Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound TS42

4" 2-way surface-mount speakers

MFR # TS42

RetroSound TS42

RetroSound TS42

4" 2-way surface-mount speakers

MFR # TS42

10 reviews
View this product

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Valliant, OK on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound.

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Hodgenville, KY on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice, fits perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality and reasonable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Retro look and sound...

Crutchfield customer from Oxnard, CA on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great option for people that don't want to cut up their classic cars to add additional speakers. My 1974 Z-28 Camaro still has an original Craig 8 track player and these speakers fit the bill perfectly for my application. They sound great for a compact 4" speaker and have added the highs to the system I was looking for.

Pros: Compact and easy to install with all necessary brackets and wiring included.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sounding and affordable speakers that can handle an amplifier.

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, Mandy was an excellent customer service provider! Now, on to the speakers. Neither Retro Sound nor Crutchfield provide the frequency response of the TS42's. I suspect somewhere around 80-15000 hz so don't expect them to produce low frequencies or sparkling highs. I have a noisy classic 911 and wanted to power some speakers with an amp. I have experience in audio so I knew I could make the TS42 set work. If you are considering these, please know that they sound very good for their size. If you plan on running them with a standard radio you'll be fine and quite happy with the sound. If you have a noisy environment to overcome you can run these with an amp and take your sound to the next level. I've got a 4 channel amp in the car. Currently 2 channels run the front speakers and now the other 2 channels run these TS42's. While tuning the system, I've determined that a high pass crossover setting of 80-100hz works very well with these speakers. With true RMS power and a high pass filter setting of 80-100 hz, they will handle their rated power of 45 watts RMS plus a little more. I also suggest tinkering with your high frequency settings on your stereo. Boost the treble frequencies between 1 and 3 db.

Pros: Compact enclosures, each enclosure has a tweeter and mid bass driver. Sound good with radio power. Sound better with an amplifier and high pass crossover of around 80-100hz and some fine tuning of your stereo's high frequency adjustments.

Cons: Included speaker wire could be longer.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Payson, UT on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Cumberland, MD on 10/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

compact, good vintage sound, and good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small Size for Car: Large Sound for Man.

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The RetroSound TS42's, have exceptional sound! I am finishing the rebuild of a Puma, small sports car made in Brazil, and the size of the speakers made them an excellant choice. I did not care about sound quality as it's a small car and any sound is better than none. Suprise! Excelent Sound! Also the antenna suggestion works and looks great! (Can't see the antenna!)

Pros: Excellant sound, Not visible at mounting position.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound. They perform well above their price range and size.

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 5/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these facing forward under the seat of a 69 Chevy pickup. Don't laugh, because from that location they fill the entire cab with music . Powered by a Retrosound radio, the sound quality and frequency range are much more than I expected. Easily on par or better than your average 6.5" speakers in doors or kick panels commonly used in these trucks.

Pros:

Cons: Retrosound tech supportCouldn't tell me polarity of speaker leads.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from East Ryegate, VT on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used them in my side by side. Mounted on the inside back corners of the roof. Worked great. Most everything else I found was to big or would not mount so my head would not get hit when driving. I wanted the speakers high so they could be heard when driving!

Pros: Convenient mounting , good sound, good size

Cons: Mounting wires were to short

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP