Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound R-410N

Single 4"x10" 2-way car speaker with dual voice coils

MFR # R-410N

RetroSound R-410N

RetroSound R-410N

Single 4"x10" 2-way car speaker with dual voice coils

MFR # R-410N

38 reviews
View this product

RetroSound R-410N

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 2/5/2021

1968 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. It was just what the doctor ordered..!! Thank you for your wonderful staff and excellent service...!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chad Z

Crutchfield customer from Gladbrook, IA on 12/10/2020

1974 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good

Pros: I'm pleased

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

Crutchfield customer from Afton, VA on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds SO much better than my 42 year old mono.. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice product needed firmest help

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 11/2/2020

1967 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Minor modification required to fit the dash on my 67 dodge

Pros: Nice product

Cons: Holes did not quite line up on my 67 dodge

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

Joseph from Toms River, NJ on 1/14/2019

1968 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Fit with no mods in my dashboard . Saved me from cutting my door panels on my 1968 Charger.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Far superior to the factory speaker

Phil from Payson, AZ on 12/31/2018

1962 Chevrolet Corvair

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the performance of this speaker. The 6x9 should have fit, but it didn't. Since the car has no baffle, and the dash is very open underneath, I designed and built a small enclosure to fit under the dash. Unfortunately, I could not get the Thiele/Small parameters for the woofer so I had to experiment with a moveable baffle in the small enclosure. What I ended up with was a ported enclosure of approximately 125 cubic inches interior volume. It has a port approximately 10" long and 1.5 square inch opening. I would describe the bass response as adequate for most listening in a vehicle. Without taking any actual measurements, but listening to a variety of musical arrangements, it seems a bit heavy in the midrange but with sufficient highs for good clarity. My subjective estimate is that somewhere in the 1-4 kHz range there are some peaks of 3-6 dB. I have not tested this in the car yet (several more months before the electrical system and interior are ready for that), so my listening was done in a large garage, feeding the completed speaker system from a home theater receiver. We will be adding a sub-woofer to the car just to fill in the bass notes below about 50 Hz where this seems to roll off, after tuning the port to the best overall sound (again, just to my subjective ear). I hope I remain as happy when it is in the car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Success after a lot of tinkering and cutting!

Richard from Baldwin, MD on 6/25/2018

1969 Ford Torino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It wasn't a perfect fit for our 1969 Ford Torino. We were able to make it work with some modifications that definitely voided any warranty and would prevent us from returning the speaker. It is still way better then a torn 50 year old speaker! I would buy again for a different car if there is room in the dash for it.

Pros: Sounds great and well constructed.

Cons: Even though this is a slim speaker in terms of the depth of the housing I had to cut about 1/3rd of the housing away to fit it into the factory opening. Issue may be unique to a '69 Torino / Fairlane / Ranchero that has a factory 4 gauge cluster with a clock in the dash. The clock extends into the space where the speaker would fit. The factory speaker is still thinner then this speaker by at least an inch. You can make it work if you are willing to do surgery on the back of the speaker.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound

Andrew from Macomb, MI on 6/21/2018

1980 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound, did not come with mounting bracket or screw to fit threads on back of speaker to secure speaker to a mounting bracket.

Pros: Good sound and construction.

Cons: Need specialty screw to mount speaker that is not included.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well built

Matthew from Woolwich, ME on 5/13/2018

1964 Buick Wildcat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built, sounds good. Not a perfect fit for me so be sure to measure your application. I was able to modify the mounting holes to fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

Don from Elmira, NY on 7/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my 1954 chevy belair. It mounted right where the original front speaker was. Outstanding sound . This speaker fits right in with my Retrofit radio and rear speakers easy install and great sound. I prefer this set up because I didn't have to install speakers in the front kick panels or door panels and you get the same great sound. I am very pleased with this set up.

Pros: very easy to hook up where the original front speaker was.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

Craig from Vancouver, WA on 7/18/2017

1964 Chevrolet Nova

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit nicely in 64 chevy II using origional mounting bracket. Sounds ok for mid and high but lacking bass. I have a underseat powered woofer that completes the system and together they sound really good. I like being able to keep origional location.

Pros: Good for specific fit and not bad sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

Crutchfield customer from Williamson, WV on 3/5/2017

1967 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put it in a 67 gto. I did have to trim back some of the metal in the bottom to use the factory mounting brackets to put in factory dash location. For what it is it's not a bad speaker. Sound isn't the greatest but with some 6x9s in the package tray and a small powered sub it makes for a well rounded stereo for these old cars. I'd order again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Suprising sound in single speaker space.

Scott from Parkton, MD on 12/27/2016

1969 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For vintage car applications this speaker has really suprised me with the sound you get from it. Of course a modern component style speaker is better, but when cramped space, single center speaker dash confines rule that it, this is a great speaker, from experience better than 2 really small speakers in that space. I have used it with converted original radios, and this Pioneer amp and you get all the sound you need. Loud enough and clear enough to enjoy your music blowing down the road with the windows down.

Pros: Easily fits single speaker dash, dual wiring connections, plenty of sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

Michael from North Andover, MA on 10/29/2016

1980 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it in my 1980 GMC truck. Just what I needed for upfront highs and decent midrange using the 50w per channel amp built into my receiver. Very happy with with it.

Pros: slipped right into the stock opening. Two of the flanges matched right up to the factory screw holes.

Cons: cant think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

Crutchfield customer from Russellville, AR on 8/29/2016

1979 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

gave extra for this speaker so I could have a nice sound(not great just nice) on 2nd day it was already rattling. hard to believe but I'm jus not real pleased with this speaker. also was a real pain to replace.

Pros: fit really nice

Cons: started rattling almost from the beginning

Crutchfield response on 8/30/2016
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll either help him get these speakers working properly, or help him return them for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

This is a winner!

Jim D from Port Saint Lucie, FL on 8/25/2016

1972 Ford Galaxy 500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found the speaker to meet my requirements in full. In fact, my car model is a LTD convertible. The speaker required about 15 minutes alteration to fit in the dash pad. Great fit other than that. Sound is great, better than door speakers. Definitely not top shelf but way more than I expected. Highly recommend for this application.

Pros: Very good sound and reasonably easy installation at a great price.

Cons: None as of yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound

DJ from Pottsville, PA on 7/28/2016

1978 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great as a drop in replacement in my 78 c10, hard rubber around speaker caused a clearance issue but wasn't hard to fix

Pros: Sounds great as a drop in replacement in my 78 c10

Cons: hard rubber around speaker caused a clearance issue but wasn't hard to fix

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Groovy, Man

ArrDub from Western VA on 4/28/2016

1984 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker, when I finally figured it out, sounds great. It will stick up from the dash a bit more than the original, but I can trim foam with the best of them. The instructions could have been more clear, but those are the instructions in the box, which are in no way a fault of Crutchfield.

Pros: Sound great. I got some killer 3½' speakers to sit on the outside corners of the dash, and when I get it tuned up to my hearing aid, it's about as groovy as a 3 hour Blue Cheer concert in Bimini.

Cons: Instructions could be improved.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great retro-fit for mono cars

JasonC from Minnesota on 1/9/2016

1968 Oldsmobile Cutlass

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never thought I'd ever get stereo sound in the front of my late 60s Olds without some major work. Found this baby and it works great! Plenty of power, and sounds great. Probably doesn't sound as good as if you did a full overhaul, but considering all the wind, engine, and road noise the car already has, it's going to do just fine!

Pros: Great solution for your old mono dash speaker.

Cons: Couldn't use the stock mounting bracket and needed a RS-UB1KT to make it fit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

retro sound speaker

Bob from Maryland on 1/3/2016

1967 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound from a speak with a dual voice coil. I was able to mount the speak in my 1967 Camaro where the factory mounted the original.

Pros: Good sound and did not have to destroy the looks of my car

Cons: Product was shipped by Fedx and it took 10 day to receive but what else from Fedx.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

GTB from Sierra Vista, Arizona on 12/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tech said the oem size was 4X10 because I had not removed the radio or speaker before ordering I went with his info. When I recived the new radio and speaker I removed the oem and found that I should have a 6X10. I was able to install the 4X10 and make it work. I just didn't feel like going thru the hassel of sending it back, my choice.

Pros: It did fit, even if it was the wrong size.

Cons: The tech should have better info on vehical fits.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Concept, Poor and Cheap Execution

Crutchfield customer from WI on 10/23/2014

1966 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upon opening the box, only one thought crossed my mind, "I paid close to $80 for this?!" Speaker is very lightweight. The chrome backing as seen in the pictures you'd assume was metal? Nope, chrome plated plastic. Now, I did not tear apart the dash of my 66 Chevelle to test fit, just wired the speaker up and placed on top of the dash. Sound is decent at low levels and I was actually impressed. However, after starting the car, the sound from the speaker was no match for only sound worth hearing in a classic car, the rumble of the V8. Decided what's the point of a sound system in a classic car, and ended up returning the speaker and installing a radio blank-off plate. But then again, your mileage may vary.

Pros: stereo sound from a single speaker. Decent sound quality with car off at low volumes.

Cons: Chrome plated plastic. Cheap feel. Very light.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great speaker for adding stereo where it didn't exist.

Roy w. from Tucson Arizona on 2/4/2014

1980 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker was the perfect solution for adding front channel sound to my 1980 Malibu which only had one front speaker.

Pros: Exact fit good sound

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect for my 68 camaro

JeffF from huntington wv on 12/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great front fill in sound with 6x9's in the rear deck and small sub in the trunk

Pros: great speaker

Cons: mounting was a challenge but not anything due to product

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dashboard speaker

Retro sound 4 x 10 from Conroe, TX on 7/11/2013

1986 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker fit perfectly and it sounds amazing

Pros: Doesn't leave a bump underneath the dashboard panel

Cons: None really but it just doesn't have as much bass as I would like it too

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Gets the job done.

Walter from Cleveland, OH on 6/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced front single center of dash speaker in 1967 Camaro. This speaker has dual voice coils so both left and right channels can come through one speaker. Install was smooth enough and speaker looked to be of reasonable construction. Sound is middle of the road and not as good as a modern factory speaker let alone what you would like to see from an aftermarket speaker. Considering you are getting two speakers in one it may be fair to only expect OK sound quality from this speaker. It is not a "high end" price either. Also it is a HUGE improvement over the original speakers. The car is a convertible and GM put one speaker in the front dash and one in the back. The back speaker was buried under the top when it is down and could not be heard. Lastly the support bracket supplied was way to flimsy. I had to use some thicker steel I had laying around or the radio would have fallen away from the dash and rattled.

Pros: Left and Right channels from one speaker

Cons: Only medium sound quality. Weak mounting bracket.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Too Big for 1965 Mustang

Bill L from Wallingford, CT on 5/24/2013

1964 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product seems nice but it is too big to fit in the stock opening of my 64 1/2 Mustang Coupe

Pros: Seems Nice

Cons: Does Not Fit in Stock 64 1/2 Mustang as advertised

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Easy Install

Sibon3 from Chicago, IL on 6/6/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice construction. Easy install into 1969 Cutlass Dash using the supplied mounting kit. Perfect solution for getting dual channels through the single speaker location in the dash.

Pros: Easy install ans=d comes with install hardware kit

Cons: Wish it came with an integrated mesh cover to protect speaker. Installed my own.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

retrosound 4x10

nate from rosemount mn on 4/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

overall i am pleased with this speaker although it wasnt a total bolt in installation. I purchased the speaker to replace my original in my 69 superbee. I liked the dual voice coil idea due to the fact the car only has one front speaker. I did need to use the exising frame off of my old speaker to make this one work with the ca because the speaker mounting holes provided were a inch too short.. I am powering it with a pioneer 4400, no amp and a pair of 6x9 rockfords in the rear. Sound quality is good

Pros: good fit, dual voice coil

Cons: cost is kind of high for what you get.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Vintage replacement

Zipper from Rochester, NY on 3/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to fit the 1965 Rambler American 440 convertible I am working on. The inclusion of the mounting kit was just what I needed to complete the installation. I went a bit farther than most. I have a hidden stereo amplifier in the glove box for my i-tunes but I mounted and wired a 4 pole, double throw switch so that I can switch it to the series mode and hook it back to the original AM Radio. Plays great and sounds better than the original speaker when hooked to the radio and the clarity for the stereo is wonderful. Makes great sound and fits perfectly with the included mounting kit.

Pros: Easy fit, great for going to a stereo without cutting or modifying the car. Will also work as an 8 ohm speaker when the left and right channels are wired in series. Great versitility!

Cons: None. Sounds great.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Retrosound R410N

JerryC from Bufalo,NY on 2/19/2012

1970 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally stereo sound in front of my '70 GTO without cutting holes! Bought this speaker as an open box item without regret. Took me 10 minutes to make a mounting bracket and it was in.

Pros: Easy install, good sound

Cons: Wish I found this sooner.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Retrosound R-410N

Cooper from Falls Church, VA on 1/1/2012

1982 Dodge Ramcharger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A geat find! Perfect fit, sound is great, hooks up as stereo with only one speaker, takes both the front left and right wires.

Pros: It is an exact fit for my 1982 Dodge Ram D350, which should also cover the other D series as well as the Ramcharger.

Cons: A little bit too high which causes the dash's speeker cover to bow slightly. I am going to use the Dremel tool to trim some of the height of the oval ridge on the bottom side of the cover so it will fit without bowing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for original 70's era radios

Big B from Louisiana on 10/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This may be a great speaker but ....This speaker will not work with an original 70's era GM radio. It requires a 10ohm impedence speaker ...this one is 4ohm. You can harm your radio if you hook up the wrong impedence speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Retrosound 4x10

Pontiac Ed from Downers Grove, IL on 6/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this speaker for a factory center dash speaker application in a full size '62 Pontiac. This speaker is very shallow and it solved an interference problem between the previous replacement dash speaker and the body of the original AM radio. Its unique design allows you to wire both channels to one speaker to give a fuller sound from a single speaker, but you can wire it to a single channel. I wired it to both front channels of a moderately priced Alpine head unit and it sounds pretty good although it would probably sound better if I ran the signal through an amp. I did run in to a slight fitment problem with the factory speaker studs in the dash. I had to file the fastener holes in the speaker frame slightly to get the speaker to fit, but that's no big deal. I would definitely recommend this speaker to people trying to get better sound in an older car while maintaining the factory appearance of the interior without modifying the car. Its short profile is a major asset for dash applications

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

DonZ from Huntington In on 11/30/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The mounting system made it a great way to install it in my 1969 Olds 442 with air conditioning. I don't know how I would have mounted any speaker without the bracket and screw. The sound is descent, a whole lot better then what ever came from the factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound 4x10 speaker

Tom M from West Palm Beach, FL on 10/23/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a perfect solution to the blown out flush mount dash speaker in my 59 Coupe DeVille. Installation took less than 10 minutes. The speaker had the exact spacing for the mounting bolts/nuts and it sounds great with my XMp3 and an amplifier hidden inside the glove box. I'm glad I checked Chrutchfield for the solution. Delivery was great too. Awesome product, service, web site, delivery etc...resulting in total customer delight!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2 speakers in one

David from Mercer, PA on 3/27/2010

1978 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a great purchase for replacing my single center mounted speaker in the front dash. I had to modify the bracket, but the speaker had some bolt holes to attach the new mount. The fact that it serves as both the left and right speaker in a single package works out great and the sound is fantastic compared to the old original speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound R-410N

Doug from cincinnati on 8/16/2009

2001 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality i can expect even better quality when my new stereo and door speakers come in great customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

TOP