Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound R-352N

RetroMod™ Series 3-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # R-352N

RetroSound R-352N

RetroSound R-352N

RetroMod™ Series 3-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # R-352N

9 reviews
View this product

RetroSound R-352N

Crutchfield customer from Methuen ma on 6/6/2017

2006 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install Sounds great

Pros: Sounds great so easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No good.

George from Virginia Beach, VA on 3/12/2017

1984 Volkswagen Rabbit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are not good. Sound is average at best and quality is poor. One speaker actually fell apart; the magnet came apart from the speaker housing. I'm not a pro, but have installed my share of stereos over the years, and I've never seen that. By selling this brand and even recommending them, Crutchfield is compromising their reputation.

Pros: The fit.

Cons: Poor sound and poor build quality.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

RetroSound Fell Apart

KnightRIot from Virginia on 1/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these RetroSound speakers to replace the so-so Boston Acoustic speakers in my front dash. The BA speakers used a small polypropylene cone as "tweeters" (really??), though with larger magnets and power handling than the basic stereo option. So naturally, these 2-way RetroSound speakers sounded better, crisper highs and with Bass Blocker filter (think I had 300hz or 500hz) warm, undistorted mids (don't want singers sounding like pitchy robot-aliens). But after nearly a year, one of the magnets came off a speaker. Since it wasn't wired to anything else, I was able to reattach the magnet to the speaker after cleaning up what appeared to be only a few craft glue-gun drops of glue used to assemble it at the factory. Since then that particular speaker distorts sound above low-medium volumes, and especially is distorted from that particular speaker during voice-command prompts and Bluetooth phone calls, even after I swapped left & right speakers to test connections and isolate that it's a speaker unit issue.

Pros: Good crisp highs and smooth mids when used with Bass Blockers to filter out the low bass signals from your upgraded stereo systems.

Cons: RetroSound speaker construction is poor: magnets were barely held on to speaker housing with a few drops of cheap glue. Just after a year in my sedan, I had to reattach the magnet with better glue and electrical tape. But since the magnet first fell off, which caused rattling and near complete cut-out of sound from that speaker, sound gets distorted above low volumes, it physically rattles, and sound is distorted half the time, leading me to believe the rest of the speaker is coming apart.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Retro sound R52N for 1981 Rabbit Pickup

Obet from California on 7/29/2015

1981 Volkswagen Rabbit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have bought this speaker 2 times as oem replacement. Quality is way below my expectation. The 2nd pair is less than 8 months old and is experiencing heavy distortion after less than 1/2 hour my new jvc is on even with low volume. I had to the metal bracket to make it fit and close the cover. The speakers stick out enough where I can't fully tighten the screw on the dash covers. I'm looking again for higher end quality speakers but has not found a replacement. For sure not buying this speaker again. It's a shame Crutchfield are not testing this speaker for fitment and finish on a VW rabbit like my pickup. They would have known there's a problem with quality with either fit and durability and sound quality. For the price of this pair of speakers, not worth it.

Pros: Better than nothing.

Cons: All the things I stated in my review pertain to what's wrong with this speaker. Made cannot expect much from a Made in China speakers like this pair Retrosound R352N speakers I purchased twice not realizing the 2nd purchase were for the same low quality speakers.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

R-352N Speakers

LpH from 48185 on 6/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Fitment; (Limited Depth); However, sound quality poor.

Pros: Excellent Fit w/ minimum depth clearance

Cons: Poor Sound Quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Retrosound R-352N

Jorge from Killeen, TX on 12/15/2013

1984 Volkswagen Rabbit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price and the size excellent

Pros: Good sound, Fitt perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not worth the money

Ed from West palm beach, Florida on 3/27/2013

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers due to size constraints and was expecting better quality but I was mistaken. The speakers look good when you open the box but after they were installed you can hear distortion and cracking all the time while they are playing. I will never recommend or buy another of their products.

Pros: None

Cons: Horrible sound quality

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Please read complete review!!! Sounds great, fits terrible.

West from Omaha, NE on 2/26/2013

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these 3.5" Two-Ways as a replacement for my in-dash speakers on my 1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue. I would to first say the speakers sound incredible! They really sound so much better than the factory speakers. You don't expect much from 3.5s but these really perform great. However, the fit is terrible. Yes, I understand fitting every vehicle is a challenge but I would never recommend these speakers unless you know they will fit properly. The problem is with the width of the frame not allowing the speaker to fit down into the speaker area of the dash. I had to make a modification to the dash in order for them to fit even remotely decent. Would I recommend them? No, I would not have spent the money to purchase them and kept the factory 3.5s in there. Alas, I made the best out of a bad situation. They do sound great even though I worry they do not fit properly and could "rattle" if my modification doesn't hold.

Pros: Incredible sound for a 3.5

Cons: Horrible fit, even for a low-profile 3.5

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

2009 Jetta install

Luke R from Baltimore, MD on 7/6/2011

2009 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered these in an effort to solve a problem with other aftermarket speakers being to deep and hitting the window when it was rolled down. For the most part it was a perfect fit, the low profile along with the provided bracket the install was clean. However the wiring directions are not detailed enough to explain what to do with the three wires on the factory harness, when, of course the new one only has two (+,-) If your not careful you will disable the tweeter also in the door if you wire it wrong. Overall very happy. Sound quality is good but remember there only 50 bucks, but a nice upgrade from the factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

TOP