Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

MB Quart MA1-440.4

4-channel marine amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # MA1-440.4

MB Quart MA1-440.4

MB Quart MA1-440.4

4-channel marine amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # MA1-440.4

57 reviews
View this product

all good

Crutchfield customer from Little Silver, NJ on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great price easy install and came quikly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Failed while in the warranty period, replaced with no issue. The replacement also failed after about 2 years of use. Was good when it worked but I expect the product to last longer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Portage, MI on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the amp so far. My only negative is the instructions are very basic but if you have any experience with audio installation it's really not an issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Failed after about 6 months

William from Miami, Fl on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this maybe 6 months ago. I think we have maybe gone out on the boat 3 times after install and already stopped working.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/17/2020
After receiving William's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his amp is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact MB Quart at 866-636-6299 for further information about the 1-year warranty on this amp.
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Attica, NY on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product in a small package,

Pros: great instructions, well built

Cons: alan screws strip to easy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Failed a little over a year after installing

Russell from HELENA, MT on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounded great while it worked, but it failed a little over a year after I purchased it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not last

Glenn from St.Louis MO on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would give zero stars if I could. Used 2 season and one channel on amp went out. Definitely not worth the money and would not recommend.

Pros:

Cons: Does not last

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Bonney Lake, WA on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good marine amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Only lasted one season

Brian from Kennesaw on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great... Until it didn't. Only worked one season. It was connected to the stock infinity head unit on my AR-210 boat, pushing four JL Audio MX-650's. This amp was installed under the helm and stored outside in N. Georgia. It sounded perfect until it died

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Biloxi, MS on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with amp made a world of difference and the text support was phonomanoll

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BUYER BEWARE!

Hector from Miami, FL on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very dissapointed. I purchased 2 units and installed them on my powerboat inside a dry area and surely enough within a few months they both stopped working The factory would not help so i reached out to Crutchfield and they immediately took care of me by replacing both amps. Now just 6 months after im back to a couple of dead amps. I feel i threw away my money, wish they would stop selling these amps there because they are junk. 4 amps and $$$ down the drain.

Pros: Crutchfield is the best hope they can help me out this time around. None for the amps.

Cons: Everything.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2 years in, only works sometimes. cheap.

john from ODENTON, MD on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this in July 2017 ans installed in my boat in a protected console to power 4 JL speakers. Initially it worked great. I removed it from the boat while the boat was wrapped for winter and stored the amp inside. By this year it was malfunctioning regularly and would not power certain speakers unless i went in and jiggled some switches, which would not stay switched but rather in between positions. Anyway, i would not buy this again and would not recommend it bc it only lasted a year and a half despite being babied.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Low quality cheapo junk from china.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Albert Lea, MN on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great for one year then it's corroded junk.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Christopher from Meridian, ID on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound in a small package

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

John from New Smyrna Beach, FL on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lasted just over a year, not suited for a marine environment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome advisers

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, SC on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. I replaced my 45w per channel and with this one. Better sound and much louder. The advisers I worked with were great! And they answered all my questions.

Pros: Great value

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, NC on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Glenville, WV on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, small compact,good amp for price perfect for boats

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Angola, IN on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome performance with stereo and speakers purchased for our boat!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp

Crutchfield customer from Milton, WI on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my boat to push more power to the factory 75W speakers. I'm far from an amp expert but after reading the manual and with a little playing around my system sounds awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for Topless Tunes

Crutchfield customer from Coos Bay, OR on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size for hiding under the seat of my Jeep TJ Wrangler... has plenty of kick to power up my Polk Soeakers and enjoy Topless Times

Pros: Perfect size and power for a Jeep Wrangler

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Did not stand up in a marine environment

Jerry from Catonsville on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very pleased with the sound quality from this amp except I could here a slight whining noise in the background at low volumes. I can't blame this 100% on the amp because it was likely interference that may be present with other amps. I was not pleased with the tiny posts for making speaker connections. Besides being difficult to work with, the minuscule hex head set screws strip out very easily. I gave this amp 2 stars mostly because it failed after a year and a half due to corrosion on a switch that selects 2 or 4 channels. The amp was installed in a protected cabin area and never exposed to water or weather, I expected it to last at least twice as long as it did.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Not durable. Poor post connections for speakers.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Gregory from Leavenworth, KS on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this amp on 2018 Yamaha SX210 jet boat with infinity head unit along with the mbquart nautic led cone speakers. By far the best combo I've ever had. Loud, powerful, extremely clean at all levels of volume.. the leds on speakers are subtle and clean, back to the amp.. solid true power for an amp. I didn't install it, I just listen :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

John from Seguin, TX on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from this little amp. I'm using it to power a WetSounds stealth 6 core soundbar on my boat, and everything comes out super clear and powerfully.

Pros: Compact size, ease of installation, low power draw

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Bay Minette, AL on 10/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't ask for better sound quality. They are a perfect match for the Infinity 822ML speakers that I have them pushing. Highly impressed!

Pros: Excellent sound quality Compact design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Tedious install

Dean from Maumelle, AR on 10/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not had a chance to listen to the music yet because of the difficulty in booking up the wiring to the amp. The hex head screws and the method for wiring this is not user friendlj.

Pros: Unsure of any pros due to the difficulty in attaching the wires.

Cons: Screws and wiring attachments is difficult.

Crutchfield response on 10/8/2018
Dean, we're sorry you're having issues with your installation. If you need our help again, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 6 found this helpful

Works Great While it Lasts :-(

Hector from Miami, FL on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased 2 of them a few months ago, installation was easy and sound quality when paired with JL audio speakers was excellent, however only after a couple of months of having them mounted inside my cuddy cabin away from the elements i am already seeing issues. Adjustment buttons are stuck shut with visible corrosion on both amps and one of them has internal connection problems. I am disappointed since i took all precautions to keep them safe yet they do not hold up to the minimum amount of humidity that is present. I recommend spending a bit more and buying better quality.

Pros: Cheap price, good sound quality

Cons: Wont last more than a few months

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Amityville, NY on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. Easy to install. Sound is excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Crowley, TX on 5/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't believe how much watts it pushes and actually does it with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Drives speakers well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

David from Texarkana, AR on 5/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Should give it one star didn't last one year! Warranty is great from Crutchfield but a total hassle from the factory. If you plan on using in a damp environment it won't last long.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Horrible warranty

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Pinson, AL on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power. I have it with 4 wet sounds and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Wentzville, MO on 5/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Union, KY on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from New Mexico on 9/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp with a small footprint. Clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very nice amp

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 9/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed 3 weeks ago. Easy to install and sounds great. Installed in a Yamaha AR210 to the factory speakers. Plenty of sound for me to hear over noisy engines at top speed.

Pros: Easy install Nice power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, NY on 8/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the money. Easy hookup, flexible configuration and plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Pottstown, PA on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installed this on my 18' bow rider boat to power 4 wetsounds 6.5s and it gives them the power they need. The price and reviews sold me on this amp and so far I have no regrets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Michael from Spring, TX on 7/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2 thumbs up for power and size. I have this in a river cooler radio. Gets warm/hot but so far no issues. Once I adjusted the amp it woke the speakers up!! Thanks Nate for the recommendation

Pros: Small in size. A lot of adjustability. Solid connections.

Cons: Gets warm to hot but what amp doesn't especially in the sun.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crystal Clear AMP

Alex from Monroe Township, NJ on 7/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying, my first job 26years ago was installing custom sound systems in Brooklyn NY. (Not saying I'm a professional in any sense as my following jobs had nothing to do with this field) But my whole life I've been found of music and can appreciate a good quality sonically accurate sound system. After closely reviewing the specs of this amp, I was impressed and purchased it. Note: most people will look at the rated wattage of an amp, what you should really look for is the RMS rated wattage and "THD" at rated RMS power, this amp has a rating of 0.02% which is excellent. It is also rated down to 2ohms and can also be bridged. I have it connected to 4 x 4ohm kicker marine speaker which are rated to 65 watts RMS, (running the amp to about 50watts in order to keep the sound clean and clear of any clipping.) I can honestly say this amp sounds Awesome! Crystal clear and Sonically correct with 0-distortion and runs cool. Everyone at the Marina are constantly complementing me for the sou d quality, they can't believe how load and clear it is for 4x6.5" speakers. If your like me and appreciate good sound, I can definitely recommend this amp. Pair it with a good set of speaker, take your time dialing it in for your particular setup. I'm sure like me - you will be very impressed.

Pros: Clear Sonically correct Clean power Well built Runs cool Small

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

So far , great

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, Fl on 7/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars so far! Sounds great , only used it 4 times. Some reviews online switched me from buying a different one. Happy so far

Pros: Great amp for $, more than I needed . Would buy again as of now !

Cons: Nothing yet !

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

M. from Denver, CO on 6/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power for the price. Ran new wiring to handle the power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Nick from Chicago, IL on 4/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a clean 4-channel amp to power my speakers, that would also fit under my passenger front seat... this amp fit the bill perfectly. Great price and value. Works flawlessly for my setup in my 2010 Toyota Corolla S.

Pros: Compact Size, essentially distortion-free, bery clean class-D amp, fit under my front passenger seat very nicely

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Mark from NE on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 3/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install. I can't believe this small amp did so much for my system! I'm using it to power four 6.5 Wetsounds speakers in my boat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice amp

Crutchfield customer from Eldersburg, MD on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This mb quart amp is a nice small amp that looks and sounds good. Ive used boston acoustics, rockford fosgate and mtx amps in the past. This amp is comparable. It has plenty of headroom to turn the volume up and stays free of any distortion. Im using it to power my factory door speakers and a 10" boston acoustics sub.

Pros: Compact, efficient, good sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent amp

Keith from San Diego, CA on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice amp. Power is extremely clean and proficient. I'm happy with this product. It's installed in my jeep wrangler. Now the real test will be to see how it stands up to the weather and the bumps in the trails. =)

Pros: Small, easy to install, clean sound

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the money!

Brian from Detroit, MI on 9/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, compact, lots of power. Sounds great! Would definitely recommend....

Pros: Compact for easy mounting/installation. Larger connections for power and ground wires. Lots of power and great sound

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Clatiry `

Jeep CJ7 from Ft Worth, TX on 8/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First amp I ever installed and it could not have been simpler. Great sound with no distortion. I have it pushing two 5 1/4" dash speakers and two 6x9. Thanks to the Cruthfield team for recommending!

Pros: Size versus power. Easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent amplifier

Chris from Tampa, FL on 8/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The power and size of this amp is impressive. I have been into car audio since the early 90's and the MB Quart brand has been one of my favorites for its reliability and performance.

Pros: Size and power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MB Quart

BJake from Windsor Heights, IA on 8/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to replace a marine amp in my boat, the Crutchfield agent recommended this when I called in with questions. This was not the unit I was looking at, but it installed easily, setup was simple, and it is much smaller than what I replaced. It has all channels in the boat cranking out music again and sounds great.

Pros: Class D, smaller size made it much easier to mount.

Cons: Instructions could have been clearer on what the adjustments did, but it was still easy to set up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy

DJK from Dunlap, IA on 8/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very impressed with my amp, it's installed in my 2012 Polaris Ranger. I have it running 2-Polk MOMO wake board speakers right now. I might add a sub later just because a have the extra channels. Plenty of volume knob left, even when riding in backwoods or hill climbing.

Pros: Small, fits behind dash (2 feet of power cable used) All stainless connectors Power is great Versital, can run about any configuration I can think of Great install instructions

Cons: It would be nice if it was a sealed unit it, but amps gotta breathe

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

James from Arizona on 8/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really do like this amp. It's running four component focal door speaks. Amp doesn't get very warm at all. My speakers are 60 watt RMS a piece so the amp shouldn't be working too hard to keep up. I put this under my rear seat of my 2001 F250 7.3L diesel, along with a kicker 600 amp mono for my two sound stream stealth 13.5 subs in the factory enclosures from soundstream. Power wise, I rebuilt all my battery cables, added grounds and a power cable, all with 3/0 welding lead, off the alternator along with a DC power 300 amp alternator.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Configurable, powerful and low distortion

Gordon S from Waterford, MI on 7/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MB Quart MA1-440.4 is one component of a complete system replacement for a JVC CD/receiver in my 2001, 21 foot Malibu. I replaced the JVC with a Kenwood KMR-D365BT (reviewed elsewhere) and decided that 18 watts RMS is not a good match for the 100 watt (max) JVC coaxial speakers that are pre-installed. The 75 watt RMS per channel of the MB Quart produces a much richer and fuller sound. Wiring between the Kenwood KMR-D365BT and the MB Quart was straight forward and worked properly the first time I powered up the entire system. For my application, I found that, by far, the most useful feature is the sensitivity level control between the front and rear channels. In my boat, the front speakers are in the dashboard and the rear speakers are near the floor. Previously, I could never hear the rear speakers. Front-to-rear balancing of the receiver would usually diminish the overall sonic quality of the front speakers. However, the sensitivy level controls of the MA1-440.4 enhances the rear speakers to perform nearly as well as the front speakers (which are closer to ear level) because it can increase the input sensitivity to a level which is more in balance with the front speakers. The MB Quart MA1-440.4 is an excellent, cost effective solution for achieving higher output levels with a very low THD. The front/rear level settings can greatly enhance the sonic experience of very difficult environments.

Pros: Cost effective, low THD, front/rear sensitivity levels. easy to wire, configurable.

Cons: None - so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great performance. easy to install

William from Vidalia, GA on 7/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My biggest shout out goes to the Crutchfield Tech Support Team. They are fantastic and there when you need them. They answered all my questions about the MB Quart amp and made my installation process simple and easy.

Pros: All Good Crutchfield Tech Support is the BOMB !

Cons: none Keep it that way !

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Check the THD

Frank from Rocky Ford, CO on 7/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an audio engineer tell me back in the 1980's to always look at two things when buying an amp, and to ignore one thing. The one thing to ignore is the power rating. He showed me a 1,000 watt amp hooked to a system. It was crap. THD was 20%. He showed me it only went to a 8 ohm load and 1,000 watts was INPUT power rated. Then he showed me a 100 watt Alphsonic amp he had. It was 100 watt OUTPUT power rated at 8 ohms... He had it running at a 1/4 Ohm load. He showed me how the amp would handle the 1/4 load even though the power rating was listed under 8 ohms. Every time you cut the load in half the output power doubles. Thus, at 4 ohms the 100 watt amp ran at 200 watts. At 2 ohms it ran at 400 watts. At 1 Ohm it ran at 800 watts, etc... Needless to say the 100 watt Alphasonic moved the front windshield at 1/4 ohm load. And because of the 0.01% THD rating (distortion) the sound was crystal clear. This guy was winning audio contests all over the place with a Toyota Corrola. The other amp would burn up even if you tried to go to 4 ohms with it, and the distortion was aweful even at 8 ohms... Junk With this 30 year old info in mind I wanted to replace my Rockford Fosgate amp in the truck I just bought. Now Rockford Fosgate is not junk mind you but, it does have 1% THD. It can only go down to 2 Ohms and is rated at 4 ohms power rating. Mine did have a little hiss at 0 volume which also bugged me. Remember you can hear 0.1% THD or higher as distortion

Pros: Ran out of room above. Sorry got too carried away. Long story short. This amp is 0.02% THD rated for 75 Watts into 4 ohms and can go down into 2 ohms. Crystal clear highs (THD doesn't matter on subs) More power than Fosgate and MOST Crutchfield amps. and THD is WAY better than 99% of Crutchfield amps. At $160 vrs others up to $500. Moral of Story CHECK THD must be below 0.01%. Pricer isn't always better. This is a GOOD clean amp for cheap.

Cons: The wire covers are cheap plastic. The little allen head set screws are really sharp. If you tighten them down too tight it severs the speaker wires and cuts them. GO easy on tightening. Also strange allen head size (they give you a wrench, but I thinking about future) would have preferred phillips heads.

Crutchfield response on

28 of 30 found this helpful

MB Quart MA1-440.4

power from st thomas, usvi on 6/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

added power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 16 found this helpful

TOP