) loving the 3-D sound! Cons: I can no longer plug in my iPod and have the receiver (with the onscreen menu) control the iPod. The new Denon receivers must have lost the license contracts with Apple.

Pros: Numerous advanced features are worth the extra price

Cons: no longer apple friendly with iPods and iPhones

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clipping

Crutchfield customer from Maynardville, TN on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound is great but I can not give it 5 stars because with 9 speakers hooked up it clips at moderate volumes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 18 found this helpful

Great sound and picture!!

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived in a timely fashion. My wife was skeptical about replacing our Pioneer Elite; she cannot get over the clarity and the sound!!

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

I like it so far

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 8/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like it so far. It does run warm so make sure it is ventilated. The sound is fine and Crutchfield is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Redding

Loren from Redding on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I decided to buy this AVR 3 months before I upgrade from a 1080p LED TV to a smart 4K TV with HDR and Dolby Atmos and eARC. This will give me time to get used to the many features of this excellent AVR. Even though I'm streaming with a ROKU Streaming Stick, my home theater sounds good to me now and I'm looking forward to how much better it will sound after I upgrade my tv.

Pros: Plenty of power for my 6 ohm speakers. I prefer it to my previous AVR that was an Onkyo TXNR5007 9.2 channel with 145 watts per channel.

Cons: I really have no cons so far. The user's manual was not included, but the on-line manual is very helpful once I got used to using the index and just printing out a few pages, when needed, instead of printing out the whole manual. It took me a few days, referring to the manual, to set up everything. But I am very pleased with the results so far and I'm surprised I haven't had to call Denon or Crutchfield for set-up help, yet. I still have a lot to learn about the many options of this AVR.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

AVR-X4700H Model the best

Crutchfield customer from San Bernardino, CA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've owned many Denons over the years by the X4700H is the best ever. Seemly operation between modes so I can switch from listening to streaming music throughout the house to watching TV. The Bluetooth is also much improved and sounds much better than the older models. I actually use it now to stream from my Media server. The new Auro-3D is also great...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound