Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon DNP-800NE

Streaming music player with Wi-Fi®, and Bluetooth®

MFR # DNP800NE

Denon DNP-800NE

Denon DNP-800NE

Streaming music player with Wi-Fi®, and Bluetooth®

MFR # DNP800NE

16 reviews
View this product

Excellent Streaming and service

Crutchfield customer from Glenview, IL on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent streaming solution with easy setup. Crutchfield selection online was informative and the delivery was fast.

Pros: Easy of use Multiple streaming services preconfigured Good WiFi and Bluetooth range

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DNP 800 NE

Crutchfield customer from Cayey, PR on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente muy satisfecho ahora tengo todo un sistema de audio completo y de buena calidad lo recomiendo amplificador y el reproductor de media

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

kisses

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

One of the BEST Media Streaming Players

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently installed a Sonos Port as a media streaming player to provide internet radio and streaming services over my home stereo system. While the Sonos performed well, something was just not totally right. Within a month, I purchased the Denon DNP-800NE. to provide these same services, and it has been absolutely amazing. In additio to internet radio and the usual streaming services, the Denon also provides HD Radio--and added bonmus. Now, I can listen to stations that were previousl available on AM or FM, but are now only available via HD Radio. Additionally, the Denon blends in well with my existing Denon system, was easier to get up and running, and has performed flawlessly with NO glitches in the software app. Highly recommended and at a very reasonable price for such a unit.

Pros: Internet radio Streaming music services HD radio Wireless connectivity Easy to use app

Cons: NONE...!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Estero, FL on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up and use, paired it with the Denon 600ne amp and Denon Dcd 600ne CD player. Streams Hi Res Audio thru tidal and Amazon HD with amazing clarity and response. The HEOS app takes a little getting used to but does a nice job of controlling the amp and has many streaming services on board.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wall of Sound

Crutchfield customer from Edgewood, WA on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Retailers have never encouraged me to consider a decent streamer, even though I have a very high end system. While streaming, this unit has significantly upped the "wall of sound" coming from my system. No doubt, pound for pound, this was the the best improvement I have made in my system...ever. And I rarely rate things five stars out of five.

Pros: Excellent, detailed, imaged sound

Cons: Denon needs to work on all of their "instructions" and mail a hard copy with the product.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Solution For Streaming Amazon Unlimited HD

Derek from Matthews, North Carolina on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the DNP 800ne to stream Amazon Unlimited HD to my Home Theater and Family Room. After reading many reviews I decided that the Amazon Link was not the way to go. I was impressed with the Denon DNP reviews, many of which mentioned the quality sound. I am very pleased with the Denon which has exceeded my expectations. I will not recap features and performance which have been well documented in numerous reviews. Instead I will describe how I am using the DNP to feed both my Home Theater and Family Room. Luckily for me the DNP has a Fixed and Variable RCA analog out. The AVR's for both my Home Theater and Family Room are in the same equipment rack. I ran the Fixed out to the Auxilliary Input on my 1984 vintage Conrad Johnson PV5 tube pre-amp. This preamp has two outputs. I fed these outputs to the CD input on the Onkyo Receivers that I use for my HT and Family Room. My HT speakers are the Thiel 2.4's. I use the Sunfire CRM 2's in the Family Room. I am really enjoying the euphoric tube sound in both rooms. Out of curiosity I ran the variable analog out directly to another input on the Family Room receiver. The Fixed stream using the CJ PV5 has better imaging and presence. The variable direct fed signal sounds flat by comparison. I use a TP-Link Alexa controlled power plug to remotely turn the CJ PV5 on and off. I use the Amazon Music App on my iPad to select and play the music. The Amazon Music App allows for the creation of playlists.

Pros: Good sound. Many connection options. Supports most streaming services.

Cons: Enclosed booklet of little value. Excellent 126 page users manual available online.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Kouts, IN on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EQUIPMENT: (4) Sansui SP-3500, (1) SVS SB-1000 both fed by a Sansui QRX-6500. I have also reviewed the DCD-800ne and mention them both in this review for comparison purposes. I bought the DNP-800ne for the DAC via the USB port. I have not tried any of the other functions that the product offers.The DCD-800ne is very simple to use when the source for your music is a USB stick. However, the DNP-800ne operates totally different and is more complicated. New out of the box YOU HAVE TO CONNECT TO THE INTERNET for firmware updates. The USB port will not work without going through the online start-up procedure. I even called Crutchfield's tech support about this. Now having the unit for 3 months I'm more familiar with how it works. Do not leave the USB stick in after turning the unit off. It will confuse the DNP-800ne when it is powered up. Without a USB stick in, it takes over a minute for the unit to be ready to use. After inserting a USB stick, it takes about 30 seconds for the display to show that it has music loaded in. With the DCD-800ne it's plug and play, no delay. It's easier to control the DNP-800ne from the remote but I prefer to use the pushbutton controls on the unit. There is a "Search" function that is really complicated and once you are in that selection there is no way to get out without waiting about a minute for the display to refresh. Overall, I do not believe the DNP-800ne was designed with the USB port in mind. Read my Pros for what's good about this unit

Pros: Excellent sound reproduction. Nice large lettering on the display. Gold plated RCA jacks. Unlike the DCD-800ne, the DNP-800ne performs Gapless Playback.

Cons: It is incredibly difficult to use the USB port as your source for music. I like the definite position on/off switch on the DCD-800ne better. No "Pure Mode" to disable the display.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Mount Horeb, WI on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super high quality unit - just what you would expect from Denon. The HEOS app is super cool, with about a dozen different streaming services to choose from as well as Airplay 2, Bluetooth, and local device streaming. Only think I wish it had was Google Cast support which is why I gave it 4 stars. Hopefully that will come in a future firmware update!

Pros: Almost every streaming service and media capability you would ever want. Excellent sound quality.

Cons: No Google Cast support

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Redmond, WA on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound, easy to setup. Works well with my streaming services (Sirius/XM and Amazon Prime Music HD). I do not have any connected wireless speakers as I wanted the streaming service capability through my stereo receiver, not remote speakers. The HEOS app works well on my phone but I do wish that there was an app for my Windows laptop. Also, with Amazon Music Service, when I try to setup a music queue of different albums, I get a message that queuing is not currently supported with this service, even though queuing works well within the Amazon Music app itself.

Pros: Easy setup, works with many streaming services.

Cons: Headphone jack is convenient to get to but, you cannot control the volume to the headphones with the remote.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Campbell, CA on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not buy this product if you relied on the network to work. It will not understand the mesh network. Sometimes it lost the network connection, you have to bring it back to the original network to rediscover the network again. It is the hassle to disconnect all cables, remove the unit and setup again. Also, it did not work well with DLNA, Windows Media. It will not continue to the next song on the list if you forced it to play another song. I don't think Denon Heos is as good as Yamaha on its Miracast software.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 12 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean, fit my needs for a whole house audiocontroller. Called your help desk and they were great..Thanks Crutchfields RB

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE is a Five-star Winner!

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great product that does so many things! General setup was straightforward and seamless. It took a little bit of research and reading to understand how to use this wonderful gadget to its full potential. But once I figured it all out by reading the online owners manual and other manuals and how-to guides, I am up and running with fabulous sound coming from this Denon DNP-800NE. The HEOS app works well, too. I can run the system from my iPhone or iPad, accessing standard iTunes and lots of other music streaming services. And I can easily access my full-resolution iTunes library stored on my Mac mini computer in another part of my house, over Wi-Fi, by using the Twonky Server software listed in the Denon owners manual. The DAC on this device is really good. Music sounds natural and full-bodied. Also, the build quality of the DNP-800NE is very good. It is a large, relatively heavy device with clean lines and robust dials and buttons. I am very happy with this device!

Pros: Build quality, Sound Quality, Price, Overall Capabilities, Flexibility to access multiple music sources from either the remote control or from the HEOS app on a phone or tablet.

Cons: A little bit tricky to figure out all the configurations and setup. Some of the details are hard to find in the owners manual, while you also need to understand how to configure your computer, wi-fi system, and related tools to take full advantage of everything this device can do.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

JIM from Lynn, MA on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy with this purchase. I use it primarily for Air Play and using the HEOS app for Sirius/XM. It has greatly improved and expanded the sound for my system. I had it hooked it up to my Denon AVR in no time and I just went from there. As always, great service and advice from my advisor (Troy) who was professional and took the time to answer all my questions. I never purchase any component from anyone other than Crutchfield. Thanks again as this unit has exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Crutchfield customer from New London, NH on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was exactly what I was looking for. Internet connection using WiFi was fairly easy to set up - entering the password was a little tricky. Conntection to smart phone was very easy using HEOS app which allows easy seaching for radio stations and easy connection to the music on my phone. After dealing with another manufacture for four years this is a welcome relief. The sound through a NAD integrated amp is very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Denon DNP-800NE

Anthony from Milford, MI on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am running it through an Adcom GFA 5800 and Magnepan 1.7i s and it sounds darn good. also prety easy to set up.

Pros: Good sound, easy use

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP