Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-X8500H

13.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Dolby Atmos®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and HEOS (Black)

MFR # AVRX8500H

Denon AVR-X8500H

Denon AVR-X8500H

13.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Dolby Atmos®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and HEOS (Black)

MFR # AVRX8500H

15 reviews
View this product

Incredible receiver

Crutchfield customer from Yucaipa, CA on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, incredible sound and easy set up.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything you need

Crutchfield customer from Deland, FL on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver. I originally purchased a AVR-X6700H but decided I hadn't done my homework. I wanted to try all of the surround modes including Auro (which I my opinion decodes 2 channel stereo into an interesting stage). With the 6700 I would have to re-wire the speakers to get Auro with the proper configuration each time I wanted to listen to it. With the 8500, it is automatic as it switches two of the power amplifiers (top middle speakers to the Auro layout) when Auro is selected. In addition it has all of the amplification built in to run the 7.2.8 configuration I have without any additional separate power amplifiers. The only thing I lost by moving up to this "older" receiver, was the 8K pass-through which wasn't any loss at all. I don't have any cables, projectors or monitors that will run 8K or 4K 120 Hz. If I ever need that function, I will go directly from my source to the display and only send the audio to the receiver--just like it is set up now. You really are only getting a 8K pass-through on one input that doesn't fully work yet anyway so why bother. And if you actually find some 8K content and get the rest of the required equipment to display it, and you want to run it through your receiver, then there will be a future upgrade path for this receiver in the future from Denon.

Pros: 13 channels of built in amplification. Multiple speaker layouts available. Automatic Auro layout switching. If you have ever owned a Denon or Marantz receiver, than this will be familiar for you to set up and operate

Cons: Deeper than a normal receiver so depth might be a problem in some installations. Needs an additional cooling fan in my opinion. Even with 4 internal fans--which I never saw or heard come on---it gets toasty. Order something like an AC infinity fan when you order the receiver. A must if it is in a rack. Your 8500 will thank you!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X8500H

Travis L. from Ashburn, VA on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think the X8500 sounds and works great. Does it sound/work $2K better than say the Yamaha 3080? Probably not enough to justify the cost. If you have the need for the extra amplified channels, then it's value goes up for you. I bought it because of the DACs used. Certainly not the best DACs, however, better than most used in an AVR. I value 2 channel music as much as I value surround sound for movies. It's still cheaper than separates and maybe close to sounding as good. I also like that it's made in Japan.

Pros: Very good sound for both surround and 2 channel listening Excellent build quality User friendly

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X8500H

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid build. Excellent performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Ellensburg, WA on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Owned a Denon S910W & it ran really well for 6yrs. So I wanted to upgrade the speakers & I grew out of my 910. The 8500 is a big jump up but I was impressed. Sound quality is good, it's well worth the price

Pros: It's something I can grow into & it does quite a bit more than what I need but I love it.

Cons: It runs pretty hot. So it needs a lot of ventilation or even a cooling fan system

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The best Denon AVR in decades

Guest from Garland, TX on 1/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've now owned the Denon AVR-X8500H coming up on a year, and words that come to mind are, Powerful, unbelievable audio quality, an old school hand built component built like a tank for many years of use that's basically future proof. This unit dwarfs my previous Denon X7200WA (which was Denon's flagship AVR) . It has a massive power supply, two rails of heat sinks and four internal fans to keep the 8500 cool when it's delivering massive amounts of power via its 13 onboard amps. I'm running a 9.2.4 Dolby Atmos configuration and at half of its maximum power my ears are overwhelmed with sound coming from everywhere! The Denon AVR-X8500h is built to last for many years to come and regardless how many speakers you're running this unit has the best DAC's and internal high end parts compared to any AVR on the market today. I love this receiver!

Pros: Build quality, power, flexibility

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

29 of 30 found this helpful

MOUNT PLEASANT

Brian from MOUNT PLEASANT on 6/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Denon way to bring back the big receivers this is a beast I updated from a denon avr 4300H to this avr x8500H I'm running a 10-2-4 system with emotiva x500 amp but I can add 2 more speakers if I want lol the power of this receiver is unbelievable thanks crutchfield for your team !!!

Pros: Power channels beast receiver I have ever owned

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

7 of 16 found this helpful

The definitive home theater receiver

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After trying units made by Marantz, Pioneer, Onkyo and Integra in the last few years, I made the leap to this unit. It is extremely capable, and provides excellent sound and video performance. Both Atmos and Auro 3D are included, along with several other decoders. I don't know of any other home audio receiver that can compete with it - and none have the 13 channel outputs that this has.

Pros: Outstanding video and audio performance

Cons: Heavy and expensive

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X8500H

Marc from APPLETON, WI on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is the beast of all beast that Denon has put out. I've owned about 5 by Denon and this for the 2 flagship rated will not let you down. I am driving some old jamo 7.7 at 4 ohms speakers and its fantastic. Cant hear the phone ring and the dogs barking next door. LMAO I put them in their place. I'm adding 4 more speakers for atmos sound to this that will give me a 11.2 sound system. Oh and the darn thing had a code for My oppo bluray player.

Pros: Love the way you can adjust each speaker for out put. Easy set up but I've been a Denon maniac for a few years. LOL Easy set up with on screen display. love the bypass options. The product operates flawless behind a mesh screen door on my cabinet.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 21 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X8500H = AWESOME!!!

Jean from Miami, FL on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing my seven year old Denon AVR-4810CI (my first from that brand), the AVR-X8500H, IMHO, is hands down the best receiver Denon has ever made. Received and installed three days ago, I'm using it in an 11.2 setting and all I can say is it has exceeded my expectations. Technologically advanced with Incredible picture & mind-blowing sound!

Pros: Processes all the latest DSP formats. Dolby Vision. Future-proof.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X8500H

Crutchfield customer from Spanaway, WA on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best choice I ever made love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

OH My goodness

Bob from Malibu, California on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW!!! purchased this receiver last week & had it up & running in less than an hour. The menus were easy to navigate through. Picture & sound are awesome. I'm running 11.2 with front wides. The sound fields are amazing.

Pros: picture & sound. set up was A breeze. That's A first for me.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Capable and Flexible

Jeff from Winston-Salem, NC on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a highly capable, and immensely flexible, audio video receiver. Its sound quality is on a par with some high end equipment that I own, and its array of inputs and outputs make connecting both run-of-the-mill, as well as more esoteric components (in my case, a multichannel outboard digital-to-analog converter), an easy process. The automated on-screen setup routine is a plus for novices, and helps ensure that even seasoned audio-video addicts don't miss a beat on the way to audio-video perfection.

Pros: Very pleasing sound quality and connection flexibility.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X8500H

Edmund from Carlsbad, CA on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this for 3 1/2 weeks and I must say I am totally impressed. I must admit that since being a stout Yamaha amp customer since the early 1990s, I was very hesitant to make the move to Denon's flagship AVR-X8500H. Yeah there are many models/brands that offer Dolby Atmos, DTS-X, HDCP 2.2 and 4K/60p and 3D video pass-through but this is the only model that has analog 7.1 multi-channel inputs which are important for me to support my legacy multi-channel components. The last Yamaha flagship AVR that provided multi-channel inputs was the Adventage RX-A3040. Back to the AVR-X8500H, the user interface is nicer and more flexible in being able to change settings than Yamaha's iOS and Android. Also Denon's Audyssey MultEQ XT32 to balance the speakers of my 7.1.6 system is in my opinion much better than Yamaha's YAPO. I was never satisfied with Yamaha's YAPO's settings, opting to manually adjust the speaker levels myself. Denon's Audyssey's speaker calibration is "spot on". Also Denon's DTS Neural:X is wonderful in spreading my 2-5.1 channel content over all my speakers. And Auro-3D is also included to decode Auro-3D content. I still use two Yamaha MX-1000U 2-channel amps to feed my two pairs of power hungry Ohm Walsh 5 front and back surround speakers. The Denon has no problem feeding the rest of my Ohm speakers. So if you are on the fence on whether or not to make the switch to this excellent Denon flagship AVR I say "Go For It!", you won't be

Pros: Excellent Sound

Cons: - Have to use HEOS app to play content off of NAS. - AVR-X8500H does not support multi-channel FLAC or DSD files, you have to play back these files from other device (i.e., Oppo UPD-205 or BDP103D). HEOS shows error does not support format. - HEOS does not support surround channels/speakers (i.e., wireless for Dolby Atmos or DTS-X surround channels), wouldn't that be nice?

Crutchfield response on

33 of 37 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X8500H

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful A/V, we are still working through the settings. Good sound, an array of features, and nice to look at. I would buy it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 32 found this helpful

TOP