Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Denon AVR-X6500H

11.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVR-X6500H

Denon AVR-X6500H

Denon AVR-X6500H

11.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVR-X6500H

48 reviews
View this product

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Encinitas, CA on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

haven't installed it yet. But should be perfect for what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Washington, NJ on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not set this up yet. I'm still in the process of finishing the theater room. I have to trust in my Crutchfield Advisor: Randy. I bought this solely on his recommendation. He has been steering me in the right direction throughout this project. I can't say enough great things about all the help he has given me. Thanks again Crutchfield. I'm looking forward to putting all the pieces together to firm an awesome theater room!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome performance on a great price.

Crutchfield customer from Isabela, PR on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always loved Denon Recievers, and this one really pays off in sound. Sound is awesome and setup is easy. Works great with my 11.2 Dolby Atmos surround from Klipsch which I proudly purchased also here from Crutchfield. Worth every penny.

Pros: Great powerful sound and truly 11.2 output. Easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Absecon, NJ on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent AVR

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made and rxceptional sound. A plethora of options and festures!

Pros:

Cons: It is recommended to add a fan to remove the heat. High temp normal operating conditions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Dale from Leesburg, VA on 10/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it, easy to set-up, excellent quality, and priced right. Shipped out quick and had it installed an d functioning in a few hours.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredible

Crutchfield customer from Verona, NJ on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was a Yamaha fan for 20 years. Switched to Denon because this model was Atmos 7.2.4 ready. It is incredible. Could not be more impressed.

Pros: Sound. Ease of setup. Power. 7.2.4 without needing to add additional amp.

Cons: Backlit remote would be great.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Canton, CT on 10/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super powerful and the setup ensures a perfect balance of sound. Replaced a pioneer SC 71 and the difference in sound quality is amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver for it's cost

Crutchfield customer from Menifee, CA on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the money. Runs warm, so I do recommend buying a fan for it.

Pros: Great sound. XT32 EQ Cost vs. value

Cons: Runs hot - get a fan.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best 11.2 Channel Receiver for the money

Jason from Stillwater, MN on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 7 month old Pioneer Elite 9.2 channel receiver recently got fried from a power surge through the Ethernet port. This had me looking for a new receiver to run my 7.2.4 Dolby Atmos home theater setup. I was looking for another 9.2 channel and then found the Denon AVR-6500H for a relative bargain compared to other 11.2 channel receivers. I like not having an additional amplifier to run 2 more channels to keep my setup cleaner. After a couple of weeks of owning this receiver I bought a fan off Amazon that sets on top of the receiver to keep it running cooler. This receiver gets hot as other reviewers have noted and I wish that Denon would have made the unit taller and put in a fan(s) in the housing to help take care of this issue. I have not turned the dial to 11 yet to see what it can do to my Paradigm speakers but I feel like it has outperformed my "old" Pioneer Elite receiver on every level. I like the fact that you can press the info button and know exactly the signal the receiver is being fed and outputting from your connected components to make sure you are getting the highest definition audio and video possible. Very happy with my purchase. Highly recommend for a 7.2.4 Atmos setup.

Pros: 1. Can run a 7.2.4 Dolby Atmos Home Theater without the need for an external amp 2. Treats both subwoofers independently 3. Super user friendly setup

Cons: 1. Runs hot enough to warrant an auxiliary fan even when not in a cabinet. At this price point it should have a fan built in. I would take of 1/2 star so my 4.5 star review rounds up to 5 stars

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fine upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Independence, OR on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was time to upgrade to an AVR that could handle not only 11 channels, but also process Atmos or other height-enhanced soundtracks (not to mention creating these effects from non-Atmos soundtracks). Having previously used a much outdated high quality AVR for about a decade, I appreciated the value of a quality processor. My most recent AVR, not quite 8 years old, was a mid-quality AVR that produced more raw power, it seems, than its predecessor AVR or this new Denon, but this Denon produces a much cleaner, defined and more expansive sound through all speakers. The 11 speakers are relatively new (less than one year old) Definitive Technology "B" series with two pair of towers (9080s fronts and 9060s sides) with their complementary center and back surrounds. While the HDMI pass-through video initially seemed sensitive to "noise", I have not experienced pixelation or momentary lost signal since replacing my power conditioner. Given the number and size of my speakers, and the fact the Denon includes RCA pre-outs, I have decided it best to utilize an amplifier or two - to ensure both a clean supply of power to the speakers and to help ensure the longevity of the Denon. Setup was incredibly straightforward, adjustments are easy and playing with the different features has yet to get old - especially the "Volume Up" button.

Pros: 11 Channels. Processor handles latest Atmos technology. Pre-Outs if an external amplifier is desired or warranted. Clean, defined and expansive sound to large speakers. Easy set-up. Wi-Fi connection and broadcast potential.

Cons: Video pass-through seemed sensitive to ambient electric noise, which a new power conditioner resolved. Without the equipment needed to verify the claimed output per channel, other AVRs seemed to drive large speakers with more resultant volume - though the Denon drives them with noticeably enhanced precision across the spectrum.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Merrick, NY on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased the 6500h and so far very happy. It does run hot, but I have a fan that turns on automatically and keeps the unit cool.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, NJ on 9/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great still working on getting it to allow me to get Itunes library to play from my computer.Online manual concerning how to hook up additional Non HDMI components could be better and online operating manual is tedious to use and access. This is a fantastic sounding receiver with an excellent picture I would recommend it to anyone but todays electronics are daunting to get setup right especially for low tech Seniors. The manual is over 300 pages. Thanks to Crutchfield for helping me when I Got stuck.

Pros: Great sound and picture

Cons: connecting older components and getting internet to play your PC media such as itunes could be handled in more detail in the manual. prefer paper to an online manual.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Vince from Brooklyn, NY on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No optical toslink type inputs for CD player. You would have to go through all the trouble of relabelling "AUX" to CD.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Quality at a bargain price

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was contemplating between AVR-X6500H and the 2020 model 4700H for replacing my 8 years old Integra home theater A/V. The sound quality are comparable. At about the same price (after the discount), the 6500H wins support 2 more speakers at its max setup and also for providing more power for each speaker. After the THX support firmware update, the only meaningful question left for me was "Do I need 8K support?" The answer is no. So 6500H is better almost all categories, other than it is a 2018 model. But keep it in mind that it was a many awards winer when it came out. The speaker tune up is a little finicky. I kept getting "too much ambient noise error" when had my Epson projector on. I had to hook up a monitor to get pass it. Once my speakers are tuned up. I can't be more satisfied with my purchase decision. Now I listen music in my 32x24 home theater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Michael from HUNTSVILLE, AL on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Denon is a beast of a receiver! Way more powerful than the Onkyo RZ610 it is replacing. The Denon has a more neutral, refined, but punchier sounds than the Onkyo. It reminds me of the sound of my old Harman Kardon. My Revel Concerta2 F36 towers have never sounded better. Has me wanting to upgrade to the Performa3 F208 and C208 for the front soundstage. Audyssey did a great job dialing in the F36s with my Infinity IL25C center and IL10 surrounds. Need to get some in ceiling speakers for Atmos. Overall highly recommend this model or the replacement X6700H if you need 8K support. Since I'm not a gamer I have no need for 8K. Video processing works great with my 65" LG C8 OLED with the Panasonic DP-UB820 Blu-ray player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Willow Street, PA on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have this receiver for a few weeks and surprised it is excellent at any price. Would buy again and recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Corvallis, OR on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An awesome receiver learning daily on its capabilities. Very user friendly. Overall sound is amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost Heaven

Crutchfield customer from Dorset, VT on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even though it is a 2018 model, upgraded for 2020, this is the finest Denon Amplifier yet. It has all the power one would need for a home theater and it can service any playing device that might be included in such a system. I found only one issue. One of the speaker post connectors was very resistant to screw open and closed. The Denon SVR-X6500H is a miracle of modern electronic design and execution. I highly recommend it. Donald R Ferrell Phd

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this upgrade. Set up is clean and simple. Highly recommend.

Pros: Clean and solid power to all channels. Very easy to manage zones. Brought new life to a very old set of BP-8's.

Cons: Haven't found any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, NE on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Denon 6500H and several years of using the Denon 4300. I find the Denon's easy to use and to setup. They will walk you through the process with their setup wizard. I am running 11.2 and this was just what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is an absolute beast. Works perfectly for running my 7.2.4 Atmos theater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

fred from Sanger, CA on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My daughter got me this receiver a couple of days ago to replace my rz830 the first thing I noticed that the channels have better separation I herd things that rz830 could not reproduce and software was way better too. So far I think it's great receiver

Pros: Lots of power and lots of features

Cons: Gets hot running a cooling fan on top

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, wish it would support assigning speaker channels to zones

Crutchfield customer from Wellesley, MA on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. I'm using this in a 5.2.4 setup with 4 Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-8060FA', a McIntosh LCR80, a Klipsch SPL-150 subwoofer, and an older Cambridge Sound Works subwoofer. The surround speakers are in the corners of 26x22 room. It does come with an iPhone app that works reasonably well. However, the user interface is not polished and a bit clunky. The biggest disappointment is that the two surround sound back channels cannot be used to drive a 2nd zone. Since I have a 5.2.4 setup, these two channels are not used. The description leads one to believe that they can be re-assigned to another zone which would have been excellent. The doc could use clarity on configurations and what can/cannot be done. Since I bought this and went through the trouble of setting it up, I'm keeping it. The sound is good. I would have looked elsewhere if I had known it couldn't drive another zone.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Zone channel assignments is not possible.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent, but minor flaws

Charles from Odessa, TX on 6/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, excellent receiver, but a few minor issues. The Good: Initial setup was straightforward, but had to tweak the video settings to get some playback devices to detect it as capable of 4K HDR. Sound quality is excellent. I'm running it with a 5.1.4 speaker setup. The Bad: One, it runs pretty hot, but mine is in a server rack with built in cooling. Two, it doesn't support Bluetooth headphones. It only works as a Bluetooth receiver not a transmitter. Three, I don't think the upscaling is working properly. My projector switches to 1080P from 4K whenever I use a 1080P source, but otherwise 4k/60 HDR is correctly passed through when "Enhanced" is turned on in the settings(should be default).

Pros: Sound Quality Setup Works w/Alexa

Cons: Runs Hot Doesn't Transmit Bluetooth 4K Upscaling Not Working Properly

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Denon has a new fan for Life

Crutchfield customer from Oldsmar, FL on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first time owning a Denon I am replacing a Yamaha AVENTAGE-RX series, and have owned Marantz, Sony and Onkyo in the past. I went with the Denon thanks to the recommendation from Critchfield great support team member Harley. Let me tell you I am fan now the clarity of sound and the additional pop I am getting from my speakers is just outstanding. Not just in music and movies but, right down to playing an XBOX One game. I have been playing for about 6 months the Denon is letting me her dialog and background sounds I never heard before. When I told my wife about hearing additional voices, she looked at me as only she can but, when watching a movie another night she remarked wow I never heard those back speaker before tonight. I was also impressed with the ease of set up and the great color-coded layout for your connections best I have seen on any receiver.

Pros: Fantastic clarity of sound Easy on Screen Setup Amazing easy color coded connections

Cons: Seems to run a bit hot but. cabinet is well ventilated.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This A/V Rocks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Paul from RED BANK, NJ on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a fan of Denon for a long while and have always loved their products, I've upgraded from a AVR-S730H and this AVR-X6500H is no exception.

Pros: Denon has really become flawless with their products, packaging and performance, I have this pushing a full set of Klipsch Speakers @ 7.1.4 for a complete Atmos setup and it's simply beautiful. Excellent feature set, Intuitive setup, especially if you are coming from other Denon products.

Cons: The only cons, and it's personal rather then overall, I don't like the way Denon moved to the removable power cord, this might actually be a plus for some users, but to me, with electronics, it's a possible point of failure. The onscreen display, is still quite goofy looking, and honestly, when getting into this price range, That should be addressed.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Twinsburg, OH on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice feature set and perfect for my home theater setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A great Denon receiver that is perfect for my 7.1.4 home theater

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a new OLED Sony 65A9G and needed to upgrade my trusty and reliable Denon AVR. I am a big Denon fan and have Previously owned both the AVR-4306 and AVR-X4100W. The AVR-X6500H is by far the best Denon AVR I have owned! This unit is packed full of features and power. I have a 7.1.4 configuration that sounds amazing with this Denon. I am extremely happy with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Home Theater Made Easy.

Crutchfield customer from Homestead, FL on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought a 75" Samsung Q80 and 7.2.4 home theater system and picked this receiver to power it all. I have zero experience with any of this stuff at all and was expecting to have to hire someone to set it all up, but after watching a lot of youtube videos on speaker placement, wiring, etc. I was able to do it all on my own. Hooking up this receiver was especially easy because it has a step by step guide that is really simple to follow, it even tests the system out and makes adjustments to each individual speaker's volume to give you the optimum sound volume for where you will be sitting. I bought a lot of equipment on several orders including a couple returns and Crutchfield was extremely helpful and supportive throughout.

Pros: Easy setup, Audyssey program included, will run 7.2.4

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Marion, OH on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and wonderful qulaity sound. Still exploring option with this new receiver, but very intuitive and simple layout. Highly recommended.

Pros: Ease of use initially with deeper complexity and customization available.

Cons: None known

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointed.

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok I purchased this receiver to replaced my 15 years old Denon avr-4310ci. I am very disappointed with the avr-x6500h. It puts out a poor sound quality and this is with the same price comparison. The avr-4310ci rated at 130 watts and it seems to be heavier than the avr-x6500h. The avr-x6500h rated at 140 watts. How is the 15 years old avr-4310ci blew away this 2019 avr-x6500h. How is the a 15 years old receiver out perform a 21 century technology? The sound quality is like a night and day difference. I give it a one star ?? for Denon and 5 stars for Crutchfield customer service. I have to switch back to avr-4310ci and I love this thing.

Pros: New and more advanced technology.

Cons: Poor sound quality.

Crutchfield response on 2/4/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

7 of 22 found this helpful

So Far So GREAT!

Crutchfield customer from Palm Harbor, FL on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed the Denon AVR-X6500H this weekend. So far so good. Setting up my 12 speaker, 3 room configuration took a little time but the organized layout of the receiver's back panel helped greatly simplify the cabling. The unit's step by step guided setup was easy to use. I was also able to readily understand the configuration settings layout, which allowed me to customize a few settings very quickly and easily. I have high current - low impedance speakers, therefore this unit was one of the few choices available with the power and features I was looking for. The stereo music playback from the X6500H is quite an improvement over my 15 year old Yamaha receiver. My Polk Audio Legacy series speakers have never sounded better. The Surround Sound quality produced by the receiver has been impressive. Several people have noted that sound separations are very evident and movie theater quality. I have made use of the blue-tooth, streaming media and built in digital conversion capabilities of the receiver that coaxed me to move on from my perfectly good, by feature deficient Yamaha. I am quite happy I made the move. The only thing I was disappointed with was the limited playback sources in the 3rd room (Media Streamer source is not available). However I was able to mitigate that issue by using the HEOS feature to stream several different streaming services to that room. It's early but so far, I really like the Denon AVR-X6500H.

Pros: Ease of Setup, Sound Quality, Excellent Surround Sound options, Up to date streaming capabilities

Cons: A little pricey (but price match helped), The MIC'd speaker setup kept getting stuck on the 1st sub woofer (I overcame this by manually setting up the speakers). Limited Sources available for playback in the 3rd Room.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Le Mars, IA on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up very easy and sounds great. My only complaint is that the remote is not backlit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound and very easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

I know now what I have been missing...

Crutchfield customer from Chester, NY on 11/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This purchase completed what, for me at least, is my ultimate music system! I replaced my Sony DN1050 and couldn't be more satisfied. I own the Sony HAP1 EZ hi res player with Monitor Silver 300 speakers. The DN1050 didn't push them though, and now I understand the term loudness vs power. This Denon beast plays all the notes, tone, clarity, in a very musical fashion. Unlike anything I have ever owned. Even at low volumes the music comes through true and will blow you away. I enjoy my music like never before. I like to watch people's reaction when I play the DSD version of Elton's "Someone Saved My Life Tonight" during the drum fade out. As stated in many reviews, the unit runs quite hot. I purchased a top mounted cooling fan and that helps. Serious negative is the lack of a lighted remote, and for something that costs this much, there is no excuse. And reading reviews from a couple of years ago, I guess it's obvious Denon could care less and wont do anything about it. It's a shame such a simple and vital function would be left out here. The Audyssey custom sound setup is wonderful and easy to navigate through and you can tell the difference right away. Much like the Pure Direct function, I never fail to keep Pure Direct active while listening to music. The difference is so obvious to the ear. A pleasant surprise was how much the sound and clarity improved on my LG 55 inch Smart TV. Special shoutout to Crutchfield, of course. What a great USA company!

Pros: Easy to understand setup. Purchase from Crutchfield and receive WONDERFUL support. So many options I cant even use them all. Improves TV sound and picture. Sound at low volumes is amazing

Cons: Lack of lighted remote. Web APP (AVR REMOTE) works great - when it stays connected. I have trouble getting the app to stay connected. Give the APP more than 1 function to do at a time and it immediately crashes and closes. Then I waste time trying to bring it back. Older reviews of the Web APP on Apple's app store reveal the same problems going back a couple of years ago. So as with the lack of lighted remote, Denon doesn't care to improve or update. Also, add the cost of a cooling fan

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Florence, KY on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of power and features, easy to set up and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

great upgrade for 5.1.2 set up

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just upgraded from a mid-level 4yr old Onkyo AVR that I was using as a PreAmp- which was then powered by a 200w 5-way amplifier. I was concerned that this would not have the power to drive my B&W 702 S2 fronts and matching center of my 5.1.2 setup, but I am pleasantly surprised! The sounds have more detail and plenty of punch. I have not attempted to bi-amp my fronts with the extra channels because I'm very happy. From my dedicated UHD player, cable or various streaming services...they all sound better. My only bump was during set up, Denon didn't list my set up in one of their pre-set options. I don't think it's so rare to have a 5.1.2 design where the surround speakers are only in the back, not side, with added height speakers in the front. I'll look again, and I'll have a pro look at it too. But nevertheless, once you set up your mic and let the processor balance the room I think it figures out everything regardless, because it sounds correct. I can't imagine buying this and being unhappy.

Pros: everything sounds great, nice set up

Cons: maybe it's not the cheapest?

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first Denon AVR and I am finding out that I have been missing out for 30 years.... I always had Onkyo and Yamaha and the other two AVRs and never knew how much Denon sounds better.. its a WOW.. and the power is Awsome.. and the Denon has way more features for the money.. I promise you will love it... I PROMISE.......

Pros: POWER /OPTIONS/CLARITY/AND WATCHING MY FRIENDS FACES WHEN I TURN IT ON...

Cons: It gets hot, but I use the Aircom 9 and it works great.......

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Exceptional Audio Performance

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 6/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Yamaha A3050 no longer supported the latest video standards and couldn't keep up with my new projector, so I needed an upgrade. I've always felt that my system had a little more to give (7.3.4 configuration with B&W 7 series towers and in-ceiling with 2 SVS PB16s + JL Audio F113), and this Denon receiver confirmed that. The sound stage with the 6500 is extremely immersive and enveloping. Both music and movies have seen a noticeable improvement over the Yamaha. The Audyssey room correct did an excellent job as well. The subs now blend In extremely well with the rest of my system. I highly recommend this receiver based on its exceptional audio capabilities. Even my wife who couldn't care less about these types of things admitted that she noticed a difference!

Pros: Immersive sound Rich sound stage Excellent room correction

Cons: Could use a little more power at very high listening levels with all channels driven

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X6500H

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver, plenty of power, easy setup, can accommodate any speaker configuration.

Pros: Plenty of power, easy to setup, multiple connection options.

Cons: Unit does get hot, using AC infinity unit to cool receiver when on.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Greater functionality; flagship worthy.

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, VA on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DENON AVR-X6500H was purchased to replace our (7.1 ch.) Denon AVR 3808CI. The functionality of this newer unit is on par with Denon's flagship AVR-X8500H, yet $1,600.00 less. We're still running a 5.1 ch. set-up, but all channels are now bi-amped, which has vastly improved the audio of our Revel F208s, and. surrounds.

Pros: Price

Cons: It runs warm, so proper ventilation is a must.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Amazing Audio

Crutchfield customer from Fairdale, KY on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing receiver. Typical DENON quality with amazing audio and picture quality added in. Well worth the money in EVERY aspect. I upgraded my 2002 model (AVR-4802) DENON to this one and I could not be more pleased. Couple a great product with the great folks at Crutchfield and you have a winning combination!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Outstanding value for 11.2

Lernes from Woodbridge , VA on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent 11 channel, great price

Pros: Channels Power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect sound and picture

Bob Cross from Visalia, CA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A few years back, I bought an Onkyo TX-NR 3030 receiver to go with our Samsung 78" SUHD 3D TV,and it worked fine. At least I thought it did fine until we got this receiver. On the Onkyo, I only had one 2.2 HDMI input, and on this receiver, they are all 2.2 inputs. What a great difference it makes in watching TV. In fact, once I did, I found something new in the settings on my SUHD TV. I think they call it UHD color. It makes everything I watch look like 4K, and everything 4K looks fantastic. Even my other half says she can't believe the improvement. As for the sound, it will truly blow you away especially if you have some ATMOS add on speakers. I use the Jamos that I purchased from Crutchfield. Every little sound is picked up perfectly and you hear things you never heard before. We were watching a movie one night and an airplane was taking off from the runway, and we actually heard and felt, like it was flying over our heads. I forgot to mention how cool it works with Alexa. My daughter bought me the Fire TV Cube on my last birthday, and it is so easy to switch from one input to the other, that even my 5 year old grandson can now go from cable, to DVD, Fire TV, Roku, and back by himself. I have even caught my other half use it a couple of times. Anyway, we are perfectly happy with it. I wish I could have purchased the 8500 model, but I think I would be sleeping outside (if you know what I mean guys), paying almost twice as much.

Pros: Easy setup. Perfect sound and picture. Works with Alexa and more. Pretty much everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

Awesome Sound Correction

James from Orlando, FL on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My TV is in a horribly bad room acoustically. Its size required using flat panel speakers close to the listeners, not the best for sound. Denon's sound correction is amazing. Makes this poor setup sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

TOP