Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G

Standard prime lens for Nikon SLR cameras

MFR # 2199

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G

Standard prime lens for Nikon SLR cameras

MFR # 2199

44 reviews
View this product

Sharp

Crutchfield customer from Danville, PA on 11/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This lens is very sharp and lightweight, and with a 50mm focal length, you can't go wrong.

Pros: Weight, Sharpness, Price

Cons: Feels cheap in construction

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G

Crutchfield customer from Broadview Hts, OH on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lens had a great price, the Submariner(Lee) had a great personalty.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 2/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and clear portrait shots. Easily great value of money, moderate performance in low light conditions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice addition to my camera bag

Marvin from Yorktown Hts, NY on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice, sharp and quickly-focusing lens. It's nice to use a fixed focal length lens and to concern yourself with composition and lighting and not having to worry about zooming in and out.

Pros: Nice sharp lens.

Cons: None noted.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fast lens, good bokeh

LISA from Nashville, TN on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've recently upgraded to a full frame camera, and this is the perfect prime lens to add to my collection. Very good in low light situations.

Pros: Low price, fast prime lens

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better pictures.

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 2/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. And certainly excellent customer support from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

super sharp, clear and versatile

Alex from Middletown, NJ on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very sharp, fast, and excellent AF very good for portraits and low light shoots. Lens is also very light A good bang for your buck!

Pros: A must have for your bag super sharp, clear and versatile

Cons: Focus can be slow

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G

George G. from Canonsburg, PA on 6/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good standard lens for low light photography and videography at a very reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

50MM f1.8G great sharp lens with extraordina service from Crutchfield

Wally from Austin, TX on 3/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is great works as advertised Nikon has been updating prime lenses and this 50mm Prime is sharp and works great. I am using it with a Nidon D7200 and D 5200 for portraits. It is sharp and works well as a in studio portrait lens! I have to congratulate Crutchfield on special handling of my order too. I had several gift certificates which required me to speak to customer service to get them processed. Their on line support took care of my order promptly and efficiently. I received a e mail follow up soon after the order was processed including contact information for my rep - along with their picture no less! I received the order and highly recommend Crutchfield for their service and expertise and inventory!

Pros: Non for what this lens does its as sharp ad the 50mm 1.4! Not a metal lens- so what! it works light weight well build and delivers on image quality. Its not one of the Metal "pro" lenses to me that is no a big issue. I am not pounding nails with this lens it works! This has nothing to do with the lens which I shoot in in a studio with professional mono bloc lights. Want better image quality put it on tripod!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't waste your money or time on this lens

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 4/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is probably The worst lens I have ever bought. Produces the quality of an average cellphone image... Have tried everything and still get low quality and not sharp images. I read the other reviews so figured I'd get what I wanted - a clear, sharp 50mm view. Hmmmmm. Don't waste your money on this one.

Pros: None I could determine.

Cons: Utter lack of sharpness when displayed at 100% - exactly the same way I view all my other images. I generally use a 40mm MICRO for just about everything (unless it's my 105mm MICRO) including distance land/seascapes, and am spoiled with regard to clear, SHARP images.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Good for the buck

Dian from Guam on 1/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not very sharp. But can't complain for the price.

Pros: Good price

Cons: Not sharp

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sharp lens

KC from NY on 12/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very sharp lens. I was debating whether to get the f/1.8D or f/1.8G because the D version would save me money. I ended deciding on the G version. I own a few older lens that were manufactured in Japan and those lens were solidly built although a little heavy, and they all feel tough and expensive. The 50mm f/1.,8G plastic body feels fragile and very light. However, it is one of the sharpest lens that I have owned. I own the old 35-70mm f/2.8 lens and at the same aperture and focal length of 50, this lens is sharper. With the SWM, I can hardly hear anything while the lens is focusing. I highly recommend it.

Pros: Sharpness, SWM, small size.

Cons: plastic body.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing value

Crutchfield customer from Pennsylvania on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing lens for the price paid. The choice for me was between the 1.8g and 1.4g and ultimately the 1.8g won out. Two reason for I went with the 1.8g was 1) It was the best lens I could afford and 2) after going over numerous reviews for the 1.8g, I learned that the 1.8g has an aspherical element within it where as the 1.4g does not. So ultimately, the 1.8g will produce sharper imagines and this is partly what I was looking for with a 50mm lens. If you're more of a portrait photographer (I'm not), the 1.4g will probably suit you better as it will give you those super creamy backgrounds, but if using the 1.8g at f1.8 you will still get beautiful backgrounds. Both lens are great, but for me, the 1.8g was more of what I was looking for.

Pros: Sharp, Fast focus and Bokeh!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great lens on a budget

Jordan from Virginia on 6/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens for the money, and excellent for portrait style photos and video interviews, which are exactly why I needed it. The f1.8 does great in low-light situations. The lack of VR is not a problem for me, since just about everything I use this lens for right now involves a tripod. Definitely a great buy and would recommend it.

Pros: Performs in low light, inexpensive, light-weight, has one length but does that job very well.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great lens

DM from Pennsylvania on 1/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is my first SLR camera and lens. Very happy with my choice.

Pros: Perfect for archiving photos

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great cheap prime.

Lat from New York on 12/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent 50 mm prime, fast focus, very sharp.

Pros: Sharp, fast, inexpensive.

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

worth it every cent

ES from Illinois on 10/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im really happy with this lens, it really make a great value for the money. I used it for the first time on my D7000 in a very low light session and the f1.8 really helped. The only issue that was the autofocus, but I cant tell if it was the lens or the low light in the place. Even with that I really recomend it specially for portraits.

Pros: light weight, clear photos, f1.8, good for portraits

Cons: autofocus

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GREAT LENS!

TheGuyWithThisLens from Brooklyn, NY on 4/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing but greatness about this lens

Pros: Light weight, Fast focusing, Good for portraits and more.

Cons: Non for now

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worst packaging ever.

Dave from Western N.Y. on 4/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Nikon lens is truly a high resolution lens especially when used at f5.6, f8, and f11. As the reviews state this may be the first real resolution upgrade in the last 40 years. Probably because of the high resolution digital sensors now used in dslr's forced Nikon to improve their products. After all the research into lenses, I was shocked to receive it packaged by Crutchfield in a brown shipping box with the Nikon lens box placed flat against the shipping box floor, tight against one side of the box, and tight against the box top. The rest of the box was filled with foam peanuts. Anytime ups dropped this shipping box on its bottom, side, or top, the lens took a direct hit. There was no protection for this lens from any impacts, the full force went to the lens. The worst packaging I have ever seen, really no packaging. In business 40 years and I have to write this? Buyer beware.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Nikon 50mm 1.8G

Crutchfield customer from Smithtown, NY on 3/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding lens don't know why it took so long to purchase this lens.

Pros: Clarity, speed and depth of field

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Let me tell you about Bang for Buck.

Mr F from Long Island NY on 3/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm going to make this short and sweet. This is the sharpest lens I have ever owned. I've been into photography since 1972

Pros: Sharp, Light, Cheap

Cons: I have had no problem testing a variety of subjects. Surprisingly excellent.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G Reviews

Quang from Rosemead on 2/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast, sharp wide open and affordable full frame lens. This compact lens is the most versatile walk around lens. And Crutchfield service is top notch as always.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excelent

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CT on 1/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple. Easy to use

Pros: Great in low light.

Cons: Nada

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

One of the best lenses for the money

Ttommla from Whitestone NY on 12/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the best lenses for portraits sharp almost perfect . I feel it's a must

Pros: Inexpensive sharp perfect in low light conditions

Cons: ??

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great lens!

Svetlana from Phoenix, AZ on 10/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding lens! Great image, sharpness and a nice bokeh!

Pros: Fast, sharp, affordable

Cons: doesn't have VR

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Standard indeed

Edo from Glendale, CA on 7/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a must have lens for both pro and non-pro. Easy to use and light weight. Low aperture settings and simplicity make this lens an ideal option for quick shots where there isn't much time to think and you have to raise the camera and freeze the moment.

Pros: Compact, simple, fast (low aperture), useful in low light condition, 50mm focal length, low price

Cons: Doesn't have VR

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great lens for low light

MalcolmA from Charlottesville, VA on 6/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G is a great lens for low light conditions and an excellent value for the money. I use it for aerial landscape shots at dusk and find that the amount of light it allows in with a relatively fast shutter speed allows me to capture details of clouds and mist with low angle sunlight. This lens is a great addition to my flight bag.

Pros: Great in low light.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Vik from Edison, NJ on 5/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great personalized service, quick shipment and perfect Quality Control Brought an open box product but it was perfect and saved money too!

Pros: Great results, quick and competitively priced

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nifty 50

Mr. Charlie from Alexandria, VA on 5/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding service, received my new lens in one day. Great lens, does everything advertised. I now use this 50mm as my walk around lens. Major difference in this lens versus the kit lens that came with the camera.

Pros: Crystal clear results, quick and competitively priced

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon Lens

PeterB from Chester ny on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service. Excellent product and competative price with on the spot shipping. "Zac" was very very helpful and couldn't be more pleasant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Lens!!!

PunPicks from Charlottesville, VA on 4/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I initially bought this lens to try out because I wanted something that was a bit "clearer" or more professional than the kit lens that came with my D5100. I'm not a pro but I wanted to get a bit better with my filming, so I read some reviews and checked this one out. This is indeed a wonderful, inexpensive lens for an amateur or professional. It has great focusing capabilities and is very lightweight as well. I am definitely keeping this and shooting most of my photos and video with it!

Pros: Durable, but lightweight. Great focus/blurring capabilities. Inexpensive

Cons: It's 1 length, 50mm so you have to shoot from far away if you want to capture everything. It's mostly for up-close shots

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niffty Fifty Nikkor

BayRocker from Rochester, NY on 4/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Nikkor lens does a surprisingly good job at a pleasantly good price. It is an excellent value purchase; can not go wrong with this.

Pros: It gives sharp images, very nice bokeh, quite auto focus, light weight but reasonably rugged, great bang for the bucks.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great lens!

Erik from Thousand Oaks, Ca on 4/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens. I have taken some amazing photos already with my D200.

Pros: Gives me perfect colors and easy to use. Very versatile for the price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G Lens

Sbbluewater from California on 4/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens. Sharp and fast. Build quality is great for what it is. Very happy with this lens and see no need to spend more on the f/1.4 version.

Pros: Fast

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S 50mm f/1.8

bbirish from Hattiesburg MS on 1/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens! Can't believe how sharp the images are. The cropping potential with my Nikon D600 is incredible. Who needs a zoom. Very pleased.

Pros: Image quality. Low light performance. Sharp images. cropping potential.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very good for the money

lorenzo from los altos, ca on 8/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sharpness and colors. As all Nikon lenses made in China poor quality - they look like pieces of plastic.

Pros: Good glass, colors and sharpness.

Cons: Very cheap plastic

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Fantastic lens!

Karas616 from Massachusetts on 7/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I took a photography class and was urged to get this lens versus the standard lens that came with my camera. What a difference this lens has made. I feel like my pictures are a lot more clear and higher quality. Some even look like I know what I'm doing!!! I would definitely recommend this lens! The only criticism I would have is that the price is a little high. The same lens for a Canon is about $100 which is much more affordable. But now that I have the lens, it was worth the money!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lots of Bang for the Buck

Ray from NY on 6/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great little lens and is cheap enough where it should be in every Nikon DSLR owners bag. If you have an FX Camera, this is a great little walk around "Normal" lens and if you own a DX Camera, this lens does a fantastic job with portraits. This lens also does a fantastic job at low light photography @ f/2.8 but don't try and get greedy with the large aperture / low ISO as @ f/1.8 the lens only performs OK as it's rather soft in the center.

Pros: Small, Light, Sharp and very contrasty

Cons: Could be a tad faster to Focus, Being able to focus closer than 1.5' from the subject would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great little lens

brijar from WA on 4/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little 50mm, the bokeh is excellent, very fast focus, highly recommend

Pros: lightweight, affordable, high end optics

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the trick :)

Leslie from Saipan on 12/24/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice 50mm lens, not to expensive but it does the job, a few tweaks from my slr like the spot metering system, it's a OK for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great lens everyone should have

Mike from Santa Ana, CA on 11/9/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens for shooting everyday moments with the family. This lens captures my kids perfectly and I would highly recommend it.

Pros: It's light and compact. It produces sharp pictures even in low lighting and is relatively cheap.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G

KWE from GH,MI on 9/7/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this instead of a 30mm that cost twice as much. I'm happy with my decision to go low budget because is a very good lens. The low light capability is comparable to the more expensive lens along with its speed. I would suggest picking up a UV filter. This is a good prime lens for the money minded.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A Sharp, Fast Fifty

Dan from Chicago, IL on 7/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the latest of four 50mm lenses than Nikon offers. I bought it for use on my DX-Format, Nikon D7000. It is a fast, super-sharp lens that is excellent for less than ideal lighting conditions. I've been able to use it indoors without a flash. It will auto-focus with Nikon's entry-level DSLRs like the D40, D3000, D3100 and D5100. It focuses perfectly and has great bokeh. For around $200, this is a top-notch 50mm lens - it should in everyone's camera bag. I also feel the need to mention that Crutchfield had it in stock when no one else did. This new 50mm lens is in high demand and Crutchfield was able to get it to me - with no shipping charges - within 2 days of my order. Many thanks to the great team at Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

So far it is Great

Chris C from Dnever, CO on 7/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had it for a week but it takes great pictures for the price. I was looking at the 1.4 but decided to get this one for the lower price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP