Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
425 206 151 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
425 206 151 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Performance 165AC

Access Series 6-1/2" coaxial speakers

MFR # 165AC

Focal Performance 165AC

Focal Performance 165AC

Access Series 6-1/2" coaxial speakers

MFR # 165AC

23 reviews
View this product

Don't last long

Renato from Greencastle, IN on 1/21/2020

2016 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this speakers for my 2016 Toyota Avalon, it sounded great at first 6 months winter hit and all the problems began. Both my front doors speakers started to cut out and the left door speaker sound like it's blown. Both rear speakers are beginning to cut out as well. The team at Crutchfield are being very helpful and they already shipped the replacements since they are still under warranty. For the price these speakers should last more then six months. I may have to repacked them with another brand.

Pros: Sound great at first

Cons: It won't last for a year

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AC

Crutchfield customer from Holts Summit, MO on 12/8/2019

2018 Buick Enclave

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clarity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very accurate crystal clear highs. A somewhat warm midrange response in my opinion from the woofer.A very sexy speaker visually. Almost a shame to have to install them out of sight.

Pros: Bright tweeter

Cons: Not sure if it's a con: plastic basket.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High End Speakers

Brian from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/2/2019

2012 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers show a massive improvement over the stock speakers. The difference in quality is immediately noticeable. Granted, after seeing the stock speakers, many of the speakers on this site for $50 a pair would also be an improvement. These speakers are the best I've listened to ever in my life though they are very very good speakers. Factory speakers: Clarity: 4/10 Bass: 4/10 Mids: 6/10 Highs: 3/10 Power: 2/10 (clipping occurred) Focal 165 powered with 45 watt RMS Sony head unit: Clarity: 9/10 Bass: 7/10 Mids: 10/10 Highs: 7/10 Power: 9/10

Pros: Sound great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AC

Crutchfield customer from Canon city co on 10/14/2018

2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good. Using with amp in 06 wrangler some mods to get to fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great way to get the wife on board

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 7/23/2018

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing. I do not consider myself an audiophile, but I have had decent sound systems in the past (aftermarket pioneer amps, Memphis audio speakers, etc). I tried to be cheap and skate on some Pioneer 3-way coaxials in my 2002 Jeep TJ, and the bass and mids were terrible. I threw these in and am very pleased indeed. Worth the price tag. I installed one at a time due to scheduling constraints and when the wife took a ride in the Jeep with me with only one Focal in and one Pioneer in (positioned directly behind her head), she was like "These speakers are crap! I can't hear [finger snaps] that I know are there!" Put the other Focal speaker in, and she's in love. So, long story short, if you want your wife to ok the purchase, just pull the trigger and throw one in and let her listen to the difference between a crappy speaker and a good speaker - problem solved.

Pros: Nice sound

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Best Door Speakers

Mark from Mentor, OH on 7/11/2018

2001 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these in the front doors of my 01 GMC truck. I have them powerd by an alpine amp, and they sound so real and clear. Great highs and mids, they are truly amazing.

Pros: Great value, great sound, easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome sound and look

Ken from Powder Springs, GA on 11/2/2017

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the look and sound of these focal speakers . Very pleased with the sound especially for what they cost Can't go wrong with these

Pros: Cost Quality of sound Ease of installation Quality of packaging

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AC

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 9/30/2017

2017 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive sound clarity and quality. Huge improvement vs stock speakers on my Subaru Outback Limited powered by stock Harmon Kardon amp. Installed 2 pairs for front and rear doors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AC

Brian from Kansas City on 9/14/2017

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to love Focal speakers. I user MB Quarts for years in my cars but I had friends that kept talking about how good the Focal where. For the first year I loved the sound and was very happy. Now both speakers sound like they have issues. I have taken them out of the door to see what the issue is and the cone is vibrating against the tweeter and causing all kinds of noise. The speakers sound a lot like how a blow speaker sounds. Now my front Focal speaker are starting to do the same thing. Be careful!!!

Pros: Great at First

Cons: Do not last very long. Sound goes down hill after about a year.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 12 found this helpful

A good solid product, but not a great one.

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 8/8/2017

2006 Jaguar XK8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are good, but not fantastic as sub-woofers in my Jaguar xk8. Certainly a nice upgrade from the factory pair, but don't quite blow me away as I had hoped, based on the previous reviews. I bought these because they were within the price range I wanted to spend. The original speakers were special editions for the 2006 Jaguar VIctory Edition models--but fell short in reproducing heavy low tones. The 165AC, hit the low tones well, but sound a little muddled at higher volume levels. This may have a bit to do with the factory amp, which can not be replaced. Overall, 3.8 out of 5 stars.

Pros: A step up from factory. Richer deeper, crisper bass at mid to hig0mid range volume levels. Relatively low cost, decent performance, for someone who doesn't want to break the bank.

Cons: Do not blow me away with performance, only slightly above average. I will give them a solid B.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 18 found this helpful

Great sound

Patricia from Wilmington, NC on 8/6/2017

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product with clear sound and great output

Pros: Clear sound, great output

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Brought factory stereo to life!

Crutchfield customer from Ketchikan, AK on 7/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With the help of some aftermarket (Ebay) mounting adapters made for my Mercedes Sprinter, I mounted these and connected them to the factory stereo. They are at least a thousand times better than the cheap and lifeless 5-1/2" factory speakers even with the low powered factory head. With very good lows and excellent mids and highs, they brought the music to life.

Pros: Very durable and well made and excellent sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AC

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, OH on 7/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker, I think the access series sounds better than the K2 for 1/3 the price. I purchased one set for my Harley and made sure they fit and found the way I want. They do so I will order another set for the fairing soon.

Pros: Sound awesome!

Cons: Needed spacers to fit in 2016 Harley Road Glide tour pack. I had trouble finding crimp on connectors for the speakers locally. They are 5/65" and 3/16" spade connectors and took me five stores to find both.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AC

John from Salem, OR on 6/4/2017

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers rock Even without changing my head unit yet, they sound awsome

Pros: For the price these are great sounding. Great highs and lows without sacrificing a midrange.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AC

Richard from Seattle, WA on 12/17/2016

2016 Buick Regal

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the lower front door speaker that came with my new Buick Regal and they made a world of difference for only a couple hundred dollars. However, you have to work at getting them installed through Inststallnet.

Pros: Clarity richness

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

naomi from Spring Hill, TN on 10/10/2016

2008 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great sounding speakers. They gave my car a much better sound and clarity. I can't wait to put an amp to them so I can really hear them.

Pros: Very easy to install. Came with nice grills even though I didn't use them. I like the stock look of the car. Price was very fair and sound is awesome.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal

Sean from Yuba City, CA on 4/15/2016

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great rear door spreaker. loud and clear

Pros: clarity is great

Cons: price to high

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal 165AC (Awesome speakers)

Ed from California on 12/24/2015

1967 Chevrolet Nova

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally purchased the Focal-Access-165CA1, however while the car was in for upholstery they seem to have gotten some of the sound deadening near the speaker which rendered the speaker from working. So, since the system that's in the car is all focal, I wanted to ensure I was purchasing the same specific speaker that I had in prior to this occurrence.. The sound system is joined up the a JL audio amp, that plays my music, it's as if I'm in a orchastra and the clarity that the speaker provide are above reproach.. Cant say enough of how happy I'm with these speakers. Fitting was perfect, delivery on time and I'm back to listening my music in my 67 Nova..

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great speaker

Jerry G from Fort Myers, FL. on 10/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for the money

Pros: Clarity

Cons: A little pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great virtually unknown speakers...

Charlie from Aptos, CA on 10/12/2015

2004 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After listening to many well known speakers such as Pioneer, JL, Alpine and more, these are the way to go. The sound is so crisp and clean with solid lows and sharp highs, these 6.5" are killers. They blow away the competition by a long shot. Yeah sure, I spent about 100 bucks more than I had planned, very much worth the extra money. I'm not trashing the others but by comparison, these hit the sweet spot. I've heard of Focal but never gave them a chance to really hear them. Very happy with the speakers and head unit, Kenwood KDC-X399. Last component to be added is JL 10 sub.

Pros: Great sound handling all the music I throw at em, sound bitchen cranked up or turned down low to talk. Awesome sound. Just get them you won't look back at the others.

Cons: Absolutely none.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

$200 Speaker

Bob from West Virginia on 4/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its Focal but its still and inexpensive speaker.

Pros: Better bass than most 6.5 speakers.

Cons: Doesn't seem to be very rich sounding, but that could be my ineptitude at figuring out the Alpine HU.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Easy install great speakers

Lucas from Grants pass Oregon on 2/23/2014

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sounding speakers. I'm an audiophile and they sound amazing being amped simply off the Kenwood KDC-X997 deck. My Focal FPP-5300 5 channel amp is on it's way so they'll be truly amped soon, I can't wait to see how they sound then!

Pros: Perfect tweeters, they sound incredible. Not to overpowering but definitely there. The 6.5's are loud and clear, great response. Be sure to get a deck that had built in crossovering. So you can cut off frequencies that they can't handle that your sub will. Lots and lots of very solid mounting holes Not super deep speakers, installed in a 1999 Eclipse and have no problems with the windows hitting the speakers or anything like that.

Cons: Doesn't come with speaker wire, but that's probably pretty standard.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

TOP