Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
519 409 152 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
519 409 152 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Performance 165AS

Access Series 6-1/2" 2-way component speaker system

MFR # 165AS

Focal Performance 165AS

Focal Performance 165AS

Access Series 6-1/2" 2-way component speaker system

MFR # 165AS

30 reviews
View this product

Focal Performance 165AS

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality in sound and manufacturing!! Need another set for my commuter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A music aficionado's dream come true

Chris from Middletown, PA on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these Focal speakers! When it comes to car audio, I want to be submerged in the music and hear it the way it was meant to be heard. They're not the cheapest set that Focal produces. But for the money, they're incredible. Personally, I think they sound more accurate than Bose systems. Every instrument and vocal sounds as though they're live right in front of you. A bass drum sounds like a bass drum, the bass guitar sounds accurate and doesn't sound like bottom end noise...you get the idea. Every dynamic of a song is clear and precise without muddy distortion. Buy these!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Sounding Speakers!

StevenD from Garden Grove, CA on 12/17/2019

2019 Honda Passport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2019 Honda Passport Touring, which has a 540w 10-Channel stock Amp. I bought two pairs of the Focal 165AS. I mounted the 4 Woofers in the stock front/rear door locations and the 4 Tweeters in the stock front (A-Piller) and read (C-Piller) locations. I ran new wires from the Crossovers (set to -3db) to the Tweeters. I added Dynamat behind/around the Woofers. The stock Sub-Woofer sounds really good, Plus 2-clicks over center and the stock Center Channel Dash Speaker is bumped minus 4-clicks (as I don't really care about hearing a blended center channel). I have the Bass set to Plus 2-clicks, Treble Flat and Midrange Plus 1-click. And the sound is amazing, the Focals are super clear, the Focal woofers have awesome bass and could not be happier and have no plans (or need) to swap out the Amp! These are the first Focals I have ever owned and I could not be happier! Years ago I had MB-Quarts, A/D/S and PPI equipment, but this set-up sounds even BETTER! For any old-timers, I had a Pinto, back around 1975, I owned the very first cassette deck that featured RCA outputs for their external amp, which powered a custom set-up with separate Philips tweeters & mid-ranges and home 8" woofers! The deck brand was "Westport", which later became "Concord". So I have liked having nice-sounding car systems for many years!

Pros: Super well made components

Cons: They are expensive, but are worth it if you want great sound!

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Stereo upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Lynnwood, WA on 9/9/2019

2018 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't a chance to hear the Focals in my car but heard them in a buddies car and they were awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 27 found this helpful

Awesome component set@

Brian from South Carolina on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The mid woofer sounds really warm and the tweeter is pretty accurate and loud. I recommend these to anyone.

Pros: Reasonably priced for the Focal name. Bright tweeter

Cons: Mid woofer basket is a little wide so you may need a spacer.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS

Guest from Latonia, KY on 1/6/2019

2004 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

you know why you get know bass and why most speakers sound worse than your factory speakers is when you take your door panel off look at your factory speakers and door panel and you should have a seal which seals the door panel to speakers and most installers just take speaker out put new one in and don't reseal them and they sound like crap. Trust me and ask around you'll see what I'm talking about.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 31 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS

Derek from Arvada, CO on 10/10/2018

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality and sound. Not top of the line. The quality level is superior to the competitors at this price level!

Pros: Better quality than the competition

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS

Zach from Atco, NJ on 7/29/2018

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good speakers. Certainly if you hook them up to an amp. But they still sound good without a amp also. Very clear sound.

Pros: Very clear sounding Can be powered and still sound good w/o amp

Cons: N/a

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing sound.

David from York, PA on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers for a friend and they sound incredible. I highly recommend them.

Pros: Amazing sound.

Cons: A little pricy, but worth the price.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 1/30/2018

2017 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced the factory speakers in my 2017 4Runner. The difference is fantastic. Can't wait to replace the rear door speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome clarity

BeeKaye from Pasadena, MD on 5/15/2017

2006 Infiniti QX56

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install on my Infiniti QX56. A very good ungraded over that Bose system. I ran a Alpine 5 channel amp. The clarity is off the chain but the bass is no as good. You need a amp to run them to get the full performance and a sub to balance out your system.

Pros: Easy install, very clear highs and Mids.

Cons: Needs bass.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 5/1/2017

2012 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds clear and crisp! I truly appreciate the quality of Focal and can't wait to put more of them in my Explore and F150. They will sound even more amazing with my amp hooked up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

1200gt

Glen from Mass on 3/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like them sounds so good I want to say in my car,my friends were over and we had a party with my focal speakers outside they all loved them and one friend had them installed in his car the

Pros: Good

Cons: I don't want to get out my car

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS

Yuchi from Dallas, PA on 12/24/2016

2010 Acura TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greate speaker, the highs are very crisp and loud.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Should come with better mounting options.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

focal

Sean from Yuba City, CA on 4/15/2016

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great entry level speaker. very impressed with the sound delivery and clarity.

Pros: east install

Cons: price too high

Crutchfield response on

3 of 17 found this helpful

Very, very accurate

Bunkie from Pennsylvania on 1/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Normally, I would engineer my own speaker installation. My background in the hi-fi industry and, specifically, in speakers gives me certain advantages. However, I was looking to see what others have done and wanted assurance that the installation would be painless and reversable in my leased Tacoma. First, these are incredibly clean-sounding with exceptionally low distortion. Listen to some big-band Sinatra, for example, and they absolutely bring the band to life with excellent power and punch to compliment the clarity. It's a real treat. the same is true for classical symphonic music, the detail of the violins and other instruments with a lot of high-frequency content is stunning. Were they tend to fall down is that the mid bass seems to missing on a lot of rock music. This may not be a characteristic of the speakers themselves, but the installation location itself. The door installation leaves a lot to be desired. The speakers are cable of putting a lot of low-frequency energy into the door panels and the result is that, when a note matches the resonant frequency of the panel, it rattles. When I have some time, I'm planning to use a signal generator, some adhesive sound damping material and perhaps some panel bracing to try to kill the door panel vibrations which are, I'm sure, the reason for the sometimes-missing mid bass.

Pros: Incredibly accurate, very clean and up-front highs

Cons: Sensitive to installation location, perhaps a bit too strident for some people. A bit expensive.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 24 found this helpful

These are great speakers, they accurately produce the exact signal tha

Chris from San Francisco, Ca on 8/25/2015

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For me the tweeters are mounted in the factory location up by my ears so it was very necessary to have them set at -3db on the crossover, after I figured that out the sound became perfectly flat across all frequency's which sounds good when sitting and not driving, but when driving I like to play with the EQ to liven up the sound to make up for road noise in my 2007 RAV4. I have an Alpine CDE-W265BT and Polk 4x125rms amp and a Kicker monoblock 1200rms running JL 12w6. So the only complaint I have is with Crutchfield. It says that they are 6 3/4" but I was sent 2 pairs of 6 1/2"(it says so right on Focals box) and Crutchfield sent me adapters for the rear doors to mount the speakers which worked perfect, but not for the front, and there was a nice air gap and I had to make my own adapter which added to this time consuming process.

Pros: Very accurate sound

Cons: Very accurate sound, I think some people like the over compensated sound of some other speakers on the market for their car listening environment.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Harsh

Alanca from Louisiana on 7/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had these professionally installed with high expectations. They were installed in my 2008 Yukon w/stock stereo. My stereo originally had a nasty peak around 8kHz which I could sort-of tame with my phones built in EQ. After getting these installed, they sound worse than the speakers they replaced. They're harsh, with EQ not helping at all. Even setting the crossover to -3Db doesn't help them. I'm running these off the stock HU with no amplifier or subwoofer, but that's no excuse for these overly shrill speakers. I would honestly rather have the factory Bose system than these. My family couldn't care less about audio, and they even remarked that it "sounds like it's coming from a tin can."

Pros: Good looking drivers.

Cons: They sound shrill and harsh. Sounds like an iPhone in a red solo cup.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 118 found this helpful

Focal 165as

Ted from Pittsburgh, PA on 6/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The more they play the better they get. No distortion even when pushed exellent sound reproduction. The best I've heard.

Pros: Real quality

Cons: Cons are in prison

Crutchfield response on

15 of 18 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS

AG from Texas on 6/17/2015

2014 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers live up to their reputation. It is one of the best components I have owned. The clarity and detail is great and they produce very good mid bass. I recommend these to anyone that is interested in high quality audio.

Pros: They play very loud and with no distortion. The detail and definition of the sound is great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

I paid $$$

Randall R from Arizona on 6/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paid a hefty sum ( For My Income) and got more than I bargained for! These speakers are so awesome words cannot say enough. They will not bottom out even under ridiculous amplification which was the problem of my last 2 sets of Infinity and Memphis Sound speakers. My 2014 Ford Focus SE has never sounded better and I am soon replacing the Kenwood 4 channel fan fed 750 amplifier and planet Audio 1000 watt sub amplifier (junk!) with 2 Focal amplifiers including a750 4 channel & 600 monoblock watt amplifiers and replace my 12" Memphis Audio subwoofer speaker with a 10" Focal Dual Voice Coil Bass factory speaker with it's own housing. The guy who put this in from Fry's Electronics with 10 years experience said he had for years been a Rockford Fosgate audiophile, but now he was going to switch to Focal, now that he heard my (unfinished) system! This system is running is comprised of a 2014 JVC KW-NT810HDT GPS with enhanced Nav System with a blistering fast 13 Band Equalizer! I bought these speakers from Crutchfield even though I can find them cheaper. Reason being is that Focal does not honor many warranties from a lot of sellers that are considered shady (See Focal's Website for details!) Plus you get lifetime support from Crutchfield and only1 year from most others!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

If I had the money I'd open a Focal Dealership

Chris I from California on 5/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to have crystal clear audio even at the loudest volume? The whole point of music is to feel it. Even more importantly it is to feel it in the soul, and the heart. Focal Speakers have definitely won me over. I've heard Alpine, Kenwood, JL, Rockford Fosgate, Boston Acoustics, nothing quite matches the Focal sound. Even the most sensitive of ears will find these quite amazing. You not only hear the difference, you feel it too. I cried when I listened to these with some beautiful music from all over the spectrum of music genres. They sound incredible in every category. If these are the entry level speakers for Focal, I can't even imagine how amazing the Utopia series must sound. I'm sure they must be heavenly and breathtaking. It's not about how much they cost, it's about how they make you feel. Some things in life are just priceless. The emotions you derive from quality music played through quality sound being one of them. I think these are an excellent set of components. If you're pressed financially, I think the Access series does exactly what it was intended to do. Focal innovation and design meet affordability with (I'm hoping) minimal to no compromise in sound quality. It's an honor to have these works of art in my vehicle. Worth every penny. Simply astounding.

Pros: Insane clarity, midrange, and mid-bass. Musical instruments, and vocals sound like the real thing, as if they were sitting in the car with you. Little to zero distortion at higher volume levels. Great design and looks elegant. Accessible.

Cons: Requires amplifier to produce optimal sound. Not a replacement for a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

24 of 25 found this helpful

Incredible!

Nhilldixon from Oviedo on 5/5/2015

2008 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for my front speakers and I was blown away with how clear and loud these speakers are!! Worth every dollar!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS

mrgary from Illinois on 4/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Marvelous component speakers that sound incredible with the Pioneer AVH-X2700BS & Focal Performance 690AC previously purchased from Crutchfield. Both sets of speakers were installed with Stinger RKX36B Roadkill Expert Series Sound Damping Material Bulk Pack.

Pros: Focal is the spirit of sound period. This a great product made of superior materials and outstanding craftsmanship. It's expensive, but does not and will not disappoint.

Cons: I was unable to install myself, as the instructions regarding the specific recourse of action were incomplete and vague. I removed the passenger door and followed the instructions to a point and contacted Crutchfield,talked to representative and waited for a return call that never materialized. Luckly, a local big box store did a fantastic install.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

This 165AS component speaker system is .......

Big Al from Maryland on 1/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bad to the bone!! Awesome has already been used in other reviews.

Pros: Excellent sound! High quality CD recordings sound like the artist is right in front of you.

Cons: It might just be me but, lower quality CD recordings seem to sound even lower in quality compared to the Boston Acoustics SC60 I replaced. Not Focal's fault, thanks for the magnificent speaker system.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

awsome product

Frank D. from Las Vegas Nevada on 10/2/2014

1996 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the speakers installed in my c1500. Work awsome. Quality is great. Had to do a custom fit but well worth it. Just amazed. Have good clarity and good base. Of course it aint no sub but very much an upgrade. Tweeters fit great in oem tweeter location, of course after some customizing. Over all will buy again for my other c1500. Its Focal people. Cant go wrong.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

GREAT

Ryan from harrisburg,pa on 6/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are incredible, they don't have harsh high with a quality head unit and amp..they have excellent midrange and punch. I have had the alpine type r's and various other brands and these have much more detail and get so much louder. they are being powered with my rockford p400x4 punch amp.

Pros: the look of them, and quality craftsmanship and clarity/detail

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Dan from Houston, TX on 6/8/2014

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I ordered these speaker I was skeptical, in the past I had only used JL or RF. These speakers hands down are the best component I have ever heard. I have them in a 2011 STI with a Rockford Fosgate 4 channel 400x4. I will be ordering Focals for the back speakers as well. If you are debating whether to get these speakers, get them you will not be disappointed..

Pros: Great Speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Very nice speakers!

Leo from San Diego, Ca on 5/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was debating between the Focal 165AS AND the Alpine Type R's and to me the Focal's sounded a bit clearer. I'm using an alpine MRV-F300 to power them and they sound fantastic. I now the Focal's can handle more power but this set sounds great for now and it gets loud. I have them in my 2013 Chrysler 300 SRT8 and I can turn the volume up all the way without distortion. Highly recommended!

Pros: Nice clear sound and can get loud!

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

awesome !

CapsuleGang WRX from NY,NY on 4/15/2014

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hello all, i was researching the ideal speaker for my subie WRX. clarity was the focus on my purchase. these were perfect for my needs, the packaging build quality included instructions and hardware were what to expect at this price point. after installation i tested them without the rear door speakers installed and the clear strong output was amazing and set a new bar in sound ( keeping in mind ive owned several brands of speakers in my life from ok to expensive).

Pros: they sound amazing from highs to lows and with my jl audio sub you'd swear i spent more money. i also installed dedeaning mat in my doors to squeeze the best sound out of them without raising unneeded power from amp

Cons: i cant say this is really a con, since crutchfield said they dont fit in my vehicle but i purchased spacers and with some work i made these huge components fit as i want so a note they wont fit most cars without some work.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP