Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Focal Clear

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # Clear

Focal Clear

Focal Clear

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # Clear

10 reviews
View this product

Excellent Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Milford, MA on 11/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Focal Clear are excellent headphones! The sound is clear and very detailed without being over analytical. They are the most comfortable headphones that I have worn.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing headphones and quick service!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Focal makes the most comfortable headphones I have ever tried. The open back and soft ear pads allow me to wear for hours without fatigue. The sounds is amazing on these. I paired them with a Fiio Q5S and the fidelity is amazing. Highly recommend this entire line of headphones.

Pros: Comfort, neutral sound signature

Cons: Cables are really stiff, I'm assuming they will break in after some use.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, WI on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great musical sound while exposing subtle details, but not analytical. Not for people that like to listen louder, clipping happens at what I consider should be very well within the limits of a headphone like this. Ear pads and inside of head band could show signs of greasy soil in the long run due to material and color combo, unless you shower before each listen. ?? Lastingly, I found the ear pads small for my average size ears and that causes discomfort when doing extended listening sessions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Clear Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Norcross, GA on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product as advertised. Immaculately designed, well constructed, very comfortable to wear and delivers audiophile level performance, even when driven by just a mobile phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fabulous, must-have headphones

Paul from Lawton, OK on 2/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Focal's Clear headphones are amazing! (I have Utopia No 7 (active) and KRX3's in my car & truck, respectively, so I get spoiled all the time by some of Focal's best.) The music flows out of these cans superbly. They are not as pristine as the Utopia's drivers, but they are so so close. Played through a Sony PHA-3 listening to Tidal HiFi-quality (aka 16/44) streams was love at first stanza. The shimmer of a cymbal's metal is evident; the bass is tight and has just the right authority I expect to hear; the crisp pop of a snare drum is discernable. After a disappointing couple days with the Elegia, the Clear's immaculate performance right out of the box made me instantly smile and spend the next couple hours jumping through some of my favorite tracks via the Tidal collection. Earlier today, an audiophile friend and I spent a few hours with the Clears. He was completely taken by the Clears, declaring them in the Top 3 of the headphones he's heard (which includes the Utopia). Truly believe the Clear are one of the best values in high-end headphones today. These are SO good at this price, while where more pricey cans lack or equal them. I cannot wait to get a balanced cable for them and see what more they can do.

Pros: Fantastic detail across the sound spectrum. Not Utopias, but oh so close for a whole lot less investment.

Cons: Wish the short cable was a foot longer.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Joe from West Palm Bch, FL on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely nice pair of headphones. Sound amazing . Build quality is excellent. The only thing it's lacking a tad bit in the bass department and the treble is a little on the higher side. Still an excellent set to own .

Pros: Build quality Price

Cons: There could be just a little bit more bass .

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Clear

John from Camarillo, CA on 10/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent headphone. I've owned the Focal Utopia headphone for a year. I decided to try the Clear based on favorable reviews. Wow. I'm impressed. The Clear seems more balanced than the Utopia to me. The Utopia is an excellent headphone, no doubt. But the Clear has better bass and a more relaxed sound that is enjoyable to listen to. The Focal Clear is a great sounding, well-built, and good looking headphone. I highly recommend them.

Pros: Excellent sound quality. Terrific build quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Amazing Headphones

Offer from Sunnyvale, CA on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived quickly in great packaging. The product itself is great. Already broken in and enjoying the headphones. An amazing upgrade from the HD650. Using Chord Modo as DAC. Everything is clear and the tonal balance is perfect, not too much of anything and nothing is missing. Comfort is great as well. They look even better in reality and the additional accessories are great (Cables and the hard case). I love the fact that so many different music genres sound great. From Acoustic (Jack Johnson) pop (Paul Mccartney) through Rock (Maroon 5) to Nickelback they all sound great. I truly believe I found my end game headphones. Other headphones I love so you will know my background: Sennheiser HD6XX, Sony MDR 1A, Sony 100AAP

Pros: Sound great for many Genres Look and feel Accessories

Cons: Nothing I could find

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Matt from Olympia, WA on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I compared these side-by-side with the Audeze LCD-3s, and these sounded better to me than the Audezes, despite being $500 cheaper. I tested on both a Marantz DAC and a cell phone. My recordings were a mix of hi-def classical, hip hop, outdoors ambient recordings among others. The sound is extremely natural and clear enough that you can listen to it at high volume without getting fatigued. Compared with Audeze these have much more presence and clarity. While they don't emphasize the bass as much, the bass does seem sharper than with Audeze on my setup. The stereo imaging is also very spacious and beautiful. They can very clearly be driven by a mobile device, presumably because of the low ohm rating. It was actually quite shocking how well a cell phone drove these. For some people this does not matter, but for me it adds to the value. The description of these by non-audiophile friends: "alive", "present", "involving". Finally, I would say that these have more body to them than lower-tier Grados, which can often sound too "bright" or "sharp" to my ears. They have a great body to the sound without lacking detail. Also worth noting: if you are a sucker for beautiful, clean cabling then this is a good fit. My friends and I all went jaw-dropped when we opened up the package to find the 3 beautiful cables.

Pros: * Extremely engrossing, involving image * Very good clarity at all frequencies * Beautiful finish and cabling

Cons: * Very slight resonance/noise at some high frequencies, which a discerning audiophile may find concerning. Very small effect, but noticeable if you have a sharp ear.

Crutchfield response on

22 of 22 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Guest from Bel Air, MD on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The "cleanest" sounding headphone I've ever heard. Makes the Elear sound bloated. The Clear is an ethereal sound that, in my opinion, constitutes the price tag.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 18 found this helpful

TOP