Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
016 710 721 4
Connect ID #
016 710 721 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound TS42

4" 2-way surface-mount speakers

MFR # TS42

RetroSound TS42

RetroSound TS42

4" 2-way surface-mount speakers

MFR # TS42

32 reviews
View this product

Winters

David from Winters on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best feature is how nicely they mount below the dash of my old Saab 96. Nothing else I could find would do. The sound is as good as be expected from a 4" speaker and they are attractive. At 75 mph the noise level of this car drowns out music to the extent that I have to crank up the volume to the point of distortion, but then the rear-mounted Alpine 6x8 230W speaker distorts too. Great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent

Jim from Williamsburg, KY on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They are ok don't sound great on their own but for my application where I had plenty of highs they blended in as I expected them to. They are fine especially for the money.

Pros: Reasonably priced and small in size.

Cons: The mounts don't seem like they would hold the speaker in place.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Peter from Algonac, MI on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Steve from Chantilly, VA on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Size was a determining factor in my choice. A 1968 Tr250 doesn't have a lot of room. The sound was a bonus. It all adds up to a better driving experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Newport, NH on 5/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers are much better than the ones I put in my 64 GTO convertible 35 years ago. They do distort some when sound turned up as required with the top down. Very acceptable for a very low price

Pros: As above

Cons: As above

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Rick from Ava, MO on 5/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The price was good, they sound awesome,fit perfectly .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Michael from Bernville, PA on 1/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Mounted them in a piece of heavy equipment work great sound compact and easy to mount

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound for my 1954 Triumph TR-2

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great and perfect size for my 1954 Triumph TR-2, I just finished restoring. Sound good with my new Alpine radio too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good little speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the money they sound good! And Crutchfield support was actually pretty awesome too- I had a little issue with a scratch on one. Customer service was super friendly and sorted it quicker than most places would answer their phone. Happy customer!

Pros: Good sound Adjustable bracket made for easy mounting

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Williamsville, MO on 9/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

these really worked out fine for me, good sound for a small speaker super easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Highland, CA on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. Good price. Fast delivery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Davenport, NE on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Carmichael, CA on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy install, easy connection, and sounds pretty decent. installed in my old Citroen

Pros: size, enclosure, price, easy install

Cons: remains to be seen if I'll be able to hear much at speed in this noisy car

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, TN on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price they sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Madeira Beach, FL on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good speakers for the price point. I hung them under cabinets in my RV because the built in ones vibrated the cabinets and sounded horrible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, WV on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality comes with speaker wire with connections

Pros: Pretty small with great sound Should be able to mount anywhere

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Box speakers

Crutchfield customer from Hastings, MN on 3/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great for the application. After order was placed received product in just a few days. Thought it was a little odd they sent me the mounting screws separately seemed like a waste of shipping for just some screws.

Pros: NA

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, MI on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great size -good price -easy install-came when stated

Pros:

Cons: sound ok for what is in

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Wilton, CA on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ok speakers for the price but with increased volume more distortion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Mt Holly, NC on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

GREAT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers are real nice .Work well. Rudy Routzahn

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from San Bruno, CA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Used these with Retro Sound Laguna receiver. Can barely hear them under dash.

Pros: Perfect physical size and easy to fit.

Cons: Speaker wire appears to be similar to doorbell wire? Very very thin. Should list minimum input requirements

Crutchfield response on 12/14/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Valliant, OK on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound.

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Hodgenville, KY on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

nice, fits perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality and reasonable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Retro look and sound...

Crutchfield customer from Oxnard, CA on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great option for people that don't want to cut up their classic cars to add additional speakers. My 1974 Z-28 Camaro still has an original Craig 8 track player and these speakers fit the bill perfectly for my application. They sound great for a compact 4" speaker and have added the highs to the system I was looking for.

Pros: Compact and easy to install with all necessary brackets and wiring included.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sounding and affordable speakers that can handle an amplifier.

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First of all, Mandy was an excellent customer service provider! Now, on to the speakers. Neither Retro Sound nor Crutchfield provide the frequency response of the TS42's. I suspect somewhere around 80-15000 hz so don't expect them to produce low frequencies or sparkling highs. I have a noisy classic 911 and wanted to power some speakers with an amp. I have experience in audio so I knew I could make the TS42 set work. If you are considering these, please know that they sound very good for their size. If you plan on running them with a standard radio you'll be fine and quite happy with the sound. If you have a noisy environment to overcome you can run these with an amp and take your sound to the next level. I've got a 4 channel amp in the car. Currently 2 channels run the front speakers and now the other 2 channels run these TS42's. While tuning the system, I've determined that a high pass crossover setting of 80-100hz works very well with these speakers. With true RMS power and a high pass filter setting of 80-100 hz, they will handle their rated power of 45 watts RMS plus a little more. I also suggest tinkering with your high frequency settings on your stereo. Boost the treble frequencies between 1 and 3 db.

Pros: Compact enclosures, each enclosure has a tweeter and mid bass driver. Sound good with radio power. Sound better with an amplifier and high pass crossover of around 80-100hz and some fine tuning of your stereo's high frequency adjustments.

Cons: Included speaker wire could be longer.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Payson, UT on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from Cumberland, MD on 10/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

compact, good vintage sound, and good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small Size for Car: Large Sound for Man.

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The RetroSound TS42's, have exceptional sound! I am finishing the rebuild of a Puma, small sports car made in Brazil, and the size of the speakers made them an excellant choice. I did not care about sound quality as it's a small car and any sound is better than none. Suprise! Excelent Sound! Also the antenna suggestion works and looks great! (Can't see the antenna!)

Pros: Excellant sound, Not visible at mounting position.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound. They perform well above their price range and size.

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 5/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed these facing forward under the seat of a 69 Chevy pickup. Don't laugh, because from that location they fill the entire cab with music . Powered by a Retrosound radio, the sound quality and frequency range are much more than I expected. Easily on par or better than your average 6.5" speakers in doors or kick panels commonly used in these trucks.

Pros:

Cons: Retrosound tech supportCouldn't tell me polarity of speaker leads.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound TS42

Crutchfield customer from East Ryegate, VT on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Used them in my side by side. Mounted on the inside back corners of the roof. Worked great. Most everything else I found was to big or would not mount so my head would not get hit when driving. I wanted the speakers high so they could be heard when driving!

Pros: Convenient mounting , good sound, good size

Cons: Mounting wires were to short

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound