Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
623 120 322 4
Connect ID #
623 120 322 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Focal Chora 816

Floor-standing speaker (Black)

MFR # FCHORA816BK

Focal Chora 816

Focal Chora 816

Floor-standing speaker (Black)

MFR # FCHORA816BK

10 reviews
View this product

Glatic sound Immersion

Rob from Edgewater, MD on 1/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing! SO Clear "CRYSTAL" like in a studio! * this is for the upstairs IMAX. Downstairs IMAX Enhanced has the Polk Ledgen & SVS. HEOS ties both Denon systems together for Glatic Sound, Out of this World !

Pros: True sound Reproduction. You feel like you are in a recording studio. Very stylish and modern looking.

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plentiful Goodness

Galantino from Colorado Spgs, CO on 12/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Oh, I had already planned for the speakers to be pretty good, and I'm certainly not disappointed. The pairing with a Marantz NR1200 is pretty darn solid. Something rarely worth mentioning, but very notable, is that they were shipped and packaged phenomenally well. Other manufacturers should take note on how to ship tower speakers from Focal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds Bigger then Price

Brandon from New Hampton, NH on 10/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price, good imaging, can be a little course ion the high end with certain recording materials. Easy to drive and a great speaker for music and surround

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Chora 816

Harold from Port St Lucie, FL on 8/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are exactly what I thought the speakers would be. Very good

Pros: well made

Cons: I believe the speakers should have been discounted slightly more, but still excellent quality.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Chora 816

Tyrone from Marrero, LA on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great sounding smooth hi speakers love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too bright for me

David from Brooklyn, NY on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow these speakers were bright. Too much. After demoing the Elac Debut Refererences and Wharfedale Evos, and finding both muffled sounding, I thought I wanted something with more sparkle. This has it, but excessively so to my ears. Ultimately I went with the Polk Reserve R600s instead. They have great imaging, a little sparkle in the treble but are never over-bearing. They make pretty much everything sound good but also shines with high quality recordings. They have much more substantial bass than the Focals and a clear midrange that doesn't grate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing midrange

Paul from Hanover, NH on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good speaker, beautiful cones, articulate midrange. This speaker sounds great for music and movies. Highs are clean and clear without being overemphasized or harsh. Midrange is incredible! I heard things in my music that I've never heard before. This lacks punch in the bass department. Augment with a sub and you'll be happy. Overall this lacked a degree of warmth that I was looking for. I think Focal's aluminum tweeter gives a softer sound that many aluminum tweeters I've heard, but it's still a bit more crisp than I am looking for. If Focal had an entry level speaker, like this Chora series, with a soft dome tweeter I think I'd be a Focal fanboy.

Pros: Midrange is incredibly articulate, highs are details

Cons: Bass leaves something to be desired, but easily augmented with a subwoofer. Highs are not as warm as I had hoped for.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Chora 816

Christopher from Kirkland, WA on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm super pleased with my Focal Chora 816s. They very capably fill my large listening space with warm, detailed sound and the wide soundstage makes them sound amazing from anywhere in the room. I'm powering them with a Sonos amp (which allows me to use the Sonos platform for streaming) and use them solely for music -- streaming (via Sonos), CDs (NAD CD player) and vinyl (Denon turntable). They're a little larger than I was ideally looking for, but the sound quality more than makes up for the size.

Pros: Detailed sound, wide soundstage, great frequency range.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

THATS THE SPEAKER NO OTHER

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Sounding speakers

Pros: SOUND QUAILTY CAN HERE EVERYTHING WITH WHEN PLAYING VINYLE THATS ALL I LISTEN TO

Cons: NOT A ONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

French, Hand-Made Towers at a Solid Price

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a set of Definitive Technology BP9040 and CS9040s. The highs and mids on the Chora 816s are just out-of-this-world in comparison. You can hear things you just couldn't with the DefTechs, and they pair REALLY well with dual subs. Only complaint would be a touch of brightness at the very high end, but that can be worked out through the receiver. The clarity that the tweeters put out is insane, and the slate-fiber mids have been a true joy to listen to.

Pros: Well-built, fantastic tweeters, great soundstage.

Cons: A tad bright on the highest end.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 21 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound