Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Manual belt-drive professional turntable with built-in phono preamp

MFR # AT-LP7

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Manual belt-drive professional turntable with built-in phono preamp

MFR # AT-LP7

23 reviews
View this product

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Crutchfield customer from Earling, IA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After years away from vinyl, I am hooked again. I returned with a fancy new turntable that did everything, but quickly realized that I wanted something "old school." The AT-LP7 was where my search ended. No Bluetooth. No automatic this and that. Just a high quality, manual turntable with incredible sound. I matched it with some Klipsch speakers and a sub...now I'm a 50 year old teenager dusting off his record collection and hearing music the way it was intended to be heard. No "loudness war" ever took place on vinyl. My 20 something kids say that they have never heard music sound so good...and I agree. I'm not an audiophile, I just found a box of my old records one day and was led down this path. You can't go wrong with this turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superb! - best TT I've ever owned!

TIM from Cranston, RI on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is an elegant piece of furniture. It's super solid and girthy, with an elegant claaaaaaayyysssssseeeee baby grand piano look. I'm saying the finish is nigh-hiiiiiiiiice. I've been listening to some of these albums for about 50 years now, and they have never sounded better. My last TT was a Pro-ject with a nice Ortofon Blue stylus, but this stock stylus actually sounds better just because of the silence of the TT. (If I move the Ortofon over to this TT it may sound even better?) I feel like I am living back in 1975, discovering this groovy music again for the first time, as the memories of childhood fly back and the good feelings are re-experienced. For anyone who lived through getting a Beatles album when it first came out (when they were a current group) -- that feeling you had when you dropped the needle and heard Sgt. Pepper's or the white album for the first time, etc. that feeling is relived with this TT. No exaggeration. Digging the silence of the thing. A happy purchase. All the knobs are smooth and silent as well, and this baby gets up to speed immediately. I like that I can use 45 speed without lifting up the platter like I used to have to do with my Pro-ject TT.

Pros: silent, you just hear the music (in all its detail) -- no turntabley type noises -- also "bee yoo tee full" as 'Archie Bunker and his ilk' would say!

Cons: Dustcover is really just for when you aren't using it -- must just set it aside and you probably should be a little bit careful when you drop in on -- not worth even a fraction of a star -- real audiophiles do use no stinkin' dust cover ove heeaah!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality product

Crutchfield customer from Tecumseh, MI on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality smooth operation

Pros: Smooth operation

Cons: Dust cover has no hinges must remove and set aside not a big deal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Crutchfield customer from Greenlawn, NY on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this player. Great looking, solid and awesome sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Zach from Peoria on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a u-turn that I was never really sold on with the lp-7. I couldn't believe the difference. This table does everything better...not just by a little. I am more than happy with the included cartridge. This table is a keeper.

Pros: Adjustable everything from the legs up. Great cartridge. Sound is spectacular.

Cons: Really needs to be on a very solid and inert surface. Otherwise knocking on the mounting surface will resonate thru the table despite the rubber feet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

just do it

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible record player.

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional turntable, would pay more for it.

Bruce from VANCOUVER, WA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hard to know where to start. All I can say are positives. The build quality is excellent, ease of set-up, virtually none. Setting about five feet from an SVS 2000 pro sub and zero issues with vibrations coming into the table causing any audio issues. Seems like this table will track some of my most abused albums with ease. Warped record, not a problem. The feet are adjustable to level the table and have a lot of isolation built into them. Downside on the feet as they will get stuck to whatever surface you set the table on. Kinda like suction cups. Sonically I'm extremely impressed, especially with a fairly inexpensive cartridge that comes pre mounted. I can't wait to see what this table will sound like with a better cartridge installed. I like that the speed can be switched without physically changing the belt position. Flexible outputs with either using the built in phono pre-amp or bypassing the built in one for a dedicated phono preamp. Also it is switchable for MM or MC cartridges. I'm using a NAD outboard phono preamp with the table, so I cannot speak to the built in phono output sound.

Pros: Build quality, looks, sound, flexibility, ease of set-up and a removable dust over without hinges.

Cons: The normal inexpensive cartridge that is supplied with any turntable. Feet will stick to any surface, so make sure the table is where you want it when you set it down.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Player - Expectations Exceeded

Mirko from Laguna Niguel, CA on 8/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this player to upgrade from a Project Debut II which I had used with an ortofon Cartridge. For whatever reason, The table I had was noisy and I finally upgraded to the AT-LP7. This turn table is worth every penny and I wouldn't doubt it competes against tables 1k-2k dollars more. The noise floor of this thing is extraordinarily quiet. As a comparison I've listened to my friends high grade Thorens table and this thing is just as quiet if not more. I'm playing it through highly efficient speakers (Klipsch Heresy and KLF 20) and even with such efficient speakers there is barely any audible hum or hiss and the music just jumps and pours out of the speakers. So happy with this purchase.

Pros: Super Quiet Accurate sound production Moving coil compatibility

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice sounding simple turntable

Richard from Salt Lake City, UT on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looking for a good new model turntable and this one fills all my needs. I have many other turntables, Thorens, Dual, Garrad,B&O,Yamaha,Project,Technics etc and i know a good turntable when I hear them. Bought this turntable to go with my Yamaha A-S501 Integrated Amp and Energy Floor standing Speakers. It sounds great. Now I can conserve my use of my vintage turntables. Getting them fixed when needed beginning to get expensive. Little concerned abt quality of cartridge but it sound good enough. May upgrade to Ortofon Blue in future, but not for awhile.

Pros: Quality of build

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audio Technica AT-LP7 is a terrific player

Crutchfield customer from Morton, IL on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking at this player along with some less expensive models. I chose to go with the LP7 because of the build quality, simplicity, and clean, uncluttered look. Unit is beefy and stocky looking. I really like the high-end looking exposed motor and belt drive. It runs dead silent. It has one simple aluminum knob for 33 or 45 speed with a glowing blue indicator light to let you know its on. It has a hefty MDF plinth with a good quality tonearm with height adjustment and fits a standard headshell. Player came with a good quality VM520EB cartridge with elliptical stylus. I might consider upgrading to the 540 just to see if there is a difference, but it sounds great as it is with a little emphasis on the higher range. I used a tracking gauge and the tonearm weight is only off about .03 grams. I set the tracking to the recommended 2 grams and set the anti-skate to 2 grams as well. I would recommend using a tracking force gauge for any table. There is a switch on back to use MM or MC cartridges. You can use either the built-in phono amp or move the rear mounted switch to line level to use the tuner, cd, or deck jacks on your amp. Use whichever is higher quality. All four feet can be adjusted for height by turning and unscrewing. The thick, smoked lid is not hinged, you are to remove it when you want to use the player. You just need to find a place to set it when not needed. Not a biggie. I love this table and would buy it again.

Pros: Excellent sound out of the box. Hookup flexibility with phone and line outputs. Dead silent motor belt drive. No wobble in platter. Excellent fit and finish. Unit is gorgeous.

Cons: Not a big deal and knew this going into it but lid is not hinged. You have to remove it and set it somewhere while using the turntable.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Your search is over........ just drop this one in your cart !

Scott from Rockford, IL on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently picked up the Audio-Technica AT-LP7 Turntable. After reading several reviews on the web and reading the reviews here on Crutchfield, I just knew I was making a good decision on this rig. After getting it all hooked up and listening to 5-6 records... I was very, very pleased in my purchase and will be getting the Marantz NR1200 receiver or the PM7000N integrated amp soon. If you are on the fence and not yet dropped this beauty into your cart yet, check out this review. To quote his verdict "Audio-Technica's publicity says of the AT-LP7 that it's "the best turntable we've ever built". I totally agree, but would add that it's very likely the best turntable any manufacturer has ever built that sells at the price Audio-Technica is currently asking for the AT-LP7. 'Nuff said?" The specs are great, the price is great, the rig is great! She's dead silent, the dc motor is double isolated. I was surprised that the polyoxymethylene platter weighs in at 4 1/2 pounds. The plinth is 40mm thick and the finish is of a low sheen satin that is applied to perfection and which should be fingerprint friendly ! After ordering this I came back a couple days later and purchased the Klipsch RP600M Bookshelf speakers, after hooking everything up and sitting back to listen.... this combo knocked my socks off. Your search is over........ just drop this one in your cart !

Pros: It"s Perfect....fit and finish as well as the dead silent operation. The cartridge is better than I expected, the sound it put out out is amazing.

Cons: none that I can think of right now, I know some prefer a hinged dust cover but I think I might like it being a lift off instead.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I'm in love!

Joe from Binghamton,NY on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had been eyeing this turntable for months prior to purchasing. Was researching decks that were more modest priced, with glowing reviews, in hopes to save a buck. I Finally concluded that this table just looked too good aesthetically to pass up, along with many glowing reviews of its own, and that upgrading components was very simple.This was replacing a pro-ject debut III, who's tonearm was tragically bent, after my elac bookshelf speaker took a tumble. The accompanying setup video on YouTube made setup an absolute breeze. The first record I chose to play was a 30+ year old copy of Queen's "Sheer Heart Attack". The selection was somewhat intentional, I wanted to see how the cartridge could cope with older records, as the ortofon om5e in the pro-ject could be somewhat unforgiving and reveal the flaws in old records. I found very little of that with this deck, the only "cracks and pops" to be found is due to dust. The only thing I can think of, is that the tonearm locking will still Engage with the cue lever up, thereby forcing it down into the lock. I suspect that it may take its toll over a long enough timeline, but I am by no means An expert. I read a review claiming that the author believed that there was no other company that could provide this quality at this price point. I'm inclined to agree. Equipment for this review , which I recommend, as well Yamaha as-501 integrated amp (I'm using the phono stage) Pioneer sp-fs51-LR Andrew Jones floorstanding speakers.

Pros: Great sound quality and value for money

Cons: Mentioned above, very minor

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Columbus

Rob from Columbus on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow.... Moving from a more expensive turntable that was damaged in a house fire. I purchased the LP7 on the advice of an audiophile friend. Im thrilled with this table. The sense of rhythm, accuracy, and solid build quality there is nothing better under $1000.00.

Pros: Sound quality Build quality Easy to set up

Cons: None at this price.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. The look, feel and performance of the turntable matches what most of the pro reviews say about it. It tracks well, has good bass and dynamics, and is quiet. No acoustical feedback issues setting on my 2 inch maple platform. The onboard phono stage sounds OK, but the turntable sounds much better with an external phono stage such as a Cambridge Audio Duo. As usual service from Crutchfield was excellent. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Crutchfield customer from Dickson City, PA on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean table does exactly as advertised

Pros: Intuitive

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Crutchfield customer from Massapequa Park, NY on 9/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. I use with Exposure 2010 int amp plus Spender D7 speakers. It is fairly easy to set up. I had a minor problem with balancing but it was quickly resolved. Excellent product for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great turntable

Bernie from Potomac, MD on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made turntable that is truly high end. Plays records with high end performance. I really like the easily adjustable height tonrarm and removable head shell. The supplied cartridge is quite decent and I can certainly live with it for the foreseeabel future. Only two minor complaints is that it did not come with a cartridge alignment protractor and it was very difficult to remove the turnable form the packaging. Definitely would recommend this very fine turntable to anyone wanting high end performance and quality at a reasonable price.

Pros: Well made and high end performance Easily adjustable height tonearm Decent cartridge

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! This player is amazing! The sound quality you can't beat! The price is perfect and it's everything my husband wanted!

Pros: Great piece for the price! Would I buy it again a thousand times YES

Cons: Haven't found any cons yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Congratulations!!

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable. Very welll built. Cristal clear sound.

Pros: Grat sound. Very good quality materials.

Cons: Lack of stop button. Didn't have space to place the 45 adapter .

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP7

Guest from Ephrata, PA on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a well built, good performing unit for the analog enthusiast who doesn't have a ton of money to throw at a high end record player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pleased

James from Millcreek, UT on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thus far, I have been pleased with the unit overall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 16 found this helpful

Great Value, superb quality

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful and very stable engineering. Very pleased with this purchase. If you are wanting to spend under $1K this is the best value for the money. Easy setup, good quality cartridge and stylus. I love that it's easy to upgrade the cartridge in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

LP-7 sounds great!

Shad from Midlothian, VA on 4/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable completely exceedes my expectations. Build quality and sound quality is fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

TOP