Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Focal Clear

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # Clear

Focal Clear

Focal Clear

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # Clear

23 reviews
View this product

Focal Clear = honest accuracy

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Focal could not have chosen a better name for these headphones. They are definitely clear, and honest. They will play anything you give to them and play it so accurately. The words that have come to mind are "clarity", "precision", and "accuracy", both in terms of sound and imaging. These are not that hard to drive, but they do benefit from an amp. Plugged directly into the headphone out of a laptop or tablet they sound okay. Plug them into an amp and there is a very noticeable increase in sound quality. I have used my integrated speaker amp and a dedicated headphone amp and was surprised to hear the difference between these. The speaker amp colors the sound quite a bit, which I had never noticed. Again, these headphones will play the sound exactly as it is given to them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Barrington, RI on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived in good order 2 weeks ago. Using a Shiits Bifrost DAC, Shiits Jotuhiem 2 amp with balanced headphone plug. No EQ. Music from Tidal off a Macbook and TV optical into Bifrost. Most of my music is classical and old rock. All the music sounds very good depending on the original recording. Older stuff i.e. Cream can sound odd depending on the separation of track. LVB's 9th is fantastic. Rick Wakeman piano works are crisp. The Clears have nice base that does not over power the the mids or highs with good staging. I'm 70 and started on vinyl. The Clears give me the music sound I remember from my KLH. Films sound great. If the sound architecture is good you hear it. Staging is relatively wide. Tracking from side to side is very good. Very nice bass, you get the kaboooooms without loosing dialog. Comfortable for long periods. I'm fussy with fit so I fiddle a lot. Wished the cups rotated a bit more. Head band comfy. Clamping pressure mild but I did reduce it a bit. My son wears his Clears all day in his home office. Very happy

Pros: You get what's in the sound file. You hear all frequencies as recorded. The staging is wide enough for good separation if in the sound file. Very good for films. You get the low kabooms without loosing dialog with wide staging for action & chase scenes.

Cons: Wished the cups rotated a bit more side to side.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Purchased While Undecided

Greg from Brentwood on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a top level headphone and had narrowed the selection down to the Clears and a couple other brands. I have been happily using a set of Grado RS2e and wasn't certain that these would be worth $1000 more than the cost of my current ''Best" headphones. I was willing to take a chance thanks to Crutchfield's return policy. The headphones arrived quickly. I opened them carefully to maintain all the packing and contents in pristine condition should I decide to return them. I use a RME ADI-2 DAC and plugged the new Clears into the front unbalanced jack for my first listen. A couple hours later I was ready to throw out every piece of carefully saved packing material as I have no intent of ever sending these headphones back. The comfort is great on my average size head, no pressure points and the fit of the pads over my ears is excellent. In quiet passages of music I had to remind myself these are open back it felt so isolated. I enjoyed a lot of my high def FLAC files and and some of my favorite FLAC ripped CDs. The sound is wonderful and I have found my favorite set of headphones. There may be others better sounding if I was willing to spend 3 -4 thousand or more dollars. No need to think about it or continue looking, these will be keeping my ears happy for years to come.

Pros: Sound, sound, sound, comfort and build quality.

Cons: Expensive but I knew that going in, and now feel it's worth it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent fidelity

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, all that I hoped they would be.

Pros: Excellent fidelity Rich bass Warm sound

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just set the Focals down and it was a very very pleasing session.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great investment in beautiful sound

Leonard from Oregon City, OR on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Life is short, don't be cheap. Absolutely worth the cost.

Pros: Surrounds you in warm beautiful sound Fantastic deep bass. Clarity without tiring midrange Very comfortable Beautiful aesthetics and build quality

Cons: Wastes hours of your time tripping out to all kinds of music. Points out how your CDs sound better than 360K Spotify Makes you understand how lame your $5,000 stereo really is.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pure listening pleasure!

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, PA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted headphones a step above my current headphones which are also rated very highly . The Focal's are far more than a step above! These headphones are so sweet through the entire musical range! Maybe a little soft on bass but I actually like that with the music I listen to. They are very comfortable and I can wear them and forget they are on my head. I am extremely happy with my purchase and highly recommend the Focal Clear headphones. Five stars to Crutchfield as well for service that is second to none!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Highly Recommended

Crutchfield customer from Mercer Island, WA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A bit shocked by how good these are - highly recommended. The only comparison I have is Sennheiser 59Xs, and there is just no comparison. I am using a good amp (Benchmark HPA-4) but they also sound good via a Mojo. There is lots of non-fatiguing detail and clarity, with a full, rich sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great headphones

Earik from Windsor, CA on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I auditioned three headphones this month: The Denon AH-9200, the Sony Z7M2, and these Focal Clears. Without going into too much detail, the Clears won. :-) Just enough bass, nothing too sharp on the high end, and a nice, smooth, open sound. Pair them with a good dac/amp, and it's an awesome headphone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Headphone!

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Detailed, very fast transients, natural vocals and tight bass. I very happy with these headphones. Super comfortable. Easy to drive, even with a portable DAC.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonderful!

DAN from Holly, MI on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am impressed. The imaging is literally immersive and realistic; i.e., during the first couple hours with them, I took them off several times to check and see if sounds were real or part of the recording. That sounds absurd, but it was a remarkable experience. That initial memory justifies the whole purchase for me. I have two systems with transparrent DAC and headhpone amp that measure very well and a balanced tube headphone amp. I have some American planar magnetic headphones in this price range and some Irish made German brand dynamic headphones in a lower price tier, but this is a whole new experience. I am spinning some Deep Purple with an Audio Technica microline stylus and NAD preamp now and the sound is still just wonderful. The only downside so far is subdued vocals on some recordings (Van Morrison Astral Weeks ultra high res lossless digital), but that it probably just the price of nice bass and detailed highs. More of an observation of the design than a complaint. These are my favorites. The smiling frequency response curve is the best there is, but can't always be perfect. The build on these is unmatched in my experience. I want to take a shower and donn gloves to put these on because they are so nice. As a former helicopter mechanic, I think the engraving, cables, finishes, machining, are really something to behold. If you are shopping in this price range, for recreational listening, without very high volume, Focal Cl

Pros: Nice cables and case. Very well made. Incredible sound reproduction and imaging.

Cons: Vocals can be subdued on some recordings.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Crutchfield customer from Sylmar, CA on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You hear instrumentals with a unique type of clarity that feels very smooth on the ears. The padding is very comfortable but what you hear coming out of these headphones when you listen to music sounds so comfortable on your ears you can easily play music on them continuously for the better half of an hour without taking them off.

Pros: Very well defined highs and strong mid base makes a well balanced sound

Cons: The cables are a little bit small.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Crutchfield customer from Keaau, HI on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just amazing headphones. While costly, a big improvement in sound when compared to the sound from my Hifiman headphones. Somewhat lacking in "oomp" in bass, the Clear makes up for it by its clarity in the mid-range. Truly impressive headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Milford, MA on 11/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Focal Clear are excellent headphones! The sound is clear and very detailed without being over analytical. They are the most comfortable headphones that I have worn.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing headphones and quick service!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Focal makes the most comfortable headphones I have ever tried. The open back and soft ear pads allow me to wear for hours without fatigue. The sounds is amazing on these. I paired them with a Fiio Q5S and the fidelity is amazing. Highly recommend this entire line of headphones.

Pros: Comfort, neutral sound signature

Cons: Cables are really stiff, I'm assuming they will break in after some use.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, WI on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great musical sound while exposing subtle details, but not analytical. Not for people that like to listen louder, clipping happens at what I consider should be very well within the limits of a headphone like this. Ear pads and inside of head band could show signs of greasy soil in the long run due to material and color combo, unless you shower before each listen. ?? Lastingly, I found the ear pads small for my average size ears and that causes discomfort when doing extended listening sessions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Clear Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Norcross, GA on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product as advertised. Immaculately designed, well constructed, very comfortable to wear and delivers audiophile level performance, even when driven by just a mobile phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fabulous, must-have headphones

Paul from Lawton, OK on 2/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Focal's Clear headphones are amazing! (I have Utopia No 7 (active) and KRX3's in my car & truck, respectively, so I get spoiled all the time by some of Focal's best.) The music flows out of these cans superbly. They are not as pristine as the Utopia's drivers, but they are so so close. Played through a Sony PHA-3 listening to Tidal HiFi-quality (aka 16/44) streams was love at first stanza. The shimmer of a cymbal's metal is evident; the bass is tight and has just the right authority I expect to hear; the crisp pop of a snare drum is discernable. After a disappointing couple days with the Elegia, the Clear's immaculate performance right out of the box made me instantly smile and spend the next couple hours jumping through some of my favorite tracks via the Tidal collection. Earlier today, an audiophile friend and I spent a few hours with the Clears. He was completely taken by the Clears, declaring them in the Top 3 of the headphones he's heard (which includes the Utopia). Truly believe the Clear are one of the best values in high-end headphones today. These are SO good at this price, while where more pricey cans lack or equal them. I cannot wait to get a balanced cable for them and see what more they can do.

Pros: Fantastic detail across the sound spectrum. Not Utopias, but oh so close for a whole lot less investment.

Cons: Wish the short cable was a foot longer.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Joe from West Palm Bch, FL on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely nice pair of headphones. Sound amazing . Build quality is excellent. The only thing it's lacking a tad bit in the bass department and the treble is a little on the higher side. Still an excellent set to own .

Pros: Build quality Price

Cons: There could be just a little bit more bass .

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Focal Clear

John from Camarillo, CA on 10/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent headphone. I've owned the Focal Utopia headphone for a year. I decided to try the Clear based on favorable reviews. Wow. I'm impressed. The Clear seems more balanced than the Utopia to me. The Utopia is an excellent headphone, no doubt. But the Clear has better bass and a more relaxed sound that is enjoyable to listen to. The Focal Clear is a great sounding, well-built, and good looking headphone. I highly recommend them.

Pros: Excellent sound quality. Terrific build quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Amazing Headphones

Offer from Sunnyvale, CA on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived quickly in great packaging. The product itself is great. Already broken in and enjoying the headphones. An amazing upgrade from the HD650. Using Chord Modo as DAC. Everything is clear and the tonal balance is perfect, not too much of anything and nothing is missing. Comfort is great as well. They look even better in reality and the additional accessories are great (Cables and the hard case). I love the fact that so many different music genres sound great. From Acoustic (Jack Johnson) pop (Paul Mccartney) through Rock (Maroon 5) to Nickelback they all sound great. I truly believe I found my end game headphones. Other headphones I love so you will know my background: Sennheiser HD6XX, Sony MDR 1A, Sony 100AAP

Pros: Sound great for many Genres Look and feel Accessories

Cons: Nothing I could find

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Matt from Olympia, WA on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I compared these side-by-side with the Audeze LCD-3s, and these sounded better to me than the Audezes, despite being $500 cheaper. I tested on both a Marantz DAC and a cell phone. My recordings were a mix of hi-def classical, hip hop, outdoors ambient recordings among others. The sound is extremely natural and clear enough that you can listen to it at high volume without getting fatigued. Compared with Audeze these have much more presence and clarity. While they don't emphasize the bass as much, the bass does seem sharper than with Audeze on my setup. The stereo imaging is also very spacious and beautiful. They can very clearly be driven by a mobile device, presumably because of the low ohm rating. It was actually quite shocking how well a cell phone drove these. For some people this does not matter, but for me it adds to the value. The description of these by non-audiophile friends: "alive", "present", "involving". Finally, I would say that these have more body to them than lower-tier Grados, which can often sound too "bright" or "sharp" to my ears. They have a great body to the sound without lacking detail. Also worth noting: if you are a sucker for beautiful, clean cabling then this is a good fit. My friends and I all went jaw-dropped when we opened up the package to find the 3 beautiful cables.

Pros: * Extremely engrossing, involving image * Very good clarity at all frequencies * Beautiful finish and cabling

Cons: * Very slight resonance/noise at some high frequencies, which a discerning audiophile may find concerning. Very small effect, but noticeable if you have a sharp ear.

Crutchfield response on

27 of 29 found this helpful

Focal Clear

Guest from Bel Air, MD on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The "cleanest" sounding headphone I've ever heard. Makes the Elear sound bloated. The Clear is an ethereal sound that, in my opinion, constitutes the price tag.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 24 found this helpful

TOP