Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Focal Integration ISS 165

6-3/4" component speaker system

MFR # ISS 165

Focal Integration ISS 165

Focal Integration ISS 165

6-3/4" component speaker system

MFR # ISS 165

136 reviews
View this product

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Lorain, OH on 1/15/2020

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall good speakers, well worth the upgrade from factory F150 speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AzKevin

Crutchfield customer from Yuma, AZ on 1/6/2020

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are definitely an improvement over the factory installed speakers in my Chevy truck

Pros: Sound quality is high and crisp

Cons: Could use more mid bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 1/5/2020

2019 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

overall sounds great! minor modification for tweeter install, had to call for wiring identification on tweeters

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best moderate budget speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lucedale, MS on 1/5/2020

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker for the price.

Pros: Good base response Crisp vocals

Cons: Only two way

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal quality at an excellent price

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 1/3/2020

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a fantastic upgrade to my 2017 RAV4 Limited (non-JBL). I installed these in the front doors and dash. Crisp highs and decent mid-bass. As I am running these off of the factory head unit, and subsequently didn't have to run speaker wire, the included passive crossovers made things easier. I ended up manufacturing custom tweeter brackets from a sheet of 1/8" ABS for the dash locations. To avoid cutting off the harness and splicing the speaker wire, I ended up purchasing Red Wolf adapters for the tweeters (Crutchfield, you should really sell these). This was a great purchase and a nice upgrade to my factory system. I've already purchased another set for my wife's car.

Pros: Good sound for the money.

Cons: Only surface mount tweeter installation options included; however, you can flush mount if you get creative.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers

Raymond from Ogden, IA on 12/30/2019

2012 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I installed these speakers without an amplifier. After listening to them for a total of about an hour and a half, I was very pleased. These speakers are amazing! However, it was evident that they would benifit from a dedicated amplifier. Luckily for me, a neighbor had just posted a like-new Kenwood 1502s for sale on FB. I bought the amp and installed it right away. I was happy with them without the amp, but they really came alive with it! They are clear and crisp with very strong tweeters. I used the factory speakers with the treble adjusted to +3, however these are set to 0 since they do not need extra treble added. I do not have a crossover set on the amp because the spekers came with inline crossovers on both the tweeters and the woofers. I am running a dedicated subwoofer with an amplifier, so they produce everything that I expect from them as far as bass goes. If you are not running a dedicated subwoofer, I do not know that they will produce enough bass for you on their own. I would definately buy these again, especially at their current sale price. I can't wait to see how they sound when broken-in.

Pros: Very crisp and clean Excellent treble Great without an amp, Amazing with one

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 12/13/2019

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bright, clear and just what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Cathedral Cty, CA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great clear sounding highs, you will need to have a subwoofer to enjoy a full range. without a subwoofer you won't be satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Cordova, TN on 11/25/2019

2017 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Product and Customer Service!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 11/22/2019

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read every review on here before purchase. A few of them made me question if I should get these or not, but I decided to go for it because of the sale price and the brand name. After installing these, letting them break in and finding the best EQ settings, I can say these are by far the best speakers I have ever purchased. They have extremely crisp highs, excellent mids, and a good amount of bass for a 6.5 speaker. The install was a slight challenge with having to custom design brackets for the tweeters and the door panels on the gen 2 Cruze being very challenging to remove and reinstall. None of this is a knock against the speakers though. If you are thinking about buying these for your car then just do it, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Excellent Highs and Great Mids

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

sounds really good

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 11/20/2019

2011 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow This component is awesome without an amplifier

Pros: Good without amplifier

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Brunswick on 11/17/2019

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These do the trick, the tweeters hit the highs and the woofers take the mids and such. When paired with a subwoofer, the speakers run quite well. My only complaint is the install, this was by no means smooth. I have a subaru wrx base and it was a test of fabrication. My one suggestion is to use unistrap or plumbers tape when installing the tweeters as kind of a bracket. Nevertheless, the sound is amazing.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Install difficulty

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from FEDERAL WAY, WA on 11/14/2019

2007 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave it a little time to settle and once I got things tuned up these sound great. Crisp, clean sound, great mid bass. Easy install with the in-line x-overs. Great! Especially at the sale price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Mary Esther, FL on 11/11/2019

2006 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is decent but not the speaker I was expecting, lightweight magnet, shallow depth and not the full size it replaced, showed exact fit for 7" factory sub in 2006 GTO, had to drill new holes, time crunch prevented returning them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Focal door speakers

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 11/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great and fit perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 11/5/2019

2008 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Best Audio Upgrade for Honda Ridgeline and Pilot

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 10/29/2019

2019 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these into my 2019 RL BE. Was a direct replacement for each door. I also used some sound dreading material while the doors were apart. Tweeters required a bit more work, used file to widen the factory location. Perhaps about 30-45min per tweeter. Since I'm using the factory amplifier I disabled the Ambiance Noise Controller begins the glovebox so that I could get the full potential of the new speakers. First impression, sounds great, way brighter, mids are tight. Speakers are perfect for the low powered factory amp.

Pros: Price, ease of install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Why I sent these back and why it might be the right ones for you

Manoj from BENTONVILLE, AR on 10/27/2019

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had bought these as part of upgrading the audio system on my car (along with the head unit and rear speakers). I had seen reviewers mention that these speakers are bright - but thought of trying it out anyway. The reason I bought these were because Focal is known for its audio, it was well rated, I was sure these will be well built (which it is!), and these were listed at an amazing price on Crutchfield! After unboxing these speakers, I was pretty impressed with the build quality and attention to detail. The build in crossover was a nice touch too since it avoided the hassle of wiring the external crossover. After installing these, following were the initial impressions: 1. It did capture details very well. 2. Didn't distort even at very high volume. 3. The tweeters were quite bright 4. The bass from the woofers were just ok. I decided to spend time on tuning it further using the 13 channel equalizer (having already tweaked it with a spectrum analyzer) and give it some time to optimize it to my liking. However, even after more than a week of tweaking it, I still didn't like it enough (which was sad). Overall, these speakers are still impressive in its own right - it is just that its inherent sound signature is not for me. I would recommend these to someone who likes speakers on the brighter side, and doesn't mind the lack of bass or has dedicated subwoofers to make up for it. BTW - I replaced these with the Morel Maximo

Pros: Fantastic build quality and attention to detail Speakers capture details very well. Build in crossovers are really great as it avoids a lot of hassle with wiring

Cons: Too bright for my taste. (My home theatre is a 7.2.2 channel Klipsch Reference Premier system. The Klipsch tweeters are bright (and I love them!) but the Focals are much more brighter) The bass is just ok. Note: I bought the Morel Maximo 6 to compare both and keep the ones I liked. Once I got the Morels, I connected the morel tweeter and woofer on the front left and had the Focals on the front right. Then, I sat near to the centre of the car and listened to several tracks on both. Mor

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, KY on 10/23/2019

2013 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great compared the factory speakers in my 2013 Rav4. Installation was tricky because Toyota wires their tweeters in parallel with the door speakers and I didn't want to cut into the factory wiring harness. So hack off the connectors on the factory tweeters and solder the Focal tweeters to them to make them plug and play.

Pros: Good sound even with the power of the factory head unit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not just hype.

vincent from SAN PABLO, CA on 10/19/2019

2015 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First set of Focal speakers I've owned and I'm a believer. Was running some Boston Acoustics Pro SE 6.5s and one of them finally blew so I replaced them with these. Have then running off of an old Alpine Mrp-F300, Audiocontrol LCQ-1, and factory nav in my 2015 Camaro SS. These speakers are on the brighter side with the highs, have great mids, and very nice bass for such a small magnet! Really simple to install and the built in crossovers work well! The materials should last for a long time, and I'll sacrifice some sq for durability, which is why I stay away from treated paper cones and foam surrounds. Like others have mentioned, these would work perfectly with a system that includes a subwoofer. I'm running 2 12" Alpine Type R subs and these speakers aren't drowned out at all with the subs turned all the way up! Get these while they're on sale!!! These are a steal!!

Pros: Clarity and overall round sound

Cons: Highs are a little bright, but can be tuned down,

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect component set that will complement a sub

Joseph from SANTA CLARA, CA on 10/8/2019

2001 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The woofers are the perfect ones for the Midbass. They are able to reproduce the tiny details in the mid frequency section that I was missing in other brands that are more focused on bass. The Tweeters are amazing and they mix well with the mid and lows. If you plan to use this speakers I would definitely suggest a 10" or 12" sub woofer.

Pros: Load mid and highs. High clarity audiophile experience.

Cons: The tweeter may be little brighter which some might not like. You need to reduce the treble in you Head unit to suppress it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quite happy.

Crutchfield customer from Sanger, CA on 10/3/2019

2001 Infiniti QX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found these on sale and I've always liked Focal but the prices are usually a bit prohibitive. The only thing I don't usually care for with Focal is the sometimes harsh tweeters. These tweeters are a slightly different design but are still quite prominent. I had to adjust my eq settings to drop the high frequencies quite a bit in order to balance the sound. The lower frequencies are more than I was expecting and I was pleasantly surprised since I saw a few reviews that stated they lacked bass. When the volume is turned up there is no harshness and the sound is still quite clear. I have to go near full volume to start to get any sort of distortion (no amp, aftermarket head unit). For the price I don't think I could have gotten a better speaker. I got these and the same model coaxials for the rear. I just wish my stock tweeters were bigger so these would fit without having to figure out something that doesn't look like I broke things to get the tweeters in. Overall I'm quite pleased.

Pros: Price. More bass than expected. Clear, clean sound.

Cons: Tweeters are still a bit harsh for my liking despite the different material than usual Focal tweeters.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 9/25/2019

2012 Volkswagen CC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds freaking awesome !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Forest, VA on 9/20/2019

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound. Like them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Guest from Spring, TX on 9/19/2019

2016 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality with little to new distortion even in the high end. The only con is you have to get some sound dampers for them to hit all the highs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 9/17/2019

2018 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent performsnce

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Serious sound quality improvement

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 9/16/2019

2001 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Focal components were way better than the stock Bose system. Noticeable increase in clarity, I'm hearing things I could never hear before. Had to dial down the tweeter a bit with the treble control on the HU. Installation was painful, but for that I blame Mercedes not Focal or Crutchfield. Not a direct bolt in, I had to carve the housing "bucket" in the door to clear the magnet, and get really creative with mounting the tweeter. It was worth it in the end, and I wish I had done it before.

Pros: Much better than even the "premium" original sound system

Cons: Putting them in was more work than I expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Jordan from NILES, MI on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 8/16/2019

2017 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear, but very lacking in mids.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Chehalis, WA on 8/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mid range. Very crisp and clean. Exactly what you would expect from Focal. Got them on sale and couldn't be happier

Pros: Great mids and great quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Budget Focals are killer.

Jim from Las Vegas, NV on 8/4/2019

2010 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time installing Focal, bought these for the sale price and reputation. Lots of work replacing the crappy Blaupunkt factory speakers in my Touareg. Just a couple of hours running them in but WOW! what a nice, big bump in SQ. Changed the cap and coils to integrate a midrange that's in the door ( La Voce). A very even frequency response and nice sound stage as a result. Highly recommended.

Pros: Sparkling highs, smooth midrange and decent bass. Good power handling.

Cons: None at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement speakers for my stock 2015 Toyota Tacoma. Coupled with sound matting the doors, these things push out great mid bass and clarity. They greatly improved the sound of the stock stereo (non-JBL) and sound even better with my new KENWOOD deck. No issues on the install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean and clear

Rene from Mckinney on 8/3/2019

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2011 VW Jetta, these actually fit if you get the correct speaker bracket. If you sound deaden behind and around speaker plus add roadkill foam around speaker it sounds full. With this install mids sound fuller, tweeters are crystal clear.

Pros: Really clear and clean

Cons: Not a con but mids are not as strong

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Tuscumbia, AL on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good buy!

Crutchfield customer from Fontana, CA on 7/28/2019

2009 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit , great sound, great price point for the quality. Never used Focal before. Rather impressed.

Pros: Free wiring harness adapter and speaker adapter rings make for a clean install.

Cons: None that I can see.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these speakers into my 2016 Jeep Wrangler without any issues. The woofers mounted into the knee pods without any modifications and or brackets. The tweeters I installed using universal straps as the opening is for a 3.5" full range speaker. These are being run by a Pioneer GM-D9705 amp and they sing. Highs are clear and mids are punchy. I did install kilmat and polyfil in the speaker pods so I do believe that helped the mid bass punch a bit. I highly recommend these speakers especially when they are on sale like they were when I purchased them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Much better than advertised

Andrew from TUCSON, AZ on 7/11/2019

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powering two pair of these speakers in a new Silverado double cab... absolutely revealing and some of the brightest high notes I've heard in a pickup. Powering with a JBL GTR-104, this combination and the sound deadening in the truck has greatly exceeded my expectations...

Pros: Powerful midbass, spot on and LOUD tweeters, easy installation with Crutchfield add ons

Cons: I can't afford the more expensive Focal speakers

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sound great in 2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited!!!

Crutchfield customer from Gallatin, TN on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good balanced midrange and major bass upgrade from stock speakers in a 2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. No-frills packaging and clean bright highs. Mid-range speakers fit perfectly in sound bar and dash pods, tweeters will need aftermarket brackets or modifications to the stock speaker cages to fit in larger tweeter openings.

Pros: Focal quality in both sound and manufacturing!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers for an economical price.

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/7/2019

2016 Chevrolet Cruze Limited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clear sound and good bass even without an amp. I have these installed in my 2016 Chevrolet Cruze Limited. The OEM base system was severely lacking and the stark difference between the two still has me shocked. I'm now looking into the ISC 165 line for my rear door speakers and look to add an amp in the near future to bring some extra power to them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Jupiter, FL on 7/7/2019

2017 Fiat 500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

incredible sound at this price. amazing.

Pros:

Cons: slightly wide basket and location of the speaker terminals. tricky to install in smaller door holes.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Mids and Highs

Randy from Keller, TX on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially, I was very disappointed with these speakers. I replaced the factory speakers on a '19 Explorer that had components already. After removing the tweeter from the housing the fit was perfect in the factory tweeter location with a few homemade shims. Woofers installed easily with adapters. The sound in the beginning was extremely bright and the low end was non existent. So I dialed up the crossover on my 4 channel amp and got them sounding better because they didn't like bass at all. Because of this I almost sent them back. I email had them installed for almost a month now and the tweeters have calmed down a bit and I've been slowly inching my crossover down and they are handling more and more bass. I'm keeping them and I'm quite pleased with them now. With that said, I wouldn't recommend these if they are amped and you dont have a sub. With a sub and some patience to continue to tweak the crossover, they've broken in quite nicely and I'm very pleased. I'll probably go back in and try to seal them up better and add some foam surrounds to try to improve the bass even more. All in all, I'm happy now. If I had to do it over I may have gone with a set with better low end but with a well balanced sub, it doesn't really matter. They really do need a break in period which I previously thought was kind of silly. It's hard to audition car speakers as they'll all sound different depending on your vehicle and installation. These are nice for the price. But

Pros: Great mids and highs.

Cons: Very lacking in bass.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 6/30/2019

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent mids and highs. A little weak on the bottom end

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 NISSAN ALTIMA FRONT DOOR AND DASH CORNERS

Crutchfield customer from Kulpmont, PA on 6/19/2019

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME!!! Focal really did their homework when they designed these in-line crossovers. Sorry I didn't get them sooner!

Pros: cost, installation.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Walnut, CA on 6/13/2019

2019 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly in my Corolla HB (no JBL). Used with original head unit and sounds better than factory speakers. Adding aftermarket amp may maximize potential of these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

the right choice

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, NJ on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say there's review and then there is grate product grate price and grate customer service.

Pros: Grate product Focal come one

Cons: Focal and Crutfild how can you go wrong

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Great Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Abbeville, SC on 5/25/2019

2018 Honda Accord Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great so far! To me, they are much smoother than the stock speakers. Installed in a 2018 Honda Accord Hybrid EX. As some have said, they could probably benefit from a sub and an amp, but the bass is as good or better than the stock speakers and the highs and mid-bass are much better. Tyler was great as an advisor, very patient and knowledgeable.

Pros: Smooth sound Clear highs and mid-bass Great price on sale

Cons: Would benefit from sub and amp (to come later)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Knowledge is power!

Crutchfield customer from San Juan Capo, CA on 5/22/2019

2019 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read every single review of these speakers before I made the decision to purchase them. I compared them to Morel, Hertz, etc. and went into the purchase hoping they would be all that and a slice of bread. (Well, truthfully, the whole loaf) I have to say that after I had them installed, driven by my Morel MPS 4.400 I was disappointed. The imaging and accuracy was very good but the tweeters (Very common review) were overpowering and there was no mid-bass. I mean, I could faintly hear the drums but in no way could i feel them. (I listen to country, rock, bit of hip-hop, bit of rap & some House). Well, I took a look at the crossover points on my amp and thought "I hope this is the issue!". After reading a ton of posts from many sources and did two things: 1) switched the speakers to "Full Range" on the Morel and 2) dialed my sub (Punch 12" with R500X1D to about 80Hz (The 165's are rated to 60Hz). BOOM. Bass went from "back there in the trunk" to being "everywhere" and the mid-bass on the Focal's is THUMPING, SNAPPING. You know what I mean. One more recommendation, the Focal tweeters have two wires - MAKE SURE you or your installer uses the wire labeled "Car". This dials them down appropriately. In summary, do your research and if you decide to chose the Focal ISS 165's, you will be happy you did.

Pros: Extremely accurate Exceptional power handling Quality of build Integrated crossover

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cheap and it shows

Crutchfield customer from New Port Richey, FL on 5/19/2019

2010 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointed. I was recommended Focals and they are absolutely terrible. Cheaply made and the tweeters sound extremely harsh. I'd recommend to never buy them. I sent them back I ordered pioneer. I would highly recommend Pioneer. I should of went with them to begin with. Lesson learned

Pros: Affordable

Cons: Sound terrible, cheaply made, poor quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 19 found this helpful

Crystal clear sound

Dave from Seattle, Wa on 5/8/2019

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed a pair of these in the front and rear doors of a 2017 Tacoma. Very clear sounding

Pros: Crutchfield includes adaptors that make the speakers an easy direct fit in both the front and rear doors of my truck. I am powering them with a 4 channel Alpine amp, they sound fantastic.

Cons: None, they sound fantastic to me

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sweet

Crutchfield customer from South Pittsburg, TN on 5/5/2019

2014 Chevrolet Impala Limited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet sounding may want to add a amp

Pros: Sounds good

Cons: Highs can be a little harsh

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 4/28/2019

2018 Honda Accord Touring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sparkling highs and detailed mids. Less bass than hoped, but they are breaking in after a week, hopefully they'll continue to warm up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Carl Junction, MO on 4/21/2019

2008 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did what I needed them to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Price and nice comp set!

Chris from Rupert, ID on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a nice set of component speakers. They fit into my 2016 Hyundai Elantra with no modification required in the factory locations. After 12 hours of listening here is my review: The tweeters took a few hours to "open up" and are now quite balanced. They are not "Bright" tweeters. I'd call them "warm" if I were to use a word to describe them. They blend well with the midbasses. I beleive the inline crossover is crossed over at around 4500 Hz. But there is NO Information online or from Focal that can determine this. The midbasses are quite bountiful in the midbass range, which blends nicely between the sub and midbass frequencies. For the price these are a really nice set of component speakers. Sound nice and a drop in fit, at least for my application. So not really much to complain about! Good Luck!

Pros:

Cons: Inline crossover means have to run 2 sets of wires into each door - 1 tweeter and 1 mid. Some might have a hard time finding room through the door grommet to accomodate this. No specs on freq crossover points.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal is Clarity.

Joshua from Swansboro, NC on 4/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth the price when on sale. Clarity is on point if you are running an Amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Pancholelo from Wake Forest, NC on 4/15/2019

2018 Honda Accord EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good with current power from factory head unit. Might need to add an amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 4/14/2019

2003 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Madisonville, TX on 4/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like these as much as my morel Maximus 602. Not quite the low end extension but just as much quality. Tweeters are clean and crisp. Inline crossovers make installation easy. The woofers are great. They get pretty loud cleanly. Heavy rock music isn't their favorite but doesn't sound bad by all means. They have enough bass down to 55-60 hz to rattle my rear view a bit. Most reviews knock the bass but it's all in the car and if you have sealed doors like I do in my 13 Elantra. ( just reference) has good bass below 55 hz just not as much as my morels. I recommend a sub below 80 hz anyway. I'm really loving these speakers especially for the price half of the morels wich I also recommend.

Pros: Clean and clear Good bass Easy installation Price

Cons: The woofer crossover could've been on the actual woofer. The tweeter has 3 wires. 1 power red. And the other 2 are ground. It states in booklet wich is wich but you only use 1 ground and ignore the other. Car for car and the other is for outside installations.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clean sound from stock head unit

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 4/3/2019

2013 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound with stock head unit amp. Takes an hour or two to brake them it. Tweeter fit stock location without any modifications.

Pros: Sounds good using stock head unit

Cons: Lacks a bit on the low end.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 3/13/2019

2017 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong clear sound. Even a little over powered. Mid range a bit meh.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2018 Honda Accord Full Upgrade! 100% Satisfaction

Stephen from Kenner, LA on 3/6/2019

2018 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for serious clarity for your mids and highs, these get the job done. If you are buying these speakers to replace your factory ones, I highly recommend installing an amp to power them. They are thirsty for a clean, strong signal. They work great in my 2018 Honda Accord. I'm completely satisfied! Rockford Fosgate R600X5 Focal Integration ISS 165 Kicker 44VCWC122 AudioControl LC7i

Pros: Excellent clarity Easy installation instructions

Cons: I had to drill new holes in adapters provided for my 2018 Accord and cut out a relief for the terminals since they were pressing against it. The adapter will not work otherwise. (Not hard to do, just be careful)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Smiley, TX on 3/6/2019

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set! Money well spent!

Pros: Clean highs

Cons: Mids can be a little punchier but otherwise an amazing component set

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

charles from East Palo Alto, CA on 3/3/2019

2018 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are not exactly what I was looking for with my taste in sound. They are quality-built and the in-line crossovers made installation a breeze. However, they are not as warm as I was hoping for and the low-extension rolls-off too quickly, with worse low-end performance than my car's stock speakers, so a sub may be necessary. These also do not fit the metra speaker adapter for mazdas without modification of the adapter with a dremel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Santa Isabel, PR on 2/28/2019

2008 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sonido muy bueno, fuerte y claro con buen bajo. En resumen un sonido espectacular.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

They sound great; get them while you can

Jeremy from Columbus, OH on 2/22/2019

2018 Honda Accord Touring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. These are really great. I had these installed in the front door and rear deck of a 2018 Accord Touring. I originally bought them to run off the factory power, but after talking with several people I had an amp and processor installed as well. These speakers have great detail and clarity. A really incredible improvement over the stock mess that Honda calls an upgraded sound system. The installer actually said these sounded better than the equivalent Hertz set they carry at their shop. You cannot beat these at the discounted price Crutchfield currently has. Buy them. Power them correctly. Be happy.

Pros: Sometimes money can buy happiness

Cons: I had to listen to the stock radio for 2 months

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Focaltastic !!!

Crutchfield customer from Lyons, IL on 2/17/2019

2006 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose these to upgrade the old Rockford speakers in my car. Great clarity and overall sound. Price point of these made it even better. Highs and mids are much improved. I have a sub so wasnt worried about the base but much better than expected. I have a set of K2s for my bike so I tried these for my car, very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal

Val from Aurora, IL on 2/12/2019

2018 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros: Great product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Chino, CA on 2/11/2019

2016 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers, but no bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Good sound before amplifier, hoping for amazing when amped

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I plan to update after amplifying but as of right now on a factory 2016 mustang head unit these sound clear up until 80% volume in the car. Above 80% I am hearing some distortion in the mids. Not a lot of bass but clean highs and a warm sound. I think these are going to sound amazing when 70 w rms is going to them in a few weeks.

Pros: Easy install with no crossover Warm sound Nice tweeter look

Cons: Not much bass with no amp

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Jack A from Springfield, OH on 2/4/2019

2006 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are bangin. They did not match up with the screw holes on my adapter plates, which required modification, that did not go well. However, I bought these for how they sound not for how they fit on adapters. They sound great. I love them. They certainly have the ability to have really sharp highs, so you may need to tune that bit down.

Pros: sound highs

Cons: fit to adapter

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incredible Clarity but no Bass

Peyton L. from Wake Forest, NC on 2/1/2019

2011 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you like bass these speakers alone will not do the trick. However I have a jl audio w7 subwoofer in the trunk and I was looking for speakers that could complement this and I think these are perfect! In terms of clarity they are incredible and I am hearing sounds in songs that I have never heard before. However when I turn the power to my sub off to hear the speakers alone, the bass is almost nonexistent. For me this is perfect because I have ample bass in the trunk but these speakers will not be sufficient by themselves if you enjoy bass as I do.

Pros: Clarity

Cons: No bass If you lack experience in splicing wires components are probably not the way to go unless you get them professionally installed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Stephen from Riverside, CA on 1/31/2019

2011 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound separation between highs and mid bass. Very crisp and tight. Powered with 45w ch alpine amp. I really enjoy these speakers. Easy to hook up with the inline xover.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Aaron from Las Vegas, NV on 1/28/2019

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean crisp highs and great mid-bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

"Integration" works!

Steve from Jacksonville, FL on 1/26/2019

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality look and feel to these speakers with very good sound quality. They seem purpose built for factory system "integration" with the inline crossover wiring and high efficiency. Decent volume even with my Honda Accord factory head unit. Easy install except some additional flush mount tweeter hardware would've been helpful. I made it work with some patience though. Recommended!

Pros: Good sound, looks, build quality

Cons: Flush mounting options

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Robert from Wewahitchka, FL on 1/15/2019

2018 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Focal intergration speakers are very clear. They are a huge improvement over factory speakers. Wiring directions could be clearer

Pros: Great value for the money, included adapters and instructions

Cons: Mounting tweeters in factory pods not a job for novices.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very happy with these Focals!

Shane from Kailua, HI on 12/19/2018

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of speakers for a pretty good price! Installation was easy, with the custom adapters that Crutchfield includes with the speakers. I had recently swapped the stocks for Rockford Fosgate Prime 6x9s on the front doors as well as Prime series tweeters in the dash and it made a difference compared to factory speakers, but I wanted more "Crisp" sounding highs so I decided to go with these Focal ISS 165 and it is MUCH more to my liking. Now I just need to get an amp with a little more power than the one I have now, to get the most out of these speakers.

Pros: Crisp sounding highs and Clear vocals on loud volume with no distortion issues. Easy plug and play installation for mids/woofers

Cons: Some fabrication needed to install tweeters, but hardest part was figuring out how to take off the side paneling in the truck

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focals are fantastic speakers

Karim from Little Rock, AR on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product it's focal what can I say.i am new on cruthfield and very impressed with them helping to pick the right products and what fits in my car..very professional fantastic price and fast delivery

Pros: Great sound ,fantastic tweeter and excellent price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Owen from Ocean Springs, MS on 12/3/2018

2014 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible speakers- great value! I matched them with a Focal amp and it is a wonderful combination.

Pros: I hear more detail in my music. Plenty of volume (without distortion) which was not an option with the factory system.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 12/2/2018

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So much better than factory speakers

Pros: Sounds great. Easy to wire

Cons: Minimal fabrication needed for tweeter to fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Brookings, SD on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound got a good deal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Manasquan, NJ on 11/14/2018

2015 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great speakers easy to install now i need an amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from East Providence, RI on 9/26/2018

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear sound, good bass, good tweeters, easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Accurate, clear

Crutchfield customer from Worcester, MA on 9/4/2018

2015 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As others have said, accurate sound that will get better when amplified. Definitely a step up in clarity from my stock Honda Pilot speakers. Opted to use regular speaker cable for the woofers (keep some lower frequencies going to these 6.5's) but used the in-line resistors for the tweeters. I think this was the correct decision to keep midbass balanced.

Pros: Clear sound, good price

Cons: Could use an amp In-line resistors for woofers will cut all low frequencies from them

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, MA on 8/12/2018

2016 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality! My tweeters came with one blown, but the great staff at Crutchfield took care of it immediately. Bang for buck you can't go wrong, what a difference from stock

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Budget Focal true to their roots

Jason from San angelo, TX. on 8/2/2018

2000 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love how these sound, true to their Focal roots. my only complaint was the mounting of the tweeter. It's like a pod of some sort and if you don't have a custom speaker location or a factory tweeter location they can be hard to install. Above all sound great. I do have them amped on a Soundqubed 400x4 crossed over at 100hz and they handle the power.

Pros: sounds great on an amp great midbass the tweeter is loud but soft

Cons: tweeter pod for mounting, no surface mounting option

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

terrific highs and upper mids, needs a subwoofer.

Samuel from Winston Salem, NC on 8/2/2018

2015 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For reference, I tend towards progressive house, synth-heavy EDM, rap, hip hop, and alternative rock. I would recommend a different set of speakers for this style of music. These would likely excel at classical, classic rock, jazz, country, or other styles where the listening experience isn't SO dependent on mids and low mids. I hooked these up to an Alpine MRP-F300 4 channel that pushes 50w rms to each speaker. The system is paired with an NVX 12" NSW122v2 subwoofer (a great entry level sub with quality far that exceeds its price), which is powered with a Pioneer GM-D8601. I spent about 2 weeks breaking them all in and they've settled nicely. I haven't had a chance to replace my rear speakers yet, so I've had the opportunity to focus on how just these speakers perform when paired with the sub. The sub is definitely necessary. These are pretty great. I got them at a good price point, so everything else in the price range doesn't even compare. However, as some mentioned, the highs are a bit aggressive and harsh, and the mids tend to be overwhelmed. I had to compensate quite a lot with the EQ to get to a flatter, more reliable image. Once adjusted, these integrate (haha) pretty smoothly with the subwoofer; you really feel that the kick and the reverberation are unified as opposed to coming from two different sources. I don't know that I'd buy them again, but I am very happy. I'll likely try to pair them with speakers that excel at the mids, low mids and have softer highs.

Pros: you can really push them without compromising fidelity, and once adjusted are crystal clear.

Cons: the highs are a bit sharp/harsh/aggressive as it gets very loud (>75% volume), and the mids/lows are overwhelmed even at 50-60% volume. You need a subwoofer to hit the lows well, and an EQ with more than 2-3 settings to create a uniform sound image.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Hiram, GA on 7/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound good quality

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Revere, MA on 7/13/2018

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very powerful sound

Matthew from Dacula, GA on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers at an awesome price. look sound and fit in my 2017 Jeep Wrangler amazing!! Have been a Focal fan for many years and have yet to be disappointed in any of the products in the line.

Pros: Great fitment Sound amazing with an external amp or aftermarket radio

Cons: Wish the tweeter could have been flush mounted, it was not a problem for my installation but would make the speakers even more universal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Neil from North Bergen, NJ on 7/12/2018

2018 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This have been the best component speakers i ever had for so many years. It sounds great on my 2018 honda hatchback sports touring placed at the back door. It sounds ao clear even with the factory head stereo. Im so happy with my purchase.

Pros: Sounds great and not so pricy

Cons: None i can think of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal's clean sound

Dan from Riverside, CA on 7/10/2018

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Can be driven to a very loud with a clean sound.

Pros: Clean sound. Can be driven plenty loud.

Cons: A subwoofer would help when playing the Focals at low volume.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Mt Washington, KY on 7/9/2018

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers sound great! I was hoping the it was a true plug and play install but it wasn't. I had to solder the low pass filters to the connectors that Crutchfield supplies. (Thank you Crutchfield for the connectors). Other than that full sail bruddah.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 7/9/2018

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sounds very crisp. Big upgrade from my factory speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound for the price

Dan from Tallahassee, FL on 7/8/2018

2017 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A major upgrade from the stock speakers. The clarity and overall sound quality is amazing. My only complaint is that the tweeters are a bit too agressive. But I was able to calm them down by reducing the high output from the head unit. Everything sounds great after that. My next project is to install a sub to fully round out the sound.

Pros: A major upgrade from stock speakers.

Cons: Tweeters are a bit agressive.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent!!!!!

Matt from Allentown, PA on 7/4/2018

2008 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing. I had a pair of JBL GX602 6.5 speakers in my car with a JL audio JX360/4 amp putting 70w in each. Sounded ok but I ordered these focals and OMG not only is the sound sooo much better, it's louder and more full. It. Blows the JBL speakers away. I still have kicker 6.5 in the rear. Can't wait too get the focal universal integration speakers for the rear in two weeks. I highly recommend these!

Pros: Sound fantastic and not too expensive for the focal line.

Cons: Had to do some shaving and adapting to get them too fit, but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Crisp

Anthony from Bountiful, UT on 7/1/2018

2018 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clean highs but zero mid bass

Pros: Highs are phenomenal

Cons: No bass at all

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 6/27/2018

2007 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent item good quality sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/27/2018

2017 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers. Install in 2017 Ford Focus ST not too difficult. In order to retain factory appearance substantial dremeling of factory tweeter location and hot gluing was required. Sound is impressive. With a little eq the bass is great. The sound is very musical and high quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sound great

Marlon from Columbus, OH on 6/26/2018

2006 Buick Lucerne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish i had $5000 to blow on the focal high dollar mids and highs but sound great on and old school audio art 200.2x im will try it on and JL audio 300 slash. 4

Pros: U need these

Cons: Absolute must

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

ROBERT from Livonia, MI on 6/21/2018

2014 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic !! Highs..Mids.. Unexpected Really Good Bass.Previous Speakers were waste off time and money

Pros: Can't say enough good things about Focal

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cheaply made speaker with harsh highs and weak mids and midbass

Nicholas from Longmont, CO on 6/17/2018

2013 Chevrolet Volt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was highly unsatisfied with these speakers and returned them. I'm quite confused at all of the positive reviews for them. My first hint that they wern't going to be good was during the install. The screws that are included with the woofers actually twist and deform the rubber surround when you screw them in. You can actually see indents in the rubber surround where each screw is once they are installed. They are cheaply packaged and seem equally cheaply made upon inspection. Initial impressions upon install were not good. These speakers just don't sound good or anywhere close to accurate without massive EQ. The highs are harsh and painful, the mids are very thin and the midbass has no kick to it at all. This is funny to me as these are sold as an "integration" speaker meaning that they are sort of intended to be installed on factory head units that usually only have 3 band EQ that is absolutely not up to the task of EQing these. The only way I could get these to sound even close to decent was with extreme amounts of cutting and boosting with a DSP. Something that most people won't have or be able to afford. I feel like a good speaker should sound at least halfway acceptable with no EQ and these absolutely do not. I have included a graph of the default frequency response of these in my car measured with a calibrated measurement microphone. As you can see from the pic their response is all over the place. Take in to mind everything below 100hz is fr

Pros:

Cons: Harsh, Cheap, overpriced

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

29 of 33 found this helpful

Great sounding component speakers

Sheldon from Orange, NJ on 6/15/2018

2015 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sounds awesome great mid bass and nice clear highs. A big step up from my factory speakers. The inline crossover makes for an easy install.

Pros: Great sound, easy install with inline crossover

Cons: Crossover setup was a bit confusing the supplied manual didn't help much. Just search online for the proper connection.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean and crisp

terence from Elgin, SC on 6/13/2018

1998 Volkswagen Jetta III

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality craftsmanship and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield Park, AZ on 6/11/2018

2006 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound once paired with aftermarket stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Goodyear, AZ on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tweeters scream.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 5/27/2018

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome...Paired with focals in the rears and the kenwood 75xx unit..chest hitting mids..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Jonathan from Greenbrier, TN on 5/13/2018

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Clear.

Pros: Integrated inline crossovers a plus as I have limited space available to place typical crossovers included with component sets.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read if you have 2015 or newer Subaru Outback with Harman/Kardon

Ralf from Dayton, OH on 4/30/2018

2017 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're installing these in a 2015 or newer Subaru Outback Limited with factory Harman/Kardon system, you'll want to read this. You'll avoid the five calls I had with the very helpful folks and Crutchfield. The factory amp has built-in crossovers, so only the woofers from this system work in the doors; the tweeter signal isn't even sent to those wires, and if you use your corner dash wires to connect the tweeters, you'll lose all mid-range - as well as the ability to talk on your phone via Bluetooth or use Starlink. The key, after multiple calls and various wiring attempts, is to discard the tweeters, use the 6x9s for woofer only and purchase 3-1/2-inch coax speakers (in my case, I went with the JBL speakers sold here at Crutchfield). (Oh, and I disconnected the awful center-channel Harman/Kardon speaker.) The end result, with 6.5-inch round Focal coax speakers in the back doors, transforms the very mediocre Harman/Kardon set-up into something that satisfies me completely and allows everything - i.e. Bluetooth, Starlink - to work as intended by the factory. Much improved sound quality and accuracy -- all for less than $400.

Pros: Greatly improved sound over factory Harman/Kardon speakers

Cons: In this application, you have to discard the tweeters and buy 3-1/2-inch coax dash speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Alen from Staten Island, NY on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound nice quality

Pros: Excellent

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Dave from Durham, NC on 4/23/2018

2016 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had them installed for a week now in my Mazda 6 2016 with standard head unit - no Bose. Factory speakers from Mazda were more balanced. First time I heard Focals installed I realized that I was definitely missing some mid-range and even some bass. Focals sounded more clear for sure, but harsh on the tweeter side and with less bass. I supposed that it would be possible to add a little bit more of mid range with the right equalizer , but Mazda has only 2 lines equalizers for treble and bass. After some brake in time (~6 hours) bass improved to some acceptable level. Mid range is still missing. You would definitely need a mid-range driver to have balanced sound with Focals. The price for ISS is good, but if you would count that you need to add mid drivers, it would be about 100$ higher in total.

Pros: -good quality for the price -loud enough with standard factory head unit -problem free installation of 6 3/4 in the front doors with Crutchfield's plastic adapters included for free! -tweeters fitted in the dash grill with no issues

Cons: u will need to add mid-range drivers for the balanced sound

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Focal

Josh from Mcarthur, OH on 4/8/2018

2014 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean and loud. Can definitely hear the focal quality. Lacks a little in mids. If you are looking for a quality upgrade you can't bethese for the price. Have them running in a Ford fusion on a underrated 60.4 amp on kicker 8gauge wiring

Pros: Crystal clear rich sound

Cons: Lacking mids

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade from factory speakers!

Trey from Columbia, TN on 4/2/2018

2008 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced the stock speakers in my Accord with the Focal Integration components. They sound great! Very smooth sound. The included hardware and installation instructions made the whole project effortless. I had a question regarding factory color coded wiring and called technical support who was able to answer my question while I was on the phone with him. Great sounding speakers, great service, great company!

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: Tweeter required some modification to work in my factory pillar pod.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth every penny.

joseph from Coconut Creek, FL on 4/1/2018

2018 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had them installed for a week now. Have about 6 hours break in time and they sound amazing! All the subtleties that were missing from the stock speakers are there now! The highs are perfect, mid range is very good and even some bass response! All powered by the factory head unit and amp. Couldn't be happier with my purchase

Pros: Built inline crossover, options to install Tweeter, quality of materials used to make the speakers. And most of all the sound quality!

Cons: Having to alter my brand new car to make the Tweeters fit in stock location, well worth the price of admission.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Pekin, IL on 4/1/2018

2003 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great, and clear! My opinion a great component set, great bang for your buck. Plenty of speaker for my 350z(front door).

Pros: Fit beautifully, sound great.

Cons: Surface mounted in my 350z in original tweeter spot, they get in the way when putting the door panel back on. Not a fault of the speakers as I'm certain that any surface mount would have the same issue.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfying sound!

Victor from Santa Rosa, CA on 3/30/2018

2013 Nissan Juke

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think this set sounds amazing after replacing my stock speakers. There is more range to the sound and clarity to the vocals. I got this product when on sale and if anyone is trying to get a good setup at a good price, this is it! They were pretty easy to install and Crutchfield sent me the speaker ring adapter for my car for free that was pretty cool!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome sound! Beware of scratch and dent.

Z from Edmond, OK on 3/28/2018

2012 Hyundai Sonata Limited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2012 Hyundai Sonata Limited with Dimension system. The Focals were an immediate improvement over the factory speakers with a much wider soundstage. These tweeters are really smooth. Hyundai uses a 2 ohm speaker set, and I measured the Focals at about 3.2-3.3 ohm. So, you will have to get used to the volume drop if using stock or deck power, but they do play just fine and sound great. Put an amp on them, and they will really open up. One thing to note- to save some money, I bought the "scratch and dent" set from Crutchfield. These were packaged pretty poorly - the bare mids were wedged into a foam insert that was crushing the surrounds. Fingers crossed for no soon-to-emerge problems. Also, the tweeter mounting cups were completely covered with what appeared to be a combination of super glue and hot glue. It took a lot of effort to get that gunk scraped and chiseled off to be able to get them properly mounted without breaking them. The speakers themselves are performing well and sound great, so don't hesitate to pick these up. In fact, I highly recommend them. I would just advise to proceed with caution on the scratch and dent items.

Pros: Inline crossovers - so simple for installation. The tweeters gave an immediate wider soundstage.

Cons: Nothing with the speakers themselves, but the scratch and dent set was in rough, used shape.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Mark from Temecula, CA on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and sound terrific.

Pros: Sound great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

dana from Pottsville, PA on 3/14/2018

2009 Lexus RX350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these as the front speakers for my wife's vehicle along with the Integration ISC components for the rear. I haven't installed them yet but know by past experience with Focal that these speakers will sound fantastic. I already had the Auditor series in my vehicle and couldn't believe the clarity and detail from their opening line of speakers. Previous to the Auditors I had Infinity Reference and could not believe how much better the Focals sounded.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

david from Winchester, VA on 3/12/2018

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Mike from Scappoose, OR on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always great customer service and fast shipping with good prices is why I purchased from Crutchfield. The focal speakers are just what I expected.

Pros: Great sound and price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Improvement

Crutchfield customer from Lemont, IL on 3/7/2018

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sounded so much better than the pioneer component speakers I had before. Made it a whole new listening experience for my accord. Highly recommend.

Pros: Sounds Great

Cons: Brackets need modification

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Gary from Manalapan, NJ on 3/4/2018

2017 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean install, tweeter is close to being flush. Sound is a bit bright, clarity is great. Hoping the brightness will diminish after break in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good speakers but they need an amplifier

Alex from Los Angeles, CA on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers but they seem to want more power, woofer barely moves and bass is practicality non existant from the front of the car. Factory replacement in 2016 Honda Civic was not a good idea, these speakers need an amplifier which was more of a project that I wanted to undertake.

Pros: Good quality, in-line crossover was not expected.

Cons: woofer needs a lot of power, factory replacement is not a good idea if you enjoy any bass at all

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Focal integration issue 165

Ashu from Ludhiana , Punjab,india on 1/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system as compared to my factory ones. The quality of sound is excellent . I advise to buy this one you shouldn't be disappointed. Ko

Pros: Great sound quality best component speakers

Cons: Amp is needed to add extra punch.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Ray from Kissimmee, FL on 12/3/2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers; compared to the stock speakers these are 100% better. You will not be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

They're okay

Jason from Norfolk, VA on 7/28/2017

2011 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have these speakers in my 2011 malibu. Currently hooked up on a Rockford Fosgate prime R300x4 amp at 4 ohms. They're alright for the price. The only real complaint I have is the lack of mid-low end of the speaker itself and the tweeters are a bit bright. Tweeters I managed to tune to a comfortable level with my 13 band head unit. They're not horrible but just don't fill my needs.

Pros: Affordable, decent sound.

Cons: Tweeters are a bit bright, low and mid range seems to be lacking.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Wow

Todd from Palmyra, PA on 6/19/2017

2009 Saturn Aura

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow what a beautiful speaker. Once they break in 10 hours or so, they have a lovely smooth rich sound. Highs are clean without being overly bright. Midrange is perfect. Lows are just fine for a door speaker. Subs take care of the lower end anyway.

Pros: Price for outstanding sound. Well made.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

You sure these are entry level?

Rockmusic from Columbus, Oh on 5/21/2017

2015 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new(er) Ford Fusion, but there are very limited stereo upgrades and/or aftermarket offerings available for this vehicle. Speakers are even somewhat limited, Focal is one of several offerings, and I am amazed at just what this change(so far) brought to my factory system. I plan on 2-ways(Focal) in the rear doors, now, and then eventually, better wiring, along with a DSP, a "D" series amp, and a good(not overpowering)sub in the future, one step at a time. Just installed these ISS 165's in the stock front door openings(modified tweeter installation, not difficult), and am IMPRESSED with the SOUND! I hear things on FM stereo that I have NEVER heard before. It caught my attention immediately, and now I pay closer attention to the music and believe me, I AM NOT DISAPPOINTED. And I'm getting this with a factory head unit(I love the rear camera, steering wheel controls and the SYNC) that seems to have some guts when cranked up a bit. The DSP will tell the the true story here, however. I wish I had the factory premium system(Sony) which would have been an even better starting point. I have YET to find any brand's entry level product that sound as good as these Focal's do. Can only imagine what the K2's sound like. So if Focal would like to use my Fusion as a test platform for the K2's, call me. I've been a JL Audio fan an user for years, but I thought I'd go out on a limb and see what everyone's ranting about. Glad I did.

Pros: Compared to factory, there is NO comparison. The depth, detail and sound these put out are amazing. Even with a factory wiring harness.

Cons: Haven't found any.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Levittown , PA on 3/8/2017

2017 Honda CRV EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear and crisp sound. Heard sounds in songs I never heard before. Bass is not as deep as I prefer but overall good speakers. They would sound even better with an amplifier...I only have a 180w factory stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Califon, NJ on 10/21/2016

2012 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Oh yeah! You're gonna fall in love with these speakers. The clarity of the sound is great. I can hear every instrument. I even hear sounds from previous music that I thought were never there. Great product!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice!!

Daniel L. from Saint Louis, MO on 8/5/2016

2013 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean and clear sound, good highs/mids/lows with no distortion. Paired with Pioneer AVIC-5100NEX without an amp, work just fine!! The tweeters fit into the stock triangle door tweeter space in the 2013 Camaro.

Pros: Fantastic sound!!

Cons: Not free?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sound Quality at its Finest

Dillon from Decatur, AL on 6/23/2016

2006 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade my speakers to get better sound quality and a bit louder sound inside my tiny truck since the bass seemed overpowering. These speajers fit perfectly like a glove and Ibwas absolutely blown away at how nice they sound. They get fairly loud even without an external amplifier. The tweeters actually pull apart and fit inside my doors where the stock tweeters were located. If you are looking for crisp clear sounding speakers look no further. They are worth every penny!

Pros: *Sound Quality *Sensitivity *Fits when Crutchfield says they do

Cons: *Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Superb Sound Quality!

Gregory C from Akron, OH on 4/29/2016

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Chatted with Levi, a Crutchfield Advisor about upgrading my factory speakers without upgrading the stereo or adding an amp. He recommended these for the front. I am incredibly pleased with the upgraded sound quality! These speakers will not distort no matter how high I turn up the volume. Stop debating about upgrading and just do it! Notes: If you're installing yourself, be prepared to spend a little time planning out the tweeter mounting. I was able to mount mine inside of the factory mounts with a bit of work. I had to cut/pry out the original tweeter and then hollow out the hole with pliers and a small hacksaw until it was large enough to squeeze the new tweeters inside. Crutchfield's tech support (Justin and Brent) were incredibly helpful with getting me detailed info on how to wire these. I had to wire both the woofers and the tweeters to the factory tweeter harness. The wiring harness adapter included was not required.

Pros: Crystal clear sound quality with punchy midbass.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Nice.

Andrew from Greenville, NC on 3/1/2016

2011 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Please see my review on the Focal Integration IFVW Golf 6 for details. Nice upgrade from factory speakers.

Pros: Open, airy top end. Tight bass.

Cons: Restricted low end. Needs sub for impact.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent speakers for the buck!

Fenil S from Kottayam, India on 4/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these few weeks ago & installed on a stock headunit without an amplifier, Still it sounds great & nothing can replace the sound quality of focal.

Pros: Easy to install Great tweeter Excellent woofer built quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent

Tresten from layton,utah on 3/25/2015

1997 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent and easy install I have never heard sound like this before!

Pros:

Cons: Had a bent terminal when they arived but nothing major.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Integration ISS 165

Crutchfield customer from Rhode Island on 5/1/2014

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers. Sound comes through nice and clear.

Pros: Shallow mounting.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

TOP