Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon DCD-1600NE

SACD/CD player

MFR # DCD1600NE

Denon DCD-1600NE

Denon DCD-1600NE

SACD/CD player

MFR # DCD1600NE

9 reviews
View this product

Denon DCD-1600NE

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent SACD and CD player. Easy setup. Works very well and sounds great. Nice piece of gear. Obviously well made and engineered.

Pros: Easy setup, well made

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DCD-1600NE

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SACD players are vanishing from all but the highest end equipment, so it's welcome to see this splendid, solid and reasonably priced player. Excellent DAC that brings out the detail and depth playing CDs also.

Pros: Solid build, pure audio mode deactivates digital outputs you won't need.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dust Them Off!

Bob from Sarasota, FL on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm really enjoying this new Denon CD player after retiring my 30 year old DCD660 that gave me excellent service. Along with the new Klipsch Bookshelves and Subwoofer that I also purchased from Crutchfield, this player has me listening to cd's that I haven't played in years. There is new life in this music now. This player is so exact that it presents the recordings as though I was in the studio. It is excellent. Soundstage, imaging, all of it is there to enjoy. I also purchased my first SACD, and through this player the music takes on an even deeper texture - this is really nice stuff. I am very happy with this purchase, and even with the cost of the DCD-1600NE there is great value to be had - along with the many hours of listening enjoyment. I can highly recommend this player if you simply want to sit back and enjoy your old - and new - collection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon DCD-1600NE

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plays SACDs and regular CDs flawlessly. Built like a tank!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DCD-1600NE

Crutchfield customer from Florence, SC on 8/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only been using this unit for a few weeks but very impressed with the performance so far. Sound stage and tonal qualities are excellent and the operation of the device is easy. I've been using Denon products since 1983 and have seldom been disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quality CD Player and Well Worth the Money

James from Ordway, CO on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is fantastic on the DCD-1600NE, Super Audio and Red Book CD, commercially & personally recorded. Definite sound improvement through the entire audio range; Tight clear bass, clear, realistically pronounced mid range and crystal clear highs; no nails-on-chalk-board type sound. I also own a DCD-800NE (6 months old) and the DCD-1600NE blows it out of the water. I am hearing subtle music cues I have never heard before on any other CD player from all my CD's. I consider this CD player to be a bargain at the current price. Just received today and right out of the box everything went together like a snap. Very wide angle pick-up and quick response with the remote. Solidly built unit - Kudos to Denon for their engineering and Japanese quality manufacturing. This player replaced a Arcam player that just didn't quite cut-the-mustard. The Arcam was very good but nowhere near the sound quality of the Denon player. Kudos also to all at Crutchfield for the fast shipping and service I received as this made the exchange go through very quickly without a hitch.

Pros: Fantastic sound and very quite operation.

Cons: Denon: Light the remote! Printed owners manual in addition to the CD manual. no USB port (Front) for flash drives and convenience.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

A GREAT CD PLAYER ( SPEND THE MONEY)

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Denon 1600NE is a great cd player; quiet with clarity and depth to the sound it emits.I also like it's beefy look, very stable. I replaced my 20 yearold NAD player and was amazed how good it sounds.

Pros: Specifically designed for SACD discs. Sound depth is awesome.

Cons: CD player door opens too slow.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Built Like A Tank, Sounds Like a Dream

George from New York on 11/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Denon DCD-1600NE SACD/CD player is made in Japan. It features rock-solid construction, with thick metal on all sides. It weighs 18.1 pounds, more than twice the weight of my old player, the Yamaha CD-S300. The power cord is thick, with 16 AWG conductors, the same size conductors used in the power cord that came with my 100 watt Yamaha amplifier! The DAC is a 32 bit Burr Brown, PCM 1795. The dynamic range is 101 dB for CD and 112 dB for SACD, the signal to noise ratio is 116 dB for CD and 117 dB for SACD and the harmonic distortion is .0018% for CD and .001% for SACD. When using the analog outs, the DSD layer of SACDs is decoded directly, without converting to PCM. This has been confirmed by Denon Support via email. The CD and SACD sound is clear, musical, dynamic, with excellent imaging. Using hybrid SACDs, it is easy to be the step up in sound quality to SACD in the beautifully smooth and realistic sound. The player gets a bit warm, warmer than any disc player I've ever owned, but I am told by Denon that this is normal. If this player hadn't started having trouble reading discs and had intermittent problems opening and closing the drawer after 6 months, I would give it give it 5 stars. Denon is taking care of things through warranty, but I'd expect a player at this price to give years of trouble free service. So overall, I give this 4 stars.

Pros: Clear sound Dynamics Responsive remote

Cons: Problems after 6 months Drawer somewhat difficult to load Takes awhile to sound it's best, I'd give it 100 hours on CD and 100 hours on SACD playback before making a decision about that sound

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

Denon DCD-1600NE

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible CD unit! Sonic clarity and distinction. Hearing instrumentation never before heard. Allows me to sample older cd's I stopped playing because of the incredible bass response from this unit. Warm and descriptive and engaging. Listening to all my music from hip hop, to Black Crowes, to 70's and 80's favorites like Billie Idol. As a bassist, I can hear incredible bottom end from early Aretha Franklin recordings. I am very satisfied with this unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 22 found this helpful

TOP