Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
358 920 931 4
Connect ID #
358 920 931 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Digital media receiver for classic cars — does not play CDs (Black buttons)

MFR # HB-M2A

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Digital media receiver for classic cars — does not play CDs (Black buttons)

MFR # HB-M2A

201 reviews
View this product

Nice receiver for classic cars

Chris from Austin, TX on 11/14/2022

1979 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver is a great addition to my 1979 K5 Blazer fit perfectly with the original mounting configuration. Good sound powering my JBL 6x9's and 5 1/4's. The only reason i'm giving it 4 stars is navigating the menu is weird and wonky. Just have to get used to it and luckily only have to tune a few times to get it right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hermosa M2A

Gene from Beacon Falls, CT on 11/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything about the radio is good the adjustable shafts make it work in almost any car. What I didn't like was that the face plate for my car a triumph TR6 was just one big piece of plastic and you're supposed to cut it out to fit the car and it's very very difficult.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Robert from Tobyhanna, PA on 11/11/2022

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Would have been nice if in the description it was stated that the radio needs to be completely assembled. The base for the radio came in one box another for the buttons, faceplate and tuning knobs. The radio in the picture is totally assembled but its not shipped that way. Very disappointed when i opened the box, called for a return immediately.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Lauro from Edinburg, TX on 10/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WIRING HARNESS REQUIRES SPLICING

Will from St Louis, MO on 9/24/2022

1981 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You'll have to wire this in to your system yourself. Crutchfield does not supply wiring harness and the harness that comes with the unit requires splicing. NOT PLUG AND PLAY.

Pros: Shipped free (from manufacturer)

Cons: Crutchfield doesn't sell it - they have the manufacturer drop ship it. So - any problems (like the included wiring harness requiring re-wiring), they just pass you to the manufacturer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Died after about 20 uses

Mark from Glendale, AZ on 8/31/2022

1965 Chevrolet Corvair

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great while it worked. Unfortunately, only lasted about 20 uses in my garage kept classic car. Died outside of warranty and the company's only response was I could buy another. I think not.

Pros: Nice bezel -that's it.

Cons: Chintzy construction. Plastic radio body and ill fitting brackets.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great

John from Ferndale, MI on 8/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is such an improvement over the factory radio in my 1980 Corvette! The blue tooth streaming for music works great although I have not tried the phone yet. This thing almost has too much adjustability electronically. I printed a copy of the user manual to keep in my glove box. The only negative is the brightness of the display which gets completely washed out in day light. I haven't driven it at night yet, but I hear that it is too bright and needs to be dimmed. Overall, I am happy and would do it again.

Pros: sound great

Cons: Unreadable display in sun light.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Stereo

Douglas from Lexington, KY on 8/3/2022

1967 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a pretty easy install on my 1967 Mustang convertable. The sound is good but it's a bit complicated to set up and use.

Pros: Good sound, lots of features. Looks like the stock radio with the vinyl overlay I found online.

Cons: A bit complicated to set up and use. Seems to run a little warm.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love the Look and Sound!

Ken from Littleton, CO on 7/27/2022

1967 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a beautiful retro-looking bluetooth stereo! Took all day to install but looks great and sounds fantastic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Choice

Daniel from Grand Rapids , MI on 7/22/2022

1966 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice performance in a classic case. Bluetooth works well and sound output is adequate. Best of all looks good in our 66 Mustang

Pros: Looks good with old school styling. Easy to adjust and connect

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Missing Parts

Henry from BURLINGAME, CA on 7/16/2022

1973 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's missing parts. Specifically the radio knobs (rear knobs). Waiting on Crutchfield to make it right

Pros: Looks similar to original AM radio

Cons: Missing knobs

Crutchfield response on 7/18/2022
Our Customer Support team is working with RetroSound to get Henry the parts he needs. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away.

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Michael from Santee, CA on 7/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great looking stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Holly from Forney, TX on 7/12/2022

1978 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installing now and instructions easy to follow

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Vance from Danvers, IL on 7/11/2022

1970 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works ok. Seems a little cheap to be honest. I don't want to cut the dash for a newer radio or I would not have purchased this. Was replacing a Retrosound radio that was about 6 years old that had already stopped functioning

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT looks and good sound

Carl from Byron, GA on 6/26/2022

1978 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a PERFECT radio for my friend's 78 F100. There is a lot of adjustment, so it takes a while to get it installed properly. It went in and out several times to get it adjusted to fit properly. I had to use the faceplate off of the previous radio because the dash trim was cut out too much. But it looks GREAT! I put Pioneer 5-1/4" 3 way speakers in the doors, and a Pioneer underseat powered subwoofer. It has a good full sound and a lot of it in this standard cab truck.

Pros: Looks GREAT. Has a lot of nice features. Sounds good.

Cons: It takes a lot of time to get the fit correct. But patience pays off.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Wayne from Norfolk, NE on 5/31/2022

1968 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio is everything it said it is. Easy install and clear instructions. Very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cool idea, but fails over time.

Steve from NEW PLYMOUTH, ID on 5/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Initially impressed, it went together rather well and I needed the two shaft radio to fit the dash of my grandpa's old 1977 f150. This is something I've been planning on fixing up and restoring as I get closer to retirement. Unfortunately after a life of primarily sitting (it's a summer Sunday drive kind of car) it has become almost inoperable. The right shaft takes no input at all. You spin it and it beeps at every detent so it is reading it, but no values change. The left shaft intermittently works causing the volume to wig out. I would stay away. The ancient audiovox cassette deck I removed worked better then this did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic

Shane from Entiat, WA on 5/10/2022

1979 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second RetroSound radio. Very impressed. Setup at first is rough depending on vehicle install but very adjustable and not a design issue of RetroSound. Love the sound and updated technology with old school looks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1964 NOVA RADIO

Delmar from Cambridge, OH on 4/13/2022

1964 Chevrolet Nova

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

NICE RADIO AND FAIR PRICE.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Dennis from Aurora, IL on 4/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small compact radio fits in CJ 5 perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Huntington Station, NY on 3/30/2022

1987 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ribbon cable to faceplate is poorly made, be careful it will rip. looks nice though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

El Camino

Ernest from Riverside, CA on 3/19/2022

1967 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks fantastic. Just what I need for my 67 El Camino. Looks like an easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Casey from Fortville, IN on 3/6/2022

1964 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick shipping , easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Da Bump, Bump

Jimmy from Port Saint Joe, FL on 2/9/2022

1984 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love all the options of this radio. Easy hook up and great instruction

Pros: Small

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice radio

Brian from Tipton , IN on 1/19/2022

1979 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

5 stars for sound quality and features, 1 star for installation. Sounds way better than the 42 year old factory radio. Installation is not technically hard, just tedious. You don't need to be a genius, but it requires a lot of patience. If RM is reading this maybe when you order for your particular car, the shafts and brackets could be marked from the factory where the mounting nuts should go and you wouldn't have so much trial and error. If you have a large car or a truck it's probably not that big of a deal. On a 2nd gen TA or Camaro it's a pain.

Pros: Sounds great, looks good

Cons: Difficult to install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Melvin Alan from Dublin, GA on 1/12/2022

1981 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio with plenty of features

Pros: Factory look, don't have to alter dash

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

David from Oakdale, TN on 1/9/2022

1978 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

John from Red Hook, NY on 1/8/2022

1981 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome features great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

easy to install and use

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/6/2021

1980 Triumph TR8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

the install and assembly of this unit is simple. controls have nice quality feel to them.

Pros: controls are easy to use and feel solid

Cons: aligning the posts can be a hassle.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Santa Cruz, CA on 11/11/2021

1961 Chevrolet Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great in my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works but does not fit stock opening

Crutchfield customer from Smithtown, NY on 11/8/2021

1960 Chevrolet Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed and it performs as expected. Still need to figure out all of the functions. Not happy with the way it looks in the dash. I received a rubberized surround for the face of the radio, but it was not big enough to cover my stock opening in my 1960 Chevy pickup. I used another surround I had from an older radio behind the one provided, but it doesn't help as much as expected. See the gaps in the picture attached.

Pros: Sounds good, great options, blue tooth ready...

Cons: Does not fit opening as expected.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Bartow, FL on 10/31/2021

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio is awesome fit just right on my 1986 C-10 like a glove.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

Crutchfield customer from Statesville, NC on 10/30/2021

1957 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Assembly is required but it fits nicely. Radio sounds really good, but you need to print operating manual and keep it in car until you familiarize yourself with radio.

Pros: Fits great sounds good.

Cons: Complicated to use

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Boonsboro, MD on 10/26/2021

1970 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Going by the the description and physically inspecting the equipment it look like a quality product. I have not seen it operationally as this is a Christmas gift. I will have to wait till then to see how well it performs.

Pros: very adaptable

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Shirley, NY on 10/22/2021

1970 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks good

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 10/16/2021

1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks good and good fit. Assembly was not as difficult as other would have you believe.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 10/6/2021

1987 Chevrolet R Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks and sounds great in my 1987 Chevy truck. Easy to install and tons of adjustability to make it fit perfectly in the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

missing screws

Crutchfield customer from Glencoe, MN on 10/2/2021

1969 Mercury Montego

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

install was straight forward and it looked real nice installed. Functions well. only issue was that the 4 screws that are supposed to hold the face unit to the functional end were not in the box, so i had to run to town and find screws...not a huge deal, but little annoying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

67 mustang

Crutchfield customer from Layton, UT on 9/24/2021

1967 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit well in my 67 mustang, quick delivery, good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

New sounds in a 1954 Chevy Belair

Crutchfield customer from Saluda, VA on 9/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding radio in all aspects. Well constructed with multiple features that we all want. Once put in place and connected I know I'll be listening to crystal clear music with all the highs and loudness together with the deep rich sounds of bass that will make it the hit at all the car swaps.

Pros: Looks, features, easy installation.

Cons: Requires several tries to get the shafts lined up just right.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Evanston, IL on 9/13/2021

1978 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great looks, fits in car, my 1978 Chevy Camaro Z28. Really completes the new sound system and makes speakers sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Sandy Hook, CT on 9/12/2021

1978 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Shape looking old style radio with decent sound. Easy install

Pros: Easy install Easy instructions to follow

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 8/29/2021

1972 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this radio to replace the previous retrosound radio with much hesitation since the first one only lasted about 12months if that.I didn't what to cut my dash ,I thought about saving a couple hundred dollars and buy a Sony radio and stick it under the seat or in the glove box , I wish I had ,I don't know why they can't make a radio at this price that sounds as good as a $100 , I thought that since it had been about 10 yrs since I bought the last one there would be a big improvement ,I was wrong , anyone looking for one of these classic style radios I would strongly suggest a good aftermarket amp to improve the sound quality.

Pros: Features

Cons: Price,sound quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield for the WIN!

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mills, WI on 8/16/2021

1960 Ford Falcon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product is an AMAZING radio. I've been car audio for decades and this design and versatility is a game changer for classic car owners. Team this with Crutchfield advisor recommended speakers for the WIN!

Pros: Multiple options for install and look

Cons: Time consuming to install and wiring can be tricky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not a perfect fit.

Crutchfield customer from Tomahawk, WI on 8/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Said it was a perfect fit? 1/4" gap on each side total 1/2". I decided to send back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Harrisville, WV on 8/14/2021

1976 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had a spare dash to adjust it to fit in my car if not might still be working on it. sounds and looks good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 8/11/2021

1979 Mercedes-Benz 450SL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice radio. Lots of features, and very user friendly. Had to get a professional to install on my Mercedes 450sl, because I didn't have the tools to cut and adjust the faceplate. Love the look and performance!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor Service and Reliability

David from OXNARD on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased a Retro Sound radio about a year and a half ago. Put it in, worked well. Remote Control had issues so i didnt bother with it. Now it will load, and play AM, FM, USB but I get no sound. Checked my wiring, all good. Spindle controls just spin and nothing. Tried to get in touch with the Manufacturer and got no response after several tries. This unit has no warranty. If the unit has been used, etc. then your just out of luck. There is nothing lower than 1 star so that's as low as I can rate it. I plan to tell most everyone in my vintage VW club and sister clubs about this. I am pulling this unit and going to another manufacturer who does have technical assistance, AND a two year warranty.

Pros: Not much

Cons: Lack of tech service, no customer support, its a dead lump in the dash of my VW Karman Ghis

Crutchfield response on 8/10/2021
David, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Fleetwood, PA on 8/3/2021

1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Terrific sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio has all the functions I wanted and looks period correct. The buttons and dial are a little small for the opening that it is suppose to fit in

Pros: All the modern day features,

Cons: display is too small for the opening

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Pass Christian, MS on 6/19/2021

1965 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent radio. nice look in a 64.5 Mustang, stream via Bluetooth and hands free calling is nice. Installation is fairly straight forward and setup was nice! Faceplate choices need to be a little wider and taller to cover the opening in a Single DIN modified vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just as descrbed

Crutchfield customer from Big Lake, AK on 6/15/2021

1969 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent, extremely versatile mounting, I'm in restoring my car so haven't turned it on yet.

Pros: Very universal

Cons: Be nice if there were indicating marks for adjusting the mounts but all and all good radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, CA on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm totally satisfied with my purchase.and experience.I wouldn't shop for any thing else audio,other than crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Edgewood, NM on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installation was a snap,and I am electronicaly challanged.

Pros:

Cons: could eleminate some of the wires on the back of the radio,not needed on my 73 cougar

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Cantonment, FL on 5/9/2021

1985 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install in my 85 Chevy C10.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluetooth in my Corvette!

Andrew from Saint Paul on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio has great features & looks for a classic car. I installed in my 70's Corvette. It doesn't look totally stock, but close enough for me. The installation instructions could be a little better, but it was fairly simple to do. I primarily use the Bluetooth feature for radio, map directions and hands free calling. There have been no issues with connectivity. One downside is that the unit has no built in memory, so if you disconnect your battery (which is often in a classic car), you'll wipe all your presets.

Pros: The unit is one-size fits all, which is great but also means you'll need to do a bit of wrangling to get it installed properly. Bluetooth features are a big plus and work flawlessly.

Cons: no onboard memory, which means all presets are deleted when removed from the car battery.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Francesville, IN on 5/2/2021

1965 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent and easy to install if you take your time.

Pros: Easy install,looks great, parts awesome

Cons: Mount for left knob needed modified to fit past dash bezel on my 65 GTO.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 4/18/2021

1964 Triumph Spitfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived damaged

Pros: Seemed to work OK and looks good in the car but can't, give it a good review until I can get a reply on the damage.

Cons: Damaged and instructions were not as clear as I have seen from other manufactures.

Crutchfield response on 4/27/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet and Easy

Crutchfield customer from Cottonwood, AZ on 4/6/2021

1990 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this in a 1990 Toyota pickup. Following the instructions was a breeze and it went great. Very pleased with the performance and sound. Would recommend to anyone looking for that retro, two-post look.

Pros: Lots of options. Hint (line it up with your old radio for set up)

Cons: I took my time and fixed a bunch of wiring, took 3 hrs. Not bad tho.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Kalispell, MT on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very cool unit, could be built a bit more solid but looks great once installed and has everything I wanted for features.

Pros: Great features, stylish and fits right in with my 66 Volvo

Cons: Plastics seem a bit brittle

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Guest from Westland, MI on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hello. I purchased the retro sound hermosa 2 and installed it yesterday.the radio turned out beautiful looking.the only hard part was adjusting the tuner knobs front to back and sides to fit my application but that is the reason I purchased a one size fits all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Rocky Mount, VA on 3/18/2021

1972 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product.

Pros: Easy to install. Looks great in my 72 Monte Carlo

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Stanton, KY on 3/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome look and sound!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great looking OEM style Radio!

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 3/8/2021

1979 Oldsmobile Cutlass Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Almost TOO customizable! LoL! It took MULTIPLE tries/adjustments to get the original fit! Had to use washers as spacers and cut the brackets to fit correctly. Radio itself is pretty Awesome! Easily connects to your phone, and really nice chrome finish!

Pros: OEM Look with modern features!

Cons: LOTS of fitment tries needing adjustments for button protrusion, radio face protrusion out of the factory space. Took me like 12-15 "installs" to get the adjustments right.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New Sound for an Old Car

Crutchfield customer from Nazareth, PA on 3/1/2021

1962 Chevrolet Nova

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit and sounds great with the amp and speaker combination. Support was a great help to complete the wiring.

Pros: Sound is incredible.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Michael from Woodstock, VA on 2/28/2021

1976 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product works but the knobs do not fit properly. They fall off constantly. I would not recommend this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Patrick from LONGWOOD, FL on 2/18/2021

1978 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really cool head unit! Looks completely at home in my 78 trans am. Tons of options for display and sound, and really flexible install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Old school looks + modern tech. = Awesome.

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 2/11/2021

1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Hermosa from Retrosound plays amazingly well and has great features, I installed the unit without an amp and the sound quality is clear, crisp, and without distortion at higher volume. If you want a system that thumps add the amp and this unit would be a great choice! Also The faceplate and overall appearance is a perfect match to my 68 Camaro, I included a photo.

Pros: Great sound, great looks, great value!

Cons: It requires some thought and patience to set the depth and spread of the shafts. It's worth it!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, IL on 1/31/2021

1983 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome set up looks almost like factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good radio for 71' VW Super Beetle

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in my 1971 VW Super Beetle. Overall this RetroSound Hermosa M2 radio operates /works great. This radio fits great into my bug. I also bought a "RetroSound 402-292 Dash Kit" to support the install. But the dash kit did not come with any instruction to help explain how to the 2 Metal brackets (DIN repair kit) or how to place them within my vehicle. I called tech /customer support and the representative was trying to find more information for the metal brackets but, had no luck finding anything on his computer system so it was a guessing game after that. I was able to kinda figure it out but I'm still unsure if I did it correctly but It install and the radio is up and running.

Pros: Nice looking radio works great.

Cons: Needs more detail instructions for a 1971 VW Super Beetle and the supporting dash kit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 1/11/2021

1972 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great fit and look. Easy to install myself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 1/10/2021

1985 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfectly in our Jeep

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works Great!

Crutchfield customer from Wellfleet, MA on 12/28/2020

1984 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Takes a little test fitting and adjusting but I didn't have to modify my dashboard or wiring. Reception and wi fi are great. Looks like the original radio.

Pros: Didn't have to modify my dashboard to install

Cons: Takes a little fitting and finagle but not difficult

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Swisher, IA on 12/20/2020

1978 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit without cutting and dash

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Recommend

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the look, installation was harder than expected positioning the knobs to match the deph necessary

Pros: Clean factory look

Cons: Pricy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from New Milford, CT on 12/10/2020

1980 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks and fits great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

David from TORONTO, OH on 11/29/2020

1957 Chevrolet Bel Air

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a perfect fit for my 1957 Belair. The sound is unbelievable! Very easy to install. Perfect original equipment look.

Pros: Very easy install. Look is perfect retro original.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Redmond, OR on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is adjustable making it easy to fit any application. Pretty good sound too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 11/13/2020

1957 Chevrolet 210

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio is nice and compact easy to install in dashes that don't have a lot of room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Afton, VA on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks very similar to my old one in my '78

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

John from MARIETTA, GA on 11/1/2020

1972 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put this in my 1972 Chevelle Malibu convertible. Fairly easy to install. I'd say the most difficult part was the fitment and mounting, mainly because you lose the bulkiness of the factory unit to attach to the dash, but there is mounting hardware included. Sounds great with 2 speakers(front and rear) and 40w pushing each one. The unit produces more than enough sound to fill the cabin so you can jam out to whatever tunes you like. The Hermosa looks great and you can change the background LED colors to match the interior lights.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, even in an old classic Jaguar. Finally I can hear music from the radio or from my phone through bluetooth. The bluetooth phone receives and transmits very clearly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great look. Great Sound

Reed from GREENWOOD, SC on 10/28/2020

1970 MG MGB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After many years of installing various modern radios in my 1970 MGB I decided to go with a vintage look. I was able to source original buttons and faceplate for my radio. Even though Crutchfield supplied new buttons and faceplate for free I wanted the exact factory look. I also bought the long cable kit so I could put the main unit in a better place behind the dash. That way I could get a perfect flush fit with the face and controls. It took time to install everything but it looks stock. All it needs is a label that says British Motor Corporation and you wouldn't know the difference. I almost had an original radio rebuilt with modern guts but it was double the price. The controls are easier to use than most factory and aftermarket units I have had in the past.

Pros: Factory look

Cons: Take your time for best results

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

'72 javelin

Crutchfield customer from Green Sea, SC on 9/14/2020

1972 AMC Javelin

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this product is great for vintage cars and offers USB options. wish it played CD s. only negative is that the functions are difficult to deal with and the screen is small and difficult to read.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Mount Joy, PA on 9/9/2020

1971 Cadillac Eldorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered this radio to update the radio that was in my 1971 Cadillac Eldorado (am/fm 8-track cb). Took my time installing it and everything works great! Took a while to get used to the controls and many features, but now it is like riding a bike to use it. I enjoy the USB feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great option

Crutchfield customer from Rome, NY on 8/24/2020

1976 Pontiac Catalina

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice option for older cars. Sounds great, looks pretty good. Many input options, easy to pair Bluetooth. Kind of like an erector set to put together. Accessing many options (fader, treble, etc) involves many button pushes and navigating through menus. Overall I am happy with it.

Pros: looks, sound, connectivity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, CO on 8/17/2020

1973 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works welling my 1973 F-250 . Went into place with no hassle. I did have change the size of my speaker wire for a little pice of mind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Justin from ELKTON, MD on 8/6/2020

1990 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well made radio, was able to fit it to my 1990 ranger with the din repair kit and plain faceplate to give it a stock look with new technology. Wiring harness adapters made the install quick and easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install with awesome sound

Chad R from Grand Forks, ND on 8/1/2020

1966 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just purchased this item last week and finally installed the unit in my 1996 Ford Mustang Coupe. Phenomenal Sound and power. I'm running a 4 speaker system and the BT connection to my Apple Music files through my phone is very effective and the sound is high performing. I purchased some JBL 3 way speakers and in combination with this head unit it's an awesome sound system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Johnny from Madison, Alabama on 7/31/2020

1979 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the fit and the look in my 79 Vette. But, I don't know about the quality, it cuts in and out while listening to the radio. other than it cutting in and out (Which is annoying) it looks good. Bluetooth and USB seems to connect fine. its out of warranty so I know that I cant get any help from Retrosound

Pros: Looks good, easy to install.

Cons: Not sure about the quality, sound cuts in and out.

Crutchfield response on 8/3/2020
Johnny, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Troutville, VA on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome product. The customer service was amazing trying to integrate this to the system in my 1970 Mustang.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Parrish, FL on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I didn't have a lot of options for a 1970 Mustang, so I bought this with a little terpitude. It was easy to install and has the options that I wanted in a radio. Happy so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

FANTASTIC RADIO !!!!!

Crutchfield customer from BEAVER DAM, WI on 7/19/2020

1963 Chevrolet Nova

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just an all around GREAT receiver !!! Installation is simple as are the features and controls. Nothing complicated to wast time on. Fit was perfect in my 1963 Nova SS using the available and FREE faceplate. Sound is absoloutely FANTASTIC. You will not be disapointed with this unit !!! You get what you pay for and this radio is worth every penny !!!

Pros: Perfect fit - AWESOME SOUND !!!

Cons: None. Couldn't be more pleased !!!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

KENT from TACOMA, WA on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and fit for my 1970 VW Karmann Ghia. Seems pretty easy to use and Bluetooth works good. Needed a different faceplate than recommended bY retrosound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Some modifications required

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 6/28/2020

1969 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replacing the original stereo in my 69' Tbird. Was hoping it would fit and match to the original. The faceplate bezel needed to be trimmed to allow clearance for the knobs( see pic). I'll probably trim the rest of the faceplate to match or fabricate my own (if I had know, I might have gone with regular din radio: more features, more power, less expensive) Functionality wise it seems fine. Bluetooth connected with no problem. Knobs are a bit sensitive especially the tuner. Sounds good though.

Pros: Good sound. Easy installation. Lots of connection options.

Cons: Faceplate needed to be trimmed (will trim more then repaint). Knob controls are extremely sensitive and takes a bit to get use to.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replacement of a little used model that went bad

Crutchfield customer from Ferndale, WA on 6/15/2020

1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Gave it a 3 rating because it is a full cost (to me) replacement of an older model that had very little use

Pros:

Cons: Use for maybe 3 hours in 5 years. out of warranty.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great service very friendly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Expensive and you have to assemble it......

Crutchfield customer from Piney Flats, TN on 6/1/2020

1977 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Expensive and you have to assemble it......... Not the quality I expected at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Head Unit with a Classic Look

Jason from WOODLAND, CA on 5/26/2020

1977 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit! The "infinite adjustability" shafts took a few tries in and out of the truck to get aligned perfectly, but very happy with the end result.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Custom fit 86 c10

Crutchfield customer from Hortense, GA on 5/24/2020

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding radio! Paired it with Rockford 6x9s.

Pros: Alot of functions for old truck.Can be mounted several different ways. Good power to speaker.

Cons: Takes several test fits to get it set in dash the way you want it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Maumelle, AR on 5/17/2020

1979 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Stereo looks and sounds great in my 79 Ford F100 Custom. Installation was fairly easy. I would definitely recommend this stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, TX on 5/7/2020

1986 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Save your time and money.

Pros: It does turn on and play music,

Cons: You have to fully assemble, and dosen't even come close to fitting right.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 4/28/2020

1978 Oldsmobile Delta 88

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent Deck unit

Pros: Fits perfect in your dash

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 4/23/2020

1951 Chevrolet Deluxe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small. Easy fit inside glove box to keep it hidden (1951 Chevy Coupe) Directions are good and clear. Programming is easy as well.

Pros: Compact. Decent price. Good instructions. Easy to install with basic wiring knowledge

Cons: Wish online description clearly stated that knobs are sold separately so I could have saved on shipped. No big deal tho.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Sutter Creek, CA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, looks natural in the dash, and installation wasn't to hard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Purchased Two RS Hermosas for my Classic Cars, Easy to Install and Use

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 4/13/2020

1969 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second Retro Sound Hermosa that I have purchased in the last two years. First one is in my 70 Mustang Sportsroof, this one going in 69 Camaro. They work well, are relatively simple to operate, and fit the dash like a factory radio. Really like the Bluetooth sync, as holding a cell phone while steering and shifting a manual transmission is too much. I put the mic on the steering column, which works well.

Pros: Bluetooth, Easy to Install and Use

Cons: While Display Graphics are Legible, They Appear Dated

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

retrosound 1974 olds omega

Crutchfield customer from Preston, MD on 4/12/2020

1974 Oldsmobile Omega

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product, looks great, easy to use sounds great

Pros: looks nice, sounds great, easy to use

Cons: no real cons, set up of radio knob placement for correct fit to the most time in installation, but not to bad at all

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 3/19/2020

1966 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install into a 1966 Mustang. Love all of the plug-in wiring harnesses!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

So far, so good

Crutchfield customer from Midway Park, NC on 3/12/2020

1983 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice upgrade to the last Retrospund I had. Crutchfield should contact me after a year for a true review. I've had it for a week, but so far it works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mixed

Wallace from LUBBOCK, TX on 2/27/2020

1988 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have mixed thoughts whether or not I like this radio. Its a definite upgrade from my old, non-functioning, radio. Install and wiring was easy. Programming functions are easy to get the hang of. The sound quality is good. I am by no means an audiophile. However, I am having issues with the volume knob. Seems, intermittently, the radio will turn down the volume on its own. I have to turn the unit off then back on to get normal function of the volume knob. We will see how the warranty process goes on this particular repair. My review will be updated. I'm 110% sure if I have issues with warranty, it wont be because of Crutchfield.

Pros: Direct fit. Good looks.

Cons: Cost.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 2/19/2020

1974 BMW 2002

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo. Works just as I need it (streaming via bluetooth) and fits in with my interior. Easy installation as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Concord, CA on 1/30/2020

1970 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great choice for my classic VW. Original look with all the goodies. Simple to operate. Puts out plenty of power. No need for an amplifier. Install was a little tricky, but well worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 1/29/2020

1983 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install. Retro look is perfect with ability to add additional devices

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect style and fit.

Crutchfield customer from Kingstree, SC on 1/27/2020

1981 Chevrolet Berlinetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was for an '81 Camaro. Great radio. Classic appearances with modern elements. Easy installation and good range of adjustability.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great. Has flaws.

Glenn from Canton, GA on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have one major problem with this radio. I disconnect my battery on my classic car during storage. This is unacceptable in an age of very cheap non-volatile storage. When I return this radio has forgotten all the programming. Putting it back requires 15 minutes and the user manual because it is so complicated. Once programmed up, it works as I had expected.

Pros: Original look Good reception and sound.

Cons: Loses all programming when you disconnect battery. Hard to use. Too many features crammed onto too few controls. Difficult to read display behind factory-look decal.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Mequon, WI on 12/14/2019

1975 Jaguar XKE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent solution to modern technology in vintage applications. Works great and looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Classic radio looks will all the modern features.

Crutchfield customer from Crawford, NE on 11/9/2019

1972 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great reciever, lots of features and look great in our 72 Chevelle. Our dash was cut out wide so we ordered a repair kit from Jegs for this radio and everything came together nicely. Ordered the stick on screen protector that says Chevelle, everything looks good. Had everything I needed to install, as always Crutchfield is Awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Battle Ground, WA on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfect and looks great.

Pros:

Cons: Face plate was not fun to cut off and dress up.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect fit!

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 9/19/2019

1966 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely perfect! Easily installed and the included bezel and knobs make it look like it was factory.

Pros: Perfect fit! Great sound! The look is amazing!

Cons: Would be nice to have a separate subwoofer output

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos, CA on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Going to look great in my scout.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from King George, VA on 9/1/2019

1967 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit. The only knock on it is that because it is meant to be universal the instructions are...light on detail. As it comes drop shipped from the manufacturer I did not receive the level of detail with installation instructions I've become accustomed to from Crutchfield. In my case I needed an extra pair of hands and at least one other brain to make it all work. The head unit itself performs well and operates as advertised. The buttons and knobs require a bit of getting used to but it definitely works and looks great!

Pros: Operates and looks great

Cons: Instructions are lacking and require lots of DIY work for older models.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A must for your old ride!

Crutchfield customer from Erie, PA on 8/31/2019

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product is beyond what I expected. Many options and quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Mokena, IL on 7/21/2019

1979 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is awesome , fit without cutting my 79 z28 dash , worth the money !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, CA on 7/19/2019

1975 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My son in restoring his great grandfathers 75 c10 pickup . It has virgin interior and we wanted to keep it that way .. the Hermosa M2 is the perfect choice . No need to cut up the dash to make modern sound fit the truck . It is truly the best of both world . Factory look with today's capabilities. I like the Bluetooth feature the best .. the fit of this system is amazing . I couldn't be happier

Pros: Fit and Finish is great .. operates as it should and with no problems

Cons: Have t really found any yet .. install if anything . But as this is our first stereo install I'd say our inexperience was the problem. But with the information provided we figured it out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 7/19/2019

1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is everything I needed. Good quality sound and all the tech extras with a look that maintains the old school feel of the car. Its perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good quality upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 7/15/2019

1987 Chevrolet R Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits good in my 87 suburban. I used my old radio as a template to get the radio pretty close to set up and then just minor adjustments to get it perfect. Shipping from the manufacturer was fast my only gripe was I never got a tracking number

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Retrosound Hermosa 2

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, OH on 7/11/2019

1972 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Stereo came packaged well, works and plays as advertised. Great looking and makes my truck look great inside. Only suggestion I would make is the brackets how they mount into the dash due to the factory holes. Very difficult to mount them.

Pros: Functions are easy to use

Cons: Mounting Brackets and way they go.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Modern Function with Retro Look

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 7/3/2019

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am so happy with this product! The install was easy for my 1986 Chevrolet C10 truck. Looks stock but works better than the radio in my other modern vehicles.

Pros: Great fit, simple wiring, amazing look and function

Cons: Getting knobs aligned was a bit challenging but not bad

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Decent sound

Ron from Irving, TX on 6/7/2019

1971 Pontiac Grand Ville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Still had to cut dash plate to install , Thanks god I found a decent used one so cut instead of original plate. Need a little more sound have Rockford Fosgate 6x9`s in rear deck and 6 inchs in kick panels. the poor sound has to be in my speaker choices I am hoping

Pros: Very cool design

Cons: not as much sound as I was hoping for and had to cut dash plate to install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, IN on 6/6/2019

1987 Chevrolet R Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This system works great and is easy to learn. I've only been using it for a few days. No complaints.

Pros: Easy, flexible install in my C20.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound and features. Vehicle specific instructions needed.

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 5/30/2019

1969 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No specific instructions, photos, tips, or drawings on installing the radio in a 67-72 Chevy truck. Just generic info. Fore and aft side bracket adjustment is very limited. In-line fuse is so close to radio that I would have to pull out my AC/heater control panel to replace it. Rear knobs did not fit snugly on shafts. Only saving grace is the radio sounds good, has tons of configuration options, and Bluetooth works great. BTW, I have installed at least a dozen aftermarket radios in 60-80s cars and trucks, and this was the most challenging job yet.

Pros: Sound quality and features

Cons: No vehicle-specific instructions. Sloppy rear knob fit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Hallock, MN on 5/30/2019

1957 Chevrolet 210

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really like this radio. Easy to install and operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Emmett, ID on 4/17/2019

1987 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I haven't installed it yet but hope it works. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Wildomar, CA on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The stereo is a little difficult to put together but once you get it figured out it looks good, trying to figure out how to go through the modes with the book they give you is a little rough also but you can work through it too, once you get it set it sounds great !

Pros: Looks and sounds great

Cons: A little rough to get set up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Dillsboro, IN on 3/19/2019

1985 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install into 85 Chevy pickup. Sound great and Bluetooth connected with no issues. Looks like the original with the addition of the screen decals

Pros: Came with everything needed to install. Even recommended cable adapters for speaker connections so no splicing wires

Cons: Having trouble setting tuner to manual mode and setting presets, probably just need to read instructions closer

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 3/10/2019

1969 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, looks great in my daughters '69 C10. I thought it came with screen protectors but it didn't. Thanks Crutchfield! Made my daughters day!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great fit

Michael from Gatesville, TX on 2/20/2019

1971 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product fornhard to fit vehicles

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Chugiak, AK on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks good. Have not heard it yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Chuck from Titus, AL on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with the purchase. River, my advisor gave me a good recommendation on speakers. System went in good. Looks great

Pros: No regrets do same thing again

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Hemet, CA on 1/13/2019

1970 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Shipped fast, easy to install, works great. Good if you are trying to keep the original look for your car, but if that doesnt matter to you its best to buy a regular stereo to install. You would get all the same features for 1/3 the cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does not read/play USB MP3's as expected!

Matthew from Long Island, NY on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Options are limited for old vehicles where you want to retain a two post look. Retrosound certainly does us all a great service. I installed a Retrosound Model II (similar to the Hermosa) on my 1978 International Harvester Scout II Terra. Everything works good. HOWEVER!!!! My one huge complaint is the way it reads MP3 files from the USB. Most every player, receiver, stereo, etc will play the files in alpha/numeric order. You would be able to navigate a file/folder tree. Not with the Retrosound. For some bizarre reason, their stereo plays the songs in the order of file creation. This is completely useless. I have emailed them about this. They feel this is a reasonable way to playback the files. It of course is not. Maybe they will make an update in the future but my Model II from 2015 is file creation date only!

Pros: Looks nice. Factory vintage look! Very versatile for installation options.

Cons: The way it plays MP3 files via USB is a total waste. Since the USB can't accept a smartphone, I'm not sure what it's there for. I have never heard of anything playing songs in file creation order!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best options for older vehicles

Curtis B from Mendenhall, MS on 11/25/2018

1982 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio. Closet radio I could find to a stock looking unit. Plays my iPhone with Bluetooth , USB memory stick. Great sounding Bluetooth for cell phone calls. Also charges your iPhone. Only thing you can't do is play music through the iPhone. That's no problem since it does everything else. Perfect radio for my 1982 Mustang GT.

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Sunman, IN on 11/6/2018

1971 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it! Fits very well ,looks great and sounds better!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Super solution for classic car tunes

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, NC on 11/4/2018

1982 Jeep CJ5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great solution for classic car radio without butchering your dash. Looks nice and works well. Blue tooth operation great for hands free and streaming Only downside knob placement didn't allow for faceplate and install down on an angle to make fit.

Pros: Fits in classic car dash opening Sounds great Blue tooth great function

Cons: Depending on your knob holes may not be able to use face plate Once tightened had to install on an angle downward

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Severna Park, MD on 10/9/2018

1983 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, MA on 9/4/2018

1973 Pontiac Grand Ville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pumped about this radio. Ingenious attention to details. Whoever wrote the installation manual should get a pat on the back. He talks with examples. If your doing this it's like doing that awesome. Tyler is my go to , he gets it . Very happy with Crutchfield. Ordering Infinity speakers for my new Silverado when I finish this. I like to drive with my windows open, so the Infinitys should put me over the top without adding an amp. But if I need one I know we're I'm going

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Really like this company

Troy from Escondido, CA on 8/20/2018

1975 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picked this unit up after a "scuff and shoot" repaint on our 75 chevy silverado dump run truck. Coupled this with two JVC 6X9 speakers. This unit requires a bit of assembly but, the instructions are outstanding!! For an old school in dash stereo this is a real nice unit. Does everything you'd expect from a modern cars sound system. The bluetooth features for music and telephone are awesome. I'm going to buy another Hermosa for our old 66 chevy car. Retrosound has their act together.

Pros: Bluetooth features are way easier then old school tapes and/or CD's. Hands free telephone calls, lots of options.

Cons: Takes some assembly and in and out of the vehicle to get adjustments right. Take your time and you'll be very happy with the results.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice direct-fit radio for an old classic

Mark from Spencer, IN on 8/13/2018

1971 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just got this radio installed in my 1971 Chevy C10 pickup. As others have said, it was a bit of a pain to get the knobs set where they needed to be, but not too bad. Getting them in the right place left to right was pretty easy. What took more time was getting them to stick out the right amount so the knobs looked good against the faceplate. The instructions weren't very good for where the spacers and shaft covers went, but I understand this stereo fits MANY different vehicles, and they will all be a little different in how they mount, so I understand it would be tough to describe every different setup option. Features seem to be great. I loaded all my "Road music" onto a USB drive and plugged it in before starting it up. The stereo paired quickly with my phone and seem to work great. Music plays well through the Bluetooth, and making calls was a breeze. The Microphone clip pops off so I just attached the flat portion to the top of my steering column. Would have been nice if they would have supplied some double face tape to do that like the Pioneer I bought for my other car did, but we had some good weatherstrip tape laying around that worked well. Overall,... no real issues or complaints. It took a little bit to get used to what the knobs and buttons do, but the manual described that pretty well. Pretty happy with this little stereo. As they tell you, the shafts can't support the weight of the stereo, so you have to use the strap they provide to support the bac

Pros: Nice adjustability for good fit Nice features Knobs match perfectly with rest of the truck

Cons: None so far. Shafts took a bit of time to get set right, but that was expected to be able to fit so many different vehicles.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Retro Sound

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, VA on 8/11/2018

1977 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The retro look is great for my 77 Ford F100. I am glad that I found this radio.

Pros: Retro look

Cons: Small size

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Good product

Marc from Merritt Island, FL on 8/2/2018

1967 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Packaging was top notch, came with everything to install in my 1967 VW beetle. Impressive features, I'm pleased. Sound quality was as expected, no problems. The Crutchfield installation sheet was of no use to me, it was too generic.

Pros: Nice features

Cons: Big blob of wires hang out the back, pricey.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Ramona, CA on 7/18/2018

1981 Jeep CJ5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, knobs are on the cheap side. No instructions on steroids operation, a little pricey for what you get

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

David from Irving, TX on 6/23/2018

1967 Chevrolet Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really like the looks and quality of the radio haven't installed yet but instructions look pretty simple to connect wiring.

Pros: I like the nobs and the fact that I will be able to connect with Bluetooth devices.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 6/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did everything is was supposed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

RENE from Wesley Chapel, FL on 5/27/2018

1984 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome product. Looks amazing and sounds even better. Can't go wrong with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2A

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 5/1/2018

1970 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced the radio in my '70 El Camino with this unit. Instructions and wire labeling were excellent. Went in easily (had the dash out), fit well and fired up perfectly first time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful