Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
623 120 322 4
Connect ID #
623 120 322 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Chora 826

Floor-standing speaker (Black)

MFR # FCHORA826BK

Focal Chora 826

Focal Chora 826

Floor-standing speaker (Black)

MFR # FCHORA826BK

54 reviews
View this product

Enjoy

Stanley from Sugar Land, TX on 2/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear with good definition. A little on the bright side at first, got better after several hours of break in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic French Rockers

Brandon from Poland, OH on 1/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers with above average bass and excellent mid range. Soundstage is second to none. Very easy to drive as well. Would not hesitate to buy at this price. Crutchfield experience was excellent with quick delivery without a fuss.

Pros: Maybe (currently) the best price for performance in the hifi speaker tower category

Cons: Placement can be tricky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply amazing - We ?? it

Crutchfield customer from WILMINGTON, DE on 1/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing floor speakers I say. I used to own Klipsch earlier and liked them too but this is something better and more classy one. First time buyers will love it for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent floorstanders

Axel from TRUJILLO ALTO, PR on 12/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are my first two channel (stereo use only) floorstanders and they are amazing. I'm no expert in sound and this is my first hi-fi audio system but to me these are perfect. Combined with my Freya+, Denafrips Ares II 12TH, Emotiva BasX A2 with a Wiim Mini as the source the sound is spacious, clear (detailed), effortless with impressive bass (if the song has it). Like some experts say, the top end is just perfect, not ever fatiguing. Have not felt the need to add the subwoofer but I'm sure that adding a sub would take it to another level. The mids are just heaven and the vocals just amazing. Got the Dark wood and I'm glad I did. The pictures that Focal is using don't really show how beautiful these are. The color is darker than what the pictures show on the Focal promo pictures .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Greg from Cape Coral, FL on 12/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After much research and deliberation, choosing the Focal 826 speakers was a smart move. The folks at Crutchfield were very helpful and took the time to understand what I wanted in a new speaker. The speakers arrived quickly and were very well packed. They sound great and are sounding better every day as they are breaking in. The sound stage is expansive and the tonal quality is wonderful. I wanted a speaker that was accurate but not too bright or with too much bass. Driving them with a Denon AVR 760. Listening to jazz, classical, rock - everything from opera to Prince. All sounds great.

Pros: Accurate sound, not too bright, good base without booming, great stereo imaging

Cons: Pricey but got them on a great sale

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My Focal Surprise

Jonathan from POINT PLEASANT, WV on 12/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield service Great. Wanted a change in sound, more mids & highs. Bought these on Focal Name and Price on sale. These have more midrange and less bass than what they replaced. My sound is cleaner and I have more pleasure from the sound. I use them for my Center Channel running in Mono. That's the critical channel for Home Theater. The dialogue and spatial acoustics of the Focals are Very Good. They blend into my system very well. I use very large speakers for my mains and they fill in the low end the Focal 826 cannot reach. This is a dual use system, Music and Video and The Focal excels in both categories. The Focals are smaller than what they're replacing, a pair of Klipsch, but I actually like the way they sound in my system more. They're very good looking, the Wife Unit likes them. We have the light wood with white fronts and they kinda dress up the room and go with my main speakers. All in all I really like these Focals especially for the price we got from Crutchfield. The Packaging was First Rate. Easy to unpack. Easy to attach the base. Easy to pull the plastic plugs to use Banana Plugs. Just use a good pair of needle nose pliers, Easy. Getting the Focal 826 has been a Positive Experience. Yes, I would buy these again.

Pros: Attractive, Not Huge, Good Sound, Easy to Assemble, nice packaging that protects the speaker. Looks good in the home. Good Spatial Sound and good tone. Gotta give Props to Crutchfield. Always A Great Store to do business with.

Cons: No Cons, Nice Speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Gary from Marlboro, NJ on 11/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well packed for shipping, speakers arrived in flawless condition. These are good looking, black finish, and have excellent sound and spatiality. I recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A True Five-Star

Jeffrey from Virginia Bch, VA on 11/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My five-star score for the Chora 826 includes both product performance and Crutchfield service excellence. Crutchfield advisor Jody spent about thirty minutes helping me with my decision and, if anything, the speakers sound even better than promised. I have them connected to an NAD 542 cd-player and a Cambridge CXA-80 amplifier. They have a presence that most other speakers seem to lack without sounding harsh. I've only played a few CDs, so I think they will sound even better in a week or two. Regarding service, there was a hitch. UPS picked-up the speakers the day they were ordered and then the speakers disappeared. I called Crutchfield and they immediately shipped replacement speakers. Can't ask for more than that. I have a strong feeling that I will order from Crutchfield again.

Pros: Detailed highs, relatively compact floor-stander, sufficient bass that eliminates the need for a powered-sub. Not much is missing.

Cons: Someone posted that the terminal end-caps are difficult to remove. More like impossible. I tried the little screw drivers from True-Value, and I removed the plastic twist-clamps to try pliers. Neither trick worked. I ended up using a bare-wire connection. Minor point in the end.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Jerry from CHESAPEAKE, VA on 11/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Focal Chora 826 have replaced my Polk S60's. Much improved over the Polk's. Better Mid's, and the high's too. The detail is spot on and the Focal's have been sounding better every day for past 5 days. The bass surprised me too. Bass was deep and blended well with music and movies. having a SVS SB-2000, 500w continual power, 1100w peak dynamic power subwoofer, the magic is perfect together. For now I'm keeping my Polk Center channel, S30 and my Polk S20. Still using my Yamaha RX V795a 5.1, 85w continual power at .04% THD x5 per channel and 120w x2 per channel .05 THD. Sometime down the road, I will upgrade the Center channel to a Focal. Using Audio Quest X2, 14g speaker wire with MediaBridge Banana plugs. $500 off per Focal Chora 826 speaker for an $1000 off is a fanatic buy.

Pros: Wonderful sounding speakers!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phenomenal

Robert from Lexington Park, MD on 11/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The 826s sounded fantastic right out of the box! As they have been broken in, they sound even better. I have them ~14' apart and that presents an incredible sound stage. Lows are exceptional and even better when adding my Klipsch 10" powered sub. You can't go wrong with these Focal 826s - especially on sale!

Pros: Sound stage. Depth. Mids and highs... It's all there.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clear, not muffled sound.

Luis from Santa Ana, CA on 11/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Most reviews I've read say these are, "bright" sounding speakers. Most reviews said the Polk R200's and Kef Q250's are well, "balanced" speakers so I gave them a whirl. After a few days, i noticed the Polk's sounded flat or muffled, especially at medium to high volumes. The Kefs were a tad clearer sounding, not by much. I rolled the dice on these "scratch and dent" floor standers (great price, minor cosmetic flaw will include pictures). I mostly listen to Mariachi, Banda, Norteñas (Spanish polk), and Rap. Not too much Barenaked Ladies, Fastball or Eve 6 listening happening here. The Focal sound immediately won my ears. To me, the "bright" sound signature sealed the coffin. I would recommend. They sound good for tv speakers as well. Note how minor cosmetic imperfections are for a scratch and dent, cannot notice unless one 100% stares in a proper angle. These are plugged into a Yamaha RX-A1050.

Pros: Sound Scratch and dent value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

OUTSTANDING Focal speakers

Eugene from North Kingstown, RI on 10/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are unbelievable for the price! I am still breaking them in, but not sure how they can sound any better than they already do. Also, outstanding service by Crutchfield, I received these speakers 2 days before I was supposed to. Keep up the great work and I will keep up the purchasing :)

Pros: Beautiful looking and sounding. What else is there to say!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great set of speakers, slight brightness, great mids

Naveen from Alpharetta, GA on 10/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are replacing a pair of Polk speakers that I love. I thought the Polks were good. Well, these are even better. They sound great, they look awesome. Sadly, I'd dropped one corner on a hardwood floor (thinking I'll be able to set it up alone) and the corner got bashed in. I felt miserable but that's life. I hooked up the speakers and immediately I felt a lot better. Listened to some good music and heard some instruments and notes I've not heard on the Polk. My immediate thought though was that it was a little bright. But the mids are awesome. The lows are very good but I still think I'll continue to use the sub. Love these speakers - they're the most I've paid for speakers in my life. I just feel bad about dropping them though.

Pros: Good lows, spectacular mids, the base helps in angling the speakers up

Cons: Slightly bright

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Larry from Bells, TX on 10/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent service and great speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing detail

Soju from Niles, IL on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really good speakers for an amazing deal so I brought whole set 2 floor, 2 book shelf and center and its just magical. I can hear sounds that I've never heard before from the same tracks. It's a whole new level

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Douglas from South Bend, IN on 10/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a great speaker. So detailed! Imaging is the only thing I could mention that isn't perfect about these speakers, but I haven't spent a lot of time with toe in, out, yet. Only have had them 5 days, and already breaking in fabulously. They sound a little better everyday. Soundstage is fantastic and you're not committed to just the " sweet spot " . At $500 off retail, might be the best buy I've ever made from Crutchfield. Let me add, no one , no one is better than Crutchfield when it comes to customer support!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great entry level floor standing speakers

Christian from Telford, TN on 10/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers, balanced, great mids, decent bass. I find them best I direct/pure audio mode. Great sound with out having to crank them.

Pros: Great mids Blend well with surrounds (Focal Chorus) Great separation Price (sale)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sound amazing! Focal customer service horrible!

Aaron from Saint Augustine, FL on 10/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Three stars based on Focal customer service. The speakers look great and sound even better. Contacting Focal customer service if the need arises is pretty much impossible. One would expect customer service to be beyond reproach at the premium Focal charges for their products. I ordered a set of towers and the center speaker back on Sep. 29th with the understanding that one tower would be on backorder with no ETA. I requested Focal's customer service number from Crutchfield so I could get a delivery date from them directly. If it was going to be several weeks I planned on purchasing the remaining tower from another authorized vendor while the sale was still going on. I also wanted to ensure my speaker would retain Focal's 5-year warranty. I called Focal on Friday four times leaving detailed messages each time. I called the following Monday three times. When Tuesday rolled around I reached back out to Crutchfield for another number because I had already tried the numbers on Focal's website with no success. I was able to get another number and called it immediately. On the second ring, a Focal rep answered but unfortunately, he worked on the car audio side of the company. I explained my situation and that I would be grateful if he had an internal number of someone that could assist me. He provided the exact same number Crutchfield provided. I received a customer service email link from Crutchfield and sent an email on the 4th of October. 10 days later, still nothing from Focal.

Pros: Exceptional sound and great style

Cons: Focal customer service and my tower speaker was definitely opened once before maybe even used. Styrofoam was broken on top and bottom as if someone was frustrated and wanted to look the speaker over without fully removing the speaker from the box. The front sections were torn out in order to pull the tower out without just removing the box entirely. The speaker was also upside down from the orientation provided by Focal's diagram in order to affix the speaker base.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Carlos from Ponchatoula, LA on 10/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the sound I was looking for. Sound fills the room and I can listen without fatigue. I mostly listen to 80s/90s/modern rock and this fit the bill perfectly. Songs have amazing detail and these punch just right. I upgraded from KEF Q150 bookshelf speakers. Paired these with Emotiva BasX TA2 and Bluesound Node.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

A True Superstar!

Gregg from Shavertown, PA on 9/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

With just minimal break-in, it is obvious that these are very special speakers. The low bass extension is a pleasant surprise, the high end is clear and revealing, and the midrange is well-balanced. The sensitivity is also a big plus; the 826 requires less power than the Monitor Audio Silver S6 that it replaced. The degree of fine detail at relatively low listening levels is another source of joy, and the soundstage is expansive. Room placement was not at all difficult. This speaker would be a bargain at twice the price.

Pros: Overall balance; bass extension; high-frequency detail; imaging; power sensitivity; ease of placement.

Cons: Low tolerance for poorly recorded source material (if that is really a con).

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great with hi res tracks

John from Carlisle, PA on 8/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

High and mid ranges exceptional with new Anthem MRX 540 (the integrated amp that calls itself a receiver). Not sure I could say that a guitar player on a high res acoustic track needs to clip his fingernails or not, but the high end is very crisp, great warm mid-range, what I want for voice and piano tracks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Michael from Gilbert, AZ on 8/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased the 826 to replace some old Polks. The difference is night and day. The mids and hi's are exquisite! The Soundstage is amazing! I love these speakers

Pros: Fantastic Sound and build quality for the money.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Roman from Woodland Hills, CA on 8/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

1. I've been breaking them in for over 1 week now. Definitely an upgrade compared to my 30+ years old Teufel M200 bookshelf speakers. But so far I haven't figured out how to improve the bass without distorting the music. The middle and high come across very clear and less warm-toned than may older speakers. The bass is lacking. May have to connect my old sub, which I wanted to avoid by buying bigger speakers. 2. NEVER go to a store and listen to $30,000 speakers before buying new "cheaper" ones. There is no way the new ones will compare. My mistake.

Pros: Extremely clear middle and highs. No distortion or "coloring" from the speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Ryan from LYNCHBURG, VA on 8/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful speakers with a very lively dynamic sound and punchy detailed bass. An excellent choice for both watching movies and listening to music.

Pros: Very lively and dynamic sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great speaker

Steve from Daly City, CA on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful separation of sound (I can hear the different instruments more clearly) and just a really great omni-directional wall of sound (nothing sounds as if it comes directly from the speakers even though everything is). Also these look quite good - love the shiny black finish on the front and the slate cones. I might have preferred a black grille cloth rather than gray but that is a matter of personal taste.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, exceptional value!

Carl from Mystic, CT on 7/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers that met my expectations after searching for just the right ones. I'm running an MA352 pushing 200 watts p/c and these speakers handle it easily. They sound terrific and look awesome too. They equal the sound quality of other speakers that cost 3 times the amount.

Pros: Sound quality, looks, build quality, value

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Jonathan from Mount Pleasant, SC on 6/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am hearing notes, instruments, and words that I never heard before. I'm thrilled with the purchase and I anticipate that it will continue to sound even better as the speaker gets broken in.

Pros: Clarity, quality....

Cons: The jury is out whether I'll need a subwoofer or not. I'm holding off for now.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

John from HINGHAM, MA on 5/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After some break-in, these sounded pretty good. The pros were a very detailed & forward midrange as well as nice sounding highs. The inverted tweeter sounds nice - a little laid back/relaxed and blends with the excellent mids. Vocals and 'Mid-centered' music sound really great. Something like the 2018 remaster of The Beatle's "Mother Nature's Son" is super impressive. However, the cons outweigh the pros for me. 1) Least important, subpar build/assembly quality & quality control. Glue was caked onto some of the cones. I gently scraped off what I could & don't think sound could have been affected too badly. Also, looks like 2 of the carpet spikes were missing from one box. Maybe I just lost them unpacking 2) Biggest con is the weak low end. Not much power or definition in the low's and midbass. Disappointing as I'd hoped to replace some 3-way stand-mounts for overall improvement, especially in bass output/definition. Unfortunately, I hear the opposite w/ these. Weirdly, these sounded surprisingly poor with some material. Seems this happened when a lot of info was delivered at once. A couple examples: 1) The flood of piano lows playing w/ highs during Nina Simone's "Someone to Watch Over Me " piano instrumental on Montreux Years. 2) The crescendo in Rufus Wainwrights' "I Don't Know What It Is". On these the 826's sounded confused and messy. Unfortunately, I'm returning these

Pros: Excellent high & mid; Great detail in high & mid ranges;

Cons: Disappointing bass-midbass; Poor sound with certain types of music; Below average QC, assembly;

Crutchfield response on

14 of 18 found this helpful

All alone not loving these

William from De Soto, MO on 5/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm sure and the only one who feels this way but after having the Revel 802 and trying the years I find them to be very bright and unable to go to really high volumes without hurting my ears. They're not terrible speakers, they're just not for me

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

I like these speakers.

Thomas from Sargentville, ME on 5/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speaker for its price range. I use them mostly for classical music and they allow me to forget about the audio equipment and simply experience the music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing

Armando from Richmond Hill, GA on 4/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic speakers still breaking them in but the sound is amazing!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The best!

Booger from Muscle Shoals on 4/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have had lots of speakers in my home and car but never was pleased with the sound from Cerwin Vega to JL Audio to JBL. The last speakers I put in my car were Focal 165KRX2 and they rock. So I did a little research and ordered these Focal 826s for my home. Let me tell you these things image perfect and I do not have a lot of space to position them. I only have them 10 inches off the wall. My room is only 14 x 14 and my ears are less than 10 feet away. I am using a 20 year old 100 watt A/V receiver Sony STR-DE845. Right out of the box the sound is impressive and we could not stop listening to them, they never tired our ears. I really thought I would need a new amp but not the case. Focal just has a soundstage that no other speaker in their price range has, it's like being at a live concert. Oh and they have plenty of bass!

Pros: Excellent imaging, soundstage and bass.

Cons: Wood grain laminate

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Best sounding speakers ever !!

Jim from Shawano, Wisconsin on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought the Focal Chora 826's A few months ago after much research . Paired with a McIntosh c26 preamp and phase Linear 400w amp. These things are the Best Inxesrment ever. Thanks Crutchfield!!!

Pros: Full range sound is phenomenal soundstage is huge and every note of music is crystal clear . I have heard thing on tracks I've never heard before Incredible.

Cons: Nada one

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Dont pass these up!

Tim from Maricopa, AZ on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These were the speakers I've been looking for! For my budget, they bring my music alive. Soundstage is incredible and with some placement tweaking, I look forward to many, many years of listening enjoyment! Some have mentioned adding the matching sub, but I'm in a smaller listening room now and not feeling an immediate need for a sub(s) Beautiful room filling sound! Hearing nuances from old albums that really put these speakers over the top for me! Cheers!

Pros: Room filling sound!

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Fantastic Speakers! I'm SO thrilled with these!

Levi from Los Angeles, CA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

WOW - Right out of the boxes, these Focal's are delivering richly detailed music, with clarity across the spectrum. The bass isn't muddy, the kids are present with a big soundstage, and the highs are clean and smooth- not bright or harsh. Setup was a breeze (you attach plastic footers to the bottom of each speaker, then flip over. I used the rubber "feet" on mine, as we have wood floors on slab. I don't believe I'm going to need to add a subwoofer at all, and I thought I might have to before hearing these beauties. I love them so much, I'm thinking about picking up a pair of the bookshelf version for use in another room. VERY satisfied even after only a few days use. Can't wait until they break in a bit! [Yamaha A-S500 Amp, Rega P1 turntable - nothing too fancy, just clean power and a simple manual turntable]

Pros: Gorgeous finish, Beautiful sound, Quality build.

Cons: None, unless your room is too small for them, or you don't have the proper amplification to drive them.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Floor standing speaker for grown ups

Lisa from Leesburg, VA on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to setup out of the box though the rubber feet are a little hard to insert on the base. Just had my first listening session and they sound really good but I understand the need for a break in period so I'm looking forward to the improvements that others have reported at some point in the near future. These are my first real and serious floor standing speaker in a long time so I'll be learning and tweaking as I go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

smooth, clean and accurate sound

Timothy from Lubbock, TX on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought the Focal Chora 826 speakers for a stereo-only setup, powered by a Rotel A14 MkII integrated amp. They are a joy to listen to with very good imaging. The highs are just as they should be: cymbals, for example, sound "crisp" and not smeared. Nothing sounds harsh or fatiguing. The speakers sounded good from the first cone excursions -- I haven't noticed any changes over a break-in period. The serial numbers of the pair I received are sequential, which conceivably may help for a better matched pair. To me, the light wood with cream front looks good, I don't understand other reviews that say the speakers don't look good. One minor complaint is that one speaker was missing one of the four washers used for mounting the base to the speaker (a task for the owner but only takes a few minutes) I highly recommend these and have no regrets with my purchase. I spent a few months trying to decide which speakers to buy, and changed my mind a number of times between several models from other manufacturers. When I began to consider the Focals, it only took me about a week before I placed my order.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just a great speaker full stop.

Thomas from PORTLAND, MI on 12/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I absolutely adore the Chora line. I have the 816 and 806 as well. I bang for buck compared to the Aria is amazing. Beyond that, the presentation is perfect for my tastes. It has a beautiful midrange and a treble that never fatigues. To me though, the party trick of the Chora line generally is the stereo imaging. These things and all of their line can quite easily disappear in a room. They are very good at many things, but imaging is mastered. For the money, I can't recommend another speaker over these at this price. They aren't fussy about amps, distance from walls, or much else. I know a lot of people love their Klipsch and that's great. But, if you are like me don't care for the horn thing and prefer a less "forward" and in your face speaker....give these a listen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Robert from MONROE TWP, NJ on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I e had these speakers 4 hours and can make a true review probably before they even break in. Absolutely amazing. Soft and warm mids with crispy clean highs not to be confused with piercing overstated highs. The bottom end puts out plenty when called for. Blending in a sun if you feel the need but couldn't be happier with overall sound,construction and value. ,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Incredible imaging and outstanding value

Anthony from Minneapolis, MN on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In my quest to find speakers for a primarily two channel listening setup, I set my budget at $5k and drove all around the city listening to about 20 different pairs of speakers. I had my heart set on the B&W 702 S2s but when I heard them, they just seemed a little flat and didn't really pull me into the music like I expected from what I had read about them. I tried a few different B&Ws, Martin Logan's, Paradigms, Klipsch, Magnepan, and Revels. Out of that whole group, I liked a pair of Revels that were in my price range but I don't remember what model they were. I visited a shop here in MN and after talking through what I've heard so far, he put me in front of Paradigm Premier 800s. Not bad. Said the low end was a little disappointing, highs were a little harsh. He left and then wheeled in the Focal Chora 826. I wasn't a fan of the cream/walnut so I just closed my eyes and didn't let aesthetics get in the way. First 5-10 seconds I was sold. YES. Enormous sound stage, decent low end, detailed mids and highs without being harsh. Just perfect. I then tried another pair of Focals with the Be tweeters but they weren't enough to sway me from the Chora 826 for less than half what I had budgeted for speakers! I then used the remaining funds to get a pair of SVS SB-2000 Pro subwoofers in piano black which pair very nicely with the Focals. Incredible speakers, highly recommended.

Pros: Clarity, Imaging, Midrange, Soundstage Width, Front Ported

Cons: Can be a bit bright at times but that can be fixed with the right DAC

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Jonestown, TX on 11/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible speakers. Hi quality and very dynamic Sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Terrific Sound

Crutchfield customer from Coventry, CT on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just purchased the Focal Chora 826. setup was easy, sound is very good for speakers not broken in yet. used as primary sound for TV in great room.

Pros: not too large for room

Cons: none yet?

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Outstandingly High Quality, in every regard

Crutchfield customer from Ventura, CA on 10/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are the epitome of the best of what trickle-down technology has to offer. Absolutely insane sound quality for it's price point. Upon cessation of a prerequisite burn-in time period, critical listening sessions were conducted. Utilizing a modest system of stereo components, consisting of Mac Pro digital out - Maverick Audio TubeMagic D2 D/A converter w/ tri-Burson Audio Vivid v.6 dual opamps and/or LM Ericsson 2c51 vacuum tube - Garage1217 Project Ember w/ Siemens CCa vacuum tube buffer - tri Fosi Audio P1 tube buffers w/ Voskhod 6J1P-EV (dual mono/single stereo) - Zapco ASP-Q1 equalizer - dual bridged Behringer Europower EP2000s providing up to 1500 Watts per side The Focals can scream bloody murder for hours and never break a sweat! Regardless of what genre of music I throw at them, they hit their mark on time and with great authority and finesse. Just Stunning! A word about the low end. Although the bass is incredible on these and dig quite deep in spite of their inherent mechanical limitations, I did add a Rainbow Profi 12 subwoofer to the mix in order to round out the musical spectrum, running bridged mono off a Behringer Europower EP 4000. Overall, I HIGHLY recommend Focal ! Been a fan since the first time I heard the polykevlar cones they came out with lo those many moons ago. Next on my list, of course, Aria K2 936. Stay tuned

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I listen to mostly jazz and classical and have found these speakers to be excellent in clarity and range

Pros: I have a slight hearing deficit but do not have to crank up the volume to experience the depth and clarity of the speaker

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Grosse Ile, MI on 8/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not only are these speakers drop dead gorgeous, but they sound amazing! I had been using Vandersteen 1Bs which are fine speakers but a bit long in the tooth. What a difference! The sound is well integrated and much more extended; absolutely no qualms at all. I live in an apartment so haven't tested the outer volumes; but sound with my PrimaLuna tubes is magnificent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Clear Vocals, Large Refined Bass

Javier from Seattle, WA on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are awesome. I'm running 200w per channel with ca azur851n+w and they sound so good, it's sonic bliss to my ears. They are very stylish as well. Speaker input caps are practically soldered on, they were impossible to remove. I ended up unscrewing it and placing the banana plugs under the caps instead. That was the only annoying thing. I love these speakers so far.

Pros: Engaging and fun sound, beautiful finish

Cons: Impossible to remove banana plug caps. You aren't getting them off.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Douglas from Littleton, CO on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Couldn't be happier with my purchase. Out of the box these took about 20 minutes to unbox, assemble and install in my living room. Focal does an outstanding job on packaging and labeling. These speakers replaced another set I had bought from Crutchfield about 6 months ago that cost about $1200 a pair. You really get what you pay for with these Focal speakers. The highs are crisp and focused yet not overbearing with no sibiliance, mids are detailed and forward and not mushy, bass is quick and deep. Other reviews say the same thing about these speakers. I can see myself keeping these for years. Piano and guitar both sound amazing. Can hear the reverberation of guitar strings and the striking of the strings and decay which I couldn't on my previous speakers. Will be a Focal customer for life. I listen to mostly 60-70s rock, jazz, classical and opera. All sound fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 20 found this helpful

Vocal speakers perform

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, IL on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound at an affordable price!

Pros: Quality construction, superb sound for the price point

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Punches Above Its Price Class

Steven from WEBSTER, TX on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Listening Environment - 14'x16' open concept living room into dining and kitchen, no room treatment, speakers placed ~18" minimum from the wall (no port plugs used) Usage - 50% Movies/HT, 50% streaming (progressive rock, laid back jazz, indie, some EDM, Jpop/Jrock, Kpop, NY style hip hop) Additional Setup Items - Gaia III from IsoAcoustics installed, 75W/150W amp (high damping factor, 2O low load), high grade optical Cable, hand-made hifi cables Initial Impressions - Stylish blue color, amazing wood veneer, and a tres chic plinth. Front ported design is great for those with spatial restrictions, and the higher efficiency rating would be good for those looking for solid state in the 40-80W range, my 150W brought a bit more life and volume, but if I didn't have the luxury of comparison I would be chuffed nonetheless. Wide soundstage that is easy to tailor with minimal effort. Treble - Very airy and articulate, not to be confused with being bright. Would pair very well with a warm amp. Vocals, HT, and jazz and very clear and a pleasure to listen to. For the price the treble is is a stand-out feature second to none in its category. Bass - Quite lean, but gutsy and punchy. Mid-bass and general bass separation with decoupling feet make a huge difference, and to me shines with bass lines in indie/pop music. Conclusion - This speaker sounds as good as it looks. This would appeal to those wanting articulation, listening to instrumentals, and t

Pros: - Stylish colors available - Very easy to drive - Sounds great at low volumes - Punchy bass, albeit lean, with amazing mid-bass - Open and filling soundstage

Cons: - Plinth on wood floor moves easily - Direct tweeter placement can give excessive highs - Very lean bass, would need a sub-woofer for complete experience - Stiff competition in its price range - Screws for plinth assembly dirty/oily and lower quality material (would prefer steel/aluminum, equal material for hex wrench provided) - No bi-wire available (by design, but to me makes it simplistic in setup)

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality as I expected from Focal loudspeakers, i.e. the detail and clarity. Crutchfield delivered on time as promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In a small room with a touch of acoustical treatment these hit a home run

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound and desing

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, TN on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and excellent design. The speakers arrived on time and in perfect condition and the set up with my amp and banana cables was very simple. I am very satisfied with the quality and overall experience.

Pros: Excellent sound, great design, easy to connect, perfect for all music genres.

Cons: Heavy

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Fun Sound

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CT on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Fun speaker. I'm able to power it with my little PS Sprout 100, though it could probably benefit from a bit more juice. Very happy with it!

Pros: Sounds great. What else do you need?

Cons: Somewhat awkward footprint

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Focal Chora 826

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautifully crafted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound