Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon D-M41

CD/FM micro desktop stereo system with Bluetooth®

MFR # D-M41SBK

Denon D-M41

Denon D-M41

CD/FM micro desktop stereo system with Bluetooth®

MFR # D-M41SBK

36 reviews
View this product

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound for a small system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon tabletop system

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great purchase experience. Information was all accurate and the Denon system is very good. Easy to set up, everything included and looks good.

Pros: Very good sound, decent volume. It was a gift for my son but I had to demo it before delivering it. I was not disappointed!

Cons: No complaints, happy with purchase.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon D-M41 is an INCREDIBLE SOUND SYSTEM

Crutchfield customer from Williams, AZ on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Denon makes an incredible product with the D-M41 system. Remote contorl allows adjustments at the touch of a finger and can be used several feret away from the unit. Sound and clarity are excellent thru the matcked twin speakers that arrive with the unit. Small foot print comapred to full size componet systems. Quick and easy to set up. I wish there was a way to add additional speakers without tying all speakers into the only two terminals that are on the back side of the unit. It would also be nice if there was more than 1 CD capability for extended music play time.

Pros: Samll footprint for such quality performance

Cons: Only room for 1 CD VS multiple CD capacity.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

LIKE.

Crutchfield customer from Payson, AZ on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Primary reason I selected the Denon was its simpl(er), straightforward controls that appealed to this older, old-tech guy. Not quite as loud as I would have liked, but actually entirely adequate for normal purposes in the large bedroom suite I have it in. Appears good quality and from an established maker, good little unit. Wish they hadn't eliminated the USB port, now requires a special cable to hook up my Mac with Itunes. Ordering from Crutchfield was a no-brainer, have gotten stuff from them for several decades with absolute satisfaction. Like.

Pros: High quality Straightforward controls Easy setup

Cons: Somewhat limited volume No USB port for hookups

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Juncos, PR on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent equipment and definitely the best choice.

Pros: Sounds incredible

Cons: No wi fi...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from North Pole, AK on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product love the sound Second Denon I have had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrific sound machine

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new stereo. I called to make sure I was wiring the speakers correctly and you guys are great. The base is rich and adjustable, sounds super when I play a cd. I hooked the blue tooth to my computer and cell phone easily. Next I set up my favorite radio stations and just have to push one number to get to the one I prefer. Denon really makes a quality product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Bruce M from Tallahassee, FL on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Denon RCD M41 is a good unit and does what the specs say very good hand controller. Hahaha CD C600 worked very well , the hand control is junk need a magnifying glass to read the functions .all replace my Sony HCD -cpx22 /nx m3.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have purchased at least two other compact stereo systems over the years. I also have owned larger home audio systems and audio/video sound system solutions since flat screens became the norm. I was in search of a compact stereo system that plays audio compact discs and delivers a rich sound in a single room. This can be difficult when you cannot hear the options you are considering. I researched available options. I know the Denon brand as a reliable and quality audio component manufacturer. Other options from reputable companies were generally half the price. Denon does provide a cost competitive option in the lower price range, model D-T1. I chose the Denon D-M41 in spite of the cost. The sound is rich and the power is more than sufficient for a large room (12' x 25'). Why did I choose the D-M41? Denon is a solid brand that publishes their specifications. They do not add eye (or ear) candy features I am not interested to have like karoke mode, extended bass mode or DJ operations. Also, they do not produce televisions, dishwashers and refridgerators. Denon makes audio components and has a solid reputation in the field. I paid a little more and am very happy with the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointed in the performance. I have a 20 yr old Denon system UD-M5 with Mission speakers that is much better. I bought the D-M41 as a gift. On listening to it I switched my Mission speakers over and the new system sounds better. I concluded the Denon speakers are useless.

Pros: Not many

Cons: Lots

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Great Denon Product

Crutchfield customer from Sandwich, MA on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superior quality and sound from an outstanding brand - very happy with purchase!

Pros: Compact, superior quality and sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Lexa, AR on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well packaged. Easy set-up and to operate. It has a nice, tight sound even at the default settings. Very attractive. As with all modern 2 channel stereo systems, I am one of the many listeners (especially musicians) that do not like the three speaker requirement for some bass. We had it right from the beginning 60's, 70's and on up until early 90's with two speakers that had a "woofer" in each cabinet that would rattle walls and could make your heartbeat feel out of sync. It wasn't broke so I guess it had to be "fixed". Don't like the sub woofer concept except for movies, etc.

Pros: Appearance, sound, and power

Cons: Manual is a bit much for me, As mentioned, the sub-woofer concept-you lose half of the bass guitars' higher notes. It would not play my WMA MP3 CD, but Carter, and Oakley tried hard to help me figure this out-one of the main reasons I bought it! It is too "particular" about the format , or something. Size fits my location, though. Sub-woofer did help, but same bass guitar loss issues.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Unit Is Not Dependable

Gregory from Newport Beach, CA on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound, unfortunately I have had nothing but grief from this product. I don't believe Denon quality control is very good. Here's why. First unit purchased - great for 3 months, then the CD and Bluetooth audio both stopped working. Had to be issued a replacement unit. Second unit arrived at my home, unboxed it and it wouldn't even power on. Dead. A paperweight. Sent it back a second time. Third Denon DM41 - worked great for about 5 or 6 months. Then, the CD laser began having problems moving up and down a disc, especially when playing a programmed order of tracks (from track 3 to 6 back to 1, etc.). I could hear he laser "clicking" as if it was struggling to read discs accurately. Ultimately this killed the laser and the CD player once again. Now my Denon M41 is at the electronics shop for warranty repair. Very, very unhappy with the build quality of this product. It's just not rugged enough internally. We'll see how a repair shop does to improve upon Denon's shoddy workmanship. It's a shame, since the sound is wonderful. It's just not a dependable unit.

Pros: Sound is terrific, compact, looks great.

Cons: Terrible product quality. Have gone through 3 units and all of them had major problems. If you want a rugged, quality product that you don't have to worry about fixing every 3-6 months, stay away.

Crutchfield response on

21 of 21 found this helpful

Good unit, unsatisfactory speakers

Michelle from New York, NY on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The main unit and remote are easy to use, with a decent number of functions, and the small foot print is both a visual and practical improvement over our older multi-unit set-up. However, the speakers produce very unclear, muddy sound. The enclosed foam plugs make no difference in the quality, nor do the controls available on the unit/remote. We've reconnected our old Bose shelf-tops and the sound is much clearer and definitive.

Pros: Size, remote, functionality.

Cons: Unclear sound.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase. Low price for good performance. Quite sufficient for single room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

High quality, straightforward design

Stanley P from Bloomfield, NJ on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a well made mini system that is easy to use. The menu functions are very straightforward. There are enough inputs to satisfy most needs - two optical, one analog, FM and AM antenna. I can stream bluetooth audio from my phone and it works flawlessly. The sound is good - very clean and well detailed. The speakers are ported but come with foam plugs for those (like me) who prefer more subtle bass. The main unit is really solid and heavy - the case is all metal. FM performance is really good too. I had the unit set up and working (including auto-presetting the FM stations) within five minutes, following the printed quick start guide. There is a CD containing a pdf file with more detailed operating instructions. A few minor functions (like RDS) are not covered in that detailed manual, and that is my only complaint, and it's a minor one. This unit looks like it will give many years of enjoyment. I strongly recommend it if you're looking for a high quality mini stereo.

Pros: High quality, straightforward operation, well thought-out features, good sound.

Cons: The manual did not cover a few of the lesser used functions on the remote control.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great little system

Bill from Richfield, OH on 1/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a bookshelf system old enough that it included a cassette player, and am blown away. Solid, simple, well-designed equipment that looks great and sounds unbelievable. The sound is warm, precise and remarkably clear at all volumes; I'm delighted to hear new stuff in all my old music.

Pros: Great performance and good looks at a reasonable price. Terrific value.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great little system!

John from Montrose, CA on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little system! It was really easy to set up and learn to operate. It's surprisingly loud and clear for a small system. Like the ability to connect to my cell phone or computer via Bluetooth, so I can stream all of my saved music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Tom from N Ft Myers, FL on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bookshelf system. Clear even accurate sound. Filled room nicely with great quality sound.

Pros: Great size. Great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

arthur from Brooklyn, NY on 11/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bookshelf unit was looking to buy a sound bar, saw and the reviews and opted for the Denon for the money sound,blue- tooth and cd player optic input unit not a powerhouse but has a clear sound also the speakers are not flimsy if you can it buy at 400.00 dollars well worth it

Pros: sound,optic jack for power sub woofer

Cons: cant have it all like other users stated controls and wish remote had a backlight

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Gerald from Bridgeport, CT on 9/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audio quality was far better than expected from a small unit. System used in small room during exercise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

great sound for reasonable price

Isobel from Towson, MD on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never had such great sound from a reasonably priced stereo. Bass and treble are adjustable which is a real plus. Manual comes on a CD but if you can't use a CD the manual is downloadable from a web site. FM radiio also produces great sound. The only thing I don't like about it is that from my chair I can't see the track number. I wish it was bigger or in red.

Pros: Great sound on CD or fm radio

Cons: Can't see track number from a few feet away

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Cazenovia, NY on 9/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great help selecting compact CD player & speakers.Terrific sound.

Pros: Great sound, good price & relatively compact

Cons: Pretty heavy..not moving it from room to room

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound; hard to use controls

gerald from Marietta, GA on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Components appear to be well made and are substantial. Sound quality is excellent. Reason for 4 stars instead of 5 stars is fact that control functions are not legible on face of CD unit nor on the remote. One must resort to owner's manual.

Pros: Solid construction; excellent sound quality, fully adequate volume for small to average size room; compact system fits easily into small space; excellent value.

Cons: Control buttons are not marked on face of cd player, One must resort to remote control and owner's manual. This was never a problem on a 70's system comprised of Pioneer receiver, AR speakers, & Technics turntable.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great Sound, Spotty Build Quality

Gary from Irvine, CA on 6/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality was incredible (5 Stars)...build quality not so much (2 stars). CD player and Bluetooth playback died less than 4 months out of the box. Something clearly died internally that prevented audio from the CD player and bluetooth to convert to the speakers. Having to wait months for a backorder replacement from Crutchfield is not ideal. Not sure if I can even trust the replacement at this point. Guess we will roll the dice and find out.

Pros: Excellent sound, compact size. Looks awesome.

Cons: Can't trust Denon quality. CD and Bluetooth audio playback died less than 4 months out of the box? Will the replacement last? Guess we will find out.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Thabesh from Broomfield, CO on 6/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I was looking for in size, features, and the sound is very good for such a small unit.

Pros: Sound is impressive for such a small unit Size fits in anywhere Easy bluetooth pairing

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Eureka Springs, AR on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent soundscape. Fills the room with detailed musical clarity. I bought this for my wife to use in her art gallery for background music. She was impressed by the quality of the sound. We'll use the Bluetooth connection for Pandora music. She did say that changing out CD's was tough for her when she had a gallery full of customers; so the Pandora option through her iPad Pro should work just fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Norm from Trenton, FL on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is as advertised and plays CDs and 331/3 records with very good sound quality.

Pros: Good all around stereo system, not high end but very adapt at what it is advertised to do.

Cons: No USB ports.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Great unit for small room

Rick from Fairfield, CA on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is easy to set up and use although I do have to have the user manual open to find all of the menus available from the remote. The sound is clear and full for a small room, but high frequency response is a bit limited. I may consider better speakers to improve this issue.

Pros: Easy to use and has clean look.

Cons: Limited frequency response for serious listening.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Incredible small CD/receiver

John from Lexington, KY on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

March 2018. The Denon D-M41 exceeded all expectations in quality build and sound quality! Note I have not run this stereo hooked to it's included speakers. I'm using vintage Dynaco A-25s. The bass was better than when using a 400 watt amp. The clarity of mids and highs was superb. The silence and lack of hum is incredible even when using the FM radio. The bluetooth was tested using a version of a Direct to Disk Mobile Fidelity Sound Labs Thelma Houston I've Got the Music in Me on Youtube. Incredible. I can't wait to connect a nice powered subwoofer. Only negatives are the tiny hard to see controls with no words. At 64 my eyes struggle to see these even with readers. No excuse for the hard to see controls these days. The difficulty in using the FM is major. You pretty much have to use the remote. The CD will play any kind of disk. -=j=-

Pros: Sound quality.

Cons: Small unlabeled controls.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

Donald from NY on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Some surprisingly similar sound qualities as my bigger stereo (which sounds really great - Acurus DIA100, PS audio Digital Link Gen. 2 outboard DAC, Acurus CD as transport, Definitive Technology tower speakers). Great dynamics, awesome bass (for such small speakers)( I have the bass up 2 notches & treble 1), impressive sound stage. Bluetooth works great as does the tuner. CDs sound unbelievably good for such a small inexpensive piece of gear. Using it in a small room....perfect!

Pros: Truly excellent sound quality for a compact "all in -one system. Compact size perfect for smaller areas. Worth the price.

Cons: Does not have RDS. It's nice to see title and name of artist but willing to do without for the better sound

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the easy of set up and the sound. It is not gonna shack the house but it offers great sound and fills the room nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

The Sound and Design are Tight and Right

Eric from CA on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a decade or more without a real stereo, living on headphones, using the monitors in my home studio, or listening on bluetooth/computer speakers, I "asked" for this for xmas from my family. It fit perfectly on our TV console, and set up in a moment. I connected my phone via bluetooth and we spent most of the next couple of days listening to everything from symphonic music (apres midi d'une faune) to the Raconteurs "Steady as She Goes", with stops at Esperanza Spaulding, Frank Zappa, Shostakovich quartets (love those Emersons), and James Taylor. It is SUCH a pleasure having a soundstage, tight unexaggerated bass (OK, it could use a bit more...now what subwoofer should I get?). The design is dead simple, the BT and everything else works beautifully. I'm a happy music guy.

Pros: Great sound; great design; fits in a very tight space; real stereo!; Bluetooth is super handy nowadays. Remote is clear and large.

Cons: I keep on asking it to play music, but realize it doesn't have voice control ;^). It could use a bit more bass, but its great having unexaggerated "tight" bass.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

solid bookshelf unit

Jeffrey from Richmond, VA on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, this is a good bookshelf unit. It is small and fits nicely in a number of space unobtrusively. The speakers seem to be tuned too low, but using the foam blockers on the rear port help some and adjusting the bass down worked, too. I've found this to be the case in most mid-priced units from earbuds and headphones to speakers. I call it the "beats effect"; after years of listening to low bit-rate digital recordings on poor equipment, people seem to mistake bass for clarity. Anyhow, the set up was pretty easy and the bluetooth was a cinch to sync. Most of the controls are on the remote, so I hope we never lose it. All in all, I think we got our money's worth, but I wasn't overly "wow-ed" by the product. It was a gift for my notoriously finicky wife to use on the mainfloor and she likes it so, it met it's purpose well. I was considering a bose wave product, but think this Denon set outperforms and has better features.

Pros: Small good sound solid remote ease of setup and use bluetooth very inconspicuous Still has a cd player excellent fm and am reception

Cons: no auxilary jack speakers tuned too low/bass heavy

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon D-M41

Chris from Cornish, NH on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit sounds great coupled with a sub woofer. Fills a large room with great sound! Thanks Crutchfield you are great. C.F.

Pros: Built well, small size, great sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, exceptional ease to assemble system

Crutchfield customer from Copalis Beach, WA on 11/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wished to replace my old Panasonic audio system with a new system. A primary requirement was to include a multi-disc changer. After a considerable amount of web research, I selected the Denon D-M41 audio system with an Onkyo DX-C390 disc changer. There were some questions I needed answered prior to my purchase. After a web search for possible vendors, I selected Crutchfield and using their on-line communication, I sent a list of questions. The same day, I received a response from Andy, one of their customer service experts. He responded to each question and encouraged me to contact him if I had additional questions. The price for the complete system was within $20 of the the other vendor I had selected. My decision was simple since I consider service a very important part of any purchase. After I placed the order, I received an e-mail from Andy letting me know I could call him at any time if I needed any help in assembling the system. The Denon was so simple to assemble and connecting the Onkyo required one audio cable and took about 30 seconds. I had the complete system up and playing in 30 minutes. It has great sound and very easy to navigate through the many options available. I highly recommend the Danon and Onyko changer if you are in the market. And, of course, I highly recommend Crutchfield as your vendor. Not only will you get a great system, but also great service.

Pros: Highly ranked in national reviews Great sound Very easy to assemble Very competitive price

Cons: Have not found any

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

TOP