Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
570 674 522 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
570 674 522 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Axxera AXD130

CD receiver

MFR # AXD130

Axxera AXD130

Axxera AXD130

CD receiver

MFR # AXD130

76 reviews
View this product

Run, don't walk

tomorrowroad from St Louis, MO on 5/13/2016

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work as advertised. If I could give this product a negative rating, it would be negative 5 stars. I can't wait to get it out of my vehicle and send it back to Crutchfield

Pros: There are none

Cons: On the advice of a Crutchfield Specialist, I hooked my iPod up to the Aux input, and the USB cable up to the USB port to charge it as I was driving. It drained the charge on my iPod so bad it stopped working after twenty minutes, and then kept draining the charge. I brought the iPod into my house and hooked it up to the computer, which advices me the iPod may have been corrupted. I will NEVER buy a product from Axxera again.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Decent product with the basics

Bryan C from Nampa, ID on 4/7/2016

2005 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace the factory stereo. I wanted something basic that would play from both USB and aux jack and handle CDs, as well.. This fit the bill nicely and for a very nice price. Sound was better than the factory stereo and I was able to quickly and easily install it. As a great bonus from Crutchfield they included the wireing harness and the dash mounting insert at no extra charge. The instructions were clear and easy. I had the stereo installed and playing in less than an hour. The only drawback to this for me was the brightness of the display. It glows bright neon blue all the time and it does not appear to have any adjustment settings for this. Unfortunately, this was a deal breaker for both me and my wife. The display was so bright that it was very distracting during driving and nearing the point of painfully bright at night. Crutchfield honored their promise and accepted it back. The rep even helped me to find a suitable replacement in the same price range.

Pros: Great sound Simple controls Has all the basics Easy to install

Cons: Super bright display - too distracting for night driving

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fits 2003 Civic LX Coupe Poorly

Jane D from Southwest U. S. on 3/17/2016

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent eight+ hours today trying to get this to (1) fit snugly; (2) not jut out 1/2-inch from the panel; (3) accept the nicer, ISO trim ring shown in the photo above; and (4) figure out whether I should be using the ISO mount instructions or the DIN mount instructions. I could not succeed in any of the latter.

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Unit is not secure. Jutting out is un-attractive and un-cool. I do not want my money back. I want the day back that I wasted trying to make this secure and look as pictured. I hope it lasts less than a couple years so I can justify putting in something that looks good.

Crutchfield response on 3/21/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our customer service or tech support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the stereo installed and working. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera

nathan from albuquerque, NM on 3/16/2016

1990 Dodge Spirit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greta product on time and better than expected

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

anon_576 from center city, MN on 2/29/2016

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio seems to work just fine, but I have some issues with layout and remote. Had thought that remote would let me set EQ-- if it does, I don't know how. Radio controls are somewhat awkward, but useable(main radio and remote).Should have looked at pictures more closely -- wouild have discovered thaty you have to open display to use CD -- works OK, but odd. Does work with USB memory, but has very limited ability to navigate -- really shouldn't have more than one folder as it doesn't deal with the comcept of multiples. Makes for an issue with audiobook mp3s, but audiobooks always seem to cause problems.

Pros: Inexpensive and works well with a lot of functionality.

Cons: Somewhat awkward to use even with remote.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

works great !!

chuck B from hopewell, VA on 2/19/2016

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, the unit was put in a Jeep Wrangler. Sounds much better than the stock stereo. I did not want to spend a lot on a expensive stereo. Very pleased with this stereo.

Pros:

Cons: It is taken me a little while to figure out how to set everything up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for me

drmike from madison, WI on 1/27/2016

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using a cassette tape adapter to play .wav files from radio recordings on a standard car unit. This unit has an AUX input as well as CD player which makes a perfect fit for what I wanted. The volume knob is great compared to what I had since it really is the most important control. It also comes with a remote and I have no idea why. Switching modes is easy. I don't like looking at a clock, so I don't have too with the display function. All in all I'm really glad I got this.

Pros: The controls are simple enough that no manual is really necessary but you can get one online. Once I found all the parts it plugged in and worked the first time and keeps on working.

Cons: It definitely looks nice but is all blue LED's. A little more color would be "more cool".

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tim

Tim from North Carolina on 12/31/2015

2004 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo was a good value. It worked as expected once installed and features seem quite intuitive to play.

Pros: Price, features, variety of inputs (CD, Aux, USB charge)

Cons: Flip-down face made installation trickier. It must be installed projecting out of dash to allow for the face to hinge down.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome radio

Lashay from District Heights, MD on 12/26/2015

2005 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it, it was my first time ordering from Crutchfield. My dad installed the radio easily and Axera is an awesome product. The delivery was very prompt!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed

Brian S from Michigan on 12/10/2015

2002 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing was exactly what I was looking for. very happy with the product.

Pros: Looks, build, suuuuper easy to use.

Cons: very bright at night, can bug your eyes while you drive. CD's are incerted behind the deck face. not an issue but you should know.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

souds great

robert g from North Carolina on 12/7/2015

2005 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great value for the dollar, easy to use and install.

Pros: great price!!!!

Cons: can't think of any reason not to buy this product

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hope the replacement is better

Greg B from Michigan on 12/6/2015

2005 Kia Sedona

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing this unit wasn't too big of a hassle. It looked good when it was in, but found out the CD player didn't work. Put a CD in, and it just spit them back out. The AUX jack wasn't right either. Had to turn the volume up to the max just to hear my Ipod. Once driving down the road the wind noise drowned it out. Crutchfield was quick to send a replacement unit. Hopefully it works ok.

Pros: Nice features. Good price, and attractive looks.

Cons: This unit obviously had some build quality flaws.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice enough

Bob from New Jersey on 11/29/2015

2008 Hyundai Accent

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice enough system, just not very durable. After 6 months display elements are flickering, the aux input somehow picks up more alternator whine than when initially installed & the CD drive whines. A good system to throw in as an upgrade in a car that's being sold.

Pros: price

Cons: durability

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Performs as advertised.....

DirkW from Texas on 11/25/2015

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was a breeze. Operation is also a breeze. The instructions and operation manual were clear and explicit. It is just what I wanted for the price paid.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

just what we needed all together

smith from Kentucky on 11/9/2015

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just what we needed for our truck with all the extra's you need also. It was a gift for my son 17 to put in his truck he loves it..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

John Ev from Massachusetts on 10/18/2015

2003 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value and super easy installation. I installed the this unit in a 2003 Accord.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good product

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 10/14/2015

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for original broken radio/cd player

Pros: Easy to install, customer service dead on with any questions

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good radio

Dave from Boyertown,Pennsylvania on 8/13/2015

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio and cd player. Has all i was looking for in a radio

Pros: Easy to install, easy to use

Cons: Scanning for stations is not as quick since scan and channel change use the same button

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Custom install 1977 F-250 Ford Truck

Courtless from Montana on 7/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a very hard install as I had to do some custom trimming and fitting to make this work on this old truck. AXXERA AXD130 was very easy to wire up, instructions were easy to read and understand. The radio preformed perfectly, extremely pleased with Crutchfield

Pros: Easy wire up. Easy startup. No problems!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing receiver for an unbeatable price!

JessiD from Wisconsin on 7/6/2015

2002 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Considering the price of the product I feel as though this receiver has exceeded my expectations. It pulls through amazing sound and several more stations than my previous receiver. The controls and display are brightly lit which is great for night driving. The controls also make this receiver very easy to figure out. I had no problems adjusting my music settings to my preference the first time using it. Needless to say I would recommend Crutchfield to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Rob from Wisconsin on 7/5/2015

2004 GMC Envoy XUV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD stereo, great value, like the blue back lighting, not tried aux input yet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Review for Axxera AXD130

J. Miller from Urbana, OH on 6/2/2015

1998 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit provides exactly what I needed - an entry-level CD receiver to replace my old tape deck in the pickup. Easy to install, easy to program and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons: LED lights are quite bright at night, with no dimming option.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Crutchfield customer from Raymond, NH on 5/24/2015

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130 Front Front Back Remote Right Axxera AXD130 Front Ax

Stede from Colorado on 4/20/2015

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As others have said, a good quality unit for the price. But I'm here to comment on Crutchfield's customer service. The first AXD130 I received had a faulty CD. The radio and USB worked fine but the CD would only repeat 'reading' about a dozen times before defaulting to the tuner. So I called the return line and this is what happened- I was immediately connected to a very pleasant young lady (by her voice) who instantly sent me a return label to my email. The new unit was sent the SAME day and was received and installed today. Everything works fine and again- the sound is very good for a head in this price point. I have an older Jeep Cherokee which is absolutely not a good platform for a sound system- the beast is basically a big noisy echo chamber... but the customer service at Crutchfield is superb and I will be back, for sure. Steve in Colorado

Pros: Great quality sound for the price

Cons: none so far....

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Jeep Rebuild

Dave from West Virginia on 3/29/2015

1987 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product was exactly as advertized. I am rebuilding a Wrangler which will spend much of its life with the top off. I wanted an economical receiver in the event of vandalism or water damage. I also wanted the ability to use my MP3 player and utilize my CDs as well. So far... so good.

Pros: Easy to install and reasonably priced.

Cons: The lights on the faceplate are a bit distracting when night driving... they are brighter than the rest of my dash cluster.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

MATT from Texas on 3/12/2015

2002 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I GOT THIS DECK FOR MY MOM, AND INSTALLED IT IN HER DAKOTA. I LIKE THE FEATURES IT HAS PLUS IT IS A EASY UNIT TO UNDERSTAND SO IT WAS EASY SHOWING HER HOW TO RUN IT AND SET UP.

Pros: EASE OF USE

Cons: NONE THAT I HAVE FOUND YET

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

great truck stereo

Allan from North Royalton,Ohio on 2/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this stereo to replace a Blaupunkt unit which never lived up to my expectations and have been pleasantly surprised. The sound quality is excellent much better than the previous unit even though this is a low frills unit.Installation was a breeze and it is a lot nicer overall quality wise than I expected for a low priced stereo.

Pros: Great sound,simple to operateand looks great also

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Researched and Rewarded

pkramer from Pennsylvania on 2/2/2015

2003 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did the research for affordable, feature packed, reliable, with good sound quality and loudness. There is no direct answer. But this model has met all of my expectations and then some. It was a gift for a special audiophile in my life and we have both been very pleased with all it has given. And buying from Crutchfield (for the lightly seasoned self installer) was the absolute best way to go.

Pros: affordable, feature packed, reliable, with good sound quality and loudness, easy to install.

Cons: Cannot be controlled by a Zune (XD i know, i know). No dimmer for the display lighting.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

PeteF from Texas on 1/16/2015

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo for the price! Easy to connect and good sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

What is going on?

Teddy from Hawaii on 1/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the unit with a long time friend. We both knew what we were doing and had the unit running after about 2 hours of work. One time while playing music through the aux input, the left side speakers stopped working, and the right side is extremely soft! Radio input still functions through all of the speakers, but it is infuriating to not have a fully functioning system! I want to exchange the unit for another model or just return it. At this point, I just want to get rid of it...

Pros: worked well for 3 or so months enjoy the hidden CD input model was easy to install

Cons: Stopped working as well as it should!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Very Happy!

Crutchfield customer from South Carolina on 1/6/2015

2001 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am pleased with my purchase. The only slightly annoying thing is having to put down the display to insert a CD.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Very Happy

Jim from Texas on 1/1/2015

1995 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sounding unit for a great price. I put this in a 20-year-old Dodge truck that we're fixing up for one of the kids. The installation was quick and easy, and it's a big plus to have the front aux input and USB connection.

Pros: Good quality at a good price Nice features (3 FM, 2 AM, presets, USB, etc.)

Cons: Lighting not dimmable

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good Sound, Easy to Use

Tim C from the Washington, DC Area on 12/30/2014

2008 Kia Sedona

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed for my 70 year old mother. It was easy for her to understand and use. It was a breeze to install...though her car caused some difficulties

Pros: Easy to use. Easy to Install.

Cons: When tuning to non-preset channels, it's a little bit of a pain. No fast way to change channels except to quickly repeat hitting the tune button.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great radio, but!

Wallaby from Florida on 12/30/2014

1989 Nissan 240SX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed into a 1989 Nissan 240sx hatchback. Existing radio connectors did not fit, had to splice a dozen wires to the new radio. Antenna cable had to be adapted to fit. Unit size fit ok, molding around face plate had to be removed, later adapted to fit. Was not an easy install, but well worth the trouble

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Install problems

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Hal from 98368 on 12/28/2014

2000 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio has a "very" small plastic button in the upper left hand corner to drop down the front plate to expose the CD slot!!! This is not clear on the website picture or description. If you want to play a CD you must first expose the slot, insert the CD and then close the front plate before you can access the CD controls! Getting the front plate off for security purposes is also difficult to accomplish. We never installed the product because these two features made the radio unacceptable to us!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Pretty Good

billl from California on 12/24/2014

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only thing I have problems with is in the AM mode, seems like there is a lot of crossover (stations overlapping each other). Unable to pick up some stations that my manufacturer's radio could. But for the money it is a real good deal. Took a little time getting used to where the CD goes. Still playing with it to see what else it can do. For directions on using the unit Google the model number for the manual.

Pros: Great unit for the price

Cons: Like another reviewer said, the AM band is not the best.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Jen from Columbia, SC on 12/23/2014

1999 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a cheap unit, it does exactly what I need it to do. The sound quality is not great (but that also may be a function of my aging speakers), and it's functions are pretty minimal, but that's all I needed and the price was right! Installation was not that bad also - I figured it out myself with a little guidance from Dad and no experience doing this sort of thing in the past.

Pros: Price, Functions were exactly what I wanted (CD, Aux cable, radio)

Cons: Display is really bright and I haven't figured out if it's possible to dim it yet. Some buttons could be larger (the seek button is not too large, but the mute button is huge).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does all that I need it to do

Sgt_stubbs from Allen, Texas on 12/14/2014

2008 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First aftermarket radio I replaced in my Nissan. Not bad at all. Didn't hear of the brand axxera til Crutchfield. Settings could be a bit better to navigate. But I need to play with it some more to get used to it. Love the color blue. Overall not bad for what I paid for. Only had it for a few weeks and its grown on me. I hook up my auxiliary to Pandora and go.

Pros: Does what it's meant to. Sound is pretty good.

Cons: Settings could be clearer

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Replaced factory unit

Tim from Richmond, va on 12/11/2014

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit easy to install controls stiff and not simplistic, instructions limited

Pros: Sound, value, easy install

Cons: Buttons hard to press, instructions don't tell you how to do everything

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Not Bad

Greg F from Rock Hill SC on 11/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is good, easy to use, but display options should include both clock and track #. Also, this is hard to believe, but the panel light is blinding coming through the on/off button. It is very bright, and annoying at night. I will have to paint it with shoe polish or something to dim it. All in all, though, for the money, not bad.

Pros: Easy to use, not bad sound.

Cons: Blinding light from on/off button, very bright at night.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Satisfied Customer

KB from Brooklyn, NY on 11/23/2014

1990 Pontiac Grand Am

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this item to replace the factory radio for my 1990 Grand Am Ponitac. It was reasonably priced and was the only radio with the USB port and Aux port located in the front. The product is well worth it's money.

Pros: The brightness, very easy to operate, the USB port charges my iPhone 5 and the radio sounds really well.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

V from Texas on 11/16/2014

2002 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went in without a hitch everything pretty straight forward, simple to follow directions.

Pros: cost/ performance

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Crutchfield customer from Wisconsin on 11/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for a 2001 GMC work truck. Installation was a snap with the mounting kit that I purchased at the same time. I really like the front side usb jack. Works great for what I need. Thanks to the Crutchfield rep that made sure I had everything I needed to install with out any issues.

Pros: Low cost and sounds good for two speaker work truck. usb port

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Crutchfield customer from Narvon pa on 10/22/2014

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice, basic receiver.

JohnE from Bellevue, WA on 10/11/2014

1999 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a simple install, and added good tunes to the car. FM performance is good, CD and Aux performance excellent, AM performance is marginal. Not a LOT of power, but adequate. The part that my son loves (it is in his car) is the look: It is a very cool looking machine.

Pros: Excellent value, great look.

Cons: Might be underpowered in some applications- AM performance is not good.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product / easy install

Smitty H from Leesburg, VA on 10/10/2014

2005 Saturn ION 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I first have to say that I have never installed my own car stereo before. I went into this a total novice and it ended up only taking me about an hour to remove my old factory unit and install this one. Very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice and easy

cquade from kennesaw, Ga on 10/5/2014

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, and easy to install in jeep wrangler.

Pros: Cheaper than what you see in stores, and same product.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130 car radio/player

Bert from Marietta, GA on 9/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this car radio/player for it's ability to play from an USB flash drive. It enables me to access 100 albums and audio books from a tiny device. My only complaint is that I can't do a search or view more than a single line of text, so it's necessary to click sequentially through the contents. Because of that limitation, I'm using separate flash drives for different audio book subjects and different types of music. But that still enables me relatively easy access to a lot of entertainment in a small package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Block from South Ozone Park, NY on 9/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing!

Jesus from Woonsocket, RI on 8/22/2014

1999 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely shocked me how something so cheap in price could work so well.

Pros: Supplies the perfect amount of power and style to the rest of my car. I love it.

Cons: I'm not sure if it is me or if the radio just stays blue but I would like the ability to change the colors on the display.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very Pleased

MelN from Helton, KY on 6/19/2014

1999 Ford Escort

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with this stereo. Alot of bang for the buck. It's easy to use and the sound is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera axd 130

Goldie M. from Union, nj on 6/16/2014

2005 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good!!! For the price, you can't go wrong with it. I know it's not a name brand like kenwood, jvc, pioneer, sony. The reason I picked this Axxera is because it's the only stereo that has USB and aux connection in front for the same exact price as the named brands. Another retailer is charging around a lot for installation and 3 hrs.+ of waiting. Crutchfield, and diy wiring and installation only 60 min. Of your time or maybe less. Like I said, so far so good. I hope this stereo will last for a while......

Pros: More bang for your buck! Quality sound! Easy diy wiring and install. Can charge devices with USB connection and use the aux at the same time.

Cons: This Axxera Stereo doesn't display words such as pass lock / disable, enable alarm. My stock or factory radio displays the words if u enable or disable pass lock/alarm.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Product

Harry from Dayton,OH on 5/20/2014

2000 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this product recently for my very old 2000 Toyota Solara. My current stereo quit working after living for so many years so i decided to buy a new one from crutchfield. I never realized how easy it is to install new stereos. Crutchfield was very helpful in recommending stereos for the car i selected and to their word, it does fit and is very easy to install ourselves. the accessories (harness and plastic tray) they provide with this product and very necessary (especially the electrical harness) that makes installation a breeze. The self tapping screws that comes with this that fastens the factory bracket (already in the car) to the stereo set needs to be 5mm longer. A quick run to an hardware store could take care of that problem. It hardly took me 30 mins to take the old one out, make the electrical harness connections and put the new one in. I love the product so far. I am able to play songs directly from an usb which is a neat feature. Needless to say the cd player and aus input are useful as well. my kid loves the songs i play in it. All in all a very good product. I would highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

basic review

Rammburst from Kincheloe, Mi on 5/13/2014

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for something with usb, aux and mp3. For the price you can't go wrong. Just dont expect alot of bells and whistles, this is a great radio for a small amount of money. (and I know they say to post a review with-in a few days I felt I would put it through it's paces first, I have now owned this unit for about 2 months)

Pros: Easy to use, Love that it was blue backlit, usb for playing MP3's, Aux if I every want to use my tablet to listen to music, easy to install

Cons: very bright blue backlit at night wish they would have had a way to dim the brightness or be able to wire it into the factory harness dimmer.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Doesn't fit 1997 Toyota Corolla

Crutchfield customer from Bowmanstown, PA 18030 on 5/11/2014

1997 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is listed as fitting a 1997 Toyota Corolla. Prospective buyers should be aware that it will only fit after cutting into the dashboard to widen the opening and even then the trim ring will not fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD 130

CRIOS from Temecula CA on 4/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good price easy to install the technicians helped with install

Pros: Affordable Modern

Cons: Installation instructions need to be more detailed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

self installed

John from Colorado Springs, CO on 4/29/2014

1998 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. A little difficult to navigate through the various menus. Good sound, great reception. No problems with alternator interference as I grounded the chassis based on previous reviews. Lighting is strange as previous reviewers have stated. The on light is too bright and the menu back lighting is too dim. Annoying at night. Looks like a masking tape solution for the brightest lights. Overall a great value.

Pros: Reception, volume, sound quality.

Cons: Lighting

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Absolute garbage

Scott from Indiana on 4/9/2014

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4 months after installation stereo wouldn't turn on! Contact Crutchfield Support. Stated to try reset button. Worked for a day. Next day, wouldn't turn on! Called Axxera support NO HELP WHAT SO EVER! Instead of wasting my time pulling stereo out and sending back, I just bought reliable name brand stereo from Crutchfield.

Pros: USB on front charged phone while using AUX port to play music on phone

Cons: NOT RELIABLE!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

USB Not Compatible with iPhone

KMarie from Portland, OR on 2/15/2014

2001 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

USB doesn't work with Apple products (iphone / ipod). You know, the most popular music device in the world. How has no reviewer mentioned this? Huge deal breaker, I'm returning it.

Pros: Looks just like all the other tron-inspired faceplates.

Cons: Doesn't work with iphone / ipod and doesn't make an effort to say so explicitly (however, it calls out specifically that the "auxiliary works with iphone and ipod". Dumb. I hate them.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 18 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

BradB from Canal Winchester, OH on 1/1/2014

2001 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money this deck goes above and beyond, but when it comes to ease of use with the functions it lacks. It is a bit of a headache to navigate through a flash drive on the small single din screen. Sounds great though.

Pros: Sound quality, and value.

Cons: Not so easy to navigate through.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Stereo Radio

Fred from Punta Gorda fl on 12/19/2013

2004 Honda Accord DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works, good for the price. Just what I expected, nothing special.

Pros: So far, it works.

Cons: Clock visibility is poor. Background display is poor to awful.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Jigsaw from Portsmouth, VA on 12/16/2013

2001 Dodge Stratus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the cost, sounds great. Surfing the radio can be a pain cause to seek it makes an awful nosie

Pros: Great for the cost, sounds great

Cons: Surfing the radio can be a pain cause to seek it makes an awful nosie

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

bull from Kokomo,IN. on 12/1/2013

1999 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

AXXERA AXD130

Scott H from Superior, Arizona on 11/13/2013

2005 Kia Rio

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install like all the features, great value. I would buy an upgraded model if I was going to buy another one. Juat don't like how bright the lighting on the reciever is at night, as it is a bit distracting.

Pros: Easy to install, looks good, operates great, good value

Cons: Blue lighting on reciever is too bright at night and is very distracting to the driver

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I wish I baught sooner!

Tyler G. from Michigan on 11/12/2013

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works great! Couldn't be happier! The sound quality improved dramatically and I'm still running off stock speakers! It took me 2 hours to install the new radio, and with out the mounting package recommended by Crutchfield the radio would have been pointless! I'm really happy I spent the extra money on the kit. The axxera radio i invested in is on the cheaper side of the spectrum! I was honestly looking for a quick alternative to be able to get a working aux cord in the car... This radio system was probably one of the best and easy investments I've put in the car so far! Shipping was fast! Product made it safe and sound!

Pros: Bright blue display, Great sound quality, easy to install (make sure you know how to properly solder wires), solid fit, no issues so far, aux cord, USB is pretty handy for charging my phone, and my car became a chick magnet... (Sweet!)

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Radio for the Price

ChuckM from Fort Worth, Texas on 11/4/2013

1995 Dodge Spirit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this radio to replace a factory radio that had failed in my 1995 Dodge Spirit. I am very pleased with the radio and the convenience of aux and USB inputs. The remote is also handy. The display seems plenty bright to me. One change I would make is to provide a time display and scrolling selection display (they are exclusive). The unit is easy to program and use. Sound seems a little tinny to me, but perhaps I need to do some additional adjustments. Fader and balance work well. Excellent radio reception.

Pros: Versatile I/O and MP3 capabilities. Remote. Good display. Excellent radio reception in AM and FM bands.

Cons: Additional display options would be welcome, though the provided capabilities are not bad. Sound quality would probably be better on a more-expensive unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very satisfied overall, lacks brightness control!

Johnrw from San Antonio Tx on 10/30/2013

2001 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great receiver overall! It gets the job done, and looks alright in the dash. My top reason for buying is to have an 3.5mm Aux connection to my speakers versus using a lousy cassette adapter. My only two complaints is the lack of brightness control. The backlight seems very bright and disruptive when driving at night and during the day the display is hard to see sometimes.

Pros: Appearance, sound quality, playback features

Cons: unclear menu options, no control of brightness, display

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

PaulD from Baltimore MD on 10/14/2013

1986 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A lot of features for a great price. Didn't want to spend too much on an older vehicle so this was a price purchase. Had all the features I was looking for including a clock which displays with radio off. Also included a remote which you don't usually get on a unit under $100.

Pros: Fold down face, full display, remote

Cons: Display a little dim

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD130

Crutchfield customer from guam guam on 10/3/2013

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommended! great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Happy, Happy, Happy

TS from Iowa on 9/29/2013

2003 Ford Escort ZX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace my factory radio, which had quit working a few months ago. This unit was easy to install, the sound is superior to my factory radio and the price was awesome, too. I didn't replace my speakers but when I turned this on, they sounded like I installed new ones. I'm very happy with this purchase.

Pros: Price and sound.

Cons: The only thing that would be a con is that with my car we had to file down a tab and it would have been easier if we had a Dremel to do it. But, the instructions had told us that we would have to file it down. Also, there weren't any instructions for using this unit, but I figured it after playing around with it for a while.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Radio

Dave from Knoxville, TN on 9/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You have to understand that you are not buying a top of the line device. For the money, you can't beat it. Install was pretty straight forward. Wish the antenna adapter was a little better fit. Again though, like I said for the money it's a great deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big sound for a little price

Joel from Weston, CO on 8/25/2013

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was easy to install in my old F-150. The sound is great for the price. I like the fact that I can hook up many other devices to the usb and mini plug. Plays mp3s too.

Pros: Looks good, sounds good, inexpensive. Has all the features that I need.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

love this radio

enull1968 from burbank, ca on 8/23/2013

1990 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i purchased this radio as a graduation gift for my daughter and she LOVES it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

great product

jeff from 49408 on 7/25/2013

1998 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy, good price great value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent for the price

JimT from Fresno, CA. on 7/20/2013

1993 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this unit. Wanted something inexpensive for my daily driver, and this fills the bill. Took awhile to figure out the all buttons, and the quick start guide is lacking. Had to DL the manual from their site. However, the sound is excellent, and I like the look of it in my dash.

Pros: Inexpensive, works great, sounds good.

Cons: Only con is the lack of info on all the buttons in the quick start guide, there is no manual, have to download it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent features and sound for the price!!

JamesPO from Clearwater, FL on 7/17/2013

1987 Honda Prelude

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the front access USB port and flip down CD face. Cool head unit for the '87 Honda Prelude I installed it in.

Pros: Easy to install, fitment was excellent, and the features and front access to USB and AUX connections made this a hard deal to pass on for the price.

Cons: Wish the fron face flip down had a smoother release button.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP