Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal AP 4340

Auditor Series 4-channel car amplifier — 70 watts RMS x 4

MFR # AP 4340

Focal AP 4340

Focal AP 4340

Auditor Series 4-channel car amplifier — 70 watts RMS x 4

MFR # AP 4340

39 reviews
View this product

Great Amp

Crutchfield customer from Platteville, WI on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This 53 year old reviewer has installed many amps/systems in my life. This is one of the best I have ever installed. Power seems as advertised, all the controls/adjustments needed and the package looks great. Very Happy. I would put the amp equal to the punch series fosgates and the mighty JL's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CT on 2/17/2021

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great bang for buck. I was previously rocking a JL audio jx400 that I was happy with until it developed static on one channel. Replace with this unit at the suggestion of crutchfield support and I can confirm it sounds significantly better. This is a Class AB amp vs the JL at class D, so not sure if this is the reason but the sounds is cleaner with the highs, and the lows hit harder. Very happy at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Monterey, CA on 2/13/2021

2012 Lexus CT200H

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal 4340

Dusty from THORSBY, AL on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wired this amplifier up and it immediately blows both 15 amp fuses on the amplifier. I searched my wiring over; everything was good. I tried two different amplifiers I have at home, and both worked flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/13/2021
Dusty, we're sorry you're having issues with your amp. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding value

Steve from Hood River on 12/23/2020

2015 Nissan Versa SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is RIDICULOUSLY good for the price. This Focal replaced an aging XTant (think MTX pro line with transistors instead of op amps for power). Puts out plenty of clean power. I know lots of reviewers want to talk about thump and volume. I cannot say this puts out the most dB for the dollar, but who cares about that? Buy this amp for clean, rich sound (think upgrade from $350 home amp upgraded to a $1k Cambridge Audio) above 50-60 Hz and pay for a sub and mono amp if you want to thump. The rear channels do have a stitch to bump the bass either 6 or 12dB and I feelbthe 6dB setting was fairly noticeable while 12dB got a bit muddy for my 6 in speakers in the door.

Pros: Huge sound dynamics for the cost

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good amp

Crutchfield customer from Purvis, MS on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and light weight

Pros: Solid power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Taunton, MA on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had it installed works great, still trying to tweak it. Would recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Saginaw, MI on 9/19/2020

2006 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as should. No problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good but too hot.

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 6/2/2020

2018 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good amp. Not to big. 4 stars because mine is getting to hot with just 4 speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Powerful Amp, Clean Quality

Daniel from THORNTON, CO on 4/27/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this amp and tried to hook it to my stock head unit, realized this amp only accepts line level inputs, not speaker level, so I had to get a high level adapter for some RCA'S, but the amp is incredible! Super powerful, the crossovers work great too!

Pros: Great Quality, Powerful Sound for adding multiple speakers

Cons: none so far!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

2 yrs still going strong

Kenneth from Herrin, IL on 4/25/2020

2006 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this amp in May 2018. Almost 2 yrs and its still pushing 2 pair of Polk DBs quite nicely. I've never had any trouble with it. I do use my Pioneer HU for crossover. For what it is, I don't think its all that big or gets too hot as some have commented (if that's an issue for you). Maybe there's better amps out there IDK. What I do know, is for the $$$ this was a great buy then and I'm still super happy with it now. Very underrated amp IMHO. Thanks Ziggy for turning me on to this baby.

Pros: Great amp, great price. Focal is quality in my book.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Aztec, NM on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding value with sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good Purchase

Crutchfield customer from Placerville, CA on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy. Unit is larger than desired but not sure if anything can be done about that. Sound is good, seems improved over older amp. RCA connections a little loose but could be my wire as I didn't replace? Fairly simple to wire up. Basically no significant user menu for operation/adjustments.

Pros: easy hookup, good sound

Cons: loose RCA connections, no operation manual, large size

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, OH on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp is absolutely amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Ok. Not impressed

Crutchfield customer from Raymore, MO on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had for a week. Gets hot to me for 4ohm. Don't like the settings. I use my head unit crossovers instead. Seems loud. But muddy, still working and tweaking. But 4 stars cause I think it gets too warm. Sound is good, but very lil gain set. Would like to set more. Again, still playing. I compare to the fosgate prime 50x4. I loved it. Will continue to tweak.

Pros: Decent for money

Cons: Seems to get warm, fast. May b my settings.....

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Ryan from West Haven on 1/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a decent amp for novice set ups but it doesn't have very good audio filters in the amp. Despite having everything set up professionally the amp provided a very annoying high pitched noise. It was still noticable with tunes playing loudly and very noticeable when on a phone call or nothing playing at all. I wouldn't reccomend. Buy the next left up and skip the troubles of this average 4 channel.

Pros: Cheap price

Cons: High pitched sounds constantly emitted Low quality Gigantic amp for 70 rms x 4

Crutchfield response on 1/22/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

3 of 8 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp was a perfect match for 4 6.5" focal door speakers I purchased. I was able to mount it under the passenger front seat of my 08 GMC Sierra. Works great, sounds great. 5 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Guest from Vancouver, Canada on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love It! I bought this Focal AP 4340 and installed it in my Ford E250. I replace my Ford stock stereo two years ago with Kenwood Excelon DPX 792bh, and I got rid of the stock speakers And got my first Focal speakers, a pair of Focal IC570. I loved them right away, even When the power of my Kenwood head unit is 50 watts (peak) my first Focal sound was amazing, immediate upgrade over the stock speakers. And I had IC570 as front Speakers and two JBL Stadium GTO 750t close to my windshield and a pair of Focal ICU 165 as my rear speakers. Last but not least, I have a Rockville RWS 12ca subwoofer. With Focal AP4340 installed my seven speakers sound crazily good! Powerful, crisp, clean and clear sound. And I just enjoy every day in my van on the road! The installation is super easy and straight forward. I did everything myself. It took me about six to seven hours In total to Install the amplifier, the speakers and the subwoofer. Really love the Focal system in my van.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

CC vw

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this it drives my speakers great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bruce

Crutchfield customer from Abbeville, SC on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely added some power to the mids and highs. Paired with a powered sub, it has added to the smooth sound. A special thank you to Tyler to his help and advice.

Pros: Power Clear signal to speakers Enhanced the sound of a Focal components

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Focal Amp Review

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp for my Focal component. Great sounds over all.

Pros: Great sounds over all.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Would go for higher end amp

Dirk from Fremont, CA on 3/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp certainly has power. I ran it with Focal K2P K2 Power ES 165 K in the front and some cheap MB Quarts in the back. It does bring out certain instruments and vocals well. However, after listening for a day, I concluded I prefer the sound of the Rockford Fosgate amps more. I have an old 40 watt Rockford that is better to me (it's probably more like 80 watt knowing Rockford though), just sounds cleaner, more exciting, and no fatigue in listening. Of course, that may come back to the old adage of you get what you pay for since I paid a lot more for the Rockford. When I received the amp, one channel was bad and I had to return it anyways. There is a chance that the amp had some actual problem affecting sound quality since it did have the one bad channel (may have been abused since it was a scratch & dent item). Possibly the Focal ES 165 is not a good match with this amp also, I think those speakers may be more harsh than the typical focal speaker, but I like them.

Pros: Powerful.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Chattahoochee, FL on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean amp. Compares to amps much more expensive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Focal amp

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp made my speakers wake up. It fits under the seat of my 911. Wish it came with some instructions about adjusting and such

Pros: Small size

Cons: Zero instructions to speak of

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Il

Willie from Orlando, FL on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp its loud clean and clear I am happy that I bought this amp I am very happy. Great choice

Pros: Very happy great product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Absolutely Incredible!

Stuart from Mankato, MN on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used this amp for 4 months now. The weather was hot and humid when I installed it and these last few weeks have been anywhere from 0-40 degrees. This amp has performed extremely well in all conditions and has not clipped once, however my gain is low as this amp puts out far more power than I need. I think the output is probably closer to 80w/channel instead of 70, but I have no way to verify it. The sound quality is perfect, I use it to run Infinity and JBL speakers. Very happy and I would buy again if I needed a 4 channel.

Pros: Powerful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Rick from Bristol, CT on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of clean power. Quality product. Driving Focals up front and Morrels in the rear. I would purchase this amp again. Crutchfield is the only place to get your car audio. The sales and tech people are first rate.

Pros: Quality!!!!!!!!!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp!

Owen from Ocean Springs, MS on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed with Focal speakers (components front, co-axial rear) and I am very pleased. I did add second amp and sub to complete the low end but very good amp- makes the Focals sing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amplifier, hooked up to focal speakers in front and back of 1986 BMW 535i. The Focal's integrated perfectly into the existing BMW premium sound locations for a clean "OEM" look. Will have to add a subwoofer to complete the sound range because there is so much mid and treble range of pure, crisp sound surrounding the cabin!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great app at a good price

Crutchfield customer from Arab, AL on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice amp. I have it paired with some Focal RSE-165 components for the front and some Focal RCX-130 for the rear. It sounds great and I would definitely recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Perry, MI on 9/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have this powering my front and rear Morel door speakers and it sounds pretty good considering I haven't even put my subs or other amp in yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome amplifier....

Guest from Atlanta on 8/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What do I say! I have used Blaupunkt Dsp amp in the past, also used jbl, pioneer, Sony, Boston, etc. I am completely blown away by this amp from focal. It's simply amazing and what awesome mesmerizing sound quality. Running front Rockford punch components and 10 inch sub bridged to the rear channel. Awesome clarity and mid bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Ellwood City, PA on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound stays cool

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Armando from CA on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Works perfect

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality Amp

jordan from Abilene, TX on 1/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp sounds great. I got it paired with focal ISS speakers. The combo sounds awesome. It's an ab amp so it does get a little hot if you are listening to your music at really high volumes but the amp has yet to ever cut off on me. It draws very little power from your battery and that's a must for me. Crutchfield has yet to ever disappoint me with anything. They always deliver a great product. Focal has never let me down. Get this amp if you want great clear powerful sound from your speakers at a very reasonable price.

Pros: Clear sound Great power Price

Cons: It does get hot when played at high volumes

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Salem, NH on 11/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the Focal AP 4340 amp. Plenty of power and sounds awesome in my car !! Prompt delivery and packaging from Crutchfield !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Tomas from Sacramento, ca on 10/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, did it all myself. It fin nicely under back seat of Prius V. I like that it does not draw too much power since the battery on prius is quite small

Pros: Only 30 amp

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect for speaker system

Shaun from Olney, MD on 8/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality amp. Recommend for all focal speaker buyers.

Pros: Get the most out of focal speakers

Cons: Pricey for an amp that doesn't have enough power for a sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal AP 4340

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MN on 6/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what I wanted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

TOP