Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Denon HEOS 5

Wireless powered tabletop speaker with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # HEOS5HS2BK

Denon HEOS 5

Denon HEOS 5

Wireless powered tabletop speaker with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # HEOS5HS2BK

50 reviews
View this product

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than Sonos sound, worse than Sonos app. Had a full house of all the newest Sonos (roommate owned and use to work for them) when i moved i wanted the same experience but the app is glitchy and challenging to link to my Denon receiver. Volume controls on the app are not good either. Otherwise it sounds really good, love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Moline, IL on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, portable.

Pros: The handle makes it easy to move around.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Dewitt, MI on 10/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! Love the HEOS system and the bluetooth is an added bonus!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has very good rich sound sound to it. Easy to connect to any device - Bluetooth, wifi, and Aux Cable options. Can be controlled via their App and has volume buttons on the side of the speaker. Wish it had the option of being battery powered by a external battery pack. But other than that it works great.

Pros: Sound quality, size, functions, connectivity

Cons: Lack of battery powered option, price point

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound belies its size!

Crutchfield customer from N Wilkesboro, NC on 8/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a solid wireless speaker. I havent had the issue of it dropping wireless like some have reported. I'd say it is a solid upper mid-range entry. Would like to see it come with a Li-Io battery that charges as its plugged in, and water resistant status, as it seems to be a good poolside companion. Low bass notes can get a little muddy, but in general, I like it.

Pros: Size, sound.

Cons: Bass can become a bit muddy with bass-heavy tracts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Shakopee, MN on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker with unbelievable sound. Wanted the 7 but got this instead. Not disappointed.

Pros: Easy set up and portable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No, no, no. Just no.

Dave from Delray Beach, FL on 7/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this in the bundle along with a Marantz receiver. Easily the most frustrating experience in my audio life. The Heos app is dreadful - unintuitive, glitchy, unstable. The Marantz app is worse. Put them together and you're in a world of pain. The speaker would not connect to my system via Ethernet or wireless. The best part? The Heos app disabled even the most basic connection between my cable box and the Marantz receiver, so I had to reset that whole piece. Do NOT buy this, even if you have a PhD in electrical engineering.

Pros: Attractive design

Cons: Serves as a paperweight costing hundreds of dollars.

Crutchfield response on 7/8/2019
Dave, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Brian from Huntsville, AL on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to connect and works flawlessly with my other HEOS speakers.

Pros: Simple and easy to use.

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MI on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

as expected. Sounds great, easy to connect and setup. HEOS app needs to evolve a bit more more but I woudl purchase again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Lutz, FL on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Giving it 2 stars as cannot fond out how to get sound to come out wirelessly. Have my Denon receiver and Heos on my wifi and can get now sound. Have been through the Heos and Denon apps with no luck. And cannot find any directions or videos that show you how. If I plug it in to my TV sounds great. But that is the only good thing at this point. The point is to have it work via the wifi without cords so I can move it anywhere. Very discouraged that Denon doesn't have better information.

Pros: Sounds Great.

Cons: Hard to figure out how to get sound via wifi. Nothing on the apps or the manual you have to download on how to do it. Seems to me since they are both on the wifi the sound should come. Been hours now trying.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Cheryl from Akron, NY on 3/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

REALLY great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound from a small unit

Richard from Spring, TX on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker. This is the second one that I have bought. Sounds great. Minor downside but the only way to control is via WiFi. If, like me, you have a remote place without internet it took a bit to get a WiFi w/o internet up. Once you have a WiFi router, works great. Could have used Bluetooth as well but like the range of WiFi. I have songs on my phone and on USB stick, both work well for my purposes. The sound clarity is amazing. As I age, I tend to not be able to hear lyrics well, but not with this speaker, can hear words clearly. Highly recommend

Pros: Sound quality, simple, stylish

Cons: Have to have WiFi

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker! I love that you can use it as a regular Bluetooth speaker if you want.

Pros: Bluetooth connection. Quality sound.

Cons: I wish that HEOS could connect to iMusic. I felt like I was forced to join Spotify (which i'm Not a big fan of)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Sayreville, NJ on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound. Really enjoying . I got a Great deal with the Denon receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, NM on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One word- AWESOME!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, AL on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Swanzey, NH on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound. Really enjoying it and a. Great deal with the Denon receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Maricopa, AZ on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great company ! Great product !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surprised How Nice!

Jordan from Las Vegas, NV on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker, I bought it as an add-on deal to a Denon receiver I bought, was a good deal, worth the price. I couldn't believe how rich the low end was, and how loud it could get. Will be a great speaker to bring to the back yard for when I have company over next spring/summer. Cosmetically pleasing, easy functions, I just paired it with my phone to test, sounded great! I would get more if I want to do whole house speakers.

Pros: -Cosmetically pleasing, nice low end, loud

Cons: -It wasn't "Buy one get one free"

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice full sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Braddock, PA on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this beast on super sale so I am extra thrilled but... this speakers has excellent bass and sound. It exceeds my expectations by miles. The HEOS app has been perfect so far... Pandora, XM, Amazon... all in. Recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Portable room audio

Jay from Fargo, ND on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sounds was actually better than expected. I was a bit surprised about the bass response, but I think that's helped by the fact they ask you to place it fairly close to a wall - I think that helps focus the sound and make it seem bigger than it is. It was a bit of a chore to get it to work with my receiver in the way I wanted to (Zone 2 speaker), but now that I have it figured out, I'm happy.

Pros: Can move it anywhere my wireless reaches

Cons: Receiver, though it supports this, made it more difficult than I'd hoped to use this for Zone 2.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A nightmare right from the start.

Lanny from Los Angeles, CA on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker that you can only use with the HEOS app which repeatedly fails. Setup was not easy because the speaker would not connect to my iPhone Xs using recommended method (Lightning-to-earphone adapter). So I used the fall-back method with an ethernet connection to the WiFi router. That worked for a few minutes and then when I tried to "group" the HEOS 5 with my Denon AVR-X6400H it gave an error message ("Cannot Group"). Really??? I can't use a Denon HEOS speaker with a new Denon AV receiver--what's up with that? What came next was the final straw--the speaker no longer showed as one of the devices available in the HEOS app. The overall HEOS design is stupid. For example, to use Spotify with a Denon receiver you have to use three apps at once: the Spotify app, the HEOS app, and the Denon AVR app. Total nonsense. Avoid the HEOS system. If you think my experience is not representative just look at the ratings of the HEOS app in the Apple App Store. Three times as many people give the app a one star rating as give it five stars. Crutchfield made it easy to return the speaker, so 5-stars for them.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Totally useless because it can't be used without the app and that app does not work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

What a disappointment. Avoid at any cost.

Justin from Montauk, NY on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of possibilities, very little delivery. I was very excited about the possibilities of this speaker, which I was able to purchase at a discounted price with the purchase of a avr3400. Even at that price, its nothing more that an semi-attractive paperweight. Reasons: 1) Even though this is bundled with an AVR at a bundle price, it will NOT function as rear surround. This function exists on the lesser HEOS AVR and the BAR, but the more robust (and pricy) AVRs have had this function disabled apparently. Ridiculous. 2) Simulcasting media (which is only possible via the clunky app "grouping" function) has a lag that just wont go away no matter how i tweak things. Want to add HEOS to an adjoining room to your main speakers? Forget it, unless you like hearing an echo on every beat (maddening!) 3) No Airplay2! What the heck! Want to multicast to all your speakers via airplay 2? Forget it. These paperweights will remain silent. 4) They took away the function of casting airplay via the AVR? For a short time, you could trick the system into playing airplay2 by casting to the avr and grouping the output via the app. No longer! Someone must have figured out that us users actually found a purpose for this brick and decided that was too much to offer, so an update took it away... So in short, lots of possibilities, zero current uses. It sits on a shelf unplugged currently. Hopefully updates will start to enable/fix/re-enable the very real possi

Pros: Looks kinda cool. Lots of potential via firmware and functionality updates.

Cons: Zero actual functional uses. Avoid at any cost until Denon gets it together.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Bonita Springs, FL on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What I did not realize is that HEOS is a 4th channel in addition to main, zone 2 and zone 3. So I am at my desk listening to the local HD2 radio on my HEOS speaker, while zone 2 may be on internet radio, zone 3 on a blue-ray, and main on an internet movie on the tv. Hope I got all this right. And the quality of the sound on the HEOS 5 is as expected outstanding. I do use the HEOS on a strong network.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Humble, TX on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound as expected. The setup and interface with the HEOS app is less than perfect. It gets the job done, but needs improvements for sure. The setup primary should be WiFi vs the hard-wired audio jack method. WiFi setup was an option, but didn't work with my password protected home network. The HEOS app frustrated me quite a bit at first. I'm getting used to it, but it needs to be improved if it wants to be competitive with Sonos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

PAWEL from Elmwood Park, IL on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

BRIAN from Elkhart, IN on 9/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound, easy set up with app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Packs a punch!

David from Mills River, NC on 9/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome little speaker that really sounds great. I also like the app. The key to any of the HEOS equipment is to make sure you have a strong LAN/Wifi network at your house.

Pros: Easy to setup Easy to use

Cons: I wish the blue light would turn off when not in use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional quality and sound!

Daniel from Mansfield, OH on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great little speaker, plenty of volume to fill a large room. Bass extension is pretty much what I expected. The HEOS app is good, but room for improvement. Setup was quite easy and the build quality is fabulous. I got this on sale, as a special when I bought my receiver. I am not sure I would pay full price though, that is just a little steep for me, but for what it does you really could not get separates any cheaper, so... maybe I would. One last note, like with most speakers, placement plays a role in sound quality and bass output. You can place the speaker anywhere in the room where there is an outlet for power and it will sound good for sure, but I have noticed lack of bass when placed in certain areas of the room. I am still in the process of trying to see where this would work best in my room (room size is rectangle - 23 feet long by 17 feet wide, 8 foot ceilings, carpet floors).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speaker, HEOS app is not great

Drew from Austin, TX on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker with enough sound to fill big rooms. The HEOS app is not in the same league as the Sonos app, but seems to work well enough for simple music streaming. Very convenient to be able to use one app to stream to this speaker and my Denon AVR-X4400H receiver.

Pros: Great sounding speaker Big sound for big rooms Ability to use HEOS with both my Denon receiver and this speaker

Cons: HEOS app is not in the same league as the Sonos app

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome speaker

Jim from Northport, NY on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sound of this speaker. It works seamlessly with my Heos 7 and my Denon AVR-X3400H receiver.

Pros: Excellent sound Works seamlessly with other Heos products

Cons: The Heos app can be confusing and difficult to use sometimes.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Joel from Eagle, CO on 9/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds great! But not as user friendly as I expected.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: No designated on/off button. I cannot get the app to function. Also connecting to a Bluetooth device seems to be delayed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing Powerful Sound

Jason from Fulshear, TX on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound! I thought I was going to put this in the bathroom but this is too powerful so instead I put it in Game Room upstairs. It works flawlessly with the HEOS app and so easy to join with my DENON AVR-X6300H for continuous sound throughout house.

Pros: Full sound, surprising strong bass.

Cons: Not really a con, but it would be cool if this was portable with an internal chargeable battery as sometimes I like to take it outside and while I have a plugin, it would be nice.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from White, GA on 9/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker is mainly in my bedroom which is 20x20 with 9' celings. It sounds like its own surround sound system. Has plenty of sound for even this larger room! The HEOS app is easy to use and I can add and remove this speaker to my main Denon surround system with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Already own a 5 and a 3. Matched this with the 5 I had and sounds fantastic together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great HEOS 5

Kenneth from San Bernardino, CA on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with this speaker and the ease of setting it up. I will by more so I can have one in each room.

Pros: Sounds great easy to connect

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speaker - great sound. Easy to setup and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Keller, TX on 4/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product!. Love the sound and versitility with the HEOS System

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Sound!!!

Thomas from St Thomas, VI on 3/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought two of these and they are awesome. Great clear sound and really full, deep bass. I thought I would go back later for the subwoofer, but the bass is so good, I went back for a Heos 7 speaker instead. Crutchfield Advisor was very patient and helpful and answered all of my questions so I could make a decision. I had to use an Ethernet cable to set up the speakers, but then disconnected the cable for wireless access. The speakers are also very sleek and attractive looking. I have also experienced a power outage since they were set up, and they automatically reconnect to the wireless network after the power comes back on. If you are looking for wireless, I don't think you can do better than these!!

Pros: Great sound and deep rich bass.

Cons: Have to set up with an Ethernet cable before you can connect to the wireless network.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

JP from San Diego, CA on 3/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this during their sale. Sound quality is Good but not great. Bass is muffled.

Pros: Decent sound quality (when bought on sale)

Cons: Blue tooth drops from Echo occasionally. Don't know why but we have to re-establish connectivity about once per week. Decided to just hook up manually via provided cable.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, NH on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Though an excellent single speaker, pairing as a stereo makes them amazing! App is ok for setup, but the lack of Apple Music integration is a letdown.

Pros: Great single speaker sounds excellent as a pair.

Cons: Lack of Apple Music integration

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Cliff from Crown Point, IN on 1/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up and the app works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

Joe from San Diego, CA on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is amazing, much more impressive than I was expecting even though the speaker had good reviews. It was easy to hook up and get setup, under 5 minutes. I am hoping to add more Denon HEOS devices to my home over time to build out a whole home audio system. With the sound from this HEOS 5 speaker, I am looking forward to having more speakers throughout my home.

Pros: Great sound, looks good, I like the HEOS app

Cons: None so far! I just need more of these now!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, WA on 11/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, and easy to hook up. Placed in my office and use it with an existing home theater Denon reciever supporting HEOS. Like how the HEOS application allows the HEOS speaker to be paired or unpaired with existing zones. Strongly recommend as a cost effective option for expanding audio zones in the home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Crutchfield customer from Sylmar, CA on 10/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 2 Heos 3 in my bedroom, added the Heos 5 in my patio. The sound of these speakers are GREAT!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockin the room

Phillip from Streetsboro, OH on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great full range sound - purchased one few months ago, like it so much, purchased a second unit and set up for stereo. WOW, really sound great where ever they are set up.

Pros: Great sound, easy set up, app is basic but does the job! To get best sound, get two and setup for stereo.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Beautiful speaker, great sound

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker produces amazing sound. Controlling it with the HEOS app is easy but it is a pretty ugly app. You can control it directly with the Spotify app which is great.

Pros: Great look, great sound, easy to use

Cons: Ugly app

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon HEOS 5

Ashlee from Florida on 2/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker produces amazing sound and I'm really happy with it. Controlling it is easy via the HEOS app and grouping it with my other HEOS speaker is easy and convenient.

Pros: Awesome sound, grouping with other HEOS speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Patrick from Minneapolis, MN on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound in such a small speaker!

Pros: Great look, great sound, easy setup, and great Crutchfield service

Cons: App can be less than intuitive, but it is getting better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP