Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
045 521 313 3
Connect ID #
045 521 313 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Axxera AXD530

CD receiver

MFR # AXD530

Axxera AXD530

Axxera AXD530

CD receiver

MFR # AXD530

88 reviews
View this product

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from University Pl, WA on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds awesome with the new Kicker speakers in my wife's 1994 Saturn SL2, which is in show room condition.

Pros: Mu wife loves it so I'm happy too.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent product Excellent customer service

Crutchfield customer from Capron, IL on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just bought this for my husband for his birthday..He has not had a working stereo for 2yrs in his truck..He absolutely loves it and couldn't be any happier..I love the lights and all the options it comes with..the sales lady was so wonderful I believe her name was Claudia..she was so patient and understanding and helped me pick exactly what I wanted ..I am so happy we went through Crutchfield and will be a life long customer and recommend them always ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love Crutchfield directions

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 9/20/2020

2005 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio went in perfectly without a hitch in my 2005 Crossfire. I have to compliment Crutchfield on their outstanding hints and supplements which probably saved me hours of work. The radio is relatively easy to work with the exception of simple directions to put in your own radio stations. Everything directs you to "preselected" which exists in the radio already, but not clear on how to "select" and store your own.

Pros: Listed above

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Tama, IA on 9/18/2020

2000 Ford Focus ZX3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks nice I haven't installed yet but I tried it and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not a fan

Crutchfield customer from Mckeesport, PA on 9/13/2020

2009 Kia Spectra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You can't adjust the back lighting on the dial and outsides, Only on the display. If you're in rural roads at night with out street lights, the glare from the head unit is to bright and actually makes it harder to see! Thats a big NO for me. I will be changing it because of that unfortunately.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1993 98

Crutchfield customer from Franklin Square, NY on 9/13/2020

1993 Oldsmobile Ninety Eight Regency

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features at a reasonable price, plus it looks great.

Pros: Remote, detachable front, USB port, Bluetooth

Cons: As of right now none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Poynette, WI on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound but the back got very hot and bass was not as hoped

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Mishicot, WI on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does everything it says it would and sounds great. Easy to use!!

Pros: Easy setup in the menu

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 9/7/2020

2011 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No option to dim the blue light.super bright at night

Pros:

Cons: No option to dim the blue light

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clunky and poor bluetooth connectivity

Robert L from LINCOLN, NE on 9/7/2020

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buttons are a bit clunky, faceplate attachment/removal is also clumsy. Bluetooth only connects maybe one out of a dozen attemps. Some days, it won't connect to anything.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Buttons feel loose and sometimes don't select anything. Faceplate removal is awkward, sometimes it won't lower at all. Bluetooth connectivity is so unreliable it might as well not be a listed feature.

Crutchfield response on 9/9/2020
Robert, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent deal

Crutchfield customer from Corona, CA on 9/5/2020

2003 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo for the price. I wasn't looking for a great stereo for this kind of money but it works pretty good. Decent sound plus a CD player. Bluetooth works great and so does Pandora. My only problem was I could not get the radio to work because I did not receive the adapter? Crutchfield claims my year/model car doesn't need one but they are wrong.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Luverne, AL on 9/2/2020

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and works great! I don't consider my self much of an electrical man, but it was fairly simple and easy to install and wire up. Highly Recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera

Crutchfield customer from Macon, GA on 9/1/2020

1999 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio. Tons of features. I replaced a JVC with this and I'm happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 8/28/2020

1995 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very disappointed in the quality of this unit if you use Bluetooth don't get this unit it's scratchy and does not sound good what so ever I was very excited for this unit and now just RIP

Pros:

Cons: Bluetooth sounds bad Feels cheap I'm sad now

Crutchfield response on 9/1/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for price - but there is a hum on bluetooth phone

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 8/23/2020

1996 Mazda 626

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Easy install. But the bluetooth is noisy when using a phone (not when using bluetooth music). And it wasn't the microphone, it was an issue when the mic was unplugged too. Playing with the volume on the phone, the bluetooth gain, and the main volume helps. But there's still some background hum. Not enough to make me want to return it -- especially when considering the low price. FWIW, we needed to provision an antenna cord extension for our ancient mid 90's Mazda 626.

Pros: Price!

Cons: Slight hum on Bluetooth when using for phone calls.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Returning!

Yuri from Wurtsboro on 8/20/2020

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheaply made, volume knob feels flimsy and the worst of the worse is this receiver is not dimmable!!! Hurts my eyes at night! Returnig!

Pros: Lots of tuning options

Cons: not dimmable, too bright

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good unit.

Crutchfield customer from Buford, GA on 8/18/2020

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value for the price.

Pros: Price. Functionality. Input options.

Cons: No dimmer control - too bright.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, CA on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up, very very fast shipping, very helpful on the phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 8/17/2020

1978 Mercedes-Benz 450SL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features, functionality and performance, especially for the cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 8/10/2020

2002 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio sounds good and works great I just wish that it displayed the song that was playing, and had an option to turn down the brightness of the buttons overall though good radio for the price

Pros: Can tune the different frequencies and turn subs on and off

Cons: The lights have no way to adjust the brightness

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Port Orchard, WA on 8/4/2020

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and sound as I expected. No complaints

Pros: cheap and compact

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, CT on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little radio for my daughter's Honda...easy to install, ready harness service made it even easier! Great stuff as always Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing unit !!

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 8/2/2020

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very surprised at the features and quality of this unit especially for the price !! Works well and sounds great !!

Pros: Packed with features !!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 7/23/2020

2007 BMW Z4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good unit for the price.

Pros: Sounds better and has more functions than the stock unit that came in car.

Cons: Buttons are too bright at night with no way to dim them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Mexico, MO on 7/5/2020

1989 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, not a bunch of different sitting to adjust like other's for each song played. It sounds great looks even better. I spend more time enjoying the music instead of adjusting it all the time. To people that complain about it being to bright, there us a dimmer on it. For the price, no complaint here, love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Toyota Corolla stereo replacement

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 6/30/2020

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So easy to install. very happy with purchase. Directions were a breeze!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Bath, NC on 6/8/2020

1992 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio. Got more radio than I paid for. You can not go wrong when you purchase this product . There is not a perfect radio or perfect tech support in the world, but this radio and tech support team is as close as it gets.

Pros: Great sound, looks good, easy to install, and to operate.

Cons: Had to install it myself.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too good to be true

Vesey from JEFFERSON, GA on 6/8/2020

2001 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too good to be true, I was impressed by the features for the price, that was where the fun ended. Quick shipping, easy install in a 20 year old toyota, and this thing never worked right. Volume button never allowed me to make selections, stayed in demo mode then changed out when I went to Bluetooth. Since the volume / selector button never really worked I could never fully set up the radio. Pulled it out and in repeatedly until I gave up. For context, I have been installing car stereos myself for over a decade, this is nothing new but it was defective from the box. Returned for a pioneer.

Pros: Too good to be true

Cons: Every single thing else

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rocks for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 5/29/2020

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool looking display, a lot of features for the price, and great sound quality.

Pros: Lots of features.

Cons: You have to open face (it drops down) to reveal CD slot.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not great for 2020. Old and dissapointing Bluetooth.

Matt from San Francisco, CA on 5/27/2020

2011 Audi Q5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a great purchase in 2020. The bluetooth audio is very disappointing and doesn't display what's playing on the screen. The range for the remote is terrible. Then changing inputs is slow and clunky.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Banks, OR on 5/27/2020

1991 Dodge D Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good unit for the money, wasn't expecting a top quality product but got something that will get the job done in my old truck I use to haul garbage/debris etc in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Marion, AR on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound from original speakers. Hope it lasts. Don't know if I needed to step up but it sure is refreshing to get away from original that crackled every time you touched the volume and the off switch was wired around years ago to get it to work at all.

Pros: Looks good in the dash.

Cons: Smallish buttons but that is the trend for all electronics.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, NV on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The display is hard to see in daylight even turned all the way up. It needs to be easier to operate while your driving. The remote would be a better option if it worked most of the time, it doesn't. It is too difficult otherwise to switch modes. I replaced the battery and it still is intermittent. The unit was made in 2014 even though I bought it last month. I should have taken my time and spent a little more. Just to get this to work in my 2005 Dodge Ram required spending as much as the unit.

Pros: It sounds ok once the settings are adjusted.

Cons: Several

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Blinding lights can't be dimmed

Stephanie from Petal, MS on 5/5/2020

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for a great price.. only downfall is that the buttons and radio lights are way too bright for driving at night. Almost blinding.

Pros: Great radio and sound for a great price

Cons: Radio button lights are way too bright and can't be dimmed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

????????

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 4/30/2020

2006 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the price, instal kit you'll also need some wire nuts or connectors

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 4/28/2020

1995 Mitsubishi Mighty Max

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very versatile, son loves the sound it puts out and connection options, also likes screen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Hamden, CT on 4/27/2020

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the versatility of having modern technology in a classic car. Took original parts out and due to crutchiefield matching car kit etc looks like its original from manufacture. Sound is awesome, options total current and made the best father son memories during an otherwise less than memorable times

Pros: easy install ,great options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Keokuk, IA on 4/5/2020

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit looks good puts out great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Eau Claire, WI on 3/22/2020

1994 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sterio system. Im loving it very nice soud and it bumps

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 3/16/2020

2001 Hyundai Accent

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big Sound Reciever

Crutchfield customer from Cherryville, NC on 3/13/2020

2002 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful ....easy to use...nice colors...

Pros: Ease of use..plenty of power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Hot Springs, SD on 3/8/2020

1999 Chrysler Sebring JXI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money this CD deck is awesome. For the price it is fantastic. It hooked right up with the factory Infinity system and it sounds great.

Pros: Super great price for what you get in options.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Wyalusing, PA on 3/3/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Works as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Best Radio

Crutchfield customer from Lake Village, AR on 2/6/2020

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best radio I've ever owned. It had every option I've wanted on a radio. It was very easy to set up and on top of that it looks great.

Pros:

Cons: None at all

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Pinehurst, NC on 1/19/2020

1995 Jaguar XJS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ORDERED THIS AxxerAXD 530 FOR MY JAGUAR XJ6 MY WIFE AND I LOVE IT FIT THE CAR DASH PERFECT...BLUETOOTH AND PANDORA CD AND MORE THE CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM CRUTCHFIELD 5-STAR...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 1/8/2020

1991 Alfa Romeo Spider Veloce

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fabulous Product from the Top A/V Supplier in the USA!

Pros: It's all Pros... No Cons! I would buy again, and from Crutchfield!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Shalimar, FL on 1/2/2020

2001 GMC Jimmy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for the money. Not crazy about the remote but the radio works really well. Bluetooth works great but the mic is hard for people to hear you.

Pros: Excellent price

Cons: Microphone not really clear

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Edelstein, IL on 12/31/2019

1988 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great just Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for the price!

Michael from PINNACLE, NC on 12/26/2019

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes, the buttons are bright and it's too bad that they can't be dimmed but I "may" have come up with a workaround..definitely not a deal breaker when you weigh out the pro's and con's. This head unit brought my speakers to life (for the time being, and I get an amp). Really good sound, even when I have it cranked up. Bluetooth worked like it should but I prefer hooking my iPhone via USB because I can see the track info on the screen that way and it might actually sound a little better that way.

Pros: ease of installation (45 min for me), sounds good, I like the display,

Cons: Just the button brightness..not a bad thing necessarily. The double din Sony I used to own had a blinding screen and wouldn't dim.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Would appreciate your help.

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not installed because I can't get the radio out of my dash. I spoke to someone and they explained how to get it out which still didn't work.I called his direct # the next day and left a message and asked if he would call to help me out.Two weeks later and still have not heard from anyone. I am pretty sure Crutchfield installed this radio some time in 1999 or 2000. I don't want to return this radio if I can get help getting the old one out and this on in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/30/2019
We were sorry to hear about your experience and our mix-up with Tech Support team. We're forwarding this on to our Tech Support supervisors, so they can look into it. We also forwarded your review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you get your existing radio out of your dash, and get your new receiver installed. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 6 found this helpful

Axxera is awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Owings, MD on 10/21/2019

2012 Dodge Truck 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this receiver! Very easy to use and picks up stations that have been hard for me to reach with all my other ones. Bluetooth is exceptional.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Bernalillo, NM on 10/1/2019

1986 GMC Jimmy S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo is great. One problem, I can't dim the buttons and they are too bright. Can anyone help?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/7/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Mick, reached out to let this customer know that the dimmer controls are only for the screen, and the buttons cannot be dimmed. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 8/1/2019

2001 Saab 9-3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 7/22/2019

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, lots of features, mainly bought it for the blue tooth capability. Mn is going hands free only in August.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Ryan's Axxera

Crutchfield customer from Sturgis, SD on 7/19/2019

1994 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and display. Plenty of power for the speakers I'm using. Only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that it doesn't always auto-connect with Bluetooth. Overall very pleased?

Pros: Quality stereo sound. Great display

Cons: Doesn't always auto-connect with Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice radio

Crutchfield customer from Stover, MO on 7/12/2019

1999 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a great radio, the only reason only giving 4 stars is because the only thing you can do on Bluetooth is answer your phone, for everything else you have to your phone plugged into the USB port!

Pros: Nice 3" screen

Cons: Can only answer phone on Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great functionality

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 7/9/2019

1996 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great functionality of am, FM, CD, and bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, NC on 7/4/2019

2001 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointed that the lights for the buttons are so bright. I have had flashlights that were not as bright as this thing and that wouldn't be so bad if you could dim it, either through the menu or through a dimmer wire, but that is not an option During the day, it is an ok unit. Bluetooth streaming is how I planned to use this and was disappointed again when the display only shows "Bluetooth streaming" and doesn't give any song info. The biggest good thing this unit has is a modern display but they could have put the screen to better use. I have decided to get a different radio in the next month or so

Pros: Looks more modern than most other single din units

Cons: Blindingly bright backlight

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, WI on 5/26/2019

2001 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo by the Bluetooth can be kind of sketchy.

Pros: Sounds great. Eq options are awesome. Works great through the USB port with my old school iPod.

Cons: Bluetooth is spotty at best.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera has more to improve on....

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 12/28/2015

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered on February and received within three days. I finally got the time to install it this month and everything went well except the CD player. Bluetooth audio stream works well with my Android phone. Pandora control is not available for Android. Display is super bright at night, even brighter then most vehicles dash. Price on it is good for the features it has. Steering wheel controls work good with ASWC 1. Build is a bit questionable but still holding up. Sound is good on Bluetooth, Aux, Radio, and USB. Overall it is an okay head unit, not good and not bad.

Pros: Bluetooth, price, cool looking

Cons: CD player didn't work and brightness at night

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

bad choice

dougd from Ohio on 7/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cd player wint play, its only three months old. Cant get my new cd out wont eject. Cd player doesnt work. Only when it wants to, and keeps quitting. Very bright at night, i use piece of paper over it to dim light some. If using your phone you have to turn volume all the way up, not very loud. Will take out and replace with pioneer or kenwood. Thanks for letting me waste my money on junk.

Pros: no pros i see, usb port is for iphones. Only.

Cons: very bright, cd player is junk.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

AD530

Crutchfield customer from tucson,az on 4/28/2015

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing positive about this unit. All harness wires were soldered protected by heat shrink. Stereo fails to power up at times of its own choosing. Detach the unit from the harness, plug in a test light and voltage is present. Press the ON button a bunch of times and it may turn on. Bluetooth volume sucks, it has to be turned all the way up to hear anything, and then it has electrical noise ringing through the audio. Stay away from this pile of junk unless you like collecting paperweights. 3 mos of nothing but headaches. This morning i kicked the face plate in because its worthless.

Pros: Crutchfielrld install kit

Cons: Everything

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Good but Very bright

Casey from Minnesota on 3/16/2015

2000 Pontiac Grand Am

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love everything about this receiver, it was super easy to install, super easy to learn how to use, everything on it works great, it looks and sounds great but the only problem I have with it is that it is extremely bright. During the day the brightness isn't a problem at all, but when I'm driving at night I have to hold my hand in front of it the block the light as if you were blocking the sun with your hand; if I don't it's almost like being blinded by someone driving behind you with their brights on. I'm most likely going to return or sell it and get a different receiver because I cannot stand how bright it is, 90% of my driving is at night so this receiver doesn't work so well for me. If you do a lot of day driving and rarely or never drive at night I would highly recommend this receiver, it's great in every aspect except how bright it is; Otherwise, if you do a lot of night driving, don't even consider this receiver.

Pros: Easy to install, easy to use, looks great, sounds great, has a lot of options for connectivity and settings

Cons: Extremely bright at night, no settings to change the brightness of the buttons

Crutchfield response on 3/17/2015
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Noel from Montana on 2/16/2015

1995 Ford Aspire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, it's a great radio. Installation was a breeze, it fit perfect, and it looks great. The oversized jog-wheel is easy to use while driving. Three-band parametric EQ, multiple subwoofer crossover options. Bluetooth connects automatically to my phone. I just get in the car, and press "play" and the music streams from my phone. Lots of good stuff for a cheap price. Only a couple nitpicks about it. First, it is BRIGHT. It would be nice if the lights on it were controlled by the dashboard dimmer. The second is that it picks up a lot of ignition noise when my cell phone is plugged into an auxiliary jack. Especially if my cell phone is ALSO plugged into the cigarette lighter to charge. I have to use the USB port or Bluetooth to play my music now, because the AUX port is too noisy. If you can't stream Bluetooth audio from your device, beware!

Pros: Great price, great display, easy to use

Cons: Picks up too much engine electrical noise through the AUX port

Crutchfield response on 2/17/2015
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Bug Sound

Todd from Buckner, IL on 12/31/2014

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and sounds great Thanks

Pros: Easy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera is more than "Axxceptable"!

Eric from Monument, CO on 9/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio works great. Love that it automatically links to my phone via Bluetooth when I start the vehicle. Wiring harness was dead simple. I'd be hard to screw it up. Sounds great and was a huge improvement on my factory JEEP radio. My radio was on clearance as "scratch & dent" but I couldn't find a mark on it. No issues.

Pros: Great choice of "sources". Bluetooth connects automatically. Lots of adjustments for equalizer.

Cons: No way to dim the basic lighting of knobs at night. Maybe I haven't read enough. There are a lot of adjustments in the settings/menu. Maybe I'm missing it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Looks good...but not the best

Robb from SA, Tx on 8/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pretty excited when I ordered this unit a couple of months ago it had all the features and it looked cool at a good price, I should have known with axxera being part of dual that it was going to suck. Brand new out of the box it wasn't half bad, appearance was nice sound was decent bluetooth was ok but not the best. After about a month the next track button just decided to take a dump and stop working. For some reason when I don't have my phone plugged in the whole unit gets stuck the moment you touch something and now it's latest problem is that it overheats all the time and it's really annoying. This ones going in the dumpster and I'm going to buy a sony.

Pros: Looks cool and that's about it

Cons: Not worth the headache buy a better brand

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

JoshJ from St Louis, MO on 8/13/2014

2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put it in the wife's care and haven't heard one complaint

Pros: She hasn't complained

Cons: It only shut her up about the car.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Excelent Head Unit!

hancom from Everett, WA on 8/11/2014

2004 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio works great! I have been surprised with the quality of the sound and ease of operation. The one thing I don' t like so far is that there is a sticker they put on the from of the display at the bottom. Maybe they intended for it to be permanent but it covers up displayed information. Tried to pull it off but they used gorilla glue or the like. got all the opaque sticker and glue off but there is still a clear sticker on the display. Maybe I was not supposed to remove but It looks like tit should come off.

Pros: Great price, Easy to install, great sound,

Cons: Sticker on display.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

JeffC from Walker, La. on 7/7/2014

1996 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Axxera AXD530 to replace the stock radio in my GMC truck. This radio had a lot going for it right out the box. High end features, good looks and great value. Whats not to like. Bluetooth works well with my android phone and I really like the hands free feature. Sound quality isn't phenomenal but acceptable and you won't be disappointed. There are a few things that I didn't like such as I like AM talk radio and the Am receive seems to be weak. Controls take a little getting use to and the control buttons are really bright at night. All in all not bad at all and I'm satisfied with my purchase.

Pros: Lot of bang for the buck. Good looks. Great screen. Decent sound quality. Hands free phone. Good looking.

Cons: Weak AM receive. Controls a little difficult.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Problem out of the box.

Danzig from Burns, OR on 6/27/2014

1992 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Out of the box the front left/right fader is broken. It just makes the front speakers get slightly quieter. It doesn't actually have 2 channels or it's broke. Triple checked the install. Rear outputs work fine. Don't know if this affects low level outs. Just spend the extra money and get a brandname receiver. Not worth it.

Pros: Cheap, bluetooth.

Cons: Doesn't function correctly out of box. Cheap plastic feeling, build quality is pretty crappy.

Crutchfield response on 6/30/2014
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from puerto rico on 6/22/2014

1990 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Apotts94 from Galloway Ohio on 6/17/2014

2002 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great after market stereo!

Pros: Good sound and easy to use. Love the Bluetooth function.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good fit Good Sound

Bruce B from Monticello, Utah on 6/4/2014

1996 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio fit easily into the dash. It made my old speakers sound much better than the old radio. The Blue Tooth works great with my HTC phone. It's easy to answer phone calls without having to turn the stereo down. One button push and your talking hands free.

Pros: Front USB and Aux make hooking up my Itouch very easy. Blue tooth works great

Cons: I installed the radio in a 1996 Bronco with a single DIN dash the radio sits a little bit too recessed. The CD door hits when you flip it down, but not too little to be able to get a disc in and out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good

Chadwick from NE on 6/3/2014

1999 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great piece, sounds good and is easy to put in, I mainly use the Bluetooth and it works fine

Pros: Easy to navigate, looks great

Cons: A bit buggy at times, an a bit touchy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530 Worth a chance!

drdoug from Ohio on 5/15/2014

2003 Saturn ION 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the amount of features you get with this, and for the value conscious shopper, I don't think anything else compares for what you get with this Axxera AXD530 receiver. I've owned high car stereos over the years from Kenwood, Pioneer, and my last 3 receivers have all been JVC, ranging from 200 to 500 dollars. With the advancement of technology over the past 5 years, this Axxera easily beats any of my previous stereos in terms of features. I've never had Bluetooth before, and that is a really cool feature just for the hands free calling, let alone the audio streaming. I have an Android phone, so it limits the Pandora and other functionality if I had an Apple device, but that doesn't bother me, I will mainly use my USB flash drive loaded with music. I was skeptical with Axxera being that their parent company is Dual, I've never used Dual before, but they and other brands have always been associated with bargain bin stuff, and for a few dollars more I would always go with a name brand like my JVC's that I've been fond of. This surprised me with the quality, it feels heavier than my JVC, which hopefully means the internal circuitry and electronics are decent. The faceplate is easy to attach and remove, and all the buttons have a similar look and feel to my JVC as well...buttons have a solid click, the rotary volume knob is solid too. I noticed a big difference in sound quality just listening to the radio over stock, overall very happy with this purchase.

Pros: - 4 volt preamps including sub - very rare in this price range. - Clear display with lots of information at a glance. - Bluetooth calls are clear for me as well as for people on the other end. - User interface well designed, easy to navigate, lots of EQ settings and other adjustments to fine tune, again, very rare at this price range. - Quality is on par with any other stereo i've had, with the exception of a top of the line unit costing 400 or more dollars.

Cons: - Really none at this price. Sure things could be improved, but then again the price would also go up accordingly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product! Best value!

Vince from Cleveland, OH on 2/4/2014

2004 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this radio in my car. It works great, it was very easy to install myself, and the display is great! For the price of the product, there is no better option. You get the great interactive display screen with the bluetooth capabilities of a more expensive player. Haven't had an issue with the functionality!

Pros: Awesome display. Great price. Great features.

Cons: Unknown brand.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Manuel from Chicago, ILLINOIS on 1/22/2014

2000 Dodge Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Easy To Install With Supplied Hardware. Had A Question, Called Tech Support And Quickling Answer My Question. Saved A Lot Of Money Buying From Crutchfield And Installing Myself,

Pros: Lots Of Features, Beautiful Display, Excellent Stereo Sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Ethan from Beaumont, TX on 1/8/2014

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio works great with iPhone Bluetooth is okay, sound quality isn't exceptional but good for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver!

Kirby Hilderbrand from Nacogdoches, Texas on 1/1/2014

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for something that had bluetooth and stumbled on to this and immediately wanted it. I got it in and installed it very easily but there was no sound. Turns out the plug in the back is a very tight fit so make sure it's really plugged in all the way, this was my problem. Sound is great, and bluetooth connectivity is great and it connects automatically when you start the car. Using it was a bit confusing at first but it only took about a day or two and I had everything down. The only thing I don't like is the brightness of the power button. I thought the screen might be a bit distracting at night but it's the power button that causes problems for me. It's so bright and it's angled towards the driver. However unlike the screen the button cannot be dimmed. But other than that it is a great receiver and great value.

Pros: Bluetooth Large color screen Great Sound Front and Rear AUX

Cons: Bright at night

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cool Features, Bad Quality

Andrew from Oregon on 12/27/2013

1996 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this receiver because of the many features included in the price, yet this was a mistake. This receiver would be good if the sound quality was there, but sadly it just isn't. There is an exorbitant amount of static over the Bluetooth connection, and an underlining buzz in all other forms of playing music. (ex radio, usb, aux, etc) At first i thought this to be my installation, and went about checking connections and trouble shooting various possibilities for the noise. I finally determined it to be the receiver, and thinking this was just a lemon, exchanged the receiver, only to find the new one experiencing the same problems as the first. By this point i decided to switch brands, and went with a Kenwood excelon kdc-x797 and couldn't be happier. This receiver works flawlessly, and although it was $60 more then the Axxera, it far surpasses it across the board. The only feature i find the Axxera to be superior is in the 3 in color display, which allows for easy access to changing settings, but even this isn't all that great as the quality of the screen is poor, and is nearly useless in sunlight. Basically don't buy this receiver! Go with a Kenwood or a Pioneer, any brand which has a good reputation. They have receivers which are competitively priced, but will leave you far more satisfied in the quality.

Pros: Nice 3 in display, makes changes settings easy. Nice plastic case for faceplate removal

Cons: Bad overall sound quality Bluetooth is horrible Feels cheep (the buttons, dials, and faceplate) Display is hard to see in daylight

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome Stereo

J Ramsey from Fayetteville,TN on 12/24/2013

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo. Got it and put it in in 5 minutes. All accessories included. But Crutchfield only.

Pros: Colorful display. Bluetooth clear.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ruff start but all is well

ldireland from Fresno,Ca on 11/9/2013

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received my first unit and the display was faulty. Crutchfield immediately sent me a complete new unit which works flawlessly

Pros: The unit is inexpensive and loaded with features.

Cons: The display isn't all that good. Very difficult to see in sunny conditions and if you wear sunglasses you might as well not have a display. It goes invisible.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Axxera AXD530

Crutchfield customer from Columbia City, IN on 11/3/2013

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool feature for the price, has some noise over the phone connection and bluetooth

Pros: good features for price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

little pro but good so far

dbm from riverdale, md on 10/21/2013

1997 Acura 2.2CL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well it is nice but am just having problems with the bluetooth pandora playing music on music and also taking time to connect and also the phone has a noise in the background but so far its great love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

AXD530

Chaz from Colorado on 10/13/2013

1993 Mercury Cougar

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was excited to get this deck as it looked like something different and had a lot of functionality. I should have even installed it as the build quality was poor. I had already wired everything and installed the new speaker so I gave it shot. It has some great user controls and features. The sound quality was okay at best and although it got loud, it did not sound good. I return it for the Kenwood KDC-X597 and I could not be happier. Dont take a gamble like I did, you will be dissapointed.

Pros: A lot of functions and screen size

Cons: poor sound and build quality. You push a button and get no real feedback, sometimes it would go one track forward and other times three or four.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great head unit for the money

Jeremy from Chesapeake, Virginia on 10/1/2013

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install went great. Get a lot of compliments on the look and sound. Bluetooth works pretty good, not the best, but good enough. Head unit is well worth the price.

Pros: Look, sound, straight forward install, has Bluetooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AXXERA ADX530 Nice receiver with i nice price

degrl from Jacksonville,Fl. on 9/9/2013

1999 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the AXXERA AXD530 installed in my 1999 Hyundai Elantra for about a month and i must say, this is a nice receiver with a nice price. It fits perfectly useing the included Crutchfield adapter and removeing trim ring on receiver. I found this receiver to have the most included features for the lowest price. I like that this unit has 3-4volt Preamp Outputs. Mine are hooked up to a 8-inch Pioneer powered subwoofeer and a Clarion XC1410 4ch amp. What a beautiful sound that is easy to shape with the AXXERA head-unit. You have 5 preset EQ curves and one user to choose from. I do recommend useing upgraded, full range speakers to fully appreciate the sound potential of this head-unit. Another feature i like about this receiver is the Bluetooth. Very easy to use. Just set phone to bluetooth and when asked, put in the AXXERA code and your done. The unit will display and save all phone numbers. You also have a mic with a long wire, so placement is easy. Other features i like are the 3" Color TFT LCD screen. Clear and easy to read like a HD TV. Much better than dot matrix in my opionion.Perhaps future models will have several backrounds to choose from. The tuner section and CD playback are on par with what is expected of todays receivers so all in all, this is an excellent receiver. The many other features i have not used yet so i will comment on them at a latter date.

Pros: Packed with features at a great price. I also love the TFT LCD screen

Cons: None that i know of

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP