Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Dual moving magnet phono cartridge with MicroLine® stylus and headshell

MFR # VM540ML/H

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Dual moving magnet phono cartridge with MicroLine® stylus and headshell

MFR # VM540ML/H

20 reviews
View this product

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, FL on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice mm cartridge with a Tech 1500c turntable. Utilizing a Schitt Mani phono stage & upgraded cables. Sound is toe tapping good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Johnson Lake, NE on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great cartridge, the pricing is good also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Maybe a defect but the one I was sent is ear-splitting shrill

Crutchfield customer from Harrison Twp, MI on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the Audio Technica brand and the interchange stylus idea is genius. I have many of the AT products at home and thought I would upgrade my beloved AT100e cartridge. I really love the look and feel of the headshell on the VM540ML/H and the detail it pulls from the records is stunning. However, after maybe 10 or more records I expected the shrill high-end to subside. It did not. On some records it was not that noticeable, but on others, an ear bleeding experience. It could be that the stylus has a manufacturing defect or something. Not sure. I'm suspecting the VM520E will be better suited to my taste since the AT100E has been so great. I will likely try the Microline again at some point, maybe for the VM95 line. I'm not saying I don't recommend this product. I'm assuming I have a defect on my hands. I'll keep buying Audio Technica products, just not this one.

Pros: Really nice headshell, great upgrade options, legendary cartridge, stylus plays with intense detail

Cons: Microline stylus can be very unpleasant with shrill highs on some records

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The best sounding and reasonably priced cartridge I have bought.

Wayne from CHAMPLAIN, NY on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding cartridge. I couldn't see paying a lot more money for the 740 or one with a Shibata sylus. I play mostly pop and rock 180 gram records. I honestly have to say that I have heard more detail in the songs than I did with my original elliptical stylus. It was a little bit to set up. So make sure you have your turntable specs handy. I wanted to have the tangency set on this cartridge, riding right in the groove. I didn't find that it was overly bright in sound like some have found. It was pure music. I am very particular at keeping my records clean and this takes advantage of that! You won't regret this purchase. Very happy!

Pros: Excellent sound and rides nice in the groove and pics up additional sound off the record (music wise) that you may have missed with an elliptical stylus.

Cons: Just make sure you set it up properly for whatever turntable you use it on. May take some reading up on.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love it!

Tamas from Sarasota, FL on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound! I upgraded my Denon DP 500`s cartridge. Little too loud on treble sound, but on this price range, I think the best you can get! Really happy to buy it!

Pros: Clear sound

Cons: Little too much high... can control it

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Crisp and Clean Sound

Robert from SHALIMAR, FL on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp and clean sound, strong bass and awesome high frequency reproduction. The difference between my Shure cartridge and the VM540ML is like night and day. AT did everything right with this one.

Pros: Easy to switch cartridges with the head shell included, plug and play.

Cons: You might need to turn the treble down a notch, if think it's too bright.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Odessa, TX on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from my new cartridge. Easy to install and setup. Listening to all my vinyl now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sleeper Alert !

Crutchfield customer from Columbia Falls, MT on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stylus performs as well at others at twice the cost ! The clarity and frequency response is huge. Detail is very clear and alive ,but not edgy. So far it is as my ortofon bronze stylus ,warm and natural. The price is amazing.

Pros: An amazing value to performance

Cons: It wasn't free : < } ha ha

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great cartridge. Replaced an AT VM95E. Brought out better detail, soundstage and bass. Great tracking. I have nothing else to compare to. But it's currently being used on a Thorens TD318 and I'm really enjoying it. Should've bought cartridge only, but I purchased this when I was looking for a technics SL-1200.. And ended up finding a Thorens TD318 which has a fixed headshell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing upgrade vs. prior cartridge

Chris from Cincinnati on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded in 2018 from the original cartridge that came with my Audio Technica AT-LP120-USB to an Ortofon Red. There wasn't much of a difference, unfortunately. I had major issues with sibilance and wobble/wavers in the vocals, which I thought were attributed to bad power into my apartment. Nothing solved this issue.....power conditioners, unplugging everything, etc. That was until I got the VM540ML. Not only is the sound much better than the Ortofon, the sibilance is completely gone. I first off began listing to records that sounded terrible, and they are now back to sounding amazing as they should. I did use a proper protractor and a gram scale and spent two hours making sure the headshell and cart were perfectly weighed and aligned. I couldn't recommend this cart more and look forward to only purchasing this one for years to come. WORTH THE MONEY. no sibilance

Pros:

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good definition and clean sound for the price. Maybe a slightly bright, but did not cause listener fatigue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional sound quality, improved high end

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worth every penny.

Robert from Kalamazoo, MI on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade for the cartridge that came with my Audio-Technica. The sound is crisps and clear from the bass to the highs. Some vinyl now sounds better than the CD version.

Pros: Great tracking, and even sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Midland, TX on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great cartridge!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Chris from Hoosick Falls NY on 10/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a new cartridge to replace the one that came with the same turntable was directed to buy this from your counselor and I couldn't be happier sonically it sounds better than I ever could expect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, NY on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds as great as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica VM540ML/H

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, WI on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quick answer is, no sibilance. I tested it on , Black water by the Doobie Brothers from Best of The Doobies. All my other cartridges had terrible sibilance. With the vm540ml it played back with no harsh ssss sounds. I'm only giving 4 stars since I have no other cartridges in this price range to compare it with. I wanted a cartirdge without sibilance and I found it.

Pros: No sibilance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Great Cartridge

Eric D from Olive Branch, MS on 4/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing separation. Very low noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audi-Technica VM540 Stereo Carteridge

Martin from Manasquan, NJ on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful carteridge, great sound

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: Upgraded an AT95EX carteridge that came with an AT-LP5 turntable. I don't hear much difference between the two.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Very fine sounding cartridge

Joe from Scottsdale, AZ on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AT cartridge itself is great. Seems to track new and old vinyl with the same responsiveness, in fact older albums have never sounded better and I've only got a few hours on the setup. However, the head shell is inappropriate for the Denon turntable I bought it for. The thread size is correct, but theangle seems wrong, as if it's designed for a curved tone arm while my Denon is straight. I should have just bought the cartridge alone. I wound up remounting the cartridge in the Denon headshell.

Pros: Great cartridge

Cons: Wrong headshell

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

TOP