Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
569 735 094 3
Connect ID #
569 735 094 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Performance 165AS3

Access Series 6-1/2" 3-way component speaker system

MFR # 165AS3

Focal Performance 165AS3

Focal Performance 165AS3

Access Series 6-1/2" 3-way component speaker system

MFR # 165AS3

12 reviews
View this product

Midrange HUGE MAGNET

Adam from Nolensville, TN on 4/12/2021

2019 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT speakers but the magnet on the midrange is HUGE we are talking as big as the magnet on MOST 6.5"

Pros: Focal is Amazing in ALMOST every way.

Cons: Midrange has a HUGE magnet and would not work in my S550 2019 Mustang Convertible with 9 speaker stereo without EXTREME modifications or mounting on the outside of the door panel.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS3

Crutchfield customer from Lemoore, CA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow The crossover perfectly balances the sound across all 3 speakers Highs are clear and bright and mid fills the gap between tweeter and mid Bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Incredible clarity

Vincent from Columbia, MO on 3/11/2020

2014 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I auditioned these speakers against the JL Audio C5-650 components using the same enclosures, same amp/power, and even though these cost far less, they still sounded better than the JL's... and I am saying this as a big fan of JL. They sounded more detailed, more 'airy', and I felt like I could hear a better separation of instruments. They sound amazing ran from my JL Audio HD900/5 amp and paired with a 10" JL Audio w6v3 sub in the HO box. I drive a 2014 Mazda 3 hatchback and the sound quality is killer now. My only complaint is that the mid bass performance could be better on these but oh well.

Pros: clarity, value for money

Cons: relatively weak mid bass

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS3

NIck from Bel Air, MD on 1/20/2020

2013 Porsche Panamera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality from these focal speakers is incredible. I'm running them with a 2 channel 100w Fosgate Punch Amp which they handle with amazing clarity. Yes, the tweets are very bright but I'm of the opinion anyone purchasing these Kind of speakers is driving them with a good quality head unit with built in EQ. I've also spent considerable time prepping the door panels to give them the home they deserve. The result is amazing bass response, solid mids, and incredible highs. It's been close to two years now and the sound quality hasn't diminished. This is my first set of Focal speakers. Yes the price point is high but so worth it. Cheers.

Pros: Amazing clarity with minimal distortion.

Cons: Price point. (But worth it)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The best

Gregory from Uppr Marlboro, MD on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers give you the BEST BANG for your BUCK!!!!! I love them and probably will stay with FOCAL for years to come!!!

Pros: Can take a lot of power from the amplifier

Cons: A little pricey but worth the money!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great for Porsche 911 - with a bit of work

William from Mahwah, NJ on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these with a Sound Ordinance amp in a used 2007 911. They sound great although the bottom end would definitely benefit from a sub. The stock system was base (non-bose) but I can't compare how it sounds as the amp and some speakers were fried. I will say it sounds better than 9-speaker high-end branded system in my wife's new luxury car. The tweeters snap into the dash mounting location without any modification, which is extremely helpful as there is really no clearance between dash and windshield to do work. The mids and woofers fit the door depth, but need custom mounting brackets. I did this with the plastic boards offered by crutchfield; seem to work fine 1.5 years in. Also had to run new speaker wire for the entire setup. I couldn't figure out the factory harness; the amp didn't appear to have separate "in" and "out" wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Good for Ram 1500 3-way setup

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are definitely entry-level speakers but good bang for the buck. The tweeter is very bright but can be attenuated. As in all things car audio - install is everything. Mine are powered by a RF T400X4ad amp, and that is plenty of power. They are quite loud and actually don't really come alive without some power applied. The speakers are sounding better and better as they break-in. Mids and bass are decent but a sub is definitely needed to compliment this set. Mine are installed in the front doors and dash of a 2017 Ram 1500 Rebel...despite what CF says, they do fit with some minor modifications.

Pros: Decent sound.

Cons: Tweeter is really harsh without proper tuning.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

Focal Performance 165AS3

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 12/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound. Music has come alive again. Pair with a subwoofer for best performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Great speakers

Steve from CA on 9/9/2016

2016 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new car came with a six speaker, 275 watt amp, system that sounded ok. It sounded great to my wife and others, but just ok to me. I wanted to upgrade the speakers and see if that helped. It did. A lot. These three speakers were professionally installed and there was some creative custom work getting that done. I also had the Focal 6x9s replace the rear deck 6x9s It looks completely stock, but sounds far better. These speakers have intense high end sound that I have pushed way down on the factory EQ. But they are clear and precise, with great bass response and extraordinary midrange (the latter was completely lacking from the factory Alpine system). They were recommended by the guy at the stereo place after they already had my old speakers out and saw what they were dealing with. Now the sound system is as amazing as the new car.

Pros: Precise, clean sound with great sound separation. Good driving bass. Excellent midrange.

Cons: The tweeters are a little hot, but one just needs to adjust the treble down a bit and it is great.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

Focal 165 as3

Steve h from Vancouver canada on 4/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have them installed my Silverado work truck and they sound amazing with good balanced sound had jl audio c3 650 before but these beat them hands down

Pros: Good price for a quality sounding 3 way speaker set

Cons: Midrange a little bit on the large size had to make custom a pillars

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

not worth the hype

Adam from Indiana on 8/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not near worth the money. I believe they would be fine if you could tone down the tweeter even more. If you turn up the volume they will make your ears bleed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 63 found this helpful

Literally made for the Scion FRS, and the newer Scion TC's

Lucas from Grants Pass on 5/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are simply amped off the deck at the moment, and usually speakers don't sound that great just powered off the deck, but these are incredible. They sound so amazing just off the deck, and I have the JL Audio HD600/4 ready to be put in to amp them all (plus the rear Focal 165AC I have in) HIGHLY recommend them. I've never been disappointed with Focal. They're incredible. If you're worried about jumping into a brand that you've never heard of, or don't know anything about, please take my word for it and know that these speakers are some of the best out there. I've compared the JL Audio C5 series right next to the 2014 Focal Access series, and Focal destroys them. Amazing look, incredible build quality, the kevlar cones just MAKE them. They completely the look of any car (if you see them). Unfortunately I can't really see any of mine, but I guess that's good because no one will steal them. I just bought the JL Audio HD1200/1 , which will be amping 2 either Rockford Fosgate P3 Shallow 12" subs, 1 JL Audio 13.5" Shallow mount Sub, or 2 Kicker Comp RT 12" shallow subs.

Pros: Literally a direct fit! Made a little MDF plate for the door 6.5, and that was about it. The tweeter snapped into place right where the stock one was like it was made for it, and the 3" mid (with a slight modification to the stock bracket) was also a direct fit! Great sound quality, amazing performance even when they're at extremely high volumes. They're really hard to blow. TONS of mounting screw holes. Makes it REALLY easy to mount them in hard to fit locations. Great build quality.

Cons: For Focal? There are no cons. If I had to say SOMETHING that I didn't like about them...I guess it would be that the crossovers are a little on the big side, which makes them a little hard to hide places. I kind of wish it was like the Performance series and the crossovers were 4 pieces instead of 2, but it's definitely no big deal.

Crutchfield response on

47 of 49 found this helpful

TOP