Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cobra RAD 480i

Radar detector with Bluetooth®

MFR # 0180009-1

Cobra RAD 480i

Cobra RAD 480i

Radar detector with Bluetooth®

MFR # 0180009-1

14 reviews
View this product

Top notch detector.

Keith from Mission Viejo, CA on 11/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is by far is the best detection device I have owned. I purchased the optional hard wire kit, for a hidden wire, professional look.

Pros: Easy to use, interactive, map app.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Got my money worth

Todd from Tuscaloosa, AL on 9/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picks up radar very good Very satisfied so far. Recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good 1st Detector

Todd from Fort Worth, TX on 8/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my 1st detector. It is easy to use and seems like a good quality unit. It gives a lot of false alerts at times but it has saved me twice already. There are better more expensive models but for the money, this was a good purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Will pay for itself in the tickets it will save u

Jesus from Cottonwood, AZ on 4/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Saved me from a few tickets already.

Pros: Works great

Cons: Detects too many store sensors as speed sensors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cobra RAD 480i

Ronald from NORWOOD, PA on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have not used the unit yet. I wanted to say that I ordered it in a Sunday and chatted with an agent that said it would e delivered by Tuesday. The item arrived as promised on Tuesday afternoon and I couldn't e more satisfied. Thanks for great customer Service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Meh

Phillip from Detroit Lakes, MN on 12/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Every morning state patrol is clocking at overpass and never goes off

Pros: Looks cool

Cons: Doesn't do anything besides sit and look pretty

Crutchfield response on 12/22/2021
Phillip, we're sorry you're having issues with your radar detector. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Outdated, so disappointed.

William L. from CHICAGO, IL on 11/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I think this device is a little outdated. In an era of modern cars, the false alerts from surrounding vehicles essentially makes this device unnerving. And traffic sensors in states like Ohio double down on this effect. I would give it one star but it did have one save with a laser hit. I wish I had done more research, but I was in a hurry to travel to of all places Ohio. I now understand their are new units that can screen these problems. Disappointed over all.

Pros: Affordable Easy to use Hard wire kit available

Cons: False alerts from surrounding vehicles and traffic sensors New units can learn about modern auto sensors Useless in states that rely on radar for traffic sensing.

Crutchfield response on 11/15/2021
William, we're sorry you're disappointed with your radar detector. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

happy camper

Crutchfield customer from Window Rock, AZ on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thank you Crutchfield

Pros: good product

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Not annoying!

Crutchfield customer from Troy, NH on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the fact that false signals don't keep setting it off like my old detector did. Yes it does work well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Very sensitive, but mounting issues are irritating.

Crutchfield customer from Homer Glen, IL on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's very sensitive & the K band triggers a lot when there are no police around. So far, no late alarms for actual police. Worst problem with it is that the button to release the detector from the glass mount is so far forward (close to the glass) & difficult to press, that I bend the glass mount every time I remove the unit to hide it (in public parking lots/spaces). I can't simply use the provided Velcro strips, b/c the detector will be blocked by my Hyundai Sonata wipers & hood from the front and the back seat headrests from the rear. I will have to make a "riser" for my dash, but I wish Cobra had thought of this on their own.

Pros: So far no missed police.

Cons: Glass mount release button is terrible!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

5 Stars and a HOOAH

Knite63 from Killeen, TX on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an awesome electronic devise that is a must have. Cobra has really stepped-up their game and given drivers an advantage to identify speed traps long before you get into range, with loads of user friendly indicators & warnings. As always...Crutchfield is world class in their products, sales and customer service. Highly recommend this radar detector and CRUTCHFIELD. HOOAH!!

Pros: Cobra's state of the art Technology and Crutchfield.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Rejects shopping mall false alerts!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Mc Coy, FL on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is FAR superior to my (now one year old) unit in my car when it comes to false alerts. I drive by the same stores that always made my last one go off, and it doesn't even peep. I'm not a huge speeder, when I do it's because I'm keeping up with traffic, but the piece of mind this unit gives me is nice to have.

Pros: Excellent false alert rejection.

Cons: None I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Cobra RAD 480i

Crutchfield customer from Portageville, MO on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Cobra 480i

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The k band is a bit over sensitive. However, the combination of it's sensitivity and networking provides top honors for driving with awareness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound