Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Chief RPMAU Elite

Universal projector mount

MFR # RPMAU

Chief RPMAU Elite

Chief RPMAU Elite

Universal projector mount

MFR # RPMAU

20 reviews
View this product

well built, needs better instructions

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In terms of quality and functionality it works great. It's well made and very sturdy. It was marked down 1 star because the instructions were of no help, and the bags could be labeled better to match the instructions. I used this on a Sony projector and the normal screws listed in the instructions were too long, so after trying to find a solve in the instructions I just assumed I was to use the even longer screws with the spacers provided. After that hurtle install went pretty quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chief RPMAU Elite

Merlin from Austin, TX on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent projector mount - extremely happy I stepped up the budget for this one. Sturdy, solid, secure. I considered going the cheap route and after installing this one I know I would have spent many more hours getting frustrated with a cheaper option. With the Chief, I was able to easily make a couple micro adjustments and confidently spend my time enjoying our new 5050ub. I'd like to note, it is entirely possible to mount it to the ceiling without additional parts - in my case I have access to the attic above, screwed in 2 mount supports between the ceiling joists at the appropriate distance for projector+screen, at the necessary width for the mount and with a large enough gap between supports to pass through the power and hdmi cables. From there, pre drill and secure mount using 4x 1/4" x 3" lag bolts with washers (not included). I suppose one might need the additional mounting plate and/or pipe if you don't have access to the other side of the ceiling (plate) or if your projector doesn't have vertical lens shift (pipe). Neither of which were necessary for my installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chief RPMAU Elite

Creig from New Braunfels, TX on 10/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mount for my Epson 5040, make sure to get the threaded pipe sold separately

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hanging the chief

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install

Pros: Very simple to install

Cons: You need to order the ceiling mount because it does not come with the unit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great mount

Jared from Wylie, TX on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick and easy to install and love the quick connect feature.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chief RPMAU Elite

Crutchfield customer from Petoskey, MI on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and straight forward. Well built!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chief RPMAU Elite

Crutchfield customer from SLC, UT on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beware, you need to order additional parts for this to work and with those parts it will not fit flush with the ceiling. Had someone come install and they couldn't because I hadn't ordered the additional needed parts. Wish I would have ordered a mount that can sit flush with the ceiling but too late now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

its needs more stuff to hang

Ashwani from Hummelstown, PA on 10/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it does not come with extra rod and other stuff.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Chief RPMAU Elite Universal Projector Mount

Chulwon C from Rutherford, NJ on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product itself is good enough but the manual or installation instruction can be improved.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It works.

Kent from Austin, TX on 4/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were mildly confusing because of attempt to cover different models. I used mine in ceiling mount. Design is substantial EXCEPT you must lock plates together before installing overhead or bad things could happen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chief RPMAU Elite

Steve from Chattanooga, TN on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This projector mount is great. Easy to put together and looks great. I highly recommend this mount.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Its called Chief for a reason!

Dave from Athens, AL on 3/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are in market for a heavy duty projector mount, this should be your first and last choice. This was my first ever projector install and after reading many different user reviews I took a chance on this universal mount. I purchased the Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 5040UB which is a very large projector and mated it to this mount. I had my doubt's while installing but as I followed the directions it became clear to me that this mount can provide exceptional support for the large Epson 5040UB and as a "piece of mind" test, I lifted the projector by this mount only to ensure it would support its weight and it does so flawlessly. I also purchased the Chief CMS006009 extender, and the Chief CMS115 ceiling plate which made mounting this to the ceiling a breeze. Total install time was about an hour due to questions I had during the process but after a quick search online I found videos that addressed my questions adequately from professional installers. I gave this a 4/5 star rating based on the vertical and horizontal manual adjustments, these manual adjustments can be finicky and take multiple tweaks to dial it in. Overall I am very pleased with mount and have the utmost faith that this will keep my projector stationary and in its sweet spot for many years to come.

Pros: Superior build quality Security hex screws and wrenches provided Fast install time

Cons: Installation manual leaves a little guesswork during installation process so I would recommend watching youtube videos to get full scope of install process Vertical and horizontal adjustments can be finicky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great support for heavy projectors

Brandon from Little Elm, TX on 3/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this mount. Its heavy duty just as it should be in order to support the Epson 5040UB. One thing to note is that you need to order the pipe extension and ceiling support for more flexibility.

Pros: - Supports 50lbs - Heavy Duty - Easy to connect the mount to projector - One person can easily mount

Cons: - Have to order other parts for set up flexibility

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome mounting unit

Eric from Hopewell Junction, NY on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great and sturdy and we'll worth the money, paired with the Epson 5040ub

Pros: Did exactly what it's advertised to do and couldn't be happier

Cons: Instructions were little confusing but then was able to figure it out and then it went smoothly..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is the mount you want!

Daniel from Bullhead City, AZ on 2/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Chief RPMAU Elite mount for my Epson 5040UBE (Awesome projector BTW). The mount is very well made and was easy to install. The money spent was well worth it. Crutchfield was great as always.

Pros: High end mount, easy install, solid, looks great.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pricey, but worth it

Doug from Arlington, TX on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this mount for my new Epson 5040UB. The mount is well-built and designed, and it worked perfectly with the 5040. Plenty of adjustments available to get your projector perfectly level in your home theater. It costs a bit more, but why take risks with your expensive projector?

Pros: Well-built Works well with the Epson 5040UB Connection is solid - no wobbles

Cons: A bit pricey, but worth every penny

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very functional

Tony from Corpus Christi, TX on 11/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently completed installation of RPMAU Elite projector mount with the CMS 115 ceiling mount.. The projector mount came with multiple size and length screws so I had an appropriate match for attaching the mount @ my projectors mounted feet location. The ceiling mount design allowed for a 2" tolerance for the location of the mount relative to a pre existing 1 1/2" hole in my ceiling. I had just one HDMI cable and a power cable so the location tolerance may be a little less if more cables are required. The projector and ceiling mounts both matched the threads for an the shelf 1 1/2 threaded pipe , allowing for an inexpensive projector height customization. With a 6 " pipe between the projector and ceiling mounts I ended up with about 11 inches from the ceiling to the (inverted) bottom of the projector and 17 inches from the ceiling to the lowest part of my particular projector. On a ceiling which was approximately 95 1/2 inches I was left with 78 inches from the floor to my 6 inch tall projector. I spray painted the 6 inch pipe with brake caliper paint ( what I had on hand) after cleaning with alcohol and steel wool , leaving enough threads left to avoid having paint where the threads would be used. I covered the visible unpainted thread with electrical tape. I was able to very easily correct a slight image tilt ( relative to screen mask ) with the provided screw adjustment . This mount is too small for JVC RS 4/5/600 u .

Pros: 3 axis alignment fine tuning easy to use. Legs allow for a somewhat universal fit. Wires are hidden between ceiling and near bottom of mount. 1 1/2 "universal pipe threads allow for in the field selection of projector height.

Cons: The mount bracket /leg length is too small for the current JVC RS-400/500/600U projectors. Recommend using Chief site for verifying compatibility.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get this one, not a cheapy one

JC from Minooka, IL on 10/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you have a nice projector, don't sell its performance short by getting a chincy, cheap mount like I did. I learned the hard way. This mount is what I should have purchased the first time. Solid, quality, and confidence inspiring. I can dial in my projector exactly how I want it without having to worry about a weak ball-bearing for unstable axis control.

Pros: Quality, Ease of installation. Solid and reliable.

Cons: Instructions require you to be a bit more mechanically inclined than average.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fabulous Ceiling Mount

Art from Ashburn, VA on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This mount is very flexible, easy to install and secure. I used it on my EPSON 5040BU (super projector BTW). This is really a two piece kit, consisting of Chief RPMx ceiling mount and Chief SLBU Projector bracket. The SLBU projector bracket mounts separately using four adjustable arms that should match just about any projector configuration (comes with 6 different screw sizes). I mounted mine on the far corner holes on the bottom of the projector and centered it using a laser line (although I probably could have eye-balled it and been fine). Once tightened, I moved on to the RPMx ceiling mount. I aligned two ceiling studs, drilled pilots and mounted using four 3" wood screws. Connecting the projector bracket to the ceiling mount is simple using a slide clamping mechanism, which is further secured by a key lock for security (great for public installations). The biggest win is the physical adjustability (Roll: 3°, Pitch: 20°, Yaw: 360°), which (along with the projector lens flexibility) made pointing a breeze. It will also work with a Chief mounting pole, which should be easy to integrate. All in all, this is a great solution for a ceiling mount that I would highly recommend.

Pros: Security Ease of Install Flexibility Build Quality

Cons: Instructions very high-level

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent projector mount

Cyril from Texas on 5/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This projector mount is easy to install, is sturdy, and has great design. It looks nice on the ceiling of our movie theater room

Pros: Easy to install sturdy but has great design looks nice on the ceiling while it holds our new Sony projector

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP