Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
539 658 973 3
Connect ID #
539 658 973 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound R-525N

5-1/4" 2-way speakers

MFR # R-525N

RetroSound R-525N

RetroSound R-525N

5-1/4" 2-way speakers

MFR # R-525N

19 reviews
View this product

Nice fit and good sound

Crutchfield customer from Brookings, SD on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit almost perfectly and sound good in my 1990 Toyota Land Cruiser FJ 62. I only needed to add spacers behind the tabs where the speakers screw into the door to make them fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Misleading Fit statement in buying process

NIK from AUSTIN on 1/25/2020

1988 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for speakers to fit into my collector car so really fit was the priority. I hate giving up audio quality but in this case it was the right call. The speakers were "Retro" brand hence suggested they were designed with older era's in mind. After putting in my car info, I was clearly told that it fit my car, even chose the location in the car. I have to admit that it was my fault for trusting the first line of information, so I clicked through another statement upon check out. Where on the second line it did say that I would have to drill holes. (this was pointing out to me after the fact by Crutchfield). I received the speakers and begin installing where I did discover that I would have to drill the holes since Crutchfield nor the manufacturer had a 3-to-4 hole converter. Unfortunately the speaker did not fully fit into the hole in the metal frame of the door. Just about but it teeter tottered. I went to the manufacturer's website and checked if this speaker should fit my car, however they did not even have the Toyota option in their pull down menu. hmmmmm. If the manufacturer doesn't state they support Toyota, how does Crutchfield claim this. I was about to return but I did end up creating a solution myself. It wasn't the best of fit but it's working. I know it's tough to guarantee all fit, however I wish that the warning on the drilling appeared during the initial checking of fit. If known then I would have gone on

Pros: None for my application

Cons: Avg sound

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

busted

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 7/5/2019

2002 Volkswagen Cabrio

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

9 months in and the speaker sounds cracked. Retrosound wants me to remove and mail back before a replacement is mailed. I get it but that's not happening. I'm not taking the car apart twice..extensive process removing side panels and seats. I should have tried to shim out a better pair of speakers. I'll do that next. Retro lost a customer.

Pros: shallow

Cons: BROKEN

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice basic speakers

Andrew from Wilmington, DE on 10/19/2016

1989 Alfa Romeo Spider Veloce

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These recommended speakers (by Crutchfield) were installed in the doors in old Alfa Spider with Polk speakers on the back deck. There's enough bass output for the doors to vibrate but the midrange sound is a bit subdued. That may or may not be caused by their positions at leg level in an open sports car (probably) but they are loads better than the tiny junky speakers I took out. Installation and fit were quite easy as they are low profile. I didn't need the grills but they are nice and plain as to not detract from the interior design (some new speaker grills are too aggressive and look like gym equipment to me).

Pros: Easy fit, decent sound

Cons: Midrange suffers a tiny bit from low profile cone but bass seems OK.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Wrong Product For Vehicle!

Alvin T from North Carolina on 9/25/2015

1994 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am sure the product is fine, but it will not fit my vehicle. Not sure how Crutchfield came up with this as a match, but it was a waste of time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

RetroSound R-525N Falls Apart

Dean D. from Bellevue, Wa on 10/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buyer beware. Two years ago I purchased a pair of RetroSound R-525N speakers for installation in our 1995 Toyota Landcruiser. It was recommended by Crutchfield as the speaker with the right profile for the Landcruiser door. I noticed a few months back, one of the speakers went quite. I took the door apart today to discover that the speaker separated - metal back from the speaker frame. This was an adhesive failure. I sent photo's, and contacted both Crutchfield and Restrosound. Crutchfield sent me to Retrosound. Both stated that it was only covered for 1 year. Do not buy this speaker.

Pros: The speaker was low profile and fit into the LandCruiser door as advertised.

Cons: Speaker fell apart inside my door, due to poor manufacturing processes. Glue holding metal back to speaker frame failed after the 1 year warranty. Neither Crutchfield or Retrosound will address the issue.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

RetroSound R-525N

FredB from Hawthorne NY on 5/14/2014

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers for the price. Fit & install went very easy with included spacers & directions.

Pros: Easy installation, perfect fit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Compromised sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Northern California on 12/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was the only choice in speakers for installation in the stock location in the doors of an Alfa Romeo Spider. No distortion at higher sound levels but the shallow mount design is clearly a compromise in getting decent bass response and the rest of the range lacks real presence. Not surprising. I can live with it since better 5.25" speakers were used for the rear speakers but if other shallow-mount speakers had been available for the doors, they would have been given serious consideration over these at any price.

Pros: Fit tight location where nothing else would.

Cons: Weak bass response. Not very crisp in upper range either.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sounds good

Crutchfield customer from Garberville, CA on 3/5/2013

1998 Mercedes-Benz ML320

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound for shallow mount speakers

Pros: Fits into the shallowest doors yet.

Cons: Price, paper really?

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cheap Garbage

Reviewer from Miami, FL on 12/19/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are made from the cheapest materials possible. The cone is a very delicate paper and there is almost no magnet. Not even worth the money to ship them.

Pros:

Cons: These speakers are made from the cheapest materials possible. The cone is a very delicate paper and there is almost no magnet. Not even worth the money to ship them.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

RetroSound R-525N

Bill from CA on 6/12/2012

1993 Ford Escort GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good for the price. With 5.25" there isn't much base response, but realistically I didn't expect there would be.

Pros: Came complete with wire and hardware.

Cons: Now I have two grills that I'll probably wind up throwing away since I used the factory grills in the door panels.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Retro speakers

Mark T from Fort Wayne, IN on 3/25/2012

1987 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound of the speakers designed for low-profile is great. Using the additional wiring harness made installation easier, but I will say that the speaker should be rated at 5" instead of the 5-1/4" as advertised because the stock speakers I were replacing were 5-1/4" and the Retro's were short of that and left me drilling new holes in the body of the Nissan Hardbody instead of being able to mount the speakers in the grill enclosure as the instructions indicated. Also used rope caulking around the edge of the speaker to prevent any metal-to-metal contact while mounting the speakers to the speaker holes in the body. Despite the minor mounting difficulties encountered, overall I am very pleased with the results - a very crisp sound with as much bass response as one could expect with a low profile speaker.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Exact replacement installation

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sound much better than stock.

SeanM from Wshington, DC on 1/22/2012

1990 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound much better than than the stock speakers. Installation involved drilling four holes and using the wire harnesses. Couple of things to note: the speaker did not exactly fit into the old opening, it is about a quarter inch proud. Because of that the metal covering the new cone directly impacts with the large hole in the car door. I put some plastic liner around it so it would not be metal on metal. Sounds good though, no buzz.

Pros: Sounds good, fits fairly well.

Cons: Stands a bit proud of the old speaker position.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Good speakers for the size

Jahbello from Irvine, CA on 11/12/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers and I am glad the Crutchfield guy told me about them.

Pros: These were about the only speakers that would fit in the doors of my 1989 Toyota Land Cruiser. I needed to use something with very shallow depth, or else would have them stick out into the car. Sound is much better than what I had in there before. SImple to install and came with all the needed wires, etc. Door was set up with a 3-hole triangle pattern, so I had to drill for the current 4-hole pattern on all speakers now.

Cons: The sound is great for speakers that are this shallow, but they don't beat ones that are deeper and better quality. There are better speakers and I would have used something better if it would fit. If you have a depth clearance issue, these are great though.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

RetroSound R-525N

DavidBar from Frisco, TX on 9/9/2011

1983 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shallow depth of these speakers allowed for straightforward mounting behind my CJ7 Jeep's dash without having to remove the dash. Excellent sound for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Not to sure

Danny from SC on 6/9/2011

1991 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality of speaker not that great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 12 found this helpful

Best for the money

Johnny from Tucson on 5/19/2011

1991 Chrysler Lebaron

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield sells the best, and the best for the money, and these speakers fall in the later category. For the $49 price with shipping included I was pleased with the sound. My car is a 1991 LeBaron convertible, and the rear speakers seem to last about a year. Of all the speakers I have bought over the years, these were the lowest cost, yet seem to sound as good as speakers costing $89, or more. Have a nice day.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

1995 Nissan Hardbody extended cab- these will fit and sound nice

MikeH from Austin on 5/5/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound nice and will actually fit in the factory speaker brackets! You will need to pre-drill some small holes in the factory bracket or just use self tapping screws to attach the speakers instead of attaching them to the factory grills like the originals. You can still use the original speaker grills, they will just fit right over the speakers and brackets. Also see my review for the 6.5 RetroSound Speakers, because the "Outfit my car" tool shows that the 6.5 will fit and they do not. Hope all you Nissan turck people find this useful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

GM factory speakers upgrade

SeanE from Michigan on 4/25/2011

1999 Oldsmobile Eighty Eight

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced the factory door speakers in my late 90's GM car with no problem as the salesperson recommended, they line up perfectly to mount in, and the GM wire harnesses make the hookup easy. Just be sure to connect the one end to your speaker before screwing it into the door because it's not accessable once it's in there, and you also will have to bring the wiring harnesses out the front of the mounted speakers (there is a small gap on the top) instead of in the back to connect them. You will see what I mean when you do this. Then when you put the door panel back on, before pushing in the panel bottom, slide the harnesses back into their little plastic holders in the door panel to keep the wiring out of the way of the speaker operation. You won't be able to do this before the door panel's almost on because of the wire length. These have their limitations naturally because they're 5 1/4 " speakers so they're not going to boom, but they are a nice sounding improvement over the GM factory speakers. The diagram that crutchfield supplied of how to get the door panel off and back on and the wiring harnesses they included were invaluable in putting these speakers in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

TOP