Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sanus CFR1620

Modular open-frame component rack

MFR # CFR1620-B1

Sanus CFR1620

Sanus CFR1620

Modular open-frame component rack

MFR # CFR1620-B1

36 reviews
View this product

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Cordova, TN on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great rack. I love the modularity of the sanus system and exceptional build quality. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, TN on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes it easy to build your own custom system

Pros: Great platform to build your system

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Streamwood, IL on 4/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went together easily and looks good

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is well built except for the front cross bars it should be like the ones in the back

Pros: Back crosss are firmed

Cons: Front cross bars are flimsy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

sue from Ormond Beach, FL on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived on time and was easy to put together. Strong and sturdy. Looks great in my living room and easy to move when necessary. Exactly what I wanted!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

john from Webster, MA on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Comes with enough screws to mount the 2 shelves that it comes with plus one other item. Plan on another $5 and delay in finishing while you wait for more screws from the "options" section to arrive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Very sturdy. Just what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit in closet

Art from Georgetown, TX on 7/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a rack to mount several amps for my multi-zone audio system. The rack had to fit in a small closet. This rack measured a little over 20" wide and deep. Perfect. It assembled easily and the ability to stack it with a CFR1615 gave me a rack 35 U - just what I needed. All the parts were packed so they would survive shipping without damage. There were 25 screws for mounting shelves which allowed extra for additional shelves. I added the castors which were large enough to roll the loaded rack over carpet. I liked the printed space markings that helped line up mounting shelves and brackets. I added five shelves beyond the four (2 in the 1620 and 2 in the 1615) shelves that came with the rack. I mounted one 14" deep shelf at the top to form a top and one at the bottom to hold power supplies (an APC UPS and power strip). I added 8 L brackets around the sides and back to support ties for the audio and power cables One minor manufacturing defect involved the one horizontal brace being welded a bit low on the vertical angle iron. This made the fit for the second rack not as tight as it should have been.

Pros: Good size, easy assembly, carefully packed, extra shelf screws

Cons: Slight manufacturing defect

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product - Outstanding Quality

John from Grand Island, NY on 7/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! Incredibly constructed and so easy to assemble. I don't think I've ever seen quality of this level in a self-assembled steel product. Hole spacing and fit including threaded openings are perfect. It was a joy to unpack and assemble. Components fit very well, and I have no doubt that it will support the advertised capacity. Installed with the CFA 16SM. The products work together well, but be sure to read my comments on the latter.

Pros: Everything

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The perfect rack

HD from Seattle, WA on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to expand my rack space in my media closet. Super sturdy and includes ample rack screws - much appreciated. Also comes with 2 high-quality, vented shelves. Super easy to install (I installed it as free-standing, even had my toddler help me). Got the casters for it - attaches easily and works perfectly. So far loaded the top 8 rack spaces with 50 lbs of equipment. Rolls easily on casters. Highly recommend this.

Pros: Comes with everything you need for wooden, concrete or free-standing installations. Comes with a surplus of rack screws. Solidly build quality. Easy to install as freestanding.

Cons: The corner welded screws in each of the for back corners requires a bit of patience to screw on because of the lip only allows for a narrow wrench socket to go in. I was able to work with mini-turns using a wrench.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the price

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great rack with easy instructions. Rack gives you plenty of configuration options and is built study.

Pros: Easy assembly.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is sturdy and well built. Excellent quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

absolutely secure rack

Tony from Prairie Grove, Illinois on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this rack after after months of "do I really need it?". I can say definitely yes now, and why did I ever wait. My equipment is finally secure and safe. No more worrying about system after getting rid of my old enclosure.

Pros: The only difficulty encountered was how I wanted to place my equipment. Absolutely secure.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to assemble and well built!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Product

Modesto from Lake Jackson, TX on 10/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sturdy equipment. I purchased a scratch and dent but could not find any damage. Overall a great solid product and easy to put together.

Pros: Well Built Easy to construct

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great rack for AV gear

Jack from Omaha, NE on 10/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing rack. For the price it just cant be beat. I have two of these, and while I don't stack them (i could) i run mine side by side. I have two Emotiva XPA monoblock amps in one of the racks (i had to use the largest Sanus racks to support the weight, which I also bought from Crutchfield) and they hold in this rack perfectly. The rack is super easy to put together - had it done in 5 minutes. The packaging from Crutchfield was flawless and everything arrived perfect. I have ordered a number of times from Crutchfield and i have found them to be such a great company. I was even luck enough to once visit them as i was a supplier for them through my job. Seeing their operations in person - talking to their staff - they are an exceptional company.

Pros: Super easy to set up

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Mullica Hill, NJ on 7/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This rack worked great to centralize my security, network, audio and video components. I still some tidying up to do but very pleased with the outcome thus far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 4/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality, flexible configurations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Robert from Santa Fe, NM on 2/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just a great product. Easily assembled and very sturdy. Ideal for my coat closet "server room".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So Very Sturdy

Don from Flint, MI on 2/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stand is absolutely awesome.As long as you check your dimensions it is so very versatile,I live in a very small house but have an extreme home theater so room is at a premium.First off my wall to wall is less than 12' and my right and left JBL L7s that have 12" inward firing passive subs that are bi wired--Thank You 7.2 :) so they need some space for proper imaging which with my previous stand my powered subwoofer sat to the right of the stand.With this stand i ws able to build it so my sub sat in the center bottom of it with no obstructions to the woofer or the rear port,it is also very nice having my sub right in the center of the front wall,it's a whole new sound. But alas I ramble,I only needed what came with the stand and 1 front cross piece to make it look even neater-the 2 shelves hold my receiver and cable box/DVR and BD Player-then on the top i have the 32" Klipsch RP-450 C center channel in a 3/4" MDF box i made for it (Very Very heavy between speaker and box but I couldnt set my TV on thay big beautiful speaker) and a 75" Sony sits on top of that and is Very sturdy,no wobble at all,this is with the feet on it too-i didn't need but used for leveling purposes. This stand is all steel so not real fancy but so very functional,I am going to get some 1/4" black acrylic pieces for side pieces and a back piece using Command Velcro strips to hold in place to give it a real nice finished look. Do not hesitate to buy this if you are looking,it doesn't disappoint

Pros: Strength,ease of assembly,lots of assembly options,lots of accessories,good simple looks-if you can us the dimensions provided or configure to what you need SANUS makes some of the nicest racks and stands i have ever seen/used.This is top notch equipment not a cheap component-be proud to show off

Cons: not really a con-but SANUS components are on the expensive side for what it looks like what you get,what you get is beautiful heavy duty A/V component racks and stands-there is nothing cheap about them,well designed and thought out equipment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Just Right

Mike from PDX, OR on 1/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had put some shelving in a closet and it was almost impossible to add more equipment. This unit was easier since I had put the castors on it.

Pros: Nice and compact, it fit in the lower half of a spare bedroom closet. Easy to set up. I like being able to move it out and roll it back in place.

Cons: With several pieces of equipment on it even with the castors it can be a little hard to move.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nicely built and easy to put together

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome rack. Much more solid than other shelves that I have used before. Finish was good also, and it took a bit of beating as I kept rearranging the height of the shelves. The fit is excellent and all the holes line up perfectly as expected. The only disappointing thing, and maybe this is an industry standard, the holes are not all evenly spaced. So the shelves are mounted at either hole 1-2, 3-4... and so forth. I tried mounting 2-3 or 4-5, but the spacing does not allow me to do so. This loses a tiny bit of flexibility as my old DVD player was just a tad over 2 units. I also added the wheels and the power supply also, which were nice high quality parts. The unit went into a service closet so I did not need the outer enclosure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what the doctor ordered!!

Gustavo Quiles from Camuy, PR on 9/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this item from Crutchfield without ever knowing anything about, so I was a little cautious about its construction and usability. To my surprise it is super strong and stable and fits my equipment to a "T". It's true it is not as sexy as the other models with side panels and screen door, but I expect to get a lot of use from it and I feel my equipment is safe and secured in it. I did buy the caster kit, a necessity in my opinion, and it rolls about so effortlessly . A great investment!!

Pros: Strong, stable, fits my budget!

Cons: Not sexy!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus 20U equipment rack

home user from Boston, MA on 5/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my home "data center". It is a very well made rack with nice fit and finish, very sturdy. A good quality product. I highly recommend it.

Pros: Well made, sturdy, nice finish.

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Chris from Brandon, FL on 5/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, a very good product. Without much to comparison experience, this seems sturdier than expected.

Pros: Was easy to assemble.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus CFR1620 AV rack

JP from Moosic Pa on 10/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid rack, I added the casters, allowed easy access to wiring

Pros: Well made, easy assembly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

equipment rack

BillH from New Jersey on 8/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the CFR1620, after putting it together I decided to purchase the CFR1615 and add it to the top of it. Very sturdy and mobile.

Pros: easy to put together sturdy mobile

Cons: can get a little expensive if you add accessories.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio Rack

Al R from Florida on 8/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great find, just what I needed

Pros: Well made rack

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sanus equipment rack

MelS from Erie, Pennsylvania on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sanus CFR1620 equipment rack is easy to assemble and extremely versatile. I bought two of them for my new home theater equipment, and everything I use is readily available and organized. Future needs can be met with the purchase of additional shelves of various sizes and functions. Very useful, indeed.

Pros: Easy to assemble. Very versatile.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice product....

dpoole from Virginia on 5/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a solid product and is pretty much exactly what I thought it would be.

Pros: Good quality, fairly easy to assemble, and arrived quickly.

Cons: It doesn't seem easy to find add on shelves or coaster wheels, and it wasn't clear if it came with feet (it did).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Rack

igna102 from Puerto Rico on 4/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent construction affordable price, accommodates the equipment perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sturdy and easy to assemble

Mike from Seattle on 3/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sturdy rack and very easy to assemble. 20" depth is perfect for all my media cabinet needs.

Pros: Solid. Good construction.

Cons: High price. Although cheaper than many alternatives.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rack Solid

ookook from California on 3/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While a bit costly this is a forever product. It is easy to build, level, customize and extremely stable. It currently holds an AV receiver, htpc, nas, giga-switch, printer and wireless routers. It provides a platform for organizing and accessing all of the technical equipment required in a modern household with room to grow.

Pros: Easy to build. Simple to level. Expandable. Customizable.

Cons: Some sharp edges -watch your fingers during assembly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Bill from Minneapolis on 7/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, very sturdy. Don't have any worries about quality or wether it won't support the equipment.

Pros: Sturdy, put together well

Cons: Not enough screws, always amazed that the price is so high for stamped steel.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid unit!

Shazawn from Oak Harbor, WA on 8/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit, along with its slightly shorter sibling, fit my needs purrrfectly. I needed a rack that would fit in my not so deep closet, as I have a smallish 16' x 9' x 8' AV sanctuary. Space comes at a premium, as one can purchase the full featured Sanus rack including castors and fully enclosed, at a similar price point. Assembly was simple. Although, when you are planning a shelf based rack rather than rack-eared components, thorough planning for spacing is a must with the eight shelves I installed! 2 units stacked should be of no concern. Very solid and NOT tippy at all, even with the caster kit installed. Do yourself a favor and buy a few extra blanking panels for a cean install ;)~

Pros: Compact. Solid as a rock. Nice finish.

Cons: Pricey as you add the many useful, even necessary, accessories. (I purchased a caster kit, extra shelves, blanking panels, extra rack mount screws, Sanus rack length power strip) You can get ALOT more trick stuff for these racks here at Crutchfield, like LED lights, temp gauge, fans, and power supplies with switches/inputs for these items... Butt, it'll cost ya!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP