Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Focal Integration IBus 20

Compact 75-watt powered 8" subwoofer

MFR # Ibus 20

Focal Integration IBus 20

Focal Integration IBus 20

Compact 75-watt powered 8" subwoofer

MFR # Ibus 20

22 reviews
View this product

Focal point

Crutchfield customer from Lyndhurst, OH on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub lives up to Focals high standards. After some tweaking of the crossover it sounds amazing paired with a pair of focal mid/tweeters in the doors. I luv the adjustment dial that allows you to increase/decrease the bass. I mounted that on the safety brake so out of sight but easily accessible. Two thumbs up! I may buy another for diff car.

Pros: Easy of installing, enclosure is very high grade

Cons: Cost, if your looking for bargain

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration IBus 20

Daniel from Austin, TX on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for tight spaces.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clean Bass

Darrell from Shreveport, LA on 9/22/2017

2008 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice,

Pros: Crystal clear bass

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic Sound

Robert from Washington, PA on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Gen 1 Honda Ridgeline. The factory 8" woofer was not cutting it. The space is very limited in this truck and this fits the location where the factory sub was behind the back seat with room to spare. The tuner knob is fantastic as I listen to talk radio, I can turn it down. I can jack it up when I listen to music or my son is watching a video. I'm not going to win any spl competitions, but it adds enough low end to round out the bottom end. For as small as it is, and only being an eight, it has a lot of punch.

Pros: Easy install. Will fit almost anywhere.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Factory "Premium" Stereo Sound

Josh from Lansdale, PA on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to fill in the lows of my 2012 Dodge Ram. I have Focal components in the front and rear door panels, powered by an Alpine in-line amplifier and hooked up to a Pioneer NEX4100. I have this unit installed under the passenger seat. This AIO enclosure sounds amazing...as long as you know what you're getting. This is an 8" woofer, not a 10" or 12". While it is not impossible to get some decent lows with an 8" woofer, in this particular case, in a shallow enclosure, you're just not going to get it. This unit has great punchy bass that really shine with electronic music, rock and roll, and some hip-hop. If you want something to rattle your larger vehicle, look elsewhere, but, if you want clear, precise, punchy bass that takes up VERY little room, this is a great solution. I could have knocked this unit 1 star since I've used other AIO enclosures like the ones from Infinity and they seemed to have more range from my experience. However, the build quality and size of this thing just make it a perfect solution for me as a truck owner. Please note that I have a large open area in my truck that this unit is listened to in. In a smaller vehicle like the Porche in another comment, this unit will most likely sound different.

Pros: Small and compact Tune is adjustable Great sound Easy to install High quality construction

Cons: Shallow 8" woofer can leave some customers wanting more bass Expensive when compared to what the competition has to offer

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal ibus 20

CBly from Tulsa, OK on 9/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my 911, under passenger seat, plug and play, very easy to install, amazing sound,,,,,,

Pros: Small footprint, amazing sound, just what I needed to finish my system.

Cons: The Install manual is a little confusing, had to call Crutchfield and get help to understand, very helpful support department.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Focal Integration IBus 20

Jelly from BOSTON on 8/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

F I R E!!! This thing rocks.....excellent sound. Using 2 of them in a 2015 Subaru Legacy. Took the fake Harmond Kardon factory speakers out and put some older model Boston Acustics Pro Componets in the front and rear doors, nice highs and mids NO BASE. Added these and now the system is amazing. Very good quality bass not overbarring at all. The good thing is unlike back in the day no use box taking up trunk space just clean crisp quality bass. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this bass box. It's the best powered sub around, worth every penny.

Pros: EXCELLENT QUALITY SOUND!!!

Cons: NONE.....CAN'T GO WRONG HERE!!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Coming-around

jimmy t from Texas on 2/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this sub in a F150 crew cab and was not impressed when I first had it. It's powered by my factory deck so I wasn't expecting too much, but I was expecting more than I received. About 1-month ago I was carrying two, 1-gallon jugs of water in the back of the cab and spilled one of the jugs on the rubber floor mats I have protecting the carpet; the sub was on the mats so I was quick to get the water before it got to the sub. I cleaned the water and decided to put the sub under the rubber mats, since doing this the bass coming from the unit is noticeably improved, in-line with what I was expecting when I first chose it. I guess it was just a matter of too much space for a small unit.

Pros: size and weight

Cons: price is a bit pricey

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Focal Sub

Dale Y from Albuquerque NM on 9/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took some time to run power wires into cab and tap into back speakers.Factory F-150 with Focals in doors and new Sub is now ROCKIN'!! not too much bass, just enough to fill in the bottom end This will NOT rattle windows

Pros: Doesn't take up too much space like a sub box would. good bass

Cons: Install..... need I say more

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Add-On

BM from Minneapolis, MN on 8/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the size, this unit has great sound and is very well constructed. I added this to my 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek and it nicely filled in the missing bottom end. If you're looking for something with good sound and not just bass to overwhelm your music, this is a great choice.

Pros: Compact Build Quality Easy Install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect Upgrade

Allan from Lugoff SC on 7/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally purchased the Sound Ordnance underseat subwoofer but after 2 failing I upgraded to this. This was a huge upgrade, much better build quality and sound. It is slightly larger so may have some issues fitting it under all seats. I have a 2009 GMC Sierra Hybrid and it fit under the front driver seat just fine. Perfectly rounded out the lows and sounds much better than a stock bose system if you have one of those. Keep in mind this is a European product so the harness will most likely not be plug and play to an American vehicle. You will have some rewiring to do if you want to use the high level inputs. Preamp out would be no different

Pros: Build Quality Sound Quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Focal Integration IBus 20

Scott from Alto pass il on 6/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fits under jeep seat

Pros: Size and power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

iBus 20

Dmcl from Sonoma County CA on 3/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, compact unit. Does what I expected: filled out the bottom end of the spectrum. No breaking windows or setting off car alarms as I drive by. Nice solid bass for the money and the size. Replaced Harman Kardon powered sub (2 - 6x9) in BMW E46 Coupe. Pretty easy install.

Pros: Size, build, performance. Good value.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

focal rules

jason from hickory nc on 3/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great addition to any stereo adds just enough bass to a stereo not over the top not too much and is rugged enough for any application great size slim design allows you to put it under seat

Pros: great sound just enough bass

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Focal compact sub

Steve D from Thomasville, PA on 1/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub in compact design, does everything I wanted.

Pros: Size, quality sound out of compact unit.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

WOW!

Concrete Mary from Euless, TX. on 12/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I guess you can call me a Focal freak! I bought this sub because it was small enough to fit under the seat of my single cab 2001 Ford Lightning, this sub is well made sounds great, thats something you can count on from Focal speakers I have them in all 3 of my vehicles

Pros: SIZE, SOUND, AND THE CONSTRUCTION OF IT ALL METAL CASING REALLY PRETTY TOO!

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Good Little Sub

Mike02z from Lake Ariel, PA on 7/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked this up to add some bottom end to my 2014 Forester. This sub/map fills the bill nicely. It first almost perfectly under the front driver seat, sounds good and gets plenty loud enough for my purposes. This will not win any SPL contests but does provide solid bass and seems like a well built device.

Pros: Solid Build Quality Sound Quality Design

Cons: Pricey for the power

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Focal Integration IBus 20

Joey from Pensacola on 6/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great sub. I have a Tacoma reg cab w/Focal 165's in the doors. This sub compliments them perfectly. More than enough bump. Very happy....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Garbage

grandaz from New Jersey on 4/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying my 2012 Corolla has Focal p165v30 component speakers in the front and Focal 690 CA1 SG coaxial speakers in the back powered by a Alpine MRX-V70 5 channel amp, and a factory Pioneer navigation head unit. So I am a die hard Focal supporter and truly believe they make incredible products. However this unit is junk, I had my entire system installed by a local shop, who's owner has been awarded #20 installer in the entire USA three year in a row. He told me to stay clear but I really wanted this unit due to its size. I was able to bolt it directly to my cars rear seat and it took up virtually no space. However it produced very little bass even when turned all the way up. This sub was barley able to shake the seat it was bolted too. Then after a short two weeks it blew a voice coil, I was devastated and shocked because its a Focal and at this price. The owner at the audio shop ordered me a replacement and even put it in for free. Three short weeks later that one blew the circuit board. Finally I had it taken out and was livid to say the least. The shop owner suggested that I buy the JL CP108LG-W3v3 and bolt it in the same location and since I already had a 5 channel amp wiring was a breeze. Man am I happy I took his advice now this is a sub. It shakes my car like nothing I ever seen before. A complete night and day experience. All I can say is Focal should be ashamed of themselves for ever putting this on the market. STAY FAR AWAY !!

Pros: None

Cons: It does not produce much bass at all even in a small sedan. It breaks esaily.

Crutchfield response on

32 of 83 found this helpful

Great for a boat

CDR from Chesapeake Bay on 4/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a subwoofer to put in the cabin of my boat. I did not want to cut holes or see the subwoofer when I was finished. An integrated subwoofer seemed to be the best option and the Focal looked like a quality product. The Focal is well made with a heavy aluminum case. I installed the subwoofer in a locker that also holds an air conditioner. This means that there is a large vent in the locker that will allow the sound to escape. It took a little while with the adjustments as there was some boominess at certain frequencies. I'm pretty sure the boominess was due to the install location rather than the subwoofer itself. The system sounds great without a big speaker grill located in the cabin. I recommend the Focal IBus 20 if you need more bass but don't want a big box or speaker grill. The Focal is not water resistant, so make sure it is installed inside your boat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Doesn't fit Honda FIT

nestaselect from ATL on 2/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't speak to the sound quality. The build seems VERY solid. I couldn't use it because I needed something to add Low-End to my Honda FIT without taking up valuable cargo space. Unfortunately, the only place that this will fit is in the rear cargo area..That doesn't work for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 27 found this helpful

great little sub

Chris A. from Honolulu, HI on 1/31/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Toyota Tacoma extended cab truck and I wanted a SUB but not the usual set up of a big enclosure taking up space. I research and I came upon the iBUS 20 by Focal and I glad I did. This little sub packs a punch literally. There is also a bass knob control which you can fine tune to your liking. I have it a little over 2 months and just turn the gain up and its sounds amazing. If you are looking for something to rock the neighborhood, look else where but seriously, this compact sub will make your sounds fuller, your bass bumps, and make your drive enjoyable.

Pros: Space saver, Great sound. No complaints

Cons: You may need to get an amp wiring kit. The plug and play harness cables included (ISO cables) does not work for my vehicle. I think they are for europeans cars.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 22 found this helpful

TOP