Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Digital media receiver designed for select 1988-1994 GM trucks and SUVs — does not play CDs

MFR # SANTA CRUZ M4

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Digital media receiver designed for select 1988-1994 GM trucks and SUVs — does not play CDs

MFR # SANTA CRUZ M4

17 reviews
View this product

The only option for me!

James from Petal, MS on 7/10/2022

1992 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Blended in very well. I love all of the features! I used the L-brackets that came with the Motor (actual receiver) to mount to the OEM bracket. These are normally used on the traditional 2 shaft radios. I was looking for some spacers and discovered I had some studded rubber isolators. So I used them between the L- brackets and OEM bracket in the same fashion as the 2 shaft radios. I didn't even have to drill anything! Shout out to Nico at Crutchfield! It is great dealing with Crutchfield!

Pros: Keeping the stock look and having all the present tech features.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Michael from Princeton, IN on 4/10/2022

1994 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very high quality radio upgrade. My 1994 blazer already had a kenwood in the center dash. This made install super easy, the "motor 4" is mounted there. I just made a fill panel for the factory cassette player hole. Only complaint is that the Bluetooth mic is sensitive and driving around a old truck makes noises. It works great sitting still and cruising, just not on acceleration. I would recommend this radio and would buy it again!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Harry from Waynesboro, VA on 3/25/2022

1988 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful radio. I hope it will last for many years to come.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Steven from Price, UT on 2/13/2022

1993 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product, exactly what I was hoping for. Great sound in my old truck and the installation went smooth, looks original. Upgraded all speakers and added a small, powered subwoofer. Electrical & mechanical experience definitely a plus for installation as instructions were not the best, but I got through it. My only issue was with the delivering carrier, Fedex, good grief what a headache. Fedex could not find our home, so I ended up traveling 60+ miles to go pick it up at a Fedex facility. No more Fedex for us.

Pros: Sound, fit, connectivity

Cons: Instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from Selma, NC on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the ease of the install, the main unit fits well, but a little tight, however I've done car audio installs all my life with 10 plus years as a professional installer. The control head appears factory and fits like factory. Love the features it offers especially the hands free phone and Bluetooth. Would definitely recommend this to anyone with a 1988-1994 GMT-400 pickup,Suburban or Tahoe and doesn't want a "aftermarket looking Stereo.

Pros: Ease of install, the removal of the factory stereo is more difficult than the installation of this stereo.

Cons: None other than the removal of the factory radio is a little aggravating.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Adam S. from Oklahoma City, OK on 10/1/2021

1991 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Family heirloom was due for a little sound upgrade. I am glad RetroSound has the GMT400 trucks covered! Factory looks with many modern capabilities was a no-brainer for me. Install was mostly a breeze- the actual radio down under the dash requires some flexibility to get to. Now the 30-yr old truck has hands-free, USB charging plugs, XM, but without a tasteless single-din that would clash with the vehicle.

Pros: Niche radio compliments the truck.

Cons: Pricey, but for the custom, period-appropriate aesthetics, the price makes sense.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 7/31/2021

1989 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the OEM style look, with the updated functionality that this unit offers. It was a relatively easy installation, and good sound quality, with plenty of options to expand the system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 5/10/2021

1990 Chevrolet Cheyenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well. Installation is difficult as the body of the radio is designed to be mounted horizontal, but the truck is design for the body to be mounted vertical. Once mounted. it works well.

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons: Difficult to mount body of the radio as it must be mounted in a small space in a manner it is not designed for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The only option, but also the best!

Crutchfield customer from Temple, GA on 11/28/2020

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The best option for 88-94 trucks by far!

Pros: Great fit and sound

Cons: None whatsoever

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It arrived sooner than expected. I had a stereo shop install it for me added a 10'' sub and 4 rockford fosgate speakers and 2 jbl 6 1/2 inch speaker on the doors . Had them install a 500 watt amp . It sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 9/28/2020

1989 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is not an exact fit replacement. The Radio Face installs in the original radio location but the radio Body will not fit anywhere. What's in the box does match the items shown in the manual, seems I did not get the correct parts to install the radio. I have a 1989 GMC Sierra C1500 with center AC vents. The original receiver was mounted to a bracket under the dash. RetroSound should have done some better research.

Pros: none

Cons: Does not contain the correct parts for a proper install and very bad installation instructions,

Crutchfield response on 10/5/2020
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from East Helena, MT on 6/24/2019

1991 GMC K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice kit, looks very similar to the OE radio with new features.

Pros: OE look with new tech features

Cons: Not a plug and play, some retiring required

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 6/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 4/2/2019

1993 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

it fit right in matches the existing color was easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Crutchfield customer from Hollister, CA on 12/24/2018

1992 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just completed the installation of the Santa Cruz unit. Fit was good and adapting the old bracket to work with the sound module went well. Took a bit of time to install but well worth it. Great sound and lots of features. Now my 1992 GMC truck has got tunes back in it. Thanks Adam for the help and Crutchfield for the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Modern features, retro look

Gerald Tschetter from Santa Ana, CA on 10/27/2018

1994 GMC Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Until the RetroSound Santa Cruz, the only option for an after market replacement for early nineties Suburbans were single DIN stereos that went where the original cassette deck was installed. The Santa Cruz looks like it came with the truck and has all the features of a modern radio. Installation takes some effort but nothing that someone with moderate mechanical skills and hand tools can't do. It's a bit expensive but keep in mind that RetroSound is probably not selling mass-market quantities. One minor quibble - I had to put washers behind the left mounting tab to get the face of the radio flush to the other surfaces.

Pros: Looks like it came with the truck, sounds good, Bluetooth, iPhone connection, all the inputs and outputs I needed.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

RetroSound Santa Cruz M4HD

Guest from Lake Jackson, TX on 9/13/2018

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great system just wish It would be a bit more modern

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound