Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound R-463N

4"x6" 2-way speakers

MFR # R-463N

RetroSound R-463N

RetroSound R-463N

4"x6" 2-way speakers

MFR # R-463N

26 reviews
View this product

Good option for Porsche 944

Crutchfield customer from Doral, FL on 12/6/2020

1984 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit for the Porsche 944. You will have to use the provided grill covers. Factory grills won't work (tweeter gets in the way)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jack W.

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, IN on 11/10/2020

1993 Chevrolet Cheyenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers fit my vehicle just fine. Isn't the big sound i was hoping for but maybe when I add an amp ill get there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 10/18/2020

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice! Great sound quality. Fast delivery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits 1987 Porsche 944 w/ Power Windows

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1987 Porsche 944 NA - These speakers fit the doors with stock speaker grill and power windows. No bulge from the tweeter. The sound is good and I'm sure it's better than when the stock speakers were new. I have the stock Blaupunkt head unit. Don't be freaked out by the small magnet. It's made from neodymium, not ceramic. It's lighter weight and has better efficiency. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from Madison, MS on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great and fit the Retro Sound kick panels perfectly.

Pros: Perfect fit for Retro Sound kick panels Better than stock speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from Winthrop, IA on 5/28/2020

1984 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They Fit!!!

Bill from Cheshire, CT on 5/8/2020

1984 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Anyone that has researched available door speakers for your 944 has found that most documented options are outdated and/or no longer available. Looking to keep the original look without going the modifications for 6x9 speakers, amp, subwoofer and mega wattage route - my selection/purchase came down to two sets of speakers (the Speaker Compare Program is recommended): - Infinity REF-6432cfx - RetroSound R-463N Available door depth of 1.5"/38 mm from door frame to the window guide on any car with power windows, I attempted installation of each speaker. The Infinity speaker required spacers between the door frame and the speaker and also produced a gap between door card and original speaker cover while the RetroSound did not. With both speakers an upgrade from +35 year old originals, I was more than happy enough with the sound. My decision was made to install the RetroSounds in the front (easy installation) and the Infinity's in the back (much more difficult ). A couple downsides were the confusion of the speaker wattage and fit locations. The R-463N has different wattage figures appearing on the box, website and the speaker itself. Customer service (Thanks Kevin!!) was helpful in finding they were compatible with the unit being installed with, my problem was solved. While both sets of speakers returned a FIT in the Rear Seat Side Panel only, based on my experience - the R-463N also fit the Front Door.

Pros: - fit front door - sound

Cons: - wattage confusion - unpublished door fit locations

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound for Hard-to-Fit Spaces

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 4/8/2020

1983 Mercedes-Benz 300SD

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

RetroSound's R-463N speakers are the perfect choice for classic car owners, or anyone who wants great, upgraded sound, (over the stock speakers), with a minimum of installation 'fuss' in those hard-to-match spaces! I have an older Mercedes in very nice condition, which has an owner-installed, upgraded modern receiver/CD. The original owner made a 'nice' choice of a simple, single-play, 52 watts-per-channel, in-dash SONY, which went well with the car; and, I know sounds a lot better than the original low-power, stock, cassette. PROBLEM: although the front, mini speakers were actually pretty standard, (and were upgraded), the back shelf units were hard-to-find 4x6" size, and were still stock. The use of the original, factory speakers on the back shelf meant that I could never turn up my favorite tunes, especially when playing CDs on a long drive. I investigated, and soon found why the original owner never replaced the back speakers. There is only about 2" of clearance for the magnets, in the rear-corner "humps," which necessitated the use of 'cheap, paper' stock speakers, or cutting up the back package tray to install bigger speakers, which made me cringe. (It is a nice, older car, after all, I felt.) ENTER: Crutchfield & RetroSound! The R-463N feature magnets made of special 'neodymium,' dual polypropylene cones, and best of all, up to 80 watts, with only 1.7 in. clearance. They sound great, and you can turn it up, (just a little). Thanks, Crutchfield!

Pros: Quality materials, reasonable price and very good sound for custom installations.

Cons: Probably not as good as traditional 6x9" with sub-woofers, etc., (they won't satisfy the hard-core 'audiophile,') BUT, these sound a lot better than stock, especially for older vehicles, and don't require major modifications!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from Winter Garden, FL on 10/20/2019

1988 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They fit good and look well made. They sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from Smithtown, NY on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers for the money. I added them to a pair of Polk and they blend well.

Pros: Good Clarity and they can handle the power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from Hallock, MN on 5/30/2019

1966 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a small speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/10/2019

1974 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were bought for the dash after consulting with an agent and being assured they would fit. They don't. The pattern for mounting screws is different and will not fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/13/2019
We're sorry about the issues with the fit of your new speakers. Our Advisor should've explained that the factory location won't accommodate aftermarket 4x10 speakers. The 4x6 speakers you ordered require that you re-drill screw holes to secure them. It appears we failed to mention that. We've asked one of our Tech Support crew to reach out to this customer to explain this and set up a refund if necessary.

0 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Marvin from Albany, OR on 12/11/2017

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit is good but the overall sound is not as good as I would have liked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/12/2017
Marvin, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 6/18/2017

1996 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers do not fit a 1996 Porsche 911 (premium sound) as claimed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/20/2017
This customer contacted us and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Crutchfield customer from Mentor, OH on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected! Inexpensive but sound really good. Fit perfectly into the rear deck of my 1986 Porsche 911.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sound great

Anthony from Dublin, Ca on 11/22/2016

1991 GMC Syclone

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these for my 1991 GMC Syclone. They fit I but had to cut and clip the ends to make them fit. I needed shallow mount speakers and these seemed to do the trick.

Pros: Not huge and great sound

Cons: Fits but not drop in. Little cutting in order to make it work.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-463N

Cory from Colorado Springs, CO on 9/6/2016

1983 Chevrolet Caprice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only speaker Crutchfield had that would fit the dash of my 1983 Caprice. They sound great for such a small speaker, only had to drill some extra holes to mount the speaker since it did not line up with the factory holes.

Pros:

Cons: Only speaker that Crutchfield has that fits the dash of my car, no other brand makes a speaker shallow enough to fit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good replacement speaker

Cgherk from Missouri on 12/29/2015

2001 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good replacement speaker, installed with a little trimming of speaker, had to use adaptor rings.

Pros: Came with adapter rings and was easy to modify

Cons: Not a direct fit

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Retrosound R-463N

LarryM from California on 11/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed replacement speakers for the badly deteriorated, original speakers in my 1985 BMW 635CSi. Maintaining a completely stock appearance was very important to me, which I knew would limit my choices. My car also retains its original Alpine AM/FM/Cassette unit and I only use the tuner section, so audiophile-level performance was not really a priority. I selected these speakers mainly because they were the only ones I could find that fit in the stock locations (front kick panels and rear deck pods), without having to make major modifications to the interior. The tweeter on these speakers do protrude about 1/4" but I was able to use my original, flat grilles in the fronts by trimming the carpeting around the speakers so that they mount directly to the car's metal structure rather than on top of the carpeting. The grilles mount on top of the carpeting; since my carpeting is approx. 1/4" thick, I have enough clearance for the tweeters behind the flat grilles. I also used 1/4" thick plastic spacers on each mounting screw between the grilles and speaker frames, in order to prevent the grilles from cracking when being tightened down. The rear speakers were essentially direct "bolt-ins" in my stock speaker pods. I'd rate the performance of these speakers acceptable for casual radio listening only. Don't expect a "warm" sound or deep bass; keep your expectations within reason for speakers of this type given their design limitations in favor of better fit in tight locations.

Pros: -Compact design; good choice for fitment in locations with limited depth, where audiophile performance is NOT a priority. -Choice of materials (polypropylene woofer w/ santoprene surround) means they might last longer than original paper-coned speakers with foam surrounds. -Come supplied with tasteful, attractive grilles.

Cons: -Overall design favoring ease of fitment in tight locations (small magnets/voice coils, etc.) seriously compromises performance. -Elemental build quality doesn't seem up to par with other speakers in this price range. The stamped frames especially seem rather cheaply made. -OK for casual radio listening of classical, jazz, news/talk; forget them if impressing your friends with high-volume rock is your intended usage.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sound better than expected, but didn't fit.

Dorian from Tennessee on 11/5/2015

1998 GMC Sonoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound about as good as advertised; don't buy these expecting anything other than what they are.

Pros: Sound better than I expected, given the super-thin and small form factor.

Cons: Despite Crutchfield's insistence that they'll fit in my 1998 GMC Sonoma, they did not fit at all. I had to wire them in and get really creative with two-sided tape in order to get the dashboard grille to fit once they were wired in.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Fits front door cards on Porsche 944

Jeremy C from California on 6/12/2015

1986 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These shallow depth speakers are exactly what I needed to fit the doors on my '86 944. Crutchfield does not list them as compatible but they will work just fine, with a couple of caveats. The depth of the magnet is short enough that they clear the window regulators with no issue, and with some room to spare. If you use the included Retrosound speaker grilles (which are incidentally dead-ringers for the late style '88-'89 factory 4-speaker type grilles in terms of appearance), these speakers are direct-fit for the car and there are no modifications required whatsoever. If you want to use the original factory speaker grilles, you'll either need to buy or make a spacer to fit on top of the speaker cage, OR you can move the factory plastic speaker mounting bushes to the top of the speaker cage: this will result in a slight gap around the edges of the factory grille vs. the door panel, but it's not really noticeable unless you're looking for it. Compared to my blown-out factory original Blaupunkt speakers these are great, but it is important to remember that these are a fairly basic replacement 4x6 with a small magnet, so it may be wise to temper your expectations. For my admittedly basic uses - just something to make pleasant enough noises while commuting or touring, they are more than adequate. I paired these speakers with a pair of Alpine SPS-406 speakers in the rear seat side panels, and a Nakamichi NA350iBTR head unit with no external amp - it's a better system than stock.

Pros: I am glad that these exist, and am extra glad that they include a grille almost indistinguishable from a factory Porsche part, albeit from a slightly later model than my car.

Cons: These are not anything other than what they are, so keep expectations in check.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The magnet fell off...

David from Alaska on 10/7/2013

1986 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First things first. Crutchfield is a fantastic company, I've made many, many purchases through them over the years. Thank you Crutchfield. Now on to the review of these speakers. The magnet fell off the back of the speaker! Yes, that is right, I installed one speaker, turned on my head unit, turned up the volume a bit, faded over to the left and it all of a sudden started making a terrible, low volume noise. I pulled the speaker out, and sure enough, the magnet fell off the back of the speaker! I would NEVER buy another product from retrosound - not until they figure out how to make products that is. I will continue to buy from Crutchfield.

Pros: Not one single pro about these speakers... nothing... same price as real speakers, worst possible quality.

Cons: None - they were absolutely the worst product I have ever purchased. I have received more durable and reliable items as toys in fast food kids meals!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

They fit!

Sean from washington, dc on 1/30/2013

1986 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was very hard to find speakers that would fit my 1986 Porsche 944 and clear the electric windows. While these speakers don't have the best sound, they are certainly more than adequate.

Pros: Very small compact speakers.

Cons: Average sound quality. Very small magnets and plastic cones.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

PERFECT for Corrados

Victor from Riverside on 12/10/2012

1993 Volkswagen Corrado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For you Corrado owners looking to replace the rear 4" x 6" speakers, well this is the speaker to have. I have a 93 Corrado and they replaced the factory speaker perfectly. No modifications needed; just remove, replace and install. The plus is that it came with free wire harnesses that allows you to connect directly to OEM vehicle connector. It was just unusual that the harnesses were sent separately. Believe it or not I received the speakers within two days while the harnesses took five days. So don't plan on any installations unless you don't care to use the harnesses. The quality is good and it's amazing how compact they are; it looks like your not getting enough for your money :D

Pros: Compact

Cons: Not much to say other than there could be a little more base coming out of them. But other than that they sound very good. I would recommend them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

TG from Washington, MO on 9/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were bought to replace the original speakers from a 1986 Porsche 911. They are a perfect drop-in fit. I was even able to use the original mounting hardware from the Alpine speakers. Because of the very shallow mounting depth these were the only ones that could fit and they do fit perfectly. The sound is great considering they are only a shallow 4x6 speaker. The rep at Crutchfield suggested these speakers and he was absolutely correct. Highly recommended for this situation.

Pros: Fit. Sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good speakers

Wild Bill from Spring Lake, NC on 1/18/2012

1996 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers, way better than stock. These fit into my Porsche 911 (993) with no modification needed.

Pros: Sounds good.

Cons: Not enough base, although that's not a fault of the speaker.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP