Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
293 357 072 3
Connect ID #
293 357 072 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound SUB-8100

Compact powered subwoofer: 100 watts and an 8" sub

MFR # SUB-8100

RetroSound SUB-8100

RetroSound SUB-8100

Compact powered subwoofer: 100 watts and an 8" sub

MFR # SUB-8100

13 reviews
View this product

RetroSound SUB-8100

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, VA on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good sound is excellent sound

Pros: Easy install only wish us could power wire into amp Instead of spicing into amp

Cons: No way to connect sub power wire to amp or radio with out splicing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Apple Valley

Frank from Apple Valley on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great compact subwoofer! Compared to other big sound systems like 10s and 12s I've had in the past, this one lines up to give a good clean sound with a good thump like most of the new luxury car systems coming out. It's not going to pound and rattle everything outside the way I used to but will satisfy every thing to your liking inside. I've had this installed for a year under the seat of my early 70s classic convertible and gets clear bass with the top down no problem and used it the year before that in another mid 70s impala I sold. I'm writing this review now because I'm looking at buying another one for my custom cruiser and pulling out the sub box and amp. Everything comes in the box that is needed to install. I am liking the ease and clarity that Retro sound offers with other products I added from them. Hopefully this review helps.

Pros: Like a concert in your cab not in your trunk. Bass knob easily adjustable to your preferred level. Fits great under seats. Good clean simple bass. Complete package in one box. Built to last.

Cons: None that I've experienced.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound SUB-8100

Crutchfield customer from La Plata, MD on 4/9/2019

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this sub to the Alpine stereo in my 97 Jeep. Great addition. Easy to install and instructions were easy to follow. Listened to reviews and did not purchase amp, sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dynamite comes in small packages.

Ken from Hampton, IA on 5/16/2018

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive performance for size. Best integrated sub I have come across. Fits under most front seats. Was able to conceal in VW beetle. Works very well with alpine deck.

Pros: Power vs size. Easy to install. Nice range.

Cons: Nothing obvious.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound SUB-8100

Crutchfield customer from Central Wisconsin on 7/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have it installed they sold me a separate Amp install kit but you dont need it. Everything you need comes with it. The Amp install kit is over kill for this little sub.

Pros: Small size

Cons: Sell you stuff you don't need as an add on sale.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Better than no sub at all

Jeff from Canyon Country, CA on 4/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am glad that Retrosound makes this powered sub. With the space I have in my classic truck, it was the only real alternative to have a sub at all. But it is not a great subwoofer. Since the enclosure is so small for an 8" it does not get the big booming sound I'm looking for. The 100W amp does not put out as much power as the 50W amp I have in my other car with an 8" standard box. The sub also rattles in a heavy bass track and that is rather annoying. The 6X9 speakers I installed at the same time are putting out the majority of the bass power. If you are really cramped for space as I was, then this is a reasonable alternative but if you can find a way to install a traditional separate power amp and an 8" in a speaker enclosure then I would do that.

Pros: Fits in a small space.

Cons: Not a great warm sub sound and low on power for a 100W amp.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

RetroSound

JumpinJim from Bozeman, MT on 4/19/2016

1968 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only just gotten it installed. All of the Retrosound products include well marked wires for installation. Documentation is excellent as well. Installation of my Model Two radio and 8100 sub went well and looks excellent in my old truck. I did get the proper knobs and bezel directly from Retrosound.

Pros: Well marked wiring. Great documentation. Retro look.

Cons: none so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

perfect for small cabins

ken w from buckley il on 9/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect addition to the system i put in my bros 1991 standard cab c1500. before the install of the sub the sound out of the 4x6 kenwood dash and the 4x6 Polk rear just was not doing the job. IE no bass and the volume just wasn't there. The difference after adding this compact unit was astounding. I would recommend this sub to anyone with space constraints.

Pros: Great in tight places. better sound than expected. has wiring harness instead of screw terminals a real plus

Cons: have not found any yet

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Better Sound For a Superduty

WillG from Darien, WI on 1/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed this in my 2002 F-350 regular cab truck. It fits great behind the seat with some modification to the plastic storage tray back there. Tim is right, it is built very solid and the adjustment knobs are high quality the wire harness is nice too, but the fuse holder is a cheap piece of crap, better to cut it out and install you own fuse. I put an in line blade style fuse right at the battery which worked great and will be easier to change if I ever have to. The sound quality is great, I have an Eclipse stereo with stock speakers so I'm not exactly going all out here, but this little sub added a fullness to my music that was missing before plus now I can turn the bass setting on the stereo down to get more volume before it starts distorting my factory speakers. I don't want to put a complete system in this truck because it is completely unmolested and there is no room, so this was a good way to get better sound. If you are looking for a license plate rattling thump thump, this is obviously not the answer.

Pros: Heavy duty, compact, easy installation, reasonable price, great sound.

Cons: Made in China

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Very Pleaseed

Tim from Virginia Beach, VA on 8/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the RetroSound powered sub. The unit is solid metal, built like a rock. Very easy to install under my front passenger seat.

Pros: Sounds great. Compact. Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Skip

Digger from Phoenix AZ on 7/26/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a Skipper, buy the sound ordinance this will not hold up against the smallest of amps, My Miata headrest speakers would over power two of these subs.

Pros: Thin, Stong well built case

Cons: No Power

Crutchfield response on

16 of 27 found this helpful

Big sound in a little package.

Jojo from Oscoda,MI on 7/8/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say is wow,what a nice sub for small car or truck.I just put it in a 1997 Nissan std cab pickup never would have thought I could fit a sub behinde the seat(most people would have put a box behide the seat and moved the seat up to make room for the sub,not me Im 6'1" and the seat in any position but all the way back is not a option)installation was simple and fast,and they matched up well with the polk 651 6.5" I installed the day before(no amp on the polk's)I was happy with just the polks but I bought the sub the same time but wanted to hear it with and without the sub. I figured if the sub gave me even a little bass I would be vary happy,well it gave me a lot of bass,couldn't be happier.

Pros: vary small with big bass

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

RetroSound SUB-8100

KeithK from Tampa, FL on 5/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nifty little sub and easy to install, but it just didn't move enough air for me. I'm not even really a huge bass advocate, but I needed more than what this was able to provide.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

22 of 24 found this helpful

TOP