Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Audio-Technica LP-120XUSB

Manual direct-drive turntable with USB output and built-in phono preamp (Black)

MFR # AT-LP120XUSB-BK

Audio-Technica LP-120XUSB

Audio-Technica LP-120XUSB

Manual direct-drive turntable with USB output and built-in phono preamp (Black)

MFR # AT-LP120XUSB-BK

12 reviews
View this product

Digitizing & Hypnotizing

Crutchfield customer from Butte, MT on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this as a second player in my home. I grabbed it because it had a stop/start and the price was fair. Blown away. Out the box the motor is spinning perfectly. I swapped the cart out for a Ortofon Pro S and replaced the felt slipmat with a cork mat. This stepped it up in terms of how I need it. I am digitizing non stop and have been very surprised with the performance and ease of use. The steel wheel was a nice bonus. If you are starting out and want a direct drive with a phono preamp this is a quality machine for entry. It fits all the reasons of my use but the sound and quality were an extra bonus.

Pros: Quality parts. Clean look. Excellent plug and play with USB and phono preamp. Steady & quiet motor with excellent response.

Cons: Slip mat was basic and warped. Incl cart and styli are pretty basic but price justifies that.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable. I really wanted a turntable that had pitch control and i am having to learn about this feature. The timing light also seems neat. I think it is metal but it may be heavy plastic. Over all i just like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear sounding solidly built turntable.

Crutchfield customer from Tifton, GA on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using older turntables that needed some work when I got them and was ready for something new. I read the reviews and took the plunge. First thing it's a solid feeling heavy turntable. Easy to set up the counterweight. Be careful with the packaging as some critical parts to the turntable are inside of the styrofoam. One of those parts being the LED light that shines on the surface of the record. It really helps you position the tone arm over a specific track. Sounds greats.

Pros: Well built sounds great.

Cons: It's not fully automatic but getting up to move the needle isn't so bad.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio-Technica LP-120XUSB

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable. Replaced my aging Yamaha A320. Like direct drive as an alternative to belt drive. And can digitize my historically unique, some of them 50 years old vinyls. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Gift

Crutchfield customer from Faribault, MN on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought as a b-day present for our 20 yr. old son. Easy set up but if you had any issues and/or any questions - you can always call Crutchfield. Staff was very helpful prior to purchase - as usual!

Pros: Everything you need to get started in the world of wax.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica LP-120XUSB

Crutchfield customer from Fogelsville, PA on 9/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable, very clear and nuanced sound, even on old vinyl. Fully manual operation requires some work, but well worth it for the price/value

Pros: Great performance, easy to use once you figure it out

Cons: None, really

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica LP-120XUSB

Crutchfield customer from Bandera, TX on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Found all our old LPs boxed up under the pool table when we sold it. So, we got back into music on vinyl, but my 40-year old BIC table was frozen up, and it would cost more to fix than it was worth. Did a lot of research, and this Audio-Technica LP-120XUSB fit the bill. It is great, and it is so cool to now be able to listen to all our old LPs again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Plays great. Would perfer automatic direct drive.

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using my Technics SL 1300 that I bought in 1975 which has finally stopped working. It's fully automatic. Trying to get used to tending my new fully manual LP-120XUBS. Does Audio Technica make a fully automatic table with a S toe arm and direct drive motor. If not, I'll stick with this one. It has the features I want and it looks and plays great, just have to get used to the manual part of it.

Pros: Overall great turntable

Cons: Not automatic, felt mat

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica LP-120XUSB

Crutchfield customer from Norristown, PA on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound quality at a modest price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

VERY NICE

Crutchfield customer from Deland, FL on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow , this thing is HAS to be the easiest plug and play ever . The power cable end is a bit more pieces than it should be but this a hyper technical complaint. The sound , using and ease of this product is PHENOMENAL !! You'll love it , no complaints what so ever. LOVE IT !! to

Pros: The light is a serious help in getting the cartridge is the right spot. My location is VERY dark and with this I'd have to keep a flashlight near but not worries, they thought it through.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Turntable set-up

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice turntable, easy to assemble but a little challenging in balancing the arm, but that's not to be taken as a negative for the unit, but rather the knowledge of finding out how to do it. A YouTube video helped a little. But the best about the sale from Crutchfield is their tech support, which is excellent. Very patient and knowledgeable technicians. I realize that it is not a high-end table, but it is more than sufficient for the casual user.

Pros: For the price an excellent turntable, fast delivery, and excellent tech service.

Cons: Maybe more thorough directions on how to balance the arm. To the novice there was not much there. For example, in balancing the arm the weight has two parts, but built as one piece. There is nothing that states that the front part of the weight must be turned separately from the actual weight. I turned the knob as an all in one piece and then it became stuck. I had to call and the technician explained that to me.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Very nice mid grade turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 4/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to get back into vinyl after a 12 year absence. Back in the 80's I had a great direct drive Technics turntable. Then I listened to all the audiophiles and decided to "upgrade" to a belt drive Dual in the early 90's. Sure it looked great, but honestly didn't sound any better to my ears. In fact I soon grew tired of it's inability to maintain speed, something that was easily adjustable on my Technics. When I decided to get back into vinyl, I knew I didn't want to spend $500+ and I knew that I didn't want a cheap plastic $100 turntable either. There are quite a few nice looking choices in the $2-300 range so that's where my research began and what ultimately lead me to this new turntable. I read too many reviews of speed issues with the belt drive models on every brand and decided I wanted to go with a direct drive with pitch adjustment like my old Technics. I upgraded the felt mat with a rubber one, but other than that I'm leaving it stock and after the easy initial setup, I'm glad to report that it sounds great! A couple things I want to note for people that isn't apparent in the photos or description. In the photos the unit look dark grey, it is in fact black. Also the plinth is metal, not plastic. This thing has some good weight to it. Feels pretty solid. Overall, I'm very pleased.

Pros: Direct drive Pitch Adjustment Light for needle placement Solid feel

Cons: Big (barely fit in my cabinet)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 12 found this helpful

TOP