Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
788 598 841 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
788 598 841 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound R-57N

Single 5"x7" 2-way car speaker with dual voice coils

MFR # R-57N

RetroSound R-57N

RetroSound R-57N

Single 5"x7" 2-way car speaker with dual voice coils

MFR # R-57N

13 reviews
View this product

Good Fit

Crutchfield customer from Vonore, TN on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Narrow design makes it possible to achieve required fit in existing dash.

Pros: Fit, appearance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-57N

Crutchfield customer from King George, VA on 9/1/2019

1967 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speaker works great but the terminals could use a bit of help. I bent one of the terminals a few times trying to get the included wiring pushed on, but as long as you are gentle it works just fine. Biggest issue was not being offered the "Universal Mounting Bracket" from Crutchfield during the ordering process. The kit is just a piece of thin stamped metal (the bracket), one bolt to hold the bracket to the speaker, and two self tapping screws to mount the bracket to the chassis. The problem is, unless you already have somewhere that this speaker will bolt in directly it's pretty much useless without the bracket kit. For some reason it wasn't offered from Crutchfield and I found out after attempting the install, which added 3 days to my schedule. In any case, do yourself a favor and order Retrosound RS-UB1KT or you'll be wasting a few days too.

Pros: Great speaker

Cons: Doesn't come with required mounting bracket

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-57N

Crutchfield customer from Plant City, FL on 12/12/2018

1970 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! Perfect upgrade to the original 48 year old speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-57N

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 11/25/2018

1985 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great in my 1985 F250 in place of the factory dash speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kraco stereo lives to play another day!

Mike from Bergen County, NJ on 7/20/2018

1973 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the single in-dash speaker in a '73 F250. For the price and convenience this speaker is definitely a really good choice. Much better than the ripped, blown out speaker that was in there. Now if I could just find some cassettes for the Kraco stereo... I'll be stylin'

Pros: 1. It's a tight, tight fit with the original mounting screws, but it does fit with zero modifications. 2. I can use the balance knob and get a response

Cons: 1. With a Kraco AM/FM Cassette stereo that uses a common ground... I can't complain 2. The adjustable mounting bracket was missing from my packaging, but luckily I didn't need it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-57N

Crutchfield customer from Lake Zurich, IL on 6/24/2018

1957 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly for my application

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-57N

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 12/23/2017

1977 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It wasn't a perfect fit, but I improvised with the metal strap and made it fit. After considerable internet search, this was probably the closet replacement I could've found. It sounds great with my Kenwood radio/cd unit. Thanks. Overall, a good buy for my 1977 Ford pickup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-57N

Bill from Williston Park, NY on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is a great replacement for a 50 year old factory speaker. Sound is loud and clear. It allows me to retain the factory appearance on my 1965 MGB.

Pros: this speaker allows stereo performance from 1 speaker. Perfect for and older Mono car, with an updated head unit.

Cons: I had to drill out the mounting holes a little. Not really a con,

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Fit, Decent Sound

Steve from Texas on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit right in my 1984 F150. Did have to bend a couple of the terminals in order to drop in. Sounds ok, way better than the original but not incredible.

Pros: Fits.

Cons: Not as clear as I expected.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Retrosound R-57N

Crutchfield customer from Street, Maryland on 8/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although lacking in some bass and fulness of sound, it's a good solution to the single speaker location found in my old MG. Car noise prohibits any real sound system anyway. Serves my circumstances perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Retro Speaker in 66 Bronco

Brian from West, TX on 7/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker replaced a single in dash speaker in a 66 Bronco. Paired with a retro sound radio this speaker sounds pretty good. I am happy with the purchase and would recommend it for a single dash speaker replacement. The adjustable mounting bracket works great.

Pros: Fits great in dash of 66 Bronco.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Tinny

Kevin from NH on 5/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a single center dash mono speaker so compared to that this is way better. In playing it with the Retrosound Model 2 I bought with it though it sounds pretty tinny. Maybe I just haven't found the right DSP setup on the radio yet. I wasn't expecting it to sound as good as a pair of nice speaker and I didn't have any other real choices so I gave it 3 stars.

Pros: Easy install, with lots of options to make it fit. Dual voice voila

Cons: Sounds tinny to me

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-57N

Jim from Orlando, FL on 12/15/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too bad this speaker is the only available dual voice coil for older cars and trucks. It works and is definately in better shape than the one I removed from my 1979 F-150 but it seems to be lacking in clear highs and fullness in sound. I don't know, I'm no stereo expert, but I have a RetroSound stereo driving this speaker in the dash and a 6 1/2" speaker in each door and the 5x7 sounds weak...It works though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

TOP