Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR

Telephoto zoom lens for Nikon SLR cameras

MFR # 20058

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR

Telephoto zoom lens for Nikon SLR cameras

MFR # 20058

19 reviews
View this product

Bang for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Pittsfield, MA on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This lens offers a great deal of bang for your buck. It weighs a ton and is best suited for tripod use, however the vibration reduction works wonders even when fully zoomed! I stick mostly to macro, landscape, and astrophotography so I didn't want to go for the pricier Nikon 80-400MM lens. While not nearly as versatile as the 80-400, the 200-500 isn't designed for versatility; it's a telephoto lens! If you want a solid telephoto lens for a very reasonable price, don't hesitate purchasing this lens.

Pros: Price point, image quality, vibration reduction, "fast" enough at f/5.6 for decent bokeh

Cons: Heavy, but anyone should expect that when buying a lens this size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The right choice.

Crutchfield customer from Kualapuu, HI on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After about a year of contemplating, watching YouTube videos and looking at other brands with similar features. I finally decided to purchase the Nikon 200-500 lens to replace an old telephoto lens I've had for many, many years pair with my D750. It iThe 200-500 is a little larger than I expected, but performs a lot better than I expected. It actually handles low light extremely well for an f/5.6. Attached are comparison photos that I shot. One at 18mm., the other at 500mm cropped to 100%. The lighthouse is located at the tip of the peninsula to the right of the landing strip.

Pros: Exceptionally sharp images all the way to 500mm. No issues paired with Nikon FX & DX bodies.

Cons: Lens color does not include tripod mounting plate. Hood is a little on the flimsy side, but does the job. No included padded carrying pouch like included with the other one I have. A decent padded pouch & quality replacement color with tripod mount will cost you an additional $300.00.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR

richard from Port Orchard, WA on 5/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the 200-500 Nikkor lens for 2 weeks plus. 5he prior reviews were spot on. Photos are tac sharp and the vibration reduction is excelan. Can shoot easy 3 to 4 stops slower on shutter speed. The weight is not a big issue if you are used to shooting a long lense. Thanks again for all the help with transactions Crutchfield. Will always buy my photo equipment from your company.

Pros: Great price for this lens, quality you would expect from a much more costly lenses.

Cons: Non at this time and don't expect any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR

Amy from Katonah, NY on 11/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

have not had an opportunity to use this lens to its potential, It is sturdy which adds to the weight and will mostly be using with tripod or monopod traveling around photographing birds

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome zoom lens

George from Visalia, CA on 9/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned this lens less than 2 months and in many ways it my be my favorite lens. I'm shocked how sharp it is and despite test scores that might say different the pictures I have seem to say this is sharper than my other 4 Nikon lenses, I bought it for zoos and sporting events mainly. My first test was to our local baseball team and I got great shots of the starting picture throwing off the mound. My biggest test came yesterday at the Fresno Chaffee Zoo and it worked like a charm. It is a big and heavy lens but can be managed using a sturdy monopod or tripod which I advise. You can handhold in a pinch but the monopod I used at the zoo made it much more easy. Included are just 3 of the hundreds of photos I have taken with this lens. Despite the price tag for the lens (which is more than most people have in all there camera equipment unless you're serious about this like me) I will get my worth out of it. It's the perfect lens when you need more reach out of a lens and so far I'm very happy.

Pros: Very sharp lens that despite my cons the pictures it produces will supersede all of them. Great Lens Bokeh. F5.6 throughout the whole zoom range.

Cons: Heavy Expensive You can't go from 200 to 500 zooming without releasing and getting a new grip because of how much you have to turn it. Supplied lens collar doesn't lock tight enough to actually keep it from be able to move. Crutchfield could and should have boxed the lens for shipping with more bubblewrap/peanut packing inside the box all around as the lens in it's box is not encased in Styrofoam.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 7 found this helpful

Amazing Lens. Get It!!

William from Pennsylvania on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I sold a bunch of stuff to purchase this lens. I have had it for 1 1/2 years. I love it. When I got it people who didn't own it said don't zoom out to 500. Keep it at 450 or less and always have it at F8. Just assuming it would not be sharp if you didn't do this. When I got it I tried these suggestions and compared them to wide open at 500mm. It is just as sharp at 500mm and wide open at 5.6 than it is at 450 F8. So I never zoom back unless I need to for composition. Which rarely happens. (You never have enough lens for birds.) This lens is actually on my camera 95% of the time. Even after all these images and a year and a half of use it still amazes me how sharp it is. And I am using it on a 10 year old camera. The Nikon D300. I get great images with them. I dream of a D500 but I don't see it happening any time soon. Or far. LOL Only thing that was weird is when the VR is on Normal it jumps around in the viewfinder when you take a photo. It can change the composition and more importantly the focus point. But in sport mode it does not do this. I read up on Nikons VR and found you shouldn't use it unless you need it. Meaning if your shutter is high enough to get clear images don't use the VR. I have it on sport most of the time. Only switch it to normal when my shutter speeds get to below 1/500 sec. This has worked fine. And don't press the shutter to activate the VR and instantly take photos. Unless you have to. It is sharper to let it run for a second before taking pictures

Pros: Sharp. Well built. Great for wildlife. Affordable.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

My favorite lens

Sid from Athens, WV on 4/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This has become my favorite lens. Nice and sharp. Match it with a crop sensor camera and extend the reach to 750mm. Highly recommended.

Pros: Sharp Seems well made

Cons: Little heavy but not bad

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

The Best Lens for the price!

Ramon De Jesus from Ponce, PR on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy to purchased the Nikon 200-500mm f5.6 VR lens. It is very sharp in 500mm too. (Muy contento en haber comprado el lente Nikon 200-500mm f5.6 VR. Es muy nítido en 500mm también)

Pros: Great in 500mm and Excellent VR

Cons: Heavy Weight

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR

Crutchfield customer from Boerne, TX on 2/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR

George from Endicott, NY on 2/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Nikon / Nikkor zoom is one big lens. I love all the features and picture quality. Seems to work well with my FX Format Nikon D610 which I happened to purchase from Crutchfield. Watch out wildlife, here I come.

Pros: Well built lens / Nikon quality, Sharp pictures, Excellent price

Cons: Little heavy, but all the features overcome this issue.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome Lens

LaDean from Washington, IL on 1/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wondering why I waited so long to get this lens. I am loving the quality and detailed pictures I am getting, even hand holding the monster. While large and heavy, the quality makes up for it.

Pros: Quality sharpness and detail

Cons: weight

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great zoom!

Mark from Milwaukee, WI on 11/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The lens lives up to all the reviews I've read. It can't be beat for the price. Crutchfield's sales and service is the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon 200-500 5.6 ED VR AFS

Bob G from Charlottesville, VA on 6/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice lens. Having said that, I need to add a warning. It is a heavy lens to carry around, and it will require you to up your game at photography skills to get the most out of it. Initially, I had trouble dealing with it, but after a week or so of increasing ISO and shutter speed and working with focus/metering settings I began to get a high percentage of great photos. The glowing reviews I have read are all true. The lens is capable of yielding very sharp photos once you hit your stride with it. I have used it for distant as well as near objects and am encouraged by the results. So, stop reading, and go get one!

Pros: Great Value

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

A NIKON GEM

Nick from Bay Shore, NY on 4/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nikon has created a fine quality Nikkor Auto Focus Stabilized 200 - 500mm FX f/5.6E that is affordable to the general public, without breaking the bank... Even hand holding at 500mm can produce very high quality results equal to much more expensive lenses. DX camera format extends it to 700mm. A great addition to those interested in an excellent performing telephoto lens. 35+ years as a professional photographer and I can honestly say, " this is a keeper ".

Pros: All around a solid 5 out of 5.

Cons: none, except a tripod will help support the added weight, like all high quality lenses, it's a wee bit heavy...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

nikon 200-500mm nikon AF lens

Sam M from Cambria Heights, New York on 3/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nikon did it again,another superior lens. The focusing on any length is crystal clear, I have a nikon D3X focusing with this lens is on point. For the price, you get more than your money worth. When you couple it with the Nikon teleconverter TC 20III focusing is still on the money. Pictures come out crystal clear at all the focal lengths.

Pros: Everything,about the lens is right.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon 200-500 5.6 ED VR AFS

Tone1958 from rome, NY on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical at first,mainly because because of the price point. After putting through it's paces, I am Satisfied with it through all Focal lengths, and it's fast and Sharp

Pros: Lightweight 5.0 lbs

Cons: Not as sharp as the 7200.00 200-400 But can't be expected to be.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Super Lenses

jlgad from Tennessee on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First long lenses I've ever owned. After reading a ton of reviews of how great this lenses is . They where all true !

Pros: Super Sharp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm f/5.6 E Review

Brian from Blairsville, GA on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Nikon lens is great for distance photography. I use for Birds and deer pictures along with landscape of long range shots. The pictures are clear and the focus is fast for a large lens. Highly recommend.

Pros: Picture sharpness, VR capability and Nikon glass.

Cons: Its heavy weight and size. Makes for more challenging carrying around.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon Got It Right!

RYIU from California on 10/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received this behemoth two days ago. My initial impression is : Nikon Got It Right On This One ! It looks and feels very well built, heavy but worth all the lifting. VR really does give a 4.5 + Stops advantage. I have taken reasonable sharp pictures at 500mm with shutter speed as low as 1/10 seconds. Crazy huh? Best of all, the bokeh produces by the 9-round-blade-diaphram is superb. For a Nikon Lens of this class and performance, $1399.00 USD is a "steal".P.S. It is very sharp, all zoom range, even at f/5.6 !

Pros: Well Built Professional Grade (Solid and Heavy) Fast focusing 4.5-Stop+ VR Improvement CONFIRMED Beautiful Bokeh Excellent Pricing Includes Lens Shade and Tripod Colar Super Cool Looking

Cons: The included lens bag is a joke

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP