Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
945 259 531 4
Connect ID #
945 259 531 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Chora 816

Floor-standing speaker (Dark Wood)

MFR # FCHORA816DW

Focal Chora 816

Focal Chora 816

Floor-standing speaker (Dark Wood)

MFR # FCHORA816DW

8 reviews
View this product

Sounds Bigger then Price

Brandon from New Hampton, NH on 10/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price, good imaging, can be a little course ion the high end with certain recording materials. Easy to drive and a great speaker for music and surround

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Chora 816

Harold from Port St Lucie, FL on 8/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are exactly what I thought the speakers would be. Very good

Pros: well made

Cons: I believe the speakers should have been discounted slightly more, but still excellent quality.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Chora 816

Tyrone from Marrero, LA on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great sounding smooth hi speakers love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too bright for me

David from Brooklyn, NY on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow these speakers were bright. Too much. After demoing the Elac Debut Refererences and Wharfedale Evos, and finding both muffled sounding, I thought I wanted something with more sparkle. This has it, but excessively so to my ears. Ultimately I went with the Polk Reserve R600s instead. They have great imaging, a little sparkle in the treble but are never over-bearing. They make pretty much everything sound good but also shines with high quality recordings. They have much more substantial bass than the Focals and a clear midrange that doesn't grate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing midrange

Paul from Hanover, NH on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good speaker, beautiful cones, articulate midrange. This speaker sounds great for music and movies. Highs are clean and clear without being overemphasized or harsh. Midrange is incredible! I heard things in my music that I've never heard before. This lacks punch in the bass department. Augment with a sub and you'll be happy. Overall this lacked a degree of warmth that I was looking for. I think Focal's aluminum tweeter gives a softer sound that many aluminum tweeters I've heard, but it's still a bit more crisp than I am looking for. If Focal had an entry level speaker, like this Chora series, with a soft dome tweeter I think I'd be a Focal fanboy.

Pros: Midrange is incredibly articulate, highs are details

Cons: Bass leaves something to be desired, but easily augmented with a subwoofer. Highs are not as warm as I had hoped for.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Chora 816

Christopher from Kirkland, WA on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm super pleased with my Focal Chora 816s. They very capably fill my large listening space with warm, detailed sound and the wide soundstage makes them sound amazing from anywhere in the room. I'm powering them with a Sonos amp (which allows me to use the Sonos platform for streaming) and use them solely for music -- streaming (via Sonos), CDs (NAD CD player) and vinyl (Denon turntable). They're a little larger than I was ideally looking for, but the sound quality more than makes up for the size.

Pros: Detailed sound, wide soundstage, great frequency range.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

THATS THE SPEAKER NO OTHER

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Sounding speakers

Pros: SOUND QUAILTY CAN HERE EVERYTHING WITH WHEN PLAYING VINYLE THATS ALL I LISTEN TO

Cons: NOT A ONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

French, Hand-Made Towers at a Solid Price

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a set of Definitive Technology BP9040 and CS9040s. The highs and mids on the Chora 816s are just out-of-this-world in comparison. You can hear things you just couldn't with the DefTechs, and they pair REALLY well with dual subs. Only complaint would be a touch of brightness at the very high end, but that can be worked out through the receiver. The clarity that the tweeters put out is insane, and the slate-fiber mids have been a true joy to listen to.

Pros: Well-built, fantastic tweeters, great soundstage.

Cons: A tad bright on the highest end.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound