Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound R-69N

Single 6"x9" 2-way car speaker with dual voice coils

MFR # R-69N

RetroSound R-69N

RetroSound R-69N

Single 6"x9" 2-way car speaker with dual voice coils

MFR # R-69N

22 reviews
View this product

RetroSound R-69N

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker fits stock speaker opening in my 57 Chevy looks and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trim job

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 10/1/2020

1958 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this speaker in The dash of my 1958 Impala. This was not just bolt in job, half to remove some metal off of the top of the brace to get speaker to fit. But it sounds great. ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

6''x 9'' RetroSound speaker

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown Hts, NY on 7/26/2020

1954 Chevrolet Bel Air

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker delivers great sound because it's two speakers in one. It was just what I was looking for! I did not want to add a rear speaker because it would be harder to hear the rear track with all the windows open on my '54 Chevy Bel-Air. Vinny C.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-69N

Crutchfield customer from Waretown, NJ on 6/5/2019

1955 Chevrolet 210

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 1955 Chevy 210 2 dr. hardtop sports coupe. The car has the original factory air conditioning unit. Because the ac/heater core box is much larger than the heater only unit I could not find a speaker that would fit in the dash. I went through four different speakers with no luck. The Retro Sound R-69N is the only speaker that fit. The pancake design was perfect for any body that needs a narrow width speaker.

Pros: Also, the dual speakers sound GREAT.

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound R-69N

Crutchfield customer from Warren, RI on 4/30/2019

1967 Buick Skylark

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speaker, installed without a problem. Has great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Looks good, but didn't work for my application

Phil from Payson, AZ on 12/7/2018

1962 Chevrolet Corvair

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks like a fine speaker but, unfortunately, it didn't actually fit the space of the factory speaker. Due to a unique situation on the '62 Corvair, the thickness of the flange (the actual face of the speaker, where it mounts flush to the underside of the dash) is critical. Rather than cut away some of the speaker, which I'm sure would void the warranty, I opted to return it and order a 4"x10" speaker instead. It will require some mounting adjustments, but will allow the clearance I need. I will review that speaker once I have received and had a chance to test it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good speaker

Dave from Mishicot, WI on 12/22/2017

1963 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good !! installed it in a 63 corvette sounds good but will wait till spring to see how it really sounds going down the highway

Pros: good sound

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

chev2

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, NJ on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my 1955 Chevy Bel Air, I had to cut out part of the center of the original mounting with tin snips to accommodate the extra space needed to clear the 2 added speakers and bend the tabs on each side of the speakers to fit into the original frame. It works fine, but unless you're handy, this could be troublesome. Otherwise its ok.

Pros: Looks good. Works ok.

Cons: Not easy to install, why chrome plating? A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-69N

Nestor from Puerto Rico on 7/22/2016

2010 Dodge Journey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent speaker

Pros: Fit good,sound better, than the old.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better

X from Tulsa, OK on 4/25/2016

1978 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaces the in dash mono speaker that late model firebirds all came with.... Shortly to get blown out and never replaced. This speaker fits the dash and sounds reasonably good compared to the old AC Delco. It sounds a little "tinny" but not bad for what it is.

Pros: Replacement for a hard to find mono dash speaker. Now it's two voice coils on one. This would have been great in the 70's.

Cons: I expected it to be comparable to the rear speakers (different brand) in sound quality. Really tinny monoish frequency response

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Speaker

John from Massachusetts on 11/16/2015

1998 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are very clear. Great replacement for original 1998 speakers. Clear and crisp sound. No regrets or problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great retro speaker

RickyV from Texas on 9/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great retro speaker for classic cars

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Mounting holes was a little offset for my classic vehicle, had to modify it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound R-69N Review

BillW from California on 3/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Last year I replaced the ancient AM/FM/cassette deck in my 1964 Plymouth Belvedere with a RetroSound Model One radio. I've really been enjoying the modern radio in my vintage Mopar. About six months ago I replaced the original speaker under the dash with a RetroSound R-48N dual-voice speaker. That provided much-improved sound quality. I am in the process of redoing some of the interior in the car. Since I had the rear seat and package tray out of the car, I decided to take advantage of the rear access and replace the 20+ year-old pair of cheapo speakers in the rear with a RetroSound R-69N 6x9-inch, dual-voice speaker mounted under the center of the new package tray. I ordered the speaker from Crutchfield, who in turn forwarded my order to RetroSound. I received the new speaker the very next day! You can't get any better service than that! The new speaker's mounting holes lined up perfectly with the factory mounting opening under the package tray support, so it took me about 15 minutes to bolt in the new speaker. The wiring was simple. I just spliced in the wires that came with the speaker to the rear wires I'd installed in the car many years ago. I am definitely not an audiophile, and my car's sound system is pretty basic and low-powered, but I think the R-69N sounds great. It mates up perfectly with the RetroSound Model One, and the available volume is plenty for my needs. RetroSound and Crutchfield are great to deal with. Good products and fast service.

Pros: The speaker is cool looking with chromed frame. It was a shame to have to hide it under the package tray. The speaker is relatively shallow, so it will fit into the tight confines under a dashboard or other places. The speaker is very nicely made and provides excellent performance for the price.

Cons: Can't think of any cons about the speaker.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

excellent speaker

Bob from 32680 on 11/27/2014

1970 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker fit well in the dash of my truck sounds great.

Pros: Perfect for old cars

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Retrosound 6X9 Speaker

Jim R from SAnford NC on 8/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice low profile, fit perfectly in the old car I was upgrading sound in.

Pros: Great instructions for varying impedence! Very clear. This speaker is very versatile.

Cons: None. Just a little trebley.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice speaker for old car

Sunshine from Louisiana on 8/13/2013

1957 Chevrolet Chevy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good in old Pontiac

Pros: Works

Cons: None that I see

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound R-69N

Adogman from Calif on 4/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was as described. Installed easily. Good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mr. Hooyah

Hooyah from Bridgeport, CT on 12/13/2012

2008 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a pair of these speakers for a 2008 Nissan Sentra to go in the front door openeings and they fit prefectly even in this car. Thesound quality is excellent and they are a incredible upgrade from any factory they arent the best speakers but they are very nice. The sound is evenly matched to my back JVC 6x9's which can handle up to 330W max but have a higher RMS at 100. The sound is crisp as well as clear and maintains in tact even at very high volumes or during big bass excursions. I highly recommend these for highs and maybe mids at an entry level but work best with a complete 4 channel system upgrade as the replacement for vocal speakers. They offer so so bass so dont expect to get a pounding from these but are overall a very nice choice for any car that can hold a 6x9.

Pros: Excellent speaker for high tones and notes as well as maintains consistency thru high levels of bass

Cons: Doesnt provide much bass by itself

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Jaguar Vanden Plas

tj from Palatine Il on 6/2/2012

1998 Jaguar Van Den Plas

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this dual core speaker in my 98 Vanden Plas due to factory oem speaker had blown i had and upholstery shop nearby to fit it my car had a dual core subwoofer on rear parcel however i needed a slim one as far as depth due to very tight area over gas tank .....this speaker worked perfectly however the bass could be better but at lower levels it works just fine so this speaker is great if bass was a little tighter i would give five stars

Pros: Great Dual core output

Cons: needs a little tighter bass

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound R-69N

Mulch from Yorba Linda, CA on 9/9/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed a 6x9 and 4x10 speaker in my 67 Fury convertible, one in the dash and the other in the back seat. Both fit perfect and sound great. These speakers were the solution to my desire to install a modern stereo unit and use the original speaker locations in a car that originally had a mono system . This can present a real problem in classic cars, many of which have very little room under the dash. They can be used in either stereo or mono mode, giving you the flexibility to install the system that suits your sound needs best. I recommend these speakers to anyone who wants to keep the original look of their classic wheels while utilizing modern audio technology.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

oversize housing at mounting plane can make for a difficult fit

Jonathan from Albany, CA on 5/1/2011

1991 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this for my 1991 Honda Accord LX wagon, which comes with a 6x9 bass speaker at the very rear of the car on the driver's side. The stamped steel frame of this speaker is unnecessarily large in dimension right where it transitions to the mounting plane, making it too large (by just 1/16") to fit in the standard 6"x9" relief well, into which any other typical 6"x9" speaker would fit just fine. If you have a difficult-to-modify relief well opening (the Honda's is steel, and indeed difficult to modify), think twice before purchasing this speaker. Sound quality is passable, but not impressive in any way. The Crutchfield site does not acknowledge the wagon as one of the available Honda Accord LX body styles for 1991. The wagon has different speaker sizes in the rear than either the Accord sedan or coupe - would be great if they updated their site to include the wagons.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Retrosound observations

editmon from Georgia on 6/4/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this speaker as a replacement for the single rear dual voice coil in my Honda 94 Accord Wagon. Crutchfield do not recommend this unit because of fit and for someone not familiar with tools that is correct. I have the speaker in the car and it works great. The catch? You have to work a little to get the fit. Tools are Dremel, screw driver, soldering gun, and 4 two inch machine screws with same threading as originals. Time if you review job before work about 1 hour or less. You have to cut the mount tabs on the left and right of speaker off and trim out a little of the interior wall material where the speaker mounts. I used factory wiring and tack soldered connections.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 39 found this helpful

TOP