Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Nikon D500 (no lens included)

20.9-megapixel DSLR camera with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth®

MFR # 1559

Nikon D500 (no lens included)

Nikon D500 (no lens included)

20.9-megapixel DSLR camera with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth®

MFR # 1559

17 reviews
View this product

Nikon D500 (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think this is the camera to buy if you're not going to go for the D850. Excellent focusing, adjustability and options. Works great with my older legacy D lenses (screw focus drives), which the 3000 and 5000 series won't support, as well as my new VR lenses. I don't use it for sports or action but it would likely excel in those settings. Not all is perfect, doesn't have U1 and U2 settings or the pop up flash as on the the D750, but makes up for it with the joy stick, second fn button and the touch screen. The auto tracking and focusing for me are the standout features of the D500. Fabulous camera, only problem is once you get your toe in the water you'll want the D850, so my suggestion is go the the 850 and be done with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

D500 correct BIF tool for me.

Crutchfield customer from New Smyrna, FL on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the D500 for photographing wildlife and BIF as my D7100 & D750 were not quite up to my expectations for this purpose. From my initial experience I think I have made the right choice.

Pros: Auto focusing & FPS are very good.

Cons: None as yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon D 500

Crutchfield customer from Media, PA on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been shooting Nikon for over 20 years. Keep upgrading when I buy a new camera. This time from a D300. This by far is the best camera I ever owned. Photographers are told to specialize in a subject. I sure did, specializing in American Revolution reenactments. Check out my site americanrevolutionphotos.com

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Absolutely Great Camera Despite Being 4 Years Old!

Glenn from Delray Beach, FL on 2/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm really liking this camera. I have Nikon lenses and other Nikon mount lenses so I wanted to stay with Nikon. The D500 was clearly the best crop sensor DSLR camera when it came out in 2016 and still holds up incredibly well today. I was able to purchase it for a great price as an open box item and have no regrets. The camera is like-new and has been working perfectly. Despite having less total megapixels than my previous Nikon it somehow manages to produce images that look every bit as sharp if not sharper. I'm not a professional photographer, just an enthusiast and I'll probably keep this one even after I finally take the full-frame mirrorless plunge when prices drop significantly.

Pros: Image quality. Frames per second. Focus speed and accuracy. Awesome continuous shooting. Pro level features. Battery life.

Cons: None unless I really nitpick.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nikon D500 (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from Basking Ridge, NJ on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera as its already reviewed in tons of other posts

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Legendary camera

Crutchfield customer from Dahlgren, VA on 7/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The D500 is going to be one of those legendary cameras. Its autofocus system which is also in the D5 and D850 is probably the best autofocus system that has ever been put in a camera. The ergonomics are excellent. The controls are well thought out. There are four buttons that can be programmed to carry out different functions - the Fn1, Fn2, preview, and video record button can be programmed by the user. The image quality is stellar. The omission of an anti-aliasing filter in front of the sensor produces very sharp images.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Camera

Ken from Holden, MO on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally upgraded from my D300 to the D500. The camera is awesome! The new sensor, camera burst capability with a XQD card, the addition of Blu Tooth and Wifi equip the camera with an unbelievable depth of capability!

Pros: Too many to list!

Cons: Plan on purchasing a 3rd Party book to become proficient with the cameras capabilities!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera

Cathy from Troy, VA on 8/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my D90 with this and I love it! It takes great photos, focuses fast and is relatively user friendly coming from the D90. I considered the D750 but went with this to stay with my 18-200 DX Zoom. Glad I did.

Pros: Fast, good in low light, lots of options. SnapBridge app can be used as a remote (but is slow to react).

Cons: No flash (this a pro for me but others may not feel the same).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best DX camera on the market

Jeremie from Pacific, MO on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from a d7000 to the D500 and all I can say it is amazing. From its instant autofocus to rapid 10fps shooting this camera does it all. For those hesitating on purchasing this, you won't be disappointed. I use it current with a Nikon 17-55 f2.8 and pics are sharp.

Pros: 10fps Fast auto focus Build quality High ISO Awesome images

Cons: Xqd memory card cost

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow

James from Wilmington, DE on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this camera. All the hype is real. AF and buffer are great. Surprised at great high ISO. Highly recommended. Best DX body out there

Pros: Af High iso High frame rate

Cons: Non yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best camera for action

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 6/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazingly responsive, perfect for sports and wildlife photography

Pros: Built like a tank and 10fps

Cons: Not for the faint of heart- this is a commitment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nikon D500 (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from Minnetonka, MN on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic camera, well worth the price if you are looking for speed and a great sensor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent choice for wildlife

Eric from Avon, OH on 10/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera to use with my long lens (Nikkor 200-500mm) for wildlife, and so far, it is great for that purpose. The image quality is very good, but it's not a huge improvement over cameras like the D7200. That said, when images do start to get noisy due to higher ISO settings, the quality of the grain is actually pleasing; it's a very fine, even pattern, similar to what I've seen on FX cameras. I will still use my D750 in low light, and when I want the absolute best IQ, but I think it's hard to find a better Nikon camera for wildlife than the D500. Ergonomics are good, but compared to the D7200, it's larger and heavier. It's not an inexpensive camera, either, so those are all things to consider when buying. If price is an issue, I'd say get a D7200. It's about 90% of what you get with the D500, but the two big drawbacks are speed (it shoots much slower) and buffer (it fills much faster). So far, I'm happy with this purchase. This thing is a wildlife photographer's dream

Pros: speed, image quality, ISO performance, high pixel density (good for cropping), buffer size, pro build quality

Cons: price, size, weight

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon D500 (no lens included)

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 1/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great camera. High ISO and 10 fps. Truly a delight to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera

Kartik from Houston, TX on 11/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from the Nikon D90. Had held off for a long time as I was happy with the D90, but glad I made the upgrade. Hadn't realized the change in technology over the last few years. The camera is FAST! Even without the flash, I rarely have an issue getting the shot I'm looking for with the kids (under 3). The sensor is fantastic and there is very little noise even at high ISO's. Highly recommend this camera.

Pros: Great shots Fast Wireless transferring

Cons: Lack of flash (minor issue) Wireless transferring is slow

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome AF

James from High Falls, NY on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

big Buffer, 10FPS great IQ and Fantastic AF, Birders dream camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fast Camera with Excellent Features

Chuck from Vernon, NY on 10/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using a D200 for many years and been looking for a suitable replacement for it. I take pictures of Cross Country and Track and Field. Having a high FPS and fast processing makes my job a lot easier to find the right action shot. I also like the DX crop factor because I can get more out of my standard lenses (aka FX format). The durability seems to be just as good as my D200, and the controls are extremely similar to my D200. A must when I am being rushed to change settings for the scene at hand. The view finder is huge, and the controls are placed just right. I like the weight of this camera and the fact that it is packed with a high frame rate and suitable settings for action shots. The Anti-flicker feature is great when I am taking pictures of indoor track or just flat out taking pictures during awards time in a gym that is lit with HPS lamps. The battery life is more than excellent. I have it running in airplane mode, with the display only on when needed and get a truckload of pictures per charge. Overall, I feel as if the D500 gives me consistent and very satisfied results.

Pros: The D500 has WIFI, Bluetooth, Anti-Flicker, large pull-out display, XQD/SD dual slot, fast write to memory cards, 10 FPS continuous shooting, VERY long battery life -- 3200+ shots on 1 battery!

Cons: No flash -- I prefer to use external flashes though.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP