Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Escort Solo S4

Cordless radar detector

MFR # 0100034-1

Escort Solo S4

Escort Solo S4

Cordless radar detector

MFR # 0100034-1

12 reviews
View this product

Escort Solo S4

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NH on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit so far..Have owned several Escort products. Never an issue with them..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Escort Solo S4

Crutchfield customer from Winnetka, IL on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied customer

Crutchfield customer from Saint Johns, FL on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent wireless product, I highly recommended it for the active motorists!!

Pros: Wireless

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Save yourself the aggravation! Buy something else!

Crutchfield customer from Niceville, FL on 3/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worse radar detector ever. Started off on a bad foot right out of the box. The quick setup manual points you to their website for a full manual. Go to the website and all that is available is the quick setup manual. Call customer service and the guy couldn't care less. Said if I wanted a manual to buy a unit that has a manual. This one doesn't. As for performance, it was constantly going off. It does not do well on freeways and interstates. Modern vehicles with lane detection, cruise control radar, and the systems that know when a car is approaching and in your lane set this off every time. Any kind of traffic flow monitoring sets this off. Way too many false alarms and it does not have any filtering. Save yourself the aggravation.

Pros: None that I could find other than cordless.

Cons: No IVT filtering. No manual. Constant false alarms.

Crutchfield response on 3/17/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Escort Solo S4

Crutchfield customer from Romeoville, IL on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radar goes off every ten seconds. 99% of alerts are false alarms. Very frustrating and annoying.

Pros: Cordless

Cons: Everything else

Crutchfield response on 3/10/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your radar detector. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Newly purchased Solo S4

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I reived my Solo S4 just two days after I oredered it from Crutchfield. The unit arrived 2nd. day and undamaged. Although not the most optioned radar detector available, it is what it is advertised to be. It detects radar. Is some of that radar automatic doors? Sure. Are there other false alarms? Yes. But Escort never claimed there wouldn't be. The whole idea behind the Solo S4 is its portability. I already have a dash cam wired in and the cord runs along the windshield. I didn't want another cord to deal with. Was the lack of a cord a fare trade for all the things the S4 doesn't do? For me, it is a fare trade. My truck has been broken into before and the ease of mounting and removing the radar detector every day works for me. The S4's performance and range equals if not exceeds some corded models without the hassles of the cord. I purchased a seperate mirror mount and the set-up works great. No need to worry about suction cups falling of the windshield and the radar detector winding up under a seat somewhere. The Solo S4 is my second cordless detector(I owned a Passport in the mid 80s), fourth of all types, and favorite overall.

Pros: Cordless Portable Great Range

Cons: Not as many bells and whistles as some corded models

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

So far so good

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good detector for the price, like the fact that their are no cords to block your vision and you can place it anywhere on the windshield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Escort Solo S4

Jerry from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 9/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Radar detector with the ease of location and battery usage awesome product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Escort Solo S4

Crutchfield customer from Post Falls, ID on 6/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just returned from a 1000 mile trip and did not have on hit on the detector, although I passed several Highway Patrol with obvious radar being used. I have had at lest two other Escort Detectors and never experienced this operational defect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/12/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful

Crutchfield customer from Nacogdoches, TX on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've won escort products for years. Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

I Hate Cords

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. On auto mode I get the usual false signals but it seems to catch the radar traps quickly. It alerted me to two Ka band traps so far. Have not been by a laser trap yet. The laser alert did go off in front of a Tesla dealer. Don't know what that is about. Most new cars have collision sensors that can mess with it. Might have been that. I like the fact that it is cordless. It is worth the price in my eyes. I have my phone charging and I didn't want another cord hanging nor did I want to go through the hassle of hard wiring it. Suction mount sticks to the window well. Has not fallen off. Battery life seems good. Drive every day 3 hours and after 5 days still have 2 out of 3 bars. Good buy.

Pros: Cordless Battery life Bright screen

Cons: Large Some false signals No pretty multi colored display

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Escort Solo4

Crutchfield customer from Little Mountain, SC on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Long battery life. Very pleased.

Pros: Good range No cords

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP