Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

TEAC TN-400S

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge, USB output, and built-in phono preamp (Gloss Black)

MFR # TN-400S - BK Gls

TEAC TN-400S

TEAC TN-400S

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge, USB output, and built-in phono preamp (Gloss Black)

MFR # TN-400S - BK Gls

58 reviews
View this product

Amazing form factor and sound for the money

Ross from Wheaton, IL on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my son who is just discovering vinyl LPs. It's a beautiful turntable and delivers outstanding sound for an amazingly low price. Crutchfield matched a lower price i found on line and i couldn't be happier with their support. Setup was straightforward and connections were simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Macomb, MI on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides clear, crisp sound and looks quite elegant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not what I expected

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I returned this turntable and am exchanging it for a fully automatic one. I guess in my ignorance I thought all turntables were fully automatic.

Pros: Nice looking

Cons: I can't be bothered with manually putting the needle down and being there to remove it after the LP has finished playing. I know that sounds odd, but I'm used to a fully automatic turntable and this was not.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The art of elegant noise

Crutchfield customer from Lanham, MD on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new turntable is fabulous. It arrived the next day, pristine shape, deep rich walnut. It plays my vinyl with crispness that rival s D clarity. It is a truly elegantcwork of art.

Pros: Build quality, finish, sound delivery.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN 400 is a winner

Steve from Montgomery, OH on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first turntable so it could be a 5 star product but I don't have any others to compare it to. Set up was fairly easy especially with the videos found on crutchfield and only took about 20min or so. Operation is has been flawless and the sound is great in my opinion. I've been playing mostly acoustic albums and they really sound great. Looks outstanding, very classy especially next to my Yamaha amp. Wish I could give more insight to sound but I'm still a newbie with vinyl. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Beacon, NY on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful turntable that looks and performs fantastically!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hudson

Stephen from Hudson on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hey guys love the teac tn 400s turntable. Brings all my records alive sounds great ,wonderful. Just wish it had an automatic shut-off but oh well what are you going to do.my only complaint is it doesn't come with the needle as advertised Got sent the TN 950 e stylus and it was supposed to be the tn 100 e .I get all my stereo equipment from you all the time. anything that's high grade but I got to say I'm a little bit disappointed I didn't get the stylus that I was supposed to get. Why is that.

Pros: Beautiful stylish looks great sounds terrific.

Cons: Doesn't have automatic shut-off and disappointed it didn't come with the correct stylus it was supposed to have.

Crutchfield response on 5/8/2019
Our Customer Support specialist, Erin, reached out to Stephen to get him the correct stylus. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Teac 400 Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, IN on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Talk about a turntable that makes those vinyl records that are 40+ years old sound close to perfect, this turntable makes all of my old music sound brand new! I am extremely pleased with the sound that it generates and how awesome it makes all of my vinyls sound practically brand new! Very PLEASED with my purchase! On top of it sounding so awesome, it is also very beautiful and I cant stop staring at it because I am elated with this beautiful turntable.

Pros: It has brought all of my music back to life and you would never know the album playing was over 40 years old. Also, the tech team is awesome and help you thru each step of the way.

Cons: No cons! I love my turntable and it makes me so happy everytime I play a record!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Old school

Crutchfield customer from Glen Mills, PA on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm having lots of fun listening to my old albums thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Greg from Odenville, AL on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Truly an awesome turntable, looks great with performance you can cherish

Pros: Looks and performance

Cons: Haven't found any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Oconomowoc, WI on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little worried when shopping for an upgrade to my old entry level turntable. After talking to crutchfield they made me sure I'd be very happy with this turntable for the price and features. I have to say it's sounds great, looks great, and easy to get setup right out of the box. I now have the sound I was missing. Plus it's nice not having to have a separate phono amp. Which some in this price point require.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hits the spot

Jerry from Naperville, IL on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, great turntable - as advertised. Running through my SONOS system for whole house sound. As always, great, friendly, knowledgable service from Crutchfield. You guys are the best!!!

Pros: Simple Operation Great Sound Beautiful Design

Cons: No auto (but I knew this when I bought it)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cute but NO. Sound is horrible.

Crutchfield customer from West Hollywood, CA on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This phonograph LOOKS so stylish and sleek. I am in love with the look of it. The actual needle that comes with it, sounds like crap. I have never heard music I own sound so bad. So far, Crutchfield rep is going to replace the needle, still waiting on replacement-but if this is indeed not defective and just the way it sounds, I will un doubtadly have to return it-I need a functioning turntable not just one that looks cute. It's from Crutchfield. Supposed to be good quality.

Pros: Cute

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tasteful design with good mechanics. Definitely a capable turntable with versatile features. I am using with a Luxman integrated amp with a phono stage. The playing of new vinyl comes across as quiet and smooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Looking, Well Performing Turntable

Andrew from Essex Junction, VT on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm really happy with our purchase of the TEAC TN-400S. I originally had my eye on another model/brand but was drawn to this one because of its clean, minimalist looks that blends old and new aesthetics together in a pleasing package (I got the walnut base). It just plain looks cool atop the media cabinet! For an entry-level turntable it performs adequately and produces pleasing acoustics for the average listener. No doubt there are better sounding and performing turntables out there for hardcore audiophiles, but for the price I'm very pleased and would recommend this model to anyone looking for a reliable, nice-sounding, and attractive turntable at this price point.

Pros: Clean, minimalist style looks great; 78 RPM capable; decent sound for the price; easy to use and setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Don Zenner from Pocatello, ID on 1/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new turntable. I like the way crutchfield does buisness. I like the options they give me.They let me return and no hassles is great. I order on my credit card and you ship straight to my house. No hassles, awesome. I love you guys. Let me win, so I can take the winnings and add some money to it for some new speakers. I like to show fiends the stereo equipment, and they enjoy it too. Your buddy, Don Zenner.

Pros: Awesome turntable for the price. Can not get a better deal any where else. I know because I do my reaearch. I refuse to go yo the stereo shop, when you have better prices and better selection shipped right to front door.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Okay for an entry level turntable

Tom from Austin, TX on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this as a starter turntable for my collage age son. Like all the other reviews say, it looks great firstly, and the sound is pretty good for the money. There are a couple things that should be pointed out though: It's advertised as having an "Equivalent Audio-Technica AT100E MM Cartridge". That's deceptive. It actually ships with a lesser AT95E, same as the TN-300 and TN-350. Secondly, the speed control is not great. I can hear the slight variation in pitch, but I suspect that's common in these newer decks that are belt driven by small DC motors. No regents though. For the money, and what it's for, it's a keeper. If my son really gets into vinyl, I'll pass on my old-school direct drive Sansui SR-838.

Pros: Great looks, pretty good sound for the price.

Cons: Wow and Flutter is 0.2%, It's noticeable to my ear. Lower end cartridge than advertised.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the money

Harold from Fairview, NC on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 44 years, my Sansui Turntable stopped working. I read a lot of reviews on various turntables, and decided to spend more for the TEAC TN 400s because there were few if any negative reviews. The turntable arrived triple boxed. Very well protected. Set up was easy. Since I previously had a turntable with weight and tracking settings, I had no problem setting it up. I haven't used any of the digital features, but this turntable has excellent fidelity. I wouldn't change the cartridge. I wish it was a semi automatic which lifted the arm at the end of the record. I have purchased from Crutchfield over the years, and will do so in the future. Good pricing, reliable shipping and they folks know what they are talking about.

Pros: Excellent sound, easy set up.

Cons: Not semi automatic.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from East Longmeadow, MA on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, really like the cherry base.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid Unit

Paul from Michigan on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a beautiful machine with all the features I need. Simple old school operation (usb function notwithstanding) and great sound. The gloss cherry finish is a nice contrast to the flat black look of my other components. The felt mat is acceptable, but I ordered a leather mat as a slight upgrade. Easy set up and clear instructions have you listening to your favorites in minutes. Also, there's something very chic about total manual operation. I saved a few bucks buying scratch and dent... it was in perfect condition! Very happy with the turntable and the price.

Pros: Simple operation, great sound. Selectable line level and pre-amp output.

Cons: I don't see the use of the standby button on the back.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Southampton , NY on 9/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable with 78 rpm capability, only one I found.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A great investment

Anthony from Riverside, IL on 8/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 30 years, I've decided to get back into vinyl. For about 4 months I was doing research on what's out there. Looked up different brands, models etc. When I came across this beauty, I fell in Love. After all the reviews I've read, and remembering my father had a Teac that lasted for years , I decided to go with this one. I've had it for about a month now, and I can honestly say I'm so happy I went with this one. Relatively easy to set up, and sounds awesome. Been listening to it everyday.

Pros: Beautifully designed, well built.

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 7/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable, but instructions for setting cartridge counterweight was way off

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from E Northport, NY on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great table! It's an old line name. Major reason I bought it . Beautifuly made.looking forward to many hours of enjoyment. Also have large CD collection. Plus a 1958 Rek O Kut turntable. Bought it NEW!!!

Pros: Just love it. It works for me !

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable. Even though it was advertised as manual, I expected it to have automatic return at the end of an lp. Otherwise, 5 stars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Erick from Houston, TX on 5/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very modern looking and sounds great. The wood smells good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Wesley J from Heber Springs, AR on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Hum noted on bypass to phono. Hum cleared when connected to an aux input and EQ turned on. Documentation a little light. Over all good product once past the setup curve.

Pros: Great Sound!

Cons: Setup instructions somewhat short.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great turntable at a great price!

Bruno from Visalia, CA on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this turntable to my Sonos system and it sounds fantastic! It was easy to setup and get enjoying my record collection. It was a purchase for Record Store Day and for the money, we got a great reproduction of sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a beautiful turntable with a lot of features and it sounds great. However there is a discrepancy on the stylus pressure. I had to purchase an electronic stylus gauge because if you go by the counter balance, it's not correct. The anti skating knob is very vague as well. Other than that I love this turntable. I tried contacting Teac 4 times with emails and calls regarding the counter balance but I never got a response. So for those reasons I only give this turntable 3 stars

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Beautiful Turntable. Amazing channel separation.

Eric D from Olive Branch, MS on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully made. I had forgotten how much better channel separation is on LP`s, at least in my opinion. I purchased a better cartridge than what came with the turntable at the time of purchase and wow!!

Pros: Awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Donald from New Berlin, IL on 3/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looked at many turntable and not much said about the Teac, but when their is it was always good. I have been very please with the performance and sound. I got the 400s because of the versatility of a built in phono amp and usb output. Easy to set up but must follow directions. Very pleased with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sound!

Tim from Sparta, IL on 3/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality and easy setup! It's brought my vinyl to new life and I'm extremely happy with my purchase with Crutchfield!

Pros: Great build quality and sound!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound but definitely not a starter price.

robert from Dunlap, IA on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far sounds excellent and easy to set up right out of the box. The Walnut looks much like what one would expect for veneer but doesn't look cheap by any fashion. Working to get hooked up with Sonos Music System, will update once I have a solid idea of how it should be set up.

Pros: Sound quality, Ease of setup. Doesn't exactly wow but does look classic.

Cons: Brings back an 80s-esque look. Not in a bad way though.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 2/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have only had this turntable for a few weeks but I am very happy with the purchase. I love the cherry base (not too red but less boring than the black). The packaging was great, as it came in a box within a box within a Crutchfield box. I have it connected to a new Denon receiver and had to slightly adjust the input settings to balance with the other products connected. Old records that have not been played in decades jumped to life and my wife even notice the tonal difference from some of our other form. Would recommend based only on my short time of ownership.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Classic look with great sound

Paul from Alexandria, VA on 2/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Are you hung up on specs and you're trying to decide between a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon and the TN-400s but you like the classic look of the TEAC? Then get the TEAC. The main difference i could see in the two components is the wow & Flutter. The TEAC @ 0.2% and the Pro-Ject @ 0.1%. Maybe a really well trained ear can hear a difference but I can't hear any deviation during playback. The TEAC looks and sounds great! Brought some life back into my old reciever which used to sound flat. Fit & finish is really nice. Platter spins true and set up is a breeze.

Pros: Nice classic look and good build quality. Walnut wood veneer looks really good. USB and built in phono preamp.

Cons: None that I can see.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sharp looking, sharp sounding unit

John from Mathews, VA on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable does everything an audiophile like me needs a turntable to do.

Pros: Easy to set up, sharp looking, great sounding.

Cons: No automatic return, but you rarely see that feature these days...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

DANIEL from Bayamon, PR on 1/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente tocadiscos. Los cables de instalacion los reemplaze por uno de mayor calidad (monster cable) y el sonido es sencillamente fantastico. An excellent turntable. I replaced the installation cables with some better quality cable (monster cable) and the sound is simply fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/30/2018
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

1 of 1 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from North Pole, AK on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced an old Pioneer PL-L30 turntable. Setup was easy I followed the instructions and there were absolutely no issues. The dust cover was mounted and I did not touch it. The sound is so very much better than my old turntable that I am in heaven. The turntable is beautiful. The reason for 4 stars is the pressure required for the stylus is 1.4 grams. You have to guess a bit where 1.4 is on the counter weight as it is marked at 0.25 and 0.5 increments; the real downfall is the anti-skating which has three marks for 1,2, and 3 grams. The anti-skating marks are close together and you are seriously guessing where 1.4 is, this turntable seems to be fairly forgiving so being close seems to be good enough. That quibble aside, I am looking forward to years of use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great buy,. If you know how to balance the arm.

Serg from Millbrae, CA on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product appears very nice,but I wouldn't purchase a other unless you know how to balance the arm.

Pros: Nicelooks

Cons: You need to know how to balance the arm.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 1/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful turntable and sounds great connected to my vintage Marantz receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Carol Stream, IL on 1/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great turntable. Built very well and has usable options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Kathleen from Pleasant Hill, OH on 12/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality of sound is amazing. I highly recommend this model to anyone.

Pros: The sound clarity is awesome. It is also a pretty piece of equipment- sleek and sexy.

Cons: I found the installation instructions could be better for those of us who never owned such quality equipment. If the pictures for balancing the arm were better that would have been great. We figured it out though.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Vynal forever!

Clay from Folsom, CA on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are very satisfied with our turntable. The sound is fantastic and installation a breeze. Package delivered on time as promised and packed like a tank. Do not adjust factory setting on weight of cartridge arm as suggested in the manual without playing a record first. We adjusted first and had to revert back to original setting which had us worried for a second. After adjusting weight to original setting the unit played perfectly. Does not come with a USB connector, had to buy separtly. Great unit, honest price, simple and communicative service from Crutchfield-very pleased.

Pros: great sound, easy install

Cons: no USB cable provided. auto return would be a nice addition

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Norwell, MA on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item very well packaged , excellent build quality , straight forward set up , this TT replaced a Dual 506 from the early 80's , rediscovered my vinal collection , would definitely recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent turntable and sounds great

Anna from Nashville, TN on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my husband. His thrift store turntable quit working. We are younger and not as knowledgeable as other consumers. This turntable produces the sound of a 1970s model. So, keep your records, and buy this turntable to play those. Modern music is so computerized. This music sounds as if you're there. I recommend this product, even if you're hesitant about purchasing it online, like we were.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

D. from Hilliard, OH on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to use with my Sonos system. (Connect, Soundbar, Sub, Surrounds). Setup was extremely easy on the turntable side, a little trickier on the Sonos side due to need to tweak compression settings. Old LPs sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 11/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice turntable and sounds good, no complaints. The cherry paint job on the MDF base is quite attractive. Not as stout as my ancient 1970's era Technics direct drive turntable that bit the dust but that's the way things are nowadays. And supposedly belt drive is preferable for home stereo use whereas direct drive is more suitable for DJ use. The Teac came with a felt platter mat I didn't care for so ordered a 1/8" thick cork & rubber composite platter mat from another retailer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent item

Clyde from Cleveland, OH on 9/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new turntable looks great and sounds even better it is a big improvement over my old turntable. It was very easy to asembel, I did have a little problem with the weight adjustment (first one I have owned with weight) if you can't get quite right go to you tube some very good videos.

Pros: Easy assembly Great sound Great looking Money well spent

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

excellent turntable

Gordon from Beaufort, SC on 7/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to assemble and hook up. Looks great with the wood finish. Produces good quality audio to speakers

Pros: easy to assemble and hook up. Looks great with the wood finish. Produces good quality audio to speakers

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from 343 Ash RD, Loving NM 88256 on 6/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new turntable was perfect. The instructions were simple and easy to follow . After more than forty years in storage my vinyl albums sound wonderful. I have been very satisfied with the Teac TN-400S . Wish I had done this years ago.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Guest from Reykjavík, Iceland on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks really good and sounds even better. Easy installation, good components and cartridge. Would be nice to have a rubber, cork or leather mat in the box instead of felt mat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Super stylish

Ben from Brooklyn, NY on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super stylish turntable that was easy to set up and sounds great. I'll probably change out the cartridge just because, but the default that comes with the table works fine too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound and Beautiful looks

Tony from New Milford NJ on 2/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE this turntable! Sounds Great and looks Beautiful. Directions for balancing tone arm was a little confusing but with a bit of trial and error got it right. My 40-50 year old vinyl sound Great!

Pros: Well built. Easily to assembly.

Cons: Manual description for balancing tone arm is a bit confusing.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Stuart, FL on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice turntable and works as advertised. Set up time is about 20-30 minutes and sound separation, even on my old stero records is impressive. I replaced a well working 30 year old technics turntable, but this one is clearly superior. I do Like the belt drive system and the no need to adjust RPM like my old direct drive turntable...speed seems to be right on. Manual operation is a little more work, but I knew this when I purchased the unit. I am happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great turntable for the price

Paul from Abilene, TX on 1/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to set up, has zero noise using a 6ft Monster component cable, and sounds great. I really like that it has component jacks on it rather than an integrated cable, allowing use of different length and higher quality cable(s). Pre-amp works well although I have no use for it. I haven't used the digital record mode yet as my main purpose was to play vinyl collection. So far I am very satisfied with it.

Pros: Easy setup, no noise, component jacks

Cons: Full manual

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great analog sound

Jim from Toms River, NJ on 1/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been looking to replace my 25 year old Sony turntable. Read Crutchfield's article on turntables and thought it was time to update. Santa brought me the Teac TN-400S. This turntable is amazing. It reminds me of my old AR table. Very easy set-up. The 400S combined with the Audio-Technica cartridge produces a very open, transparent sound. Several of my albums are 50+ years old and I feel like I am listening to them for the first time. Very pleased.

Pros: Good build quality. Set-up a breeze.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

TEAC TN-400S

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, NH on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! Easy installation. Makes a great gift for anyone that enjoys listening and playing their vinyl records of old tunes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

good quality

Andrew from Lake Placid, NY on 12/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this turntable because it had slightly better components than the TN-300. When the turntable was assembled it really gave me the impression that it is a solidly built and will last as long as I do. Set up was fairly straight forward, it took about 20 minutes to get everything dialed in. It should be noted that I have my own amplifier so I cannot attest to the quality of the built in pre-amp. I found the sound quality to be much improved from my old Sanyo table. With the EQ set completely flat on my receiver, the low end sounds were downing out the highs a bit, so I dropped down the bass dial on my receiver just a tiny bit and turned up the treble a little as well. With those adjustments I was very impressed with the sound quality; it was rich, well balanced, and I felt like I was hearing the audio as it was intended. I have listened to roughly 3 hours of music on the table and I haven't heard any concerning hums. I powered up the table, left the needle on the rest, and turned up the volume on the amp to see it there was any interference. I did not hear any. The only nit-pick I have against this and every table I used is that the dust cover squeaks when you raise and lower it. To me this is something that manufacturers need to figure out. All of this high end audio engineering and no one has figured out how to make a hinge that doesn't squeak. I have never heard the TN-300 so I can't say that the 400 is worth the extra $$$.

Pros: well built, good sound

Cons: location of main power button, squeaky dust cover hinge.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

TOP