Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

RetroSound USB-PORT

54" extension cable with USB port and auxiliary input

MFR # USBPORT

RetroSound USB-PORT

RetroSound USB-PORT

54" extension cable with USB port and auxiliary input

MFR # USBPORT

46 reviews
View this product

Retro sound USB-AUX

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, NC on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, great fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Camby, IN on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Now I finally have USB

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice way to move a usb jack that is located on the back of the head unit to some were acceptable

Pros: Facilitated a need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cool idea

Crutchfield customer from Cedar City, UT on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Coolest idea I've seen in years. Was easy to install

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Greeley, CO on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used in place of the cigarette lighter. How it connected to the car was loose and sloppy. Needed to provide added support to hold firmly in place. But seems to work fine. If I had to get another, would probably opt for one with a threaded securing nut

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

ANTHONY from Avon Park, FL on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit in the cigearette lighter hole perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 11/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does the job but my critiques would be that it could use back lighting. also make sure that your unit has a 3.5 mm input, mine did not so the 3.5mm remains unconnected. it also has a a rather long USB connection wire so you must take care to use very short ones coming out of it to your components as the data (apple/android) may not work. finally, its a lot of work to do a nice installation and considering the technology of these standard USB's are getting a bit outmoded, consider installing something with USB-QC or USB-C. I used a uni-bit and went through an area of plastic. it snapped right in with no screws (nor the included bracket) necessary

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great look, poor quality, worse service

Erik from Westerville, OH on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After first using an OEM Apple USB cable, the RetroSound USB-PORT would no longer maintain connections with any other usb cables. If you pressed the other cables upwards and to the right (I tried four), you could get a connection, but only until you let the cord go. The Apple cord still worked but a total waste of time and shipping costs ($7 for this feather-light package). Plus, when I attempted to return the item, I was given a return label that, in very small font, let me know I would be paying for shipping to send the defective item back to the manufacturer. Luckily I read the entire form quickly and when I pointed it out, was told, "We can do it for you this one time" and was finally sent a shipping label. REALLY? It's Crutchfield's policy to initially expect customers to pay for return shipping on defective items?

Pros: Fits well, works as advertised

Cons: Stopped connecting after using an Apple usb cord

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Robert from Bonney Lake, WA on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected and made for a clean install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Marcus from Mechanicsville, MD on 5/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, put it in my 02 Lincoln LS with an aftermarket pioneer head unit and mounted it in my ash tray, I love it, the wire is thick, no worry about chaffing or cutting the wire with something inside dash. Highly recommend

Pros: Does what it is designed to do, provide a usb and aux port extension. Works perfectly

Cons: Mounting it can be tricky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for adding smartphone connectivity

William from Dover, DE on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with new Pioneer head unit. A couple of moments with a dremel, i was able to install directly into dash and still retain the power port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Johnny from Amelia, OH on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

although stereo came with an extended USB this cool little part here makes for a professional install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, UT on 2/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Troy from CO on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just needed a 7/8 inch hole and this was a custom mount in our Tahoe. Looks like it belongs there. Works perfectly!

Pros: Works as advertised

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

Kris from Petersburg, IN on 12/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my Kenwood DMX7704S! I can hook up my phone or anyone elses with the USB or the aux audio in. The install looks great, and this is how I connect to Apple CarPlay on my Kenwood. I'm so glad Norm at Crutchfield recommended this! Great addition to my 2007 Toyota Tacoma.

Pros: Quality cabling Looks factory Works perfectly Mountable anywhere

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Retrosound USBPORT

Crutchfield customer from Watsonville, CA on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine but you don't need it. Just use your phone cable & buy an AUX cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 7/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did exactly what I needed it to do. Would have been nice to have included some black mounting screws.

Pros: Does the job just fine.

Cons: Mounting screws not included.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Hacienda Heights, CA on 6/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this item was a little pricey for the items included in the package, but it does that job. i have no problems with it and use it everyday to connect my phone to extract music from it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Edinboro, PA on 6/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes for a nice finished look. Trouble is the audio input has nothing to plug into. I needed to purchase another adapter to be able to use the cable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Tim from Hanceville, AL on 4/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this product to attach to an adapter that I hooked up to the back of my radio to keep from having wires dangling out of my dash. Easy install and provides a nice clean look with no wires hanging out.

Pros: Easy install, works great.

Cons: Not really a con but maybe in the future they could provide a hole cutting template in with it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Roland from Ft Worth, TX on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Chip from Palmetto, FL on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressed with this product. Just got to figure out where to mount it.

Pros: Heavy duty wiring, long cables, looks great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Addition To The Stereo System.

Timothy from Allardt, TN on 3/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, really good setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 1/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Would like to see shorter cable versions made available.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Victor ny on 12/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you choose not to use the provided mount and drill a hole for a dash mount, there is no way to stop it from rotating in the drilled hole ... somewhat annoying. Other than that it's a good option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Russell from Manhattan, KS on 11/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice length and looks durable.

Pros:

Cons: Here is a nit pick. I had to measure to tell that I had to drill 7/8". Should have been in instructions.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice adapter!

Bret from Riverside, CA on 9/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter was very handy. I was able to make it fit right in the hole where the 12v plug was in my dash panel on my F250. I had to make some very minor adjustments to the clips (cut off just a small piece for fit), but it fits perfectly and looks very custom and stock at the same time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Replaces extra power jack.

Lenny from Parker, CO on 9/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2006 Honda Odyssey came with two cigarette power jacks. I removed one of them and replaced it with this USB/aux jack. Getting the old outlet removed was NOT easy. There are two square holes in the metal sleave that have plastic tabs. You need to push them OUT from inside the sleave to release the jack from the outer plastic ring that I believe is glued to the panel. Then take this device and PUSH from the front of the panel through the plastic ring. It is a TIGHT fit, but I was able to do it. You then have to feed the wires UP behind the panel to the head unit. To do this I dangled a string down through the back of the panel, tied it to the USB and aux plugs, then pulled them up through. This extension chord is built with what feels like high quality materials and functions as expected. The end result is like factory new.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does the job

Dave B from Coal Twp, PA on 7/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Appreciated the cable length. However, it did not fit perfectly into the cigarette lighter slot, didn't click right into place. With the cigarette lighter and shell out, it was too big of an opening. But with only the black plastic shell without the metal lighter part, it was too tight for the USB port to fit in. To remedy this, take a Dremel with a sanding drum and sand down the inside of the black plastic lighter shell until the USB fits. It only takes a matter of 5 minutes and it fits well. I would have given 5 stars if it just popped into place.

Pros: Works like it should.

Cons: Could fit better into the cigarette lighter with just an adapter included in the kit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product.

Mike L from Peoria, IL on 3/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product. Materials seem to be of high quality. I drilled a 7/8" hole in the removable panel inside the center console (under the lid), filed slots into the sides (like in the Retro-Sound's provided housing), fed the wires through, and pushed the product into that hole. Cables were run under the center console tunnel and plugged into my new Pioneer AVH-X3800BHS head unit with no problem. Looks absolutely stock. Works as advertised, and appears to be a factory stock item.

Pros: Works as advertised. High quality feeling materials. With a little creativity, looks stock.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Would not recommend

Keith from New York on 1/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the product and had trouble with the usb connection quality after 1 hour in the car. Went with the jbl and could not be happier with their quality.

Pros: None

Cons: Broke after one use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Product

Crutchfield customer from Utah on 7/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Product

Pros: Clean looking..

Cons: Couldn't find any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple and easy

Eric B from Arizona on 6/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a champ and is really simple to get hooked up. I spent more time looking for the exact spot I wanted to mount it than I did getting it connected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Owner_Installer from Georgia on 5/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the AUX/USB port and installed it in the center console where the 12V power adapter was originally. Had just enough wire to reach the radio. Only downside was the diameter for the new port was slightly smaller than the power adapter. It fits and stays inserted, but moves around in the original hole.

Pros: Good Product

Cons: Diameter of product smaller than power adapter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Eliminates Dongles

V from New Jersey on 5/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product to add an OEM look to the dash. Instead of having a dongle hanging somewhere, this plugs into the back of your aftermarket head unit and then installs into your dash either with a hole you cut yourself, or by removing the "guts" of a power port and installing it there. Not too difficult. I installed this one for my rear seat passengers by cutting a hole into the rear of the center console and running the wire under the console into the back of the head unit. I also installed the PAC-USB wire in the dash for the driver and passenger in the front. It works as a sync cable, an AUX port, and a USB charger.

Pros: Gives an OEM look to the dash. Eliminates dongles. (I personally hate cord-clutter) Charge and sync to Carplay at the same time.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

GaryS from Illinois on 3/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased and installed via BestBuy with the Pioneer AVH-X2700BS to access these ports from the rear of the head unit.

Pros: Works great, looks good and allowed me access to auxiliary port during the calibration of my audio system with a DENON 3.5 mm microphone. I otherwise would not have been able to do so after the head unit was installed due to the rear port access point. Now, if and when, I upgrade with a subwoofer, the calibration will be a snap.

Cons: The rubber cap, as others have noted, is of very poor quality and will eventually fail. Give it a couple of days, as it is flimsy and difficult to close.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits in the 12 power outlet hole

Horsemanwill from Kansas on 3/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item fits perfectly into the 12v power outlet in the dash area of the 2009 dodge challenger. I plan on using it with the P99rs that will be going into my dash.

Pros: excellent fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfect

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 3/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great - used it in replacement to a 12v socket already in my console!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-PORT

Crutchfield customer from Brecksville, OH on 2/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for extending USB and audio input from back of radio

Pros: Long enough to reach center console

Cons: Cover cap very flimsy and hard to close. I don't expect it to last very long

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

USB-Aux plug

Todd F from Colorado on 1/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for. It looks like a factory installed piece. I installed it in the center console bin next to the factory aux input. Looks way better than wires hanging out of the dash. The hard part of the install was learning how the console comes apart without breaking the clips.

Pros: Looks like a factory install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Aux/USB plug

BT & JT from Tampa Bay area, FL on 10/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Simple install.

Pros: Works great. Simple install.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Retro Sound

Joseph P. from Artesia, NM. on 9/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best up-grade to my 1960 Suburban project!

Pros: EASY to install. Everything labeled. No problems. GREAT sound!

Cons: NONE.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RetroSound USB-Port a solid product

FirstTimeInstaller from San Jose, CA on 6/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a solid product and easy to install. However, the dust cover is unexciting. It is made of rubber and works well but does not go with the rest of the trim in the car. Needed to drill a 7/8 inch hole in the dashboard to install. A note to this effect would have been good.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: Unexciting dust cover.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Ingenious!

Kevin L. from Atlanta, GA on 4/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are like me and wanted to take advantage of the USB and AUX ports in the back of you touchscreen head unit this is the perfect solution. The unit is perfectly designed to replace an unused in dash lighter or power port.

Pros: 2 in 1 design. Great product for the price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy

Garrett P. from Long Island NY on 4/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the money. I had two charging ports on my dash, I replaced one of them with this. Now I don't have to worry about loosing or breaking those cheap ones from the gas station. I have it plugged into the back of the head unit so I don't have to worry about extra wires in the glove box.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Michael from Valrico, Fl. on 4/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product Easy To Install Using A Hole Saw And Dremal For A Tight Fit.

Pros: Factory Look When Done Just Take Your Time And Your Work Will Be Rewarded.

Cons: None Connetions Are Good And Product Works Great.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP