Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon HEOS 1

Compact wireless powered speaker with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # HEOS1HS2BK

Denon HEOS 1

Denon HEOS 1

Compact wireless powered speaker with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # HEOS1HS2BK

66 reviews
View this product

HEOS 1 speaked

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So for these HEOS 1 speakers are work flawlessly. I opted for the original/older speaker because they do not have a microphone. I have now added three of these speakers to the HEOS app along with my wired demon two zone setup. Setup was easy with the included cable.

Pros: Easy setup with HEOS app And supplied cable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speaker and portability with "go pack"

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great portable speaker. I was able to get the the "go pack" battery (discontinued) making this a completely portable speaker. At a volume range of 30-40 the speaker really does play for 5-6 hrs on one charge....which is fantastic! I also own the replacement new Home 150 models. The HEOS 1 sounds great however the new "Home" series has a placement setting in the HEOS app menu which allows great bass adjustment and yes they sound slightly better than the HEOS 1 because of it. Important to note this speaker does NOT show up on my iOS devices for airplay or airplay2. You must use the HEOS app to play music loaded on your iOS device. The main reason I chose this is because I was able to get the "go pack" battery to use outdoors/pool. If that wasn't a necessity I would choose and recommend the Denon Home 150 model because I like the look better, Airplay2 compatibility and again the bass/placement adjustment. But, it's still a great little speaker.

Pros: Portable with "go pack" Great sound. Plays high res music (192kHz/24 Bit)

Cons: Lack of Airplay/Airplay2 Doesn't have placement adjustment (bass) setting like Home series.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from South Portland, ME on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed to expand my system to the bedrooms.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Durango, CO on 9/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is very good. We required the support of HEOS support to connect it to our receiver because the HEOS app did not work correctly with my phone. It would be nice if the speaker had a handle of some way of carrying without worrying about dropping it.

Pros: Very good sound

Cons: HEOS app Clumsy to carry

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Calabash, NC on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good, compact design. Great sound. Easily integrates using the HEOS app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little speaker

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for out door on my deck although I have to bring it in each time I use it. For the size nice little base and crisp highs.

Pros:

Cons: Would love to see an all weather option.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Elmira, NY on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Satisfied with the sound and service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

HEOS or Piece of junk

Crutchfield customer from Oyster Bay, NY on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent several hours dealing with two very competent techs who could not get the unit to function properly. A second unit and another hour of tech support was no better. It's not a good product.

Pros: None

Cons: Impossible software. Poor production quality. Work is inconsistently.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Murray, KY on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! Works seamlessly my Denon HEOS receiver. Plus, works with Bluetooth, as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Evanston, IL on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed tech support and direct connection to router to set up WiFi connection. Works fine with good sound. A great second room solution and connection to my Denon AV receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds good when it works

Peter from ARLINGTON, VA on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use Spotify Connect to play music on a Denon AVR-X4300H Receiver in my Living Room. I bought the Denon HEOS 1 to extend the music into the adjoining kitchen. Unfortunately adding the HEOS 1 causes so many audio drops that it's basically unusable. The Initial setup for the HEOS 1 was challenging. The directions are clear, but the process failed several times. I had use wired ethernet ANDan analog connection to my phone (iPhone 8 Plus) to set it up. I'm very comfortable setting up my own tech, but found this to be a lengthy and frustrating experience. With setup complete, I could group the HEOS 1 and AVR-X4300H in the HEOS iOS app. This lets the HEOS 1 act like an extra speaker attached to my receiver, which is great. I can listen to Spotify on both speakers simultaneously; the HEOS 1 does a nice job extending the sound field into the next room. You can adjust the time delay to synchronize the sound for a particular listening position using the HEOS app. Unfortunately I only get a few moments of unified music before problems start. Audio drops randomly, playing from one speaker, both or none every 10-20 seconds. Watching the HEOS iOS app, you can see the speakers ungroup and regroup. The HEOS app, Spotify app, and sound tell inconsistent stories about the active topology. I might be able to fix this by running wired ethernet to the HEOS 1, but at that point it'd be better to use a passive speaker connected to the AVR-X4300H second Zone.

Pros: Sounds fine Compact size Solid construction Lots of fallback options for setup

Cons: Unstable streaming when grouped with other HEOS devices Challenging setup

Crutchfield response on 11/26/2019
Peter, we're sorry you're having issues with your HEOS. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, NJ on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use the HEOS 1 as part of a surround system with the HEOS sound bar. I find that the volume of the HEOS 1 is very quiet and is often overpowered by the main sound bar. It was tricky to get the HEOS 1 speakers to integrate with my HEOS sound bar system. It was not automatically found and the instructions were poor at best. I had to get Crutchfield technical staff to assist in get my installation put together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Blew Me Away

james from Bluffton, SC on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't quite sure what to expect from the smallest of speakers in the HEOS family of wireless music. Goodness I was knocked over from the sound emanating from it. The response was superb, low non-muddled bass, while the treble and mids were clear and sharp. Overall the system was fairly easy to install and use with the addition of the HEOS app and even connected to my iTunes library and TV music server! The ability to input from various sources is a big plus over competitors - bluetooth especially and aux in - we had musicians over the other night and they were able to send downloads and connect via bluetooth to preview their latest unreleased album. A must for anyone thinking of installing a wireless sound system inside their home.Will be adding a few more speakers one we are in our new house.

Pros: Ease of set-up. Sound quality. Versatility.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

See my Heos soundbar review

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceeded expectations....

ALAN from Wichita Falls, TX on 3/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could not be happier with this speaker. Perform well as a stereo pair in the bedroom. They look good too. They perform well with Alexa. Easy setup! So pleased that I ordered another one for another room!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound!

Robert from Surfside, FL on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased this Denon Heos 1 to add to my Heos system, I'm really impressed with the sound quality for such a small speaker. It works really well in my bathroom.I have not had the issues others seem to have with the app. All in all I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a wireless speaker.

Pros: Great sound Easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Design and Great Sound!

JimyD from Aptos, CA on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound but trying to connect it wirelessly to my wi-fi network was a real pain. I ended up using an ethernet cord to get a secure connection to my wireless router. Denon really needs to fix this since I've encountered the same problem with all three Heos speakers that I've purchased and I'm pretty sure Sonos owners don't have this problem. Fortunately, the quality sound makes up for it.

Pros: Nice design and great sound!

Cons: Couldn't connect wirelessly to my router. Using the Heos app feels like it's still 2007.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Golden Valley, AZ on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

terrific sound for small unit easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Consider an alternative

Joe from Boston on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure what happened here. This was a reliable and comparatively easy-to-use system component that I integrated with Denon's HEOS-equipped 4300 receiver. The HEOS Team conducted server work in 12/12/18 and since then the system has been fragile, temperamental and unreliable. Online music now routinely overrides the system components and the phone app's functionality is greatly diminished. The HEOS service team is completely unresponsive as outreach (calls and emails) is unanswered. Crutchfield runs a first class shop. Consider purchasing an alternative product from them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Wayne from Hilton Head, SC on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, perfect for bedroom as extension to living room sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Jeff from Downers Grove, IL on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the Heos 1. Have one in each room. Works very well with Spotify playlists.

Pros: Heos works well with Spotify. Have the App on iphone and it is very easy to use.

Cons: Not setup very well for itunes. We mainly use Spotify, so this is not an issue.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great WiFi pick up for

Nathan I. from Sarasota, FL on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Denon continues to be the Gold Standard for fine quality music and equipment. 4300 4400 My third system and HEOS speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Lees Summit, MO on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good little speaker. the set up was a snap as i had experience setting up another denon heos speaker. i planned to get more heos products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect speaker for the office. Have them in every room at the house and since it is also bluetooth got one for the office

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Fouad from Livonia, MI on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound, out of a small speaker

Pros: Easy setup . Paired with my Heos 7 speaker

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon Heos 1

Crutchfield customer from Saylorsburg, PA on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speaker....looks great and sound is wonderful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WOW AWESOME

Crutchfield customer from Medina, OH on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy setup.

Pros: Easy setup. Flexible options. Stylish

Cons: I need more of them.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Crown Point, IN on 1/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this in the bathroom and it works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Randall from Owensboro, KY on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Met all my expectations. Performed just like the ads said it would perform. Excellent.

Pros: great sound. Easy to hook up... intuitive.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big sound from a small package

Joe from SC on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounds from such a small speaker. Easy to connect to my phone and my Denon receiver.

Pros: Great wireless sound

Cons: Wish it came with a rechargable battery to make it more mobile

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great speaker, easy setup!

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking speaker, and very easy setup! App is surprisingly good and better than Sonos. Sound quality is almost on par with Sonos 1, although the discerning ear will notice weaker bass tones.

Pros: Cool look Easy setup Nice app

Cons: Weaker bass (relative to SONOS)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Richard from Riverview, FL on 12/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and easy setup

Pros: size and sound quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from New Boston, MI on 11/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy with the sound. Dissappointed that it does not have a battery with it when I purchased it. Battery is expensive. I may send this back

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

Ronald S. from Lima, OH on 11/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the speaker sounds good. as far as connecting this device, it works with the receiver but for the bluetooth it is horrible. For me it connected fairly easy the first time i connected it to my phone, after that it was a nightmare to connect. I got a replacement sent to me and it was the same way. almost impossible to connect via bluetooth. I sent mine back as i deemed it a waste of time and money. denon definitely has some software issues they need to correct. I would have gave it a zero but that was not an option.

Pros: Sounds good when connected

Cons: Bluetooth connectivity issues

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Painstaking to set up and then you find out the " wireless" speaker must have a power cord unless you want to spend another hundred on a battery. This is worse than pyramid marketing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Improve the app and it makes 4 stars

Eric from Bloomington, IN on 9/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker it self sounds great but it never will connect to my phone and I have to sit up as a new device every time I want to use it. Maybe it's the app but even the Bluetooth dosnt want to connect at times.

Pros: Sound, size

Cons: Will not constantly connect to my phone and it Bluetooth connectivity is suspect at times.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great sound from a small speaker. Can usually find on sale as well unlike sonos. Strong build quality. Have 2 setup with my Heos Bar for surrounds.

Pros: Solid mid range and treble. Great to pair 2 for stereo

Cons: Like the simple design of the Play 1 better than the Heos 1

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 3/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality of this speaker is fantastic. However I bumped it down to four stars because the Heos app leaves a lot to be desired.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Heros 1 for Great Speaker and Ease of Use

Robert L. from Peoria, AZ on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product. I put two bluetooth speakers from another company on my covered patio for the past year. There has always been a problem with connectivity. Also, having to go through my amplifier to turn on the speaker connection was an additional step in the process. The Heros 1 (water resistant) fit the mold perfectly. With help from a Crutchfield advisor, I purchased two (2) of these WiFi speakers with the batteries. The set up was very simple and explained very well in the start up instructions. The Denis app is amazing. All I have to do now is to turn on the app and hit play. No more hassles or static. Just beautiful music on my patio. One reason I purchased the optional battery pack was to get the essentially water proof, custom made seal over the connections on the back. I just cut a hole for the plug with a box cutter and there are no worries over moisture getting into the connections. I highly recommend them.

Pros: Great sound; ease of setup; ease of use.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product and app for the price

AJ from San Ramon, CA on 1/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is OK. Don't expect anything amazing at this price point. The best part of this is the app HEOS. Very easy to setup and connect. I have two of these and they pair up very easily.

Pros: App HEOS Price point

Cons: Sound is not rich/full but that is OK at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good things come in small packages

Geoff from Clarksville, TN on 1/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These have nice sound for the size. They work well singly, paired, or linked to my HEOS enabled Denon 6300. I think the only shortcoming (and thus only 4-star rating) is they cannot be used as true wireless rear speakers. For use in multi-room music playback, they work fine. They can be used to play something independently of your primary system, or in conjunction with it (think Christmas music throughout the house at your party, or kids listening to their choice in the study, while you watch the game on the primary system.)

Pros: Good sound, easy setup, work well singly, paired, or as multi room music playback

Cons: Cannot be setup as true 5.1 wireless reads.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Mdnephron from Baltimore,Md on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound fot its dize !

Pros: Size

Cons: Design needs retouch

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent small bluetooth speaker

Major from North Little Rock, AR on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this speaker. It is hard to believe the quality of the sound coming from such a small device. If you didn't hear it you wouldn't even know it was in the room.

Pros: Easy to setup. Can put in a room without taking away from the decor. Sounds fantastic.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Apex, NC on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am absolutely thrilled with the performance of the Denon HEOS wireless speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have other HEos speakers, 7 and 3s. Bought this for a small den and use on exterior deck. I have plugs for all areas. Performs well in stereo as expected. Connnects readily and the blue tooth helps, but I almost excusively use the wifi Heos app. Very pleased

Pros: Compact, moisture resistant, easy to use and control.

Cons: None to date.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice sound, small package

Norbert from Seffner, FL on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound for a small package. Note: You cannot use these as surround sound speakers. Denon has not released an update that will allow that functionality (Denon support did not say if one was in the works or not). Initially had issue with connecting these to wifi, but eventually it worked. Portability is good. Beats having to hard-wire speakers in different rooms for whole house sound, would be great for apartments (or if you don't have an extra amp or speaker outputs on your receiver or just don't want to run wiring). Received one free with my Denon purchase and bought another one discounted. Happy with the purchase!

Pros: size, sound

Cons: initially difficult to connect to wifi (eventually was able to)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 12/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound. Have it hooked up in the bathroom. I was looking for a speaker for the bathroom and this was perfect with the humidity resistance. Everybody that has heard it wants to know more about it and is impressed with the sound. Very happy so far and the app works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Ridgeland, MS on 12/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are easy to set up with the Heos system. They give amazing sound considering their size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound from bluetooth speaker.

THOMAS from Penn Yan, NY on 12/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker was included free with my new Denon Receiver. I probably would not have purchased this on my own and free is great. I have not spent a whole lot of time with it but I have downloaded the the app for Denon to set it up. The install was pretty easy and it does sound better than my Echo.

Pros: Easy set up. Nice long cord.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Mike from Tampa, FL on 12/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound!! Didn't know the battery didn't come with it. Kinda my fault for not reading closer I guess. Overall happy!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: No battery

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice Gadget

Victor from Montverde, FL on 12/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Heos 1 sounds good as small speakers go. Kind of like the Crosley table radios of yesteryear.

Pros: Real easy way to get background music without turning a complete sound system.

Cons: The need for a Heos account and many of the music services want $$$$$

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Steve from Findlay, OH on 12/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set-up. No hiccups with Bluetooth to this point (had it for a month or so linked to Apple). Pleasantly surprised by sound quality (using a bedroom speaker).

Pros: -Easy set-up -Reliable Bluetooth -Good sound quality from small unit

Cons: -None to date

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome

Randy S from Phoenix, AZ on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seriously awesome! Debating between Sonos and this and chose this due to Bluetooth connectivity and ability to buy a battery pack and make these portable! Sound quality is great! No integration with Apple Music if that is a concern. I can't wait to buy more!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Nattakit from Chicago, IL on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Denon Sound Low Price

Joe from Perth Amboy, NJ on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound for a small unit. The app needs Apple Music integration.

Pros: Great sound, price

Cons: App needs work

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Chris from Frisco, TX on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is excellent, setup is easy. Very well-made speakers, that look the part as well.

Pros: Great sound, great alternative to Sonos, and a full family of products

Cons: Wish the Android app had a widget

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointment

Mark from Dayton, OH on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointing. I own the HEOS 7, and the sound is great - very full with good high and low extension. I got the HEOS 1 on sale, hoping that it would have the same sound signature. It doesn't. Very flat (not in a good way). I have a Bluetooth speaker I would rather listen to. I have a Sonos Play 1, which is about the same size as the HEOS 1, but the sound quality from that blows the HEOS away. Unfortunately, the Sonos Play 1 doesn't have Bluetooth integration or an Aux in port, so I can't use it for my intended use, which is to pair it with an Amazon Dot (along with having the streaming services available). I was hoping the HEOS would fit the bill, but, it did not. Would advise looking elsewhere.

Pros: Connected easily. Bluetooth and Aux In port.

Cons: Poor sound quality. HEOS ecosystem very limited compared to Sonos. Unresponsive Denon tech support.

Crutchfield response on 12/6/2016
Mark, we're sorry you're unhappy with this speaker. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Pacifica, CA on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Perfect for my Bathroom and it Compliments the Heos 3 and 7 that I have.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Paul R. from Las Cruces, NM on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Donald from Cudjoe Key, FI on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to setup, great sound quality and nice size. Would buy another one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Guest from Riverview, FL on 11/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommend! Super nice speakers. Quality is top notch. No question...buy these! Excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Stephen from Indiana on 11/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great system. I have 4 of these including the Heos 7. Awesome sound quality and the ability to relocate for special events. It also connects nicely with my Control4 system. I am not sure what the complaint is on the UI. I found it was extremely intuitive and easy to link to all the available streamers. The android software is rock solid.

Pros: Great sound quality Easy to move around for events in the home Direct connectivity to Control4 Systems for one app complete home automation SMART home ready

Cons: Sometimes there are break-ups on the bluetooth stream, but WiFi is rock solid.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 1

Crutchfield customer from Midland, TX on 11/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speaker. Perfect for bathroom.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Hardware, Hampered by Embarrassing Software

Mark B from Menlo Park, CA on 7/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker is well designed and looks and sounds great. It's got a solid heft to it with tight assembly tolerances. Even the buttons provide a satisfying tactile feedback. Sound quality is excellent and for many genres there is no distortion even when the volume is maxed. Now, you're not going to be able to rattle windows to LL Cool J's "Radio," but I listen to a lot of hip hop and it sounds good at regular volumes. Connection options are plentiful, including WiFi, direct Bluetooth and even Aux In via a 1/8" mic jack. Unfortunately, that's where my positive comments end. In order to do literally anything with this speaker, including playing music directly through the Aux jack, you need to use the HEOS by Denon App, which is available for both Android and iOS. It's how you configure the WiFi and Bluetooth, customize the name of the name of the device, select music, everything. In and of itself, this would be fine, if the software weren't so poorly designed and *worse* unreliable. Some specific examples: - Local Music: my iPod Touch has ~70G of mp3s. Selecting a song via "This iPod," I get the message, "This media can't be played. Try again later." !! Support tells me to restart the app and it works for two songs... Restart. - Picking a song adds to a queue. By default... ?!? - Hit limit. See Cons below. I'm giving it 3-stars and Denon the benefit of the doubt that they'll resolve these problems, but based on their sub-par AVR software,

Pros: - Wonderful hardware. - Great sound. - Excellent build quality. - Good selection of online streaming sources. - Can share personal music with other local HEOS users. - Anecdotal frequent software updates (fingers crossed).

Cons: - Software is not reliable, requiring frequent restarts. - Confusing UI. - Sharing my iPod appears under Music Servers(?) for another user of HEOS. - Misc other annoying items and issues. - (I'm pulling for you, Denon, to make this a great product!)

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

TOP