Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Install and connect the RetroSound 1.5-DIN (3" tall) car stereo in select 1974-2003 Plymouth, Chrysler, Dodge, and Eagle vehicles

MFR # 270-670

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Install and connect the RetroSound 1.5-DIN (3" tall) car stereo in select 1974-2003 Plymouth, Chrysler, Dodge, and Eagle vehicles

MFR # 270-670

17 reviews
View this product

No wiring diagram

Stephen from E Setauket, NY on 8/22/2022

1996 Dodge Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bracket tabs need to be a little tighter in the slots - they tend to slip out until the radio is positioned. They also may not stay perfectly engaged if the radio does align perfectly in the hole. However, major complaint is that it does not come with a wiring list or diagram! Not sure how they expect a person to wire it up. It took 4 calls to Crutchfield Support to get the correct list/diagram to allow me to wire it.

Pros: Simplifies mounting in vehicle and connecting to vehicle wiring.

Cons: No wiring diagram.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

John from Clovis, NM on 8/6/2022

1989 Dodge D Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Initially I was very excited to get a lot that supposedly fit my car. I found out quickly that this wasn't the case. This doesn't snap, screw, or hold onto the radio. Not only does it just get placed there (providing no attached support), it didn't even line up! To make it work, I scuffed up the surfaces, epoxied it to the radio (possibly voiding any warranty on this radio), then broke off the pegs to make sure it aligns. After that, I still couldn't get close enough so I drilled new holes in the dash. I had to do all that to make it fit sort of like stock. My next rant will be on the radio I bought that was supposed to fit but I had to cut to make it fit in the bezel. The only reason I give it two stars instead on one star is for the fact that cable/adapters were great and this was FREE with the radio

Pros: Free

Cons: - Doesn't attach to the radio at all. Uses pegs to align itself but nothing to keep it in place. - Will not fit factory holes even though it seems like it. I had to cut off different legs to get it to fit

Crutchfield response on 8/9/2022
John, we're sorry you had issues with your installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

poor design

Crutchfield customer from Mullica Hill, NJ on 1/31/2021

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

While the wire harness is exactly what it should be, the plastic mounting tabs leave much to be desired. The install instructions state to mount each to the unit and secure with screws, However, there are no screws nor a place to screw to. I resorted to using hot glue which did the trick but considering this is a vehicle specific installation package, the design is greatly flawed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Crutchfield customer from Gladstone, MI on 12/30/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits and works properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A-OK!

Crutchfield customer from Essex, MD on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Item as described. Worked perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Direction were very vague. I had to call in for help. I also installed the incorrect bracket, just following instructions. Then had to remove it. Wire harness should have been pre-connected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't cut the horizontal tabs!!

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/13/2020

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The plastic brackets are awful. Not at all the solid, secure mount that you hope for. One tip to make it as secure as possible: when the directions tell you to cut off the unneeded tabs only cut off the VERTICAL part of the tabs. the horizontal part of the tabs actually provides a bit of stability. otherwise, the actual radio looks great in my '99 Wrangler.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Lawrence from Vienna, VA on 10/15/2018

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This made installation possible, but the process isn't well described. The instructions are pretty limited. I would recommend adding a description of how to secure the plastic brackets to the radio -- what hardware needs to be used and the process. Also recommend an approach for removing the tabs that aren't going to be used -- I used a Dremel tool to cut off the unused parts of the brackets per the instructions. Also, I would add some instructions on what needs to be done with the wiring package... where they connect on the radio and then what steps need to be taken to connect to the car wiring harness...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Crutchfield customer from Narberth, PA on 7/29/2018

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly for install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Terry from Little Rock, AR on 3/30/2018

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wiring harness' were fine. The plastic mounting brackets seems lacking and the instructions on how to use them are non-existant but I got through it and so far it is working perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Crutchfield customer from St John, IN on 10/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great, just wish wiring was labeled better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound 270-670 Installation Package

Crutchfield customer from Bergenfield, NJ on 8/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

the wiring didn't fit my application, although it said it did and I didn't know how to attach the brackets so I returned it all

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/21/2017
We're sorry you had problems with your install. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Install

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 7/11/2017

1998 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This installation package made the install a lot simpler. However you must read the instructions thoroughly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good product

Craig from Oakhurst, NJ on 6/12/2017

2000 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

All in all okay. But this is the second kit on two different make and model vehicles where I had to call for technical support. Both times due to the lack of notice that a un marked wire needed to be spliced into harness. A simple note in install directions is needed. If wire nuts were included it would be a much better product by saving that extra trip/purchase even for a dollar more.

Pros: Generally super straightforward install

Cons: Never a note about factory amp connection needed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Exact fit and clean wiring

Jacob from Gilbert, AZ on 4/2/2017

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the wire setup provided, much cleaner than most. I recommend using this over whatever you have- looks 100x better.

Pros: - Exact fit - Clean wiring

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Retrosound 270-670 installation package-

TNTPRICEIT from Iowa on 9/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this product is worthless. Doesn't work at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/30/2015
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll either help him get it working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

2 of 3 found this helpful

harness

harness from New York on 11/30/2014

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product fit my 2001 jeep as it would have when was new .

Pros: good fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound