Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound RPOD6

Surface-mount modules for 5-1/4" or 6-1/2" speakers

MFR # RPOD6

RetroSound RPOD6

RetroSound RPOD6

Surface-mount modules for 5-1/4" or 6-1/2" speakers

MFR # RPOD6

43 reviews
View this product

Pre-grooved lines are really nice

Stephen from Cairo, GA on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The pre-scored lines made it super easy to cut with a jigsaw & plastic cutting blade. The four mounting brackets are flexible which helped me in my offset install on my Jeep fender well. I did not want to drill mount these yet, so for now I am using heavy duty Velcro on two of them & it seems to be holding fine. The enclosed speaker grilles were also nice to cover up my JBL one's so that it's not as obvious to a potential thief what I have under there.

Pros: Pre-grooved lines and speaker grilles

Cons: Mounting brackets are flexible & might be an issue if side mounting.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Glad I bought them

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect. Easy to use and looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Lakeville, MA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Rock Springs, WY on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great good material

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Obviously since you're retrofitting this into an older car it will require some tinkering, but the product was very easy to work with. Dremel with a small cutting blade was easiest to cut the plastic to make the hole for the speaker. Looks great in the car. Can't wait to fire them up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

High Quality Tile Head Unit Ride

Jerry from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were exactly the perfect mold for what i needed and placement on my rear doors with a solid bass sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Durham, MO on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was as advertised. Easy installed and work as described. Would purchase again at this point. Have only had a short time so hopefully they will continue to perform as said.

Pros: Price. The many options of mounting.

Cons: No hardware to mount.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Norwich, CT on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking product didn't fit my car

Pros: Looks

Cons: Didn't fit

Crutchfield response on 7/31/2019
We're sorry these modules didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Need a lot of room for placement

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, MD on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too bulky

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Will be n very noticeable on door due to its large size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pods for old Pickup

Ed from SC on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well in '52 Pickup, easy installation, the only reasonable installation method available other than cutting holes

Pros: Easy to install with four screws each

Cons: Speed clips required modification to accommodate pod material thickness - a little tedious

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Cayuga, NY on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy install. I was able to paint to match my interior

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are nicely made, bigger than I expected even after reading the dimensions. if I was to change anything I would have made the mounting tables out of metal, vs. folded over plastic.

Pros: functional

Cons: none really, just would be nice if there was metal in it for speakers that really push.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Returned for application reasons

Crutchfield customer from Shrewsbury, PA on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to return these because they did not work out for my speaker application and vehicle deck space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

vw type2

Gonzalo from Cayey, PR on 1/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

look great in my 1970 VW type2. Easy to install

Pros: easy to install, Great for a vehicle that does not have may places where to install a pair of speakers

Cons: no cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong, Heavy Duty, Quality Made. Served my purpose well for mounting 5.25" speakers on the kick panels. Another good product provided by Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 12/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Wappingers Fl, NY on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EASY TO INSTALL & SOUNDS GREAT NO PROBLEMS

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Use these for the outside speakers on multiple RVs. Makes for a great 6 1/2 inch upgrade from the stock 4 inch ones!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker enclosure

Ron from Cottage Grove, MN on 7/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a universal mount speaker mount, It work the best for my needs.

Pros: Met my needs

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Salina, UT on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service.... Dimensions on website same as product, fits perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6 Door Pod Review

Frederick from Bayside, NY on 1/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These pods are functional and serve their purpose well. That is - I used them to surface mount 6.5" speakers on an old van's door panels. They look and work great. The problems I have are threefold (1) They are made of cheap brittle plastic. Each pod is entirely made of said plastic. There are 4 interior tabs with 2 screwholes each meant to fasten the pod itself to a surface. I easily shattered 1 tab with not much effort. At the very least, those tabs - high stress points - would be far more durable made of even an inexpensive metal (2) I feel the price is exorbitant for 100% molded cheap plastic (3) The speaker covers included with these pods are correspondingly cheap and extremely thin. With all that said, I got the job done and the pods serve their purpose well. My beef is that the value is borderline.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service, fast delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 11/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to adjust, had trouble screwing into surface. Like the sound it projects. Would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Alta Loma, CA on 11/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Easy to prepare for my new Polk speakers. A little pricey, but not many surface mount products that you can use to mount aftermarket speakers of your own choosing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Mount Juliet, TN on 8/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsburg, PA on 3/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well for my 6.5" mid-bass woofer, from the Focal Access 3-way components.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Install

Mike from Davenport, FL on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great alternative to add speakers to a vehicle. Hard plastic but easy enough to trim. An easy textured paint job to match your interior. Very easy to mount, gives you lots of positioning options. A bit shallow for big magnets. Better for two or 3-way speakers. I used kicker 5 1/4" 2-way. Don't cut out behind pod too wide, plan on shallow mounts or smaller, low watt speakers. For the price it's worth it. Fill notches in outside edge before paint and use custom 5 1/4" grills. My kickers fit like a glove. Would've given 5 stars but the grills that come with pods are black flimsy plastic.

Pros: Versatility Easy to install Customizable Can use your speakers custom grill with 5 1/4" speakers Price tag

Cons: Can't use custom grills for larger speakers. Grills that come with pods are black flimsy plastic.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Carlisle, PA on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A simple idea that is long overdue. Great design hides fasteners, texture naturally blends in with my vinyl. A clean, integrated look is what I got when I mounted them on the rear panel of a 1962 Porsche. The ones in the picture appear grey, but mine are black, which was a great relief. Definitely measure two or three times before you dig in. I used a Dremel tool with a tiny circular saw cutter and it was a breeze. Delighted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

steven d from Dickson, TN on 7/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product did what it was supposed to do.I used a soldering gun with a cutting attachment to cut plastic for speaker holes,not a problem.

Pros: I'm glad "somebody"makes these things.

Cons: Maybe a little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pleasantly Surprised

lee from Lexington, nc on 7/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better quality than expected for the price. Like other reviews a little hard to cut but can be done with saw blade on pocket knife. I did not have a Dremel. Made mounting speakers in a non factory location a breeze and it looks good and sounds good. I put 6.5" speakers in mine. You could virtually mount these anywhere on a door, pillar, kick panel, roof or under seat. I put mine under the back seat of 2 door yukon angled toward front and it sounds really good. Yukon factory locations were 4x6 in front dash and 4x10 in very rear.

Pros: Durable plastic materials Easy to mount Price

Cons: Hard to cut

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Randy F from Littleton, MA on 4/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was just as advertised, well built construction and a complete installation kit. I painted these to match interior or my motorhome, installed some Kenwood speakers, and they look great. Installed four on the ceiling in the main living area. There was just enough clearance for the slide outs to extend and retract.

Pros: Easy to install as long as you have the proper tools.

Cons: Could be a little on the shorter side. Clearances are tight in my application, however a little wiggle room would have been preferred.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for custom door speaker installs!!

Stuart J from charleston, SC on 2/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic product. Installed some Pioneer 6.5" speakers in my 87 Trans Am with these, had no problems with installation. These made the job SO much easier than if I'd have tried to build mounts myself. They fit in with the 80's interior very well. Just fantastic. Just make sure to have a tool you can use to cut the plastic out for your speaker size. It's sturdy ABS, so a knife won't do it.

Pros: High quality, excellent appearance, great fit, easy install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Michael from North Carolina on 8/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Debated for weeks, saw these on other sites for more money. Pulled the trigger when I could get them on sale! I am rather impressed with these. Thick, sturdy, and good looks! Can't beat them for the price! Recommend for adding speakers!

Pros: Retro, yet calmly fits new styles as well. Sturdy, good stock looks!

Cons: Not really a con if you think ahead, but having to use a Dremel to cut out the cutouts for the speaker was slightly daunting. Just make sure you don't damage when cutting!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Door Mounted Speakers

echale from Virginia on 8/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a way to mount a set of 6.5" 3-way Cerwin-Vega speakers up front in my '60 Chevy Biscayne. I read the reviews of the kick-panel speaker mounting solution from Custom Autosound, and decided against them because I have a foot-actuated emergency brake (I have a 3-on-the-tree, so no putting it in "Park" for me) and the reviews made it quite clear that there were clearance issues. I took the door panel off, and there's not much of a way to mount them in the door unless I cut away a good bit of metal, which I was concerned would weaken the door. Then, I found these.... The Cerwin-Vega speakers were a hair too deep to mount flush in the RPOD6 units with no cutting whatsoever, but there was a spot low on the front of the two front doors where the metal is recessed somewhat that would allow me to make a hole in the door panel just a hair larger than the magnet and mount the speaker/RPOD6 with no metal cutting. The RPOD6 units are very sturdy, the black matches up great with my custom interior, they were easy to install, they don't seem to adversely affect the sound of the speakers at all, and I'm happy with how the job turned out.

Pros: Sturdy ABS body, basic black goes with pretty much any interior color, the speaker is held securely in place.

Cons: I'd like to have been able to use the nicer looking Cerwin-Vega speaker covers with the RPOD6 units rather than the generic looking speaker covers that come with it, but that's a small quibble.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Just what I was looking for

Sean from Utah on 5/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were exactly what I needed to mount speakers in the back of my MG without cutting holes. Professional looking install. These are not that hard to cut. I used a hole saw to cut the majority of the material out of the middle. They have ring grooves molded into them too. I used a hack saw to cut up to the desired ring in 1 inch intervals. Then I took my players and snapped it off. Easy.

Pros: Solid plastic. Black matched my interior perfectly.

Cons: Made in China

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just what I needed

ZERO from sUNRISE Florida on 3/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made of very tough plastic, similar to OEM. It was the same color as the inside of my car and allowed me to mount 6.5" speakers in a limited area. They ARE hard to cut. I used a cut out tool.

Pros: Professional looking install. Compact. Quality plastic like OEM.

Cons: Plastic is tough and hard to cut.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound RPOD6

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, Ky on 1/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great no metal cutting aa d wAs easy to modify

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Retro speaker pods.

Kent E from Alamogordo, N.M. on 9/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were just what I was looking for to mount speakers in the doors of my "89 Mazda pickup. The pods allow you to angle the speakers a little towards the listeners, though I wish these were offered with more angle to aim the sound more towards the listeners. Very easy install. I like that these allow you to use different sizes of speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Retro Sound Pods

Marty C. from Mount Croghan, SC on 8/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't able to install my 6 1/2 inch speakers in my '63 Fairlane until I purchased RetroSounds speaker pods. They installed nice. I recommend using a dremmel tool to cutout the hole for the speaker. The plastic is pretty rugged so a razor knife just doesn't cut it as good. I recommend this to anyone that needs a speaker that can't be flush mounted.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: A little pricey but worth the cost to get speakers mounted where you need them.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

pods

dave from Bloomsdale, Mo on 7/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed!

Pros: Great product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

speaker pods

cool breeze from winter springs fl on 5/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great item to put speakers were you want them my speakers were to deep but used plywood and carpet to build it up to make work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

rpod6

retrosound from norfolk,va on 2/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

solved the placement problem for a standard pickup

Pros: good deal

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

retrosound speaker pod

joe c from Bettendorf IA on 1/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice product easy to paint and install speaker however exterior dimensions would have been helpful. I had to modify pod because assumed diameter and was incorrect

Pros: easy to work with for classic cars

Cons: product information

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP