Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Chora 826

Floor-standing speaker (Black)

MFR # FCHORA826BK

Focal Chora 826

Focal Chora 826

Floor-standing speaker (Black)

MFR # FCHORA826BK

18 reviews
View this product

smooth, clean and accurate sound

Timothy from Lubbock, TX on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Focal Chora 826 speakers for a stereo-only setup, powered by a Rotel A14 MkII integrated amp. They are a joy to listen to with very good imaging. The highs are just as they should be: cymbals, for example, sound "crisp" and not smeared. Nothing sounds harsh or fatiguing. The speakers sounded good from the first cone excursions -- I haven't noticed any changes over a break-in period. The serial numbers of the pair I received are sequential, which conceivably may help for a better matched pair. To me, the light wood with cream front looks good, I don't understand other reviews that say the speakers don't look good. One minor complaint is that one speaker was missing one of the four washers used for mounting the base to the speaker (a task for the owner but only takes a few minutes) I highly recommend these and have no regrets with my purchase. I spent a few months trying to decide which speakers to buy, and changed my mind a number of times between several models from other manufacturers. When I began to consider the Focals, it only took me about a week before I placed my order.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just a great speaker full stop.

Thomas from PORTLAND, MI on 12/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely adore the Chora line. I have the 816 and 806 as well. I bang for buck compared to the Aria is amazing. Beyond that, the presentation is perfect for my tastes. It has a beautiful midrange and a treble that never fatigues. To me though, the party trick of the Chora line generally is the stereo imaging. These things and all of their line can quite easily disappear in a room. They are very good at many things, but imaging is mastered. For the money, I can't recommend another speaker over these at this price. They aren't fussy about amps, distance from walls, or much else. I know a lot of people love their Klipsch and that's great. But, if you are like me don't care for the horn thing and prefer a less "forward" and in your face speaker....give these a listen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Robert from MONROE TWP, NJ on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I e had these speakers 4 hours and can make a true review probably before they even break in. Absolutely amazing. Soft and warm mids with crispy clean highs not to be confused with piercing overstated highs. The bottom end puts out plenty when called for. Blending in a sun if you feel the need but couldn't be happier with overall sound,construction and value. ,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incredible imaging and outstanding value

Anthony from Minneapolis, MN on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my quest to find speakers for a primarily two channel listening setup, I set my budget at $5k and drove all around the city listening to about 20 different pairs of speakers. I had my heart set on the B&W 702 S2s but when I heard them, they just seemed a little flat and didn't really pull me into the music like I expected from what I had read about them. I tried a few different B&Ws, Martin Logan's, Paradigms, Klipsch, Magnepan, and Revels. Out of that whole group, I liked a pair of Revels that were in my price range but I don't remember what model they were. I visited a shop here in MN and after talking through what I've heard so far, he put me in front of Paradigm Premier 800s. Not bad. Said the low end was a little disappointing, highs were a little harsh. He left and then wheeled in the Focal Chora 826. I wasn't a fan of the cream/walnut so I just closed my eyes and didn't let aesthetics get in the way. First 5-10 seconds I was sold. YES. Enormous sound stage, decent low end, detailed mids and highs without being harsh. Just perfect. I then tried another pair of Focals with the Be tweeters but they weren't enough to sway me from the Chora 826 for less than half what I had budgeted for speakers! I then used the remaining funds to get a pair of SVS SB-2000 Pro subwoofers in piano black which pair very nicely with the Focals. Incredible speakers, highly recommended.

Pros: Clarity, Imaging, Midrange, Soundstage Width, Front Ported

Cons: Can be a bit bright at times but that can be fixed with the right DAC

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Jonestown, TX on 11/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible speakers. Hi quality and very dynamic Sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Terrific Sound

Crutchfield customer from Coventry, CT on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased the Focal Chora 826. setup was easy, sound is very good for speakers not broken in yet. used as primary sound for TV in great room.

Pros: not too large for room

Cons: none yet?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Outstandingly High Quality, in every regard

Crutchfield customer from Ventura, CA on 10/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are the epitome of the best of what trickle-down technology has to offer. Absolutely insane sound quality for it's price point. Upon cessation of a prerequisite burn-in time period, critical listening sessions were conducted. Utilizing a modest system of stereo components, consisting of Mac Pro digital out - Maverick Audio TubeMagic D2 D/A converter w/ tri-Burson Audio Vivid v.6 dual opamps and/or LM Ericsson 2c51 vacuum tube - Garage1217 Project Ember w/ Siemens CCa vacuum tube buffer - tri Fosi Audio P1 tube buffers w/ Voskhod 6J1P-EV (dual mono/single stereo) - Zapco ASP-Q1 equalizer - dual bridged Behringer Europower EP2000s providing up to 1500 Watts per side The Focals can scream bloody murder for hours and never break a sweat! Regardless of what genre of music I throw at them, they hit their mark on time and with great authority and finesse. Just Stunning! A word about the low end. Although the bass is incredible on these and dig quite deep in spite of their inherent mechanical limitations, I did add a Rainbow Profi 12 subwoofer to the mix in order to round out the musical spectrum, running bridged mono off a Behringer Europower EP 4000. Overall, I HIGHLY recommend Focal ! Been a fan since the first time I heard the polykevlar cones they came out with lo those many moons ago. Next on my list, of course, Aria K2 936. Stay tuned

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listen to mostly jazz and classical and have found these speakers to be excellent in clarity and range

Pros: I have a slight hearing deficit but do not have to crank up the volume to experience the depth and clarity of the speaker

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Grosse Ile, MI on 8/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not only are these speakers drop dead gorgeous, but they sound amazing! I had been using Vandersteen 1Bs which are fine speakers but a bit long in the tooth. What a difference! The sound is well integrated and much more extended; absolutely no qualms at all. I live in an apartment so haven't tested the outer volumes; but sound with my PrimaLuna tubes is magnificent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Clear Vocals, Large Refined Bass

Javier from Seattle, WA on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are awesome. I'm running 200w per channel with ca azur851n+w and they sound so good, it's sonic bliss to my ears. They are very stylish as well. Speaker input caps are practically soldered on, they were impossible to remove. I ended up unscrewing it and placing the banana plugs under the caps instead. That was the only annoying thing. I love these speakers so far.

Pros: Engaging and fun sound, beautiful finish

Cons: Impossible to remove banana plug caps. You aren't getting them off.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Douglas from Littleton, CO on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be happier with my purchase. Out of the box these took about 20 minutes to unbox, assemble and install in my living room. Focal does an outstanding job on packaging and labeling. These speakers replaced another set I had bought from Crutchfield about 6 months ago that cost about $1200 a pair. You really get what you pay for with these Focal speakers. The highs are crisp and focused yet not overbearing with no sibiliance, mids are detailed and forward and not mushy, bass is quick and deep. Other reviews say the same thing about these speakers. I can see myself keeping these for years. Piano and guitar both sound amazing. Can hear the reverberation of guitar strings and the striking of the strings and decay which I couldn't on my previous speakers. Will be a Focal customer for life. I listen to mostly 60-70s rock, jazz, classical and opera. All sound fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Vocal speakers perform

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, IL on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound at an affordable price!

Pros: Quality construction, superb sound for the price point

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Punches Above Its Price Class

Steven from WEBSTER, TX on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Listening Environment - 14'x16' open concept living room into dining and kitchen, no room treatment, speakers placed ~18" minimum from the wall (no port plugs used) Usage - 50% Movies/HT, 50% streaming (progressive rock, laid back jazz, indie, some EDM, Jpop/Jrock, Kpop, NY style hip hop) Additional Setup Items - Gaia III from IsoAcoustics installed, 75W/150W amp (high damping factor, 2O low load), high grade optical Cable, hand-made hifi cables Initial Impressions - Stylish blue color, amazing wood veneer, and a tres chic plinth. Front ported design is great for those with spatial restrictions, and the higher efficiency rating would be good for those looking for solid state in the 40-80W range, my 150W brought a bit more life and volume, but if I didn't have the luxury of comparison I would be chuffed nonetheless. Wide soundstage that is easy to tailor with minimal effort. Treble - Very airy and articulate, not to be confused with being bright. Would pair very well with a warm amp. Vocals, HT, and jazz and very clear and a pleasure to listen to. For the price the treble is is a stand-out feature second to none in its category. Bass - Quite lean, but gutsy and punchy. Mid-bass and general bass separation with decoupling feet make a huge difference, and to me shines with bass lines in indie/pop music. Conclusion - This speaker sounds as good as it looks. This would appeal to those wanting articulation, listening to instrumentals, and t

Pros: - Stylish colors available - Very easy to drive - Sounds great at low volumes - Punchy bass, albeit lean, with amazing mid-bass - Open and filling soundstage

Cons: - Plinth on wood floor moves easily - Direct tweeter placement can give excessive highs - Very lean bass, would need a sub-woofer for complete experience - Stiff competition in its price range - Screws for plinth assembly dirty/oily and lower quality material (would prefer steel/aluminum, equal material for hex wrench provided) - No bi-wire available (by design, but to me makes it simplistic in setup)

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality as I expected from Focal loudspeakers, i.e. the detail and clarity. Crutchfield delivered on time as promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In a small room with a touch of acoustical treatment these hit a home run

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound and desing

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, TN on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and excellent design. The speakers arrived on time and in perfect condition and the set up with my amp and banana cables was very simple. I am very satisfied with the quality and overall experience.

Pros: Excellent sound, great design, easy to connect, perfect for all music genres.

Cons: Heavy

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Fun Sound

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CT on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Fun speaker. I'm able to power it with my little PS Sprout 100, though it could probably benefit from a bit more juice. Very happy with it!

Pros: Sounds great. What else do you need?

Cons: Somewhat awkward footprint

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully crafted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

TOP