Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Integration IS 165VW

Integration Series 6-3/4" Plug & Play component speaker system designed to fit select Volkswagens

MFR # IS 165VW

Focal Integration IS 165VW

Focal Integration IS 165VW

Integration Series 6-3/4" Plug & Play component speaker system designed to fit select Volkswagens

MFR # IS 165VW

8 reviews
View this product

Phenomenal

Crutchfield customer from Iselin, NJ on 9/26/2020

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers replaced the oems on my 2015 Jetta night and day. Supper crisp highs the sound phenomenal. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh - but glad they're available

Jason from Falls Church, VA on 3/23/2019

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meh. These were just about all that would fit my 2011 Sportwagen (which, actually, has Mk5 doors, but that's another story - VW saved money in their model changeover). Installation was more difficult than I bargained for but I don't dock any points for that. The problem - the sound is disappointing. Yes, it's better than the stock paper drivers (RNS310 without the external amp & 3-way passive crossovers in the front doors, which I removed. I also lined the trim panels with a hushmat knock off). Base is barely enough, but OK, that would likely be better with an amp and there are rumors coding can be changed with VCDS (google it) to improve base respone (different setting if you have a factory sub or factory Dynaudio amp under the driver's seat) . What can't be fixed, IMHO, is highs and mid range. They don't have nearly the definition and clarity of my 2017 GTI's Fender system and after 5 months break-in little has changed. My next step is to add a powered sub and maybe an amp this summer. That's as good as it can get. Focal is mainstream in Europe, but are apparently "optimizing" their pricing for North America, where they're a niche player. Translation - these are MUCH less expensive in Europe (surf the web). Crutchfield's prices are in-line with other North American retailers, so blame goes 100% to Focal. In fact, I'm grateful Crutchfield offers this speaker, as the front door window track is dead in the middle of the woofer hole and a specialty solution

Pros: About all that will fit this car. Seriously appreciate Crutchfield carrying these - really nothing else fits this car.

Cons: They sound like the lower-priced speakers they are in the European market. Focal is milking their niche status in North America.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Focal Integration IS 165VW

Kelly from Arlington, TX on 5/8/2018

2016 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While these sounded better than the factory speakers, the really need amplification to come alive. For my 2017 Jetta, the door panels needing to have internal molded area that touched the frame of the factory speakers needed to be trimmed and removed, which then necessitated some Fast Rings to seal the sound from the speaker to the door panel speaker grill. For the tweeter, the plug included from Focal no longer matches what VW used on my 2017 Jetta. The simple solution was to cut the plug off the original tweeters (which are mostly destroyed on removal from the A-Pillar since they are plastic welded in place). Mounting the tweeters will require some custom fabrication.

Pros: Good sound and price point for a semi-factory fit.

Cons: Required some fabrication, more than expected, but this would be the case for any speaker being installed in a VW Jetta.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent upgrade over stock VW speakers!

Jeff from New Haven, CT on 1/4/2018

2017 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in the front on my 2017 Jetta SEL. A great upgrade over the stock paper mid-bass woofers. The bass is punchier and better and overall a bit clearer sounding. I am running them off the Helix Soundbox (aka a Match 5-channel DSP amp with spare tire subwoofer) which is 4ohm @35 watts, but I'm sure these will sound great with stock Volkswagen radio's amplification. I didn't install the tweeters in the front but kept the OEM ones since they seem decent.

Pros: Sound great, doesn't need tons of power to run.

Cons: A bit pricey!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

True high end sound upgrade for Volkswagens

Eric from Santa Rosa, CA on 8/21/2016

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only installed the woofers so far. They are a great success. I've been an audiophile nerd since high school. My current home system includes Parasound preamp and power amps, Rega turntable and Audiophysik Tempo IV speakers. I've been upgrading my 2000 Volkswagen Jetta Mk.4 VR6. (Check out offerings at 034 Motorsport, ECS Tuning and Urotuning.) I tried Infinity component speakers from Crutchfield - not an easy fit. The VW factory speakers have a baffle raising the speaker cone up about 1-1/2" from the door mount. The riser is also the woofer spider, with crossover components built in. While returning the Infinity's (very easy) I received an email from Crutchfield suggesting the Focal component speakers for Volkswagens. The woofer with mounting baffle and integrated crossover looked right. I called customer support to confirm the Focal's would work. The website indicated otherwise. Sam was assisting me, and consulted a tech. They confirmed the dimensions are right. They are. The Focal woofer magnet is twice as massive as the factory unit, the kevlar cone and rubber surround superior. They sound faster, tighter, more detailed. I ordered two more VW tweeter mounts so I can take my time installing the Focal tweeters. Caveat: the washer/nut clips included with the mounting hardware will not clip onto the speaker hole flange. I used Gorilla tape to fix the clips beneath the mounting holes, and pulled up on the screw heads as I turned them until tight.

Pros: Excellent quality speakers from Focal, a true high end manufacturer, purpose built for hard-to-fit Volkswagens. Sounds like a high end system in your car. The speakers cry out for high end electronics to power them.

Cons: Care must be used with the supplied mounting hardware, but with care works fine and woofer fit is perfect, completely turnkey. More of a custom fit for the tweeter, requiring removal of factory tweeter from tweeter mount and replacement with the Focal unit. I am getting a second set of tweeter mounts so I am not without music while I carefully install the focal tweeters. Can't wait to hear them.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Good, simple upgrade

Jason from Deer Park, TX on 4/3/2016

2013 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Contrary to one of the other reviewers, I actually found woofer installation more difficult than the tweeters. Possibly if I'd had larger machine screws on hand, installing the woofers would have been easier. But you'll need a fairly large screw, as the factory woofers are held in by rivets that have a pretty large diameter. For the tweeters I used a good epoxy and a strip of Gorilla tape to hold them in place. Truthfully though the tape wasn't strictly necessary, as (in my car anyway) I found that the foam that surrounded the factory tweeters held the these new tweets in place pretty well. Overall probably the easiest install I've done in a long time. As to sound, I am plenty pleased. Running factory everything-else, lows and mids sound very good; there is enough bass that I'm in no hurry to install a sub, but I wasn't after panel-rattling bass anyway. But the fact is I find the bass output quite adequate. Highs are perhaps a touch harsh but I've heard much worse and it's not bad enough that you are constantly thinking about it. Vocals are nice and clear. Overall if you're looking for a fairly straight-forward install and something that will give your otherwise-factory system a pretty decent upgrade I would definitely recommend this kit. Can you get better sound for the same or less with something else. Yes you probably can; but it will require more time and effort to install.

Pros: * Sound is a nice upgrade over factory * Relatively easy install, no wires to run, no mounting brackets to build

Cons: * A touch pricey

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Cannot recommend without improvements

Tim from Maryland on 1/25/2016

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had very high hopes for these speakers, as they seemed to be an easy and high-quality upgrade to the stock speakers in my 2016 Jetta. Unfortunately, I can't recommend these speakers without some upgrades by Focal. Installation: woofers are true "plug and play". Just remove the door panels, screw them in, and plug the VW harness to the speaker. However, tweeters are very difficult. In fairness, the Crutchfield website warns you that the tweeters need to be glued into place, but this is not possible without some ingenuity. Removing the A-pillar covers is not that hard, and VW tweeters can easily be cut from the plastic knobs that hold them in place. Once this is done, the only way to attach the Focal tweeters is to fashion a backstrap out of strip metal, glue it to the back of the tweeter then glue the strapping to the A-pillar. Most glue doesn't hold to this plastic well so I had to buy special epoxy to make it work. Takes a lot of trial and error to position them, and the results are messy. Sound: woofer sounds great - warm, punchy, and clear. But to my ears the aluminum tweeter is very harsh, especially in the "hard plastic" environment of my Jetta. Focal should include an attenuation switch to turn down the tweeter (unless you have a great EQ in your system). I ended up purchasing another brand of components with a true crossover and soft dome tweeter, and they sound much better. Installation was a little more difficult overall but resu

Pros: Woofer - easy installation and great sound

Cons: Tweeter - difficult installation and harsh sound in VW environment.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Crutchfield needs to research this product.

JJ from Iowa on 6/12/2015

2014 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are trying to use these speaker for rear, don't buy as the wiring for the twitters don't fit the factory connectors. The twitters will fit the factory connectors in the front, but the rear twitters have a difference connector. I ended up just replacing the woofers, but retained the factory twitters. I suggest that Crutchfield look into this issue and address it with Focal.

Pros: The woofer sounds much better than the factory speakers of course. Very rich base as I expected.

Cons: The wiring for the twitters needs to be changed to fit the factory connectors. The Focal twitters have totally different connectors. My car is 2014 GTI Drivers Edition.

Crutchfield response on 6/16/2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on these Focal speakers. Focal designed them to be a direct replacement for the front speakers. They are not intended to be a "direct replacement" for the rear, but as you've seen, they can work. The woofer will be a snug fit and the tweeter can be mounted just like any other aftermarket tweeter. Connecting the rear tweeter will always require splicing the wires - there aren't any premade harnesses available, and that's a common situation in most cars.

16 of 26 found this helpful

TOP