Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
055 267 252 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
055 267 252 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Digital media receiver for classic cars — does not play CDs (Ivory buttons)

MFR # Hermosa IVO

RetroSound Hermosa M2

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Digital media receiver for classic cars — does not play CDs (Ivory buttons)

MFR # Hermosa IVO

108 reviews
View this product

RetroSound Hermosa M2

KENT from TACOMA, WA on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and fit for my 1970 VW Karmann Ghia. Seems pretty easy to use and Bluetooth works good. Needed a different faceplate than recommended bY retrosound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Some modifications required

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 6/28/2020

1969 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing the original stereo in my 69' Tbird. Was hoping it would fit and match to the original. The faceplate bezel needed to be trimmed to allow clearance for the knobs( see pic). I'll probably trim the rest of the faceplate to match or fabricate my own (if I had know, I might have gone with regular din radio: more features, more power, less expensive) Functionality wise it seems fine. Bluetooth connected with no problem. Knobs are a bit sensitive especially the tuner. Sounds good though.

Pros: Good sound. Easy installation. Lots of connection options.

Cons: Faceplate needed to be trimmed (will trim more then repaint). Knob controls are extremely sensitive and takes a bit to get use to.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replacement of a little used model that went bad

Crutchfield customer from Ferndale, WA on 6/15/2020

1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave it a 3 rating because it is a full cost (to me) replacement of an older model that had very little use

Pros:

Cons: Use for maybe 3 hours in 5 years. out of warranty.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service very friendly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Expensive and you have to assemble it......

Crutchfield customer from Piney Flats, TN on 6/1/2020

1977 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expensive and you have to assemble it......... Not the quality I expected at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Head Unit with a Classic Look

Jason from WOODLAND, CA on 5/26/2020

1977 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit! The "infinite adjustability" shafts took a few tries in and out of the truck to get aligned perfectly, but very happy with the end result.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Custom fit 86 c10

Crutchfield customer from Hortense, GA on 5/24/2020

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding radio! Paired it with Rockford 6x9s.

Pros: Alot of functions for old truck.Can be mounted several different ways. Good power to speaker.

Cons: Takes several test fits to get it set in dash the way you want it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Maumelle, AR on 5/17/2020

1979 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo looks and sounds great in my 79 Ford F100 Custom. Installation was fairly easy. I would definitely recommend this stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, TX on 5/7/2020

1986 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Save your time and money.

Pros: It does turn on and play music,

Cons: You have to fully assemble, and dosen't even come close to fitting right.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 4/28/2020

1978 Oldsmobile Delta 88

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Deck unit

Pros: Fits perfect in your dash

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 4/23/2020

1951 Chevrolet Deluxe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small. Easy fit inside glove box to keep it hidden (1951 Chevy Coupe) Directions are good and clear. Programming is easy as well.

Pros: Compact. Decent price. Good instructions. Easy to install with basic wiring knowledge

Cons: Wish online description clearly stated that knobs are sold separately so I could have saved on shipped. No big deal tho.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Sutter Creek, CA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, looks natural in the dash, and installation wasn't to hard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Purchased Two RS Hermosas for my Classic Cars, Easy to Install and Use

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 4/13/2020

1969 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second Retro Sound Hermosa that I have purchased in the last two years. First one is in my 70 Mustang Sportsroof, this one going in 69 Camaro. They work well, are relatively simple to operate, and fit the dash like a factory radio. Really like the Bluetooth sync, as holding a cell phone while steering and shifting a manual transmission is too much. I put the mic on the steering column, which works well.

Pros: Bluetooth, Easy to Install and Use

Cons: While Display Graphics are Legible, They Appear Dated

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

retrosound 1974 olds omega

Crutchfield customer from Preston, MD on 4/12/2020

1974 Oldsmobile Omega

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, looks great, easy to use sounds great

Pros: looks nice, sounds great, easy to use

Cons: no real cons, set up of radio knob placement for correct fit to the most time in installation, but not to bad at all

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 3/19/2020

1966 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install into a 1966 Mustang. Love all of the plug-in wiring harnesses!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far, so good

Crutchfield customer from Midway Park, NC on 3/12/2020

1983 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade to the last Retrospund I had. Crutchfield should contact me after a year for a true review. I've had it for a week, but so far it works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mixed

Wallace from LUBBOCK, TX on 2/27/2020

1988 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have mixed thoughts whether or not I like this radio. Its a definite upgrade from my old, non-functioning, radio. Install and wiring was easy. Programming functions are easy to get the hang of. The sound quality is good. I am by no means an audiophile. However, I am having issues with the volume knob. Seems, intermittently, the radio will turn down the volume on its own. I have to turn the unit off then back on to get normal function of the volume knob. We will see how the warranty process goes on this particular repair. My review will be updated. I'm 110% sure if I have issues with warranty, it wont be because of Crutchfield.

Pros: Direct fit. Good looks.

Cons: Cost.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 2/19/2020

1974 BMW 2002

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo. Works just as I need it (streaming via bluetooth) and fits in with my interior. Easy installation as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Concord, CA on 1/30/2020

1970 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great choice for my classic VW. Original look with all the goodies. Simple to operate. Puts out plenty of power. No need for an amplifier. Install was a little tricky, but well worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 1/29/2020

1983 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Retro look is perfect with ability to add additional devices

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect style and fit.

Crutchfield customer from Kingstree, SC on 1/27/2020

1981 Chevrolet Berlinetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was for an '81 Camaro. Great radio. Classic appearances with modern elements. Easy installation and good range of adjustability.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great. Has flaws.

Glenn from Canton, GA on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have one major problem with this radio. I disconnect my battery on my classic car during storage. This is unacceptable in an age of very cheap non-volatile storage. When I return this radio has forgotten all the programming. Putting it back requires 15 minutes and the user manual because it is so complicated. Once programmed up, it works as I had expected.

Pros: Original look Good reception and sound.

Cons: Loses all programming when you disconnect battery. Hard to use. Too many features crammed onto too few controls. Difficult to read display behind factory-look decal.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Mequon, WI on 12/14/2019

1975 Jaguar XKE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent solution to modern technology in vintage applications. Works great and looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Classic radio looks will all the modern features.

Crutchfield customer from Crawford, NE on 11/9/2019

1972 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great reciever, lots of features and look great in our 72 Chevelle. Our dash was cut out wide so we ordered a repair kit from Jegs for this radio and everything came together nicely. Ordered the stick on screen protector that says Chevelle, everything looks good. Had everything I needed to install, as always Crutchfield is Awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Battle Ground, WA on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect and looks great.

Pros:

Cons: Face plate was not fun to cut off and dress up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect fit!

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 9/19/2019

1966 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely perfect! Easily installed and the included bezel and knobs make it look like it was factory.

Pros: Perfect fit! Great sound! The look is amazing!

Cons: Would be nice to have a separate subwoofer output

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos, CA on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Going to look great in my scout.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from King George, VA on 9/1/2019

1967 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit. The only knock on it is that because it is meant to be universal the instructions are...light on detail. As it comes drop shipped from the manufacturer I did not receive the level of detail with installation instructions I've become accustomed to from Crutchfield. In my case I needed an extra pair of hands and at least one other brain to make it all work. The head unit itself performs well and operates as advertised. The buttons and knobs require a bit of getting used to but it definitely works and looks great!

Pros: Operates and looks great

Cons: Instructions are lacking and require lots of DIY work for older models.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must for your old ride!

Crutchfield customer from Erie, PA on 8/31/2019

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is beyond what I expected. Many options and quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Mokena, IL on 7/21/2019

1979 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is awesome , fit without cutting my 79 z28 dash , worth the money !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, CA on 7/19/2019

1975 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son in restoring his great grandfathers 75 c10 pickup . It has virgin interior and we wanted to keep it that way .. the Hermosa M2 is the perfect choice . No need to cut up the dash to make modern sound fit the truck . It is truly the best of both world . Factory look with today's capabilities. I like the Bluetooth feature the best .. the fit of this system is amazing . I couldn't be happier

Pros: Fit and Finish is great .. operates as it should and with no problems

Cons: Have t really found any yet .. install if anything . But as this is our first stereo install I'd say our inexperience was the problem. But with the information provided we figured it out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 7/19/2019

1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is everything I needed. Good quality sound and all the tech extras with a look that maintains the old school feel of the car. Its perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good quality upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 7/15/2019

1987 Chevrolet R Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits good in my 87 suburban. I used my old radio as a template to get the radio pretty close to set up and then just minor adjustments to get it perfect. Shipping from the manufacturer was fast my only gripe was I never got a tracking number

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Retrosound Hermosa 2

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, OH on 7/11/2019

1972 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo came packaged well, works and plays as advertised. Great looking and makes my truck look great inside. Only suggestion I would make is the brackets how they mount into the dash due to the factory holes. Very difficult to mount them.

Pros: Functions are easy to use

Cons: Mounting Brackets and way they go.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Modern Function with Retro Look

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 7/3/2019

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so happy with this product! The install was easy for my 1986 Chevrolet C10 truck. Looks stock but works better than the radio in my other modern vehicles.

Pros: Great fit, simple wiring, amazing look and function

Cons: Getting knobs aligned was a bit challenging but not bad

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Decent sound

Ron from Irving, TX on 6/7/2019

1971 Pontiac Grand Ville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still had to cut dash plate to install , Thanks god I found a decent used one so cut instead of original plate. Need a little more sound have Rockford Fosgate 6x9`s in rear deck and 6 inchs in kick panels. the poor sound has to be in my speaker choices I am hoping

Pros: Very cool design

Cons: not as much sound as I was hoping for and had to cut dash plate to install.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, IN on 6/6/2019

1987 Chevrolet R Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system works great and is easy to learn. I've only been using it for a few days. No complaints.

Pros: Easy, flexible install in my C20.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound and features. Vehicle specific instructions needed.

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 5/30/2019

1969 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No specific instructions, photos, tips, or drawings on installing the radio in a 67-72 Chevy truck. Just generic info. Fore and aft side bracket adjustment is very limited. In-line fuse is so close to radio that I would have to pull out my AC/heater control panel to replace it. Rear knobs did not fit snugly on shafts. Only saving grace is the radio sounds good, has tons of configuration options, and Bluetooth works great. BTW, I have installed at least a dozen aftermarket radios in 60-80s cars and trucks, and this was the most challenging job yet.

Pros: Sound quality and features

Cons: No vehicle-specific instructions. Sloppy rear knob fit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Hallock, MN on 5/30/2019

1957 Chevrolet 210

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like this radio. Easy to install and operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Emmett, ID on 4/17/2019

1987 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't installed it yet but hope it works. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Wildomar, CA on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo is a little difficult to put together but once you get it figured out it looks good, trying to figure out how to go through the modes with the book they give you is a little rough also but you can work through it too, once you get it set it sounds great !

Pros: Looks and sounds great

Cons: A little rough to get set up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Dillsboro, IN on 3/19/2019

1985 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install into 85 Chevy pickup. Sound great and Bluetooth connected with no issues. Looks like the original with the addition of the screen decals

Pros: Came with everything needed to install. Even recommended cable adapters for speaker connections so no splicing wires

Cons: Having trouble setting tuner to manual mode and setting presets, probably just need to read instructions closer

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 3/10/2019

1969 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, looks great in my daughters '69 C10. I thought it came with screen protectors but it didn't. Thanks Crutchfield! Made my daughters day!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great fit

Michael from Gatesville, TX on 2/20/2019

1971 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product fornhard to fit vehicles

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Chugiak, AK on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good. Have not heard it yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Chuck from Titus, AL on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the purchase. River, my advisor gave me a good recommendation on speakers. System went in good. Looks great

Pros: No regrets do same thing again

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Hemet, CA on 1/13/2019

1970 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shipped fast, easy to install, works great. Good if you are trying to keep the original look for your car, but if that doesnt matter to you its best to buy a regular stereo to install. You would get all the same features for 1/3 the cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does not read/play USB MP3's as expected!

Matthew from Long Island, NY on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Options are limited for old vehicles where you want to retain a two post look. Retrosound certainly does us all a great service. I installed a Retrosound Model II (similar to the Hermosa) on my 1978 International Harvester Scout II Terra. Everything works good. HOWEVER!!!! My one huge complaint is the way it reads MP3 files from the USB. Most every player, receiver, stereo, etc will play the files in alpha/numeric order. You would be able to navigate a file/folder tree. Not with the Retrosound. For some bizarre reason, their stereo plays the songs in the order of file creation. This is completely useless. I have emailed them about this. They feel this is a reasonable way to playback the files. It of course is not. Maybe they will make an update in the future but my Model II from 2015 is file creation date only!

Pros: Looks nice. Factory vintage look! Very versatile for installation options.

Cons: The way it plays MP3 files via USB is a total waste. Since the USB can't accept a smartphone, I'm not sure what it's there for. I have never heard of anything playing songs in file creation order!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best options for older vehicles

Curtis B from Mendenhall, MS on 11/25/2018

1982 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Closet radio I could find to a stock looking unit. Plays my iPhone with Bluetooth , USB memory stick. Great sounding Bluetooth for cell phone calls. Also charges your iPhone. Only thing you can't do is play music through the iPhone. That's no problem since it does everything else. Perfect radio for my 1982 Mustang GT.

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Sunman, IN on 11/6/2018

1971 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Fits very well ,looks great and sounds better!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Super solution for classic car tunes

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, NC on 11/4/2018

1982 Jeep CJ5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great solution for classic car radio without butchering your dash. Looks nice and works well. Blue tooth operation great for hands free and streaming Only downside knob placement didn't allow for faceplate and install down on an angle to make fit.

Pros: Fits in classic car dash opening Sounds great Blue tooth great function

Cons: Depending on your knob holes may not be able to use face plate Once tightened had to install on an angle downward

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Severna Park, MD on 10/9/2018

1983 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, MA on 9/4/2018

1973 Pontiac Grand Ville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pumped about this radio. Ingenious attention to details. Whoever wrote the installation manual should get a pat on the back. He talks with examples. If your doing this it's like doing that awesome. Tyler is my go to , he gets it . Very happy with Crutchfield. Ordering Infinity speakers for my new Silverado when I finish this. I like to drive with my windows open, so the Infinitys should put me over the top without adding an amp. But if I need one I know we're I'm going

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Really like this company

Troy from Escondido, CA on 8/20/2018

1975 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picked this unit up after a "scuff and shoot" repaint on our 75 chevy silverado dump run truck. Coupled this with two JVC 6X9 speakers. This unit requires a bit of assembly but, the instructions are outstanding!! For an old school in dash stereo this is a real nice unit. Does everything you'd expect from a modern cars sound system. The bluetooth features for music and telephone are awesome. I'm going to buy another Hermosa for our old 66 chevy car. Retrosound has their act together.

Pros: Bluetooth features are way easier then old school tapes and/or CD's. Hands free telephone calls, lots of options.

Cons: Takes some assembly and in and out of the vehicle to get adjustments right. Take your time and you'll be very happy with the results.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice direct-fit radio for an old classic

Mark from Spencer, IN on 8/13/2018

1971 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got this radio installed in my 1971 Chevy C10 pickup. As others have said, it was a bit of a pain to get the knobs set where they needed to be, but not too bad. Getting them in the right place left to right was pretty easy. What took more time was getting them to stick out the right amount so the knobs looked good against the faceplate. The instructions weren't very good for where the spacers and shaft covers went, but I understand this stereo fits MANY different vehicles, and they will all be a little different in how they mount, so I understand it would be tough to describe every different setup option. Features seem to be great. I loaded all my "Road music" onto a USB drive and plugged it in before starting it up. The stereo paired quickly with my phone and seem to work great. Music plays well through the Bluetooth, and making calls was a breeze. The Microphone clip pops off so I just attached the flat portion to the top of my steering column. Would have been nice if they would have supplied some double face tape to do that like the Pioneer I bought for my other car did, but we had some good weatherstrip tape laying around that worked well. Overall,... no real issues or complaints. It took a little bit to get used to what the knobs and buttons do, but the manual described that pretty well. Pretty happy with this little stereo. As they tell you, the shafts can't support the weight of the stereo, so you have to use the strap they provide to support the bac

Pros: Nice adjustability for good fit Nice features Knobs match perfectly with rest of the truck

Cons: None so far. Shafts took a bit of time to get set right, but that was expected to be able to fit so many different vehicles.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Retro Sound

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, VA on 8/11/2018

1977 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The retro look is great for my 77 Ford F100. I am glad that I found this radio.

Pros: Retro look

Cons: Small size

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Good product

Marc from Merritt Island, FL on 8/2/2018

1967 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Packaging was top notch, came with everything to install in my 1967 VW beetle. Impressive features, I'm pleased. Sound quality was as expected, no problems. The Crutchfield installation sheet was of no use to me, it was too generic.

Pros: Nice features

Cons: Big blob of wires hang out the back, pricey.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Ramona, CA on 7/18/2018

1981 Jeep CJ5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, knobs are on the cheap side. No instructions on steroids operation, a little pricey for what you get

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

David from Irving, TX on 6/23/2018

1967 Chevrolet Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like the looks and quality of the radio haven't installed yet but instructions look pretty simple to connect wiring.

Pros: I like the nobs and the fact that I will be able to connect with Bluetooth devices.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 6/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did everything is was supposed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

RENE from Wesley Chapel, FL on 5/27/2018

1984 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. Looks amazing and sounds even better. Can't go wrong with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 5/1/2018

1970 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the radio in my '70 El Camino with this unit. Instructions and wire labeling were excellent. Went in easily (had the dash out), fit well and fired up perfectly first time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from The Dalles, OR on 4/13/2018

1979 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made unit. A definite must in a classic vehicle that has the stock radio location in a non-modified state. Bluetooth connection works perfectly every time I drive my truck! Thumbs up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Jason from Danville, VA on 4/4/2018

1979 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Install was straight forward and it seems to be of nice quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 3/13/2018

1972 Oldsmobile Cutlass

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with this stereo. Installed it in my 72 Cutlass and it fit like a glove. Instructions were simple and easy to follow. Sound quality is great. USB and Bluetooth worked perfectly. Pairing the unit with my phone took seconds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Miguel from Los Angeles, CA on 3/8/2018

1964 Chevrolet Nova

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my new radio works awesome!! And fit very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

1965 Mustang Radio

Captain moore from Riverview, FL on 2/12/2018

1965 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1965 MUSTANG - bought this system after some research and finally decided that although I could purchase a better performing unit for less cost, it would not fit into my existing dash opening and would not at least resemble the original radio that came with the car back in 1965. Finally ordered the unit from Crutchfield. Unit took about 5-days. Packaging was very good. The unit seems well made and precise with close tolerances. It arrives with fasteners, harnesses, knobs, bezel for face plate, radio body and other accessories individually bagged. Several instruction guides are included (I am more visual so the photo diagrams were very helpful). The harnesses are color coded and tagged making connection a breeze. I have physically installed the unit. Fortunately, I had the OEM radio to use with setting up the location of the selector knobs. Even with this head start, I had to trial-and-error a few times to the depth correct. Otherwise, it is fairly straightforward. Speaker location is an issue in the Mustang if you want the original look without altering the doors. I'm still working out details for installing speakers so can't report on sound quality but it's an old car and a convertible so I really don't need too much. The unit gives me the look I wanted and installation so far has been easy.

Pros: OEM look, modern features, easy installation

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

rick from Tucson, AZ on 1/29/2018

1966 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Hermosa is impressively small in size. Despite that, I still had to install the amplifier section apart from the faceplate. My '66 El Camino's dashboard radio mounting location is at an angle of about 45 degrees which means that the amplifier section intrudes on the air conditioning controls directly beneath it if it is left attached to the faceplate. Obviously, the Hermosa's engineers made flexibility in mounting a priority and their clever design solved my vehicle's issues. They did a good job with the radio's sonic capability as well. The unit sounds great with the car's two Kenwood speakers that a previous owner mounted behind the seat. The separation between the two channels is easily discernable from anywhere in the cabin. The only shortcoming (figuratively and literally) is the wiring harness that provides power to the Hermosa. It's about six inches long. ???? Unless the unit is mounted next to the fuse panel, those wires are going to have to be lengthened. That's a curious economy in an electronic device that is otherwise well designed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Would buy again

Brian from Lewisburg on 1/25/2018

1984 Volkswagen Vanagon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, it is a major improvement over the pos that was in there previously, and everything works great. The Bluetooth connection is perfect, and allows me to play music and take calls from my phone, and the USB connector allows me to make a playlist on a USB drive that just plugs in and is ready to go whenever we are out of cell or radio range. But, there are a few nits I would pick: * it was really challenging to install, and even working with a professional installer with the right tools, we ended up having to create our own brackets to hold it in place. IT did not really fit in the old VW holes, and now it looks sort of jinky. * The face plate is also not a very good match to the 1984 VW * there are some minor usage features that are hard to learn, but that might be my problem ;) All in all, it has been a serious improvement, sounds great, and look pretty good. Next step is to hook it up to a subwoofer, and get the bass out of the door speakers.

Pros: major improvement over the pos that was in there previously, and everything works great. The Bluetooth connection is perfect, and allows me to play music and take calls from my phone, and the USB connector allows me to make a playlist on a USB drive that just plugs in and is ready to go whenever we are out of cell or radio range.

Cons: * it was really challenging to install, and even working with a professional installer with the right tools, we ended up having to create our own brackets to hold it in place. It did not really fit in the old VW holes, and now it looks sort of jinky. * The face plate is also not a very good match to the 1984 VW * there are some minor usage features that are hard to learn, but that might be my problem ;)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

John from Myrtle Beach, SC on 1/9/2018

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds awesome looks like stock. Fits like stock with all of the adjustments you can make it fit exactly how you want.

Pros: Fully adjustable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Overall a great stereo

Chris from Riverside, CA on 12/14/2017

1965 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall it's a great stereo. Sound quality is good, installation was pretty straight forward. Takes a little getting used to the knob functions. The support strap seems a little weak consider its importance of holding the stereo in place (end up doing my own metal strap) and arms for the knobs don't feel robust (I fear they may break over time). Overall very happy with the item and would recommend it

Pros: Ease of install Quality of overall build Variety of options including usb and Bluetooth

Cons: Strap seems weak Arms for the know seem flimsy USB connection not compatible with iPhone

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from West Wildwood, NJ on 11/27/2017

1962 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well, looks great. shafts and knob fit a bit flimsy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound and highly recommended!

Ant from Philadelphia, PA on 10/24/2017

1979 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great all around unit. Clear and easy to install instructions. Compact, adjustable unit made it easy to maneuver under the dash of my 1979 Firebird. Like the chrome or black and different knob options to choose from. Sounds great even without an amp. I am looking forward to getting another for my 1969 Chevelle.

Pros: Sounds great and looks good.

Cons: Post adjustment may take several adjustments to get just right but not a big con.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Gregory from Buffalo, NY on 8/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace an aftermarket radio in a 1980 Alfa Romeo Spider and it is a fantastic upgrade and with the proper faceplate and knobs it looks like it belongs in the car. The replaced unit was an old aftermarket Alpine cassette deck that was shoehorned into the dash, this fit perfectly. It can't apparently read id3v2 tags on mp3 files since it displays stars instead of the tag data on some files. The documentation states mp3 files should be cbr type which is so ten years ago. Everything can and should handle vbr files accurately these days. Once I figured out that all the included parts weren't necessary, but were just included for convenience if they were needed during install I felt a bit better.

Pros: Looks Great works great

Cons: Wish it could read id3v2 tags only handles wma and mp3 file formats

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent

Brian from Prince George va on 7/9/2017

1952 Chevrolet Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Very easy to install, took about an hour

Pros: Excellent fit. Very easy to install...sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa C

Crutchfield customer from La Mesa, Calif on 1/21/2017

1966 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit was good , company was helpful explaining why my iPhone didnt work on USB, seller on an online auction site ad used same ad for other models thinking it was the same model, however Bluetooth solves the problem, recommend buyers deal directly with factory or call them before purchase. Companies feedback and help excellent. Happy buyer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Shaft Radio on the Market

Bry from Broken Arrow, OK on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These days, shaft radios are only produced by a few suppliers. I have tried the competition and can say that Retrosound offers better quality, more features, customer service and their own design. The other guys just take a $20 Chinese radio and adapt it to shaft controls. If you try to contact the other guys, there is no one home. Do yourself a favor and buy a Retrosound the first time. I wish I had.

Pros: Near original appearance, good FM sensitivity and s/n ratio, preamp outputs, bluetooth and handsfree, good customer service, better quality than competition

Cons: Takes a bit of trial and error to get the universal mounts perfectly fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, OH on 12/29/2016

1978 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just put the unit together. Everything is labled making it fairly easy to assemble. Removing the original factory radio from the dash is quite the challenge however.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Riverside , CA on 12/20/2016

1976 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what I needed. I have international scout that my customers did not want the dash cut and with some modifications of the radio brackets it fit perfect. Looked almost original.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore md on 11/20/2016

1978 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio but needs to be USB compatible with the iPhone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa

Hans from Saint Robert, MO on 11/1/2016

1969 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a stereo for my 1969 Chevelle SS and after doing some research and comparing the RetroSound Hermosa and the AutoSound 630 I ordered the Hermosa from Crutchfield, along with the matching control knobs. Looking at the stereo it appears to be well made and there are a lot of parts in the box for you to put together. Despite what some reviewers say I didn't find it difficult to put everything together and to fit it to my dash. What helped was that I was replacing my instrument carrier bezel anyway and installed the radio while the bezel was on my workbench. The installation went smooth! I am using only two 6x9 Kenwood speakers and, after adjusting everything the sound is amazing. The reception (with an aftermarket W/S antenna) is really good and FM stations come in clear. My iPhone 6s easily paired up with Hermosa Bluetooth and I can stream my music; at first I thought that the BT sound wasn't very good until I figured out that you have to increase the volume on your phone. I would definitely buy the Hermosa again and can highly recommend it.

Pros: Sound, reception, flawless Bluetooth integration with iPhone 6s. Looks great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1973 Corvette

Lee from Alabama on 10/24/2016

1973 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's easy to install! I love the look of it. Has all the features of a modern radio but still looks old school in the car.

Pros: Easily installs, Bluetooth, looks and fits well in the dash

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 10/21/2016

1963 Ford Falcon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Went together easy. Looks good. Would recommend.

Pros: Looks good in dash.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Chris from North East, PA on 9/8/2016

1970 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install took quite a bit of time due to trial and error on the shaft spacing and offset between knobs but it was nice not having to butcher the dash. So far the USB plug has failed to recognize my Ipod, all it shows is "reading" until it times out. Plays it thru Bluetooth just fine. What the heck is "Coolness Factor"?

Pros: Nice sound in factory dash opening.

Cons: I always get a kick out of the install instructions suggesting 14-16 ga. speaker wire when the stereo harness comes with what I believe is 22 ga. I also installed the Quad 4 amp for the 4 speakers and an Alpine M-500 amp to drive a 10" sub. Nowhere in the wiring diagram of either the head unit or Quad 4 does it tell you which preout plugs to use for an aux. amp. The instructions should include options for another amp. Only the head unit will work.

Crutchfield response on 9/12/2016
Whenever you have a question or need help with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, OH on 9/5/2016

1965 Oldsmobile Cutlass 442

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

Roger from Dyer, Indiana on 8/1/2016

1971 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for keeping the original look of the dash! Sound is good and install fairly simple for someone who has some experience. Bluetooth is awesome to have in a retro system! Very easy to operate. My only negative comment would be the bluetooth sound quality / reception could be better.

Pros: Simple install, bluetooth, retro look, ease of use

Cons: bluetooth reception quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Very good stereo

Drake from Lake Elsinore, CA on 7/14/2016

1972 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is perfect for a old school car that you want to have a new tech stereo in. I have a 72 Chevelle ss and it looks great in there 10/10 recommend

Pros: Very good sound quality Great look Bluetooth Auxiliary cords

Cons: The USB cord doesn't work with phones

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Tom from Eagle River, AK on 7/11/2016

1985 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced stock radio. Great install. Hardest part was taking out stock radio and figuring out PO wiring. Running to Sound Ordnance 3.5" dash and 4x10 rears. Sounds great! Love the Bluetooth! Get spacing on stems right, otherwise interference with radio face bezel can cause stems to not function properly because they need to spring back to neutral to function. Mounted mic on visor and no complaints from caller on other end. Remembers your Bluetooth connection and starts playing right away when you start the vehicle back up. Don't have it running to amp so not using amp pre-outs. Using usb extension from PAC to use usb stick in glove box. NOTE: USB does not work with iPods or iPhones, only a usb thumb drive. Kinda sucks, but I'll load a 128 GB sub and the PAC extension lets me put it in glove box. Other USB is used for Bluetooth dongle, which works great! Color of LED text changes from white to green, via menu! Includes screen protectors to make the radio look like stock AM/FM radio when powered off, so cool! With wire harnesses from Crutchfield, install was easy. Took most time to get soldering done. Stem mounts are adjustable side to side to make install easy. Had to dremel face opening just a bit to clear radio bezel, not a big deal. Be sure to use back support bracket to dash because stems a fragile and cannot support radio weight by themselves. This radio takes up so much less space behind your dash compared to stock!

Pros: Ease of installation Bluetooth Screen protectors LED!

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

John R. from Woodland, California on 7/6/2016

1963 Ford Falcon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Retro Sound Hermosa is replacing another that is a Custom radio for a older car. This is my second Hermosa radio. The sound quality is really good. The features are awesome, 2 audio jack plus a USB is very handy also the Blue Tooth is a great feature. I mainly use the audio jack for satellite radio and blue tooth for streaming from my phone. But the hands free is also nice (I use it in my other car) but since this installation is in a convertible I opted not to install the Mic. Other radios that are Custom made from older cars you need to get there top of the line radio & then buy the add-on bluetooth feature. The volume is good where I can hear the music with the top down & doing 70. The worst thing about this radio is mounting the knobs, but it offers so much adjustability. Just take your time & tighten the screws until you are sure it is adjusted right.

Pros: Bluetooth, 2 audio jack and 1 USB, Adjustable to fit older knob vehicles

Cons: If any adjustability.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solidy built, high quality unit.

R B from Lake Zurich, IL on 6/23/2016

1978 Datsun 280Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound and modern convenience in a unit that looks like a stock radio. Pretty much does what it's advertised to do. You have to fiddle with it to get it installed perfectly, but with a unit this adjustable, that's just part of the game. Easy to get a real person on the phone if you have questions/issues with the product.

Pros: Solid unit, highly adjustable, metal knobs give a great feel, modern technology for your classic ride. Decent power for such a small chassis.

Cons: Lots of sub menus and the operation of the four knobs in controlling all menu and input functions takes some getting used to. Knob operation is not labeled on the unit so you must do it all from memory. Cutting the faceplate to size was a chore.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

I really like this radio

piston99 from Sylmar, CA on 6/2/2016

1965 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really nice radio for older cars. This is for a 65 Mustang. Back in the 90's I had taken a standard 2 shaft cassette radio and moved the shafts up in the case to fit into the dash. Kinda hokey but it worked but the radio started to die. I wasn't sure how the new one would compare. I love it!. Especially the Bluetooth streaming. The car is way to noisy to use the hands free for the cell phone. Hard enough trying to have a call using an over the ear Bluetooth headset. Installation took some trial and error tests to get the lengths of the shafts just right. Once you figure out the mounting system, it is easy. Hook upss were easy too.

Pros: Modern technology for an old ride. Crutchfield has the best price for this radio and also included the faceplate for free!

Cons: The shaft mounting system takes some figuring at first. Remember to order the matching faceplate for your specific car as it doesn't come with one. Just black knobs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

stock look

luisjp from beaufort sc on 5/15/2016

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio was easy to install anf sounds great. the only thing is that it is a little pricy but in the end you you get what you pay for.

Pros: Great sound and strong enough to push pair of cadence 6x9s with great spund quality

Cons: a little pricy, aux ports are a littl too short

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Radio Review

JJ from Pearland, TX on 5/14/2016

1969 Volkswagen Karmann Ghia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1972 Karmann Ghia Convertible - In the picture the radio faceplate is a rectangle. In reality the product has a 45 degree angle in the lower corners so it does not cover the hole for the radio entirely. A very small gap but a gap nonetheless. I probably needed to do more research or ask more questions but I thought (hoped) I was getting a voice activated bluetooth in the radio to make calls without taking my eyes off the road. In reality the phone still has to be used. Also the number you call or the number calling you is not displayed. This was my first Crutchfield purchase and everyone I talked to was great and very helpful and patient. (Zac). They offered to take the radio back if I was dissatisfied but unfortunately for what I need this was the only product they carried...so I will live with the gap (and maybe find a different faceplate). Radio was professionally installed so I cannot report on the ease of installation. Over all a good 1st Crutchfield experience. Rear mounted USB is inconvenient. Still learning the radio details.

Pros: See above

Cons: See above

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa

John W from Goshen, NY on 5/3/2016

1971 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, sounds good. I needed a little more punch, so I purchased the amp. Gave me just what I wanted. Looks perfect in 71 Chevelle dash. With the amp, and Infinity speakers, this is the perfect setup for this car.

Pros: Fits perfect. Looks like factory radio, but sounds awesome.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Looks good in the dash

John C from inwood, WV on 3/30/2016

1965 Chevrolet Nova

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio was a slight pain to install do to having to put it together but. Is easy to operate and my phone auto connects to the Bluetooth as soon as I turn the car on. Sounds fine although I have a 4 channel amp attached to it. This radio is just what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

mp3 Must Be Modified To Work

The Bub from scottsdale, AZ on 2/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

*.mp3 must be modified to "Fixed" mode and bitrate set to higher than 128kbps. Otherwise it will error out on your USB flashdrive and SD card. It will say USB/SD cannot be read or just skip through songs after playing 5 - 20 seconds of them. I cannot get the amp turn-on lead to produce 12V to the amp. I had to rewire the amp lead to the stereo power ignition lead. Retrosound could have put a buck or two more into manufacture of these units. I've never seen an mp3 player that had to have specific properties in each mp3 or it won't play the mp3.

Pros: looks cool. shiny knobs.

Cons: mp3s have to be modified to work. Amp turn-on lead doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy and fun

Beth from Lovingston Va on 12/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reasonable pricing & great looking in truck

Pros: Makes the truck look 'original' but in reality it's very cool

Cons: takes a while to install because it's like starting from scratch

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Hermosa M2

GTB from Sierra Vista, Arizona on 12/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed, however had to take my time to adjust the fit to the orginal face plate.

Pros: Looks orginal

Cons: Take your time to get a good fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not super simple

jim from Arizona on 11/25/2015

1948 Chevrolet Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It did what I wanted in filling the dash without cutting the dash a part. It looks pretty good. It takes some work to program and the book in your lap but can be done. Have not used it on the road yet as the truck is not done but did attach a battery for testing. It sounds Ok but I sure the sound is more depended on the speakers used. The Bluetooth worked with my iPhone, did not test the usb mp3 function yet.

Pros: Looks good in the classic truck dash.

Cons: Not a simple stick it in the dash and be done. Even using the kit designed for the dash. Did contact retro sound and they sent pictures of how they did it. In their photos they require you to bend the heck out of the brackets with what seems like a lot of stress and only using one screw. I figured out a better way with some plastic spacers from the hardware store.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Hermosa radio

John from Oregon on 9/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be any easier to install and great blue tooth features

Pros: perfect size for a retro fit in a classic car

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Retrosound Hermosa

Dale P. from Wisconsin on 8/17/2015

1971 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, even a novice like me had no problems installing this unit in my 1971 Chevelle. I had the dashboard out for some other work so it really made things easy for the radio install. Fit perfectly after minimal adjustment. I really like the fact that it has a USB input. I ran an extension to my floor console so it is out of sight. Also the two auxillary inputs will be handy as well. I ran them into the glove box. Radio reception is fantastic. This stereo has so many great features that I haven't used yet. It will take me a while to learn to operate everything. Plus it has Bluetooth. The included screen protectors give it that AM look. Fooled the Fed-Ex man the other day. All in all I am very pleased with the radio

Pros: Easy install, takes up very little space behind the dash. More features than I will probably use, but they are there if I want them.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Slick radio

g8rvet from Florida on 8/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a little talking with a customer rep (I was adding all new wiring and speakers and did not need the adapter), the install was easy as could be in my 78 Bronco. I took my time and tested everything before putting it in place. The USB cord easily reached my glove box, so I can store it out of sight and keep the clean. old fashioned look of the radio. The last time I installed any car audio, it was an 8 track player in my first 78 Bronco and after a talking with the service rep, it was just too simple. Great sound, great looks and simple functionality. I highly recommend it. It really deserves a 5 star on value, but I am a cheapskate, so don't listen to me on that. There is no comparable radio for any price, really. Everyone that rides with me is impressed

Pros: Easy install Looks Good length to microphone and USB cord Function Most importantly, customer service was amazing when I ordered the wrong speakers.

Cons: None Not really a con, but would be nice to have a microphone on the face plate so a wire was not needed, but it may be necessary for correct function.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Fit, Great Sound

GPG from Texas on 8/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The adjustable shafts worked as advertised. Just a few careful measurements/adjustments and I had a perfect fit for my dash opening. Old-school design looks great in my vintage vehicle. A little more expensive that comparable DIN units (that would have required cutting my dash), but if you want good sound for an older vehicle this is the way to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice looking unit. Project being assembled so I cannot rate sound / f

MRB455 from Virginia on 7/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have received and inspected the unit. Looks nice, and the design will make it fit almost anything! My car is under construction, but you have only so much time to review a product. It will be an estimated 3-4 months before wiring of the whole car is complete, and the dash is re-installed. I have no idea of the sound quality / features. (Just being honest.)

Pros: Great looks, nice stated features. Physically fit into anything old.

Cons: None identified (yet).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great!

endora from Illinois on 7/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love that there is an option to keep that classic look, with all the latest features. I didn't have the option to keep the original equipment since it had been removed, so I ordered this. The Bluetooth is better quality than my new car. The sound is great. So happy with it.

Pros: Sounds quality is good. You don't have to ruin the entire interior of your classic car with some ugly, modern receiver that looks like it belongs in a teenager's used and overly-aftermarketed ride. Super easy to install. The Bluetooth is clear (both calls and music audio) and works great with my phone.

Cons: Menus and operation a little complicated and not intuitive. Completely unsatisfied with the "free dash and knob kit". That part looks cheap and plastic-y and didn't fit my opening as well as I thought it would.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NICE

Ken from Dearborn Heights, MI on 7/15/2015

1970 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed and now figuring out all the bells n whistles...........so far so good.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Hermosa radio

Dave B, from Orlando,Fl. on 7/3/2015

1973 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed radio in my 73 Vette because I wanted updated features with factory look and it filled the bill perfectly.

Pros: Easy installation, factory look, great features, sounds fantastic!.

Cons: Can't really say anything negative. Had a defective control shaft but tech support diagnosed problem and immediately sent me a new one and solved issue.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

retro sound

Crutchfield customer from 11756 on 6/10/2015

1965 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit kicks butt sounds great really good control s looks real nice in 65 chey

Pros: Sound and looks

Cons: Having to put together but wasn't that bad and worth the trouble

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP